Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments and remarks submitted 07/27/2026 have been entered and considered, Claim 1 is amended. This action is made final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to use Schaarschmidt as a primary reference as it does not teach or suggest a method for creating a three-dimensional complete virtual model of a real-world vehicle from a collection of images taken at a series of points, as recited in the preamble of claim 1. Rather, Schaarschmidt teaches a method for generating an active visual product configuration from "interactive digital 2D and 3D objects." (Schaarschmidt, [0012]). These interactive objects serve as the "basis" on the eventual product configuration. (Schaarschmidt, [0013]). However, the images captured in step d of claim 1 cannot be reasonably interpreted as an "interactive digital 2D [or] 3D object" as required by Schaarschmidt. Rather, Schaarschmidt generates a variant model from interactive digital objects.”.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Schaarschmidt, abstract, the invention describes a method for generating an active visual product configuration based on interactive digital 2D or 3D objects displayed on an operating device. Processing options and degrees of freedom and/or object characteristics are defined in an object control unit of a data processing system. A variant model is created in the data processing system and corresponding parameters are assigned to the object and to the processing options. A visualization unit assigned to the operating device represents the complex variant mode! optically in a 3D-scenario for active product configuration. The active product configuration is carried out via a display device and/or a touch screen integrated in the operating device. All processing options and degrees of freedom of the object can be animated. During the production configuration, a communication control unit effects data communication between the visualization unit and the object control unit and the configuration instance of the variant model.
[0026] In the example shown, the method for visual product configuration using interactive 3D objects is explained with reference to a car model on an operating device 1 in the form of a tablet computer comprising a touchscreen. Further see Fig 2.
Pridie, abstract, the invention describes a system for generating a three-dimensional model of a physical object including a camera skid placed at a known distance from the physical object and moved fully around the physical object at the known distance, a set of cameras on the camera skid for capturing image data at a series of locations fully around the physical object, and a computing d vice for generating a three-dimensional model of the physical object using the known distance and the image data.
[0015] Referring now to FIG. 1, a system 100 for three-dimensional object imaging is shown. The system 100 includes an imaging skid 110, overhead camera(s)
112, a projector 113, a set of cam eras 114 an object 115, an imaging control system 120, and an object modelling server 130, all interconnected by a network 150.
[0060] Next, the object modelling server 230 (FIG. 2) may be used to generate a three-dimensional model at 450. As indicated above, there are various methods for performing this function. … The image data may also be used to generate so-called textures for the eventual three-dimensional model that match the actual appearance of
the object. The images may be "wrapped" around the object, with the images edited to provide the best perspective for objects with a front-on view from the camera depending on where the can1eras were when the photographs were taken. In this way, many images may be stitched together to form a texture for a given model.
Schaarschmidt and Pridie are analogous art, because they both teach method of creating/displaying 3D model of an object. Schaarschmidt further teaches generating interactive virtual 3D model of the interested object. Pridie further teaches capturing a plurality of images for generating 3D model of the interested object while positioning cameras based on pre-arranged markers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3D vehicle model creation method (taught in Schaarschmidt), to further use markers surrounding the object of interest (taught in Pridie), so as to provide a better system that is capable of multiple resolutions and of capturing large, irregular objects with sufficient detail to create a detailed and accurate 3D model (Pridie, [0003-0007]).
Therefore, Schaarschmidt teaches generating interactive 3D model for a car model. Pridie teaches capturing images for a car. The captured images can be used as texture for the interactive virtual 3D model so as to create a photo-realistic model which is more appealing for user.
Regarding Claim 1 limitation: “f) creating an image mesh by applying a predetermined schema to each of the levels to categorize how each image within each level relates to one-another”
Applicant argues “Nussbaum does not disclose an image mesh as recited in claim 1,… The Office Action does not clarify which portion of Nussbaum teaches the schema limitation, only that from "captured images, a virtual 3D digital imaging software 260 or remote server 210 may construct or generate a virtual 3D digital model" (Office Action page 15). Indeed, the term "mesh" only appears a single time in Nussbaum and does not have any indication that a predetermined schema was used to generate said mesh.”.
However, Nussbaum, abstract, the invention describes methods, systems, and computer implemented virtualization software applications and computer-implemented graphical user interface tools for remote virtual visualization of structures. Images are captured by an imaging vehicle of a structure and the captured images are transmitted to a remote server via a communication network. Using virtual 3D digital modeling software the server, using the images received from the imaging vehicle, generates a virtual 3D digital model of the structure and stores it in a database. This virtual 3D digital model can be accessed by remote users, using virtualization software applications, and used to view images of the structure. The user is able to manipulate the images and to view them from various perspectives and compare the before-the-damage images with images taken after damage have occurred. Based on all this the user is enabled to remotely communicate with an insurance agent and/or me an insurance claim.
Col 8, line 14-26, In performing the above described maneuvers above and around the structure on the property 310 the imaging vehicle 320 captures multiple
images, possibly hundreds or even thousands of images. From these captured images,
a virtual 3D digital imaging software 260 of the remote server 210 may construct or
generate a virtual 3D digital model 220 of the structure or a part thereof.
Col 21, line 24-40, At block 1906, the server 620 may communicate data including at least a portion of the virtual representation to the user electronic device 680.
Such data may be sent to the user as part or all of the virtual 3D digital model, a mesh
or other encoding of a graphical representation of the model, a set of images depicting
views of the model, or other representations of the physical structure based upon the
virtual 3D digital model.
Col 24, line 4-25, In yet further embodiments, the methods and systems
described above may be applied to vehicles, such as cars, trucks. boats. motorcycles, airplanes, or trains.
Therefore, Nussbaum teaches capturing a plurality of image of an object of interest such as a vehicle and generating 3D virtual model. 3D mesh is generated in the process from 2D images to 3D models. Although Nussbaum didn’t describe in detail the conversion from 2D images to 3D mesh and to 3D model. It is common to generate 3D mesh to capture the detail geometric data for generating 3D model. Prior art cited in previous office action such as Snyder et al (US20130300740), see [0072], polygon meshes are used for 3D models polygonal representation of surfaces. Holzer et al (US20200234397), see [0052] FIG. 9 illustrates an example of a 3D mesh of an object whose vertices correspond to the joints of the 3D skeleton of the object. According to various embodiments, a 3D mesh may include vertices, edges, and faces that collectively represent an abstract projection of one or more 2D images of an object into three dimensions. 3D mesh indicates geometrical relationship among vertices and edges which describes how each one of the plurality of images are related to each other.
Regarding Claim 1 limitation “g) generating a navigation grid, the navigation grid comprising a series of hyperlinks overlaid on the image mesh, wherein each hyperlink provides means for loading and rendering one of the captured images from step d”.
Applicant argues “Holzer does not teach or suggest a navigation grid comprising a series of hyperlinks, as recited in claim 1. … The correspondence mapping may link a respective first location in the top-down object image to a respective second location in the designated perspective view image for each of a plurality of points in the designated perspective view image. (Action, page 16) … Rather the hyperlinks of claim 1 clearly and directly link the 3D model to the 2D images captured in step d. That is, each of the hyperlinks corresponds to one of the individual images, not a point within a designated perspective image, nor a top-down object image.”.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Holzer, abstract, the invention describes a method of creating a three-dimensional (3D) skeleton based on a plurality of vertices and a plurality of faces in a two-dimensional (2D) mesh in a top-down image of an object A correspondence mapping between a designated perspective view image and the top-down object image may be determined based on the 3D skeleton. The correspondence mapping may link a respective first location in the top-down object image to a respective second location in the designated perspective view image for each of a plurality of points in the designated perspective view image. A top-down mapped image of the object may be created by determining a first respective pixel value for each of the first locations, with each first respective pixel value being determined based on a second respective pixel value for the respective second location linked with the respective first location via the correspondence mapping.
[0041] FIG. 2 illustrates one example of a method 200 for performing geometric
analysis of a perspective view image, performed in accordance with one or more embodiments. The method 200 may be performed on any suitable computing device. For example, the method 200 may be performed on a mobile computing device such as a smart phone. Alternately, or additionally, the method 200 may be performed on a remote server in communication with a mobile computing device.
[0057] In some implementations, a mesh predicted in the camera frame may be projected directly onto the image, obtaining a 2D mesh overlaid to the frame. Alternately, a mesh predicted in a difference frame can be used to obtain 3D-2D correspondence mappings between mesh 3D vertices and their corresponding location in the image, and then involve solving a Perspective-N-Point problem that yields the transformation to the camera frame.
[0093] According to various embodiments, object component identity information may be used to allow separate mapping estimation for different object components. For
example, the image of the vehicle shown in FIG. 12 has been segmented to identify the
different vehicle components, which are shown in different colors. For example, the vehicle includes the components 1202, 1204, and 1206 which correspond with the front right wheel, the front right door, and the rear right door respectively. These components have then been separately supplied as input to the machine learning algorithm for the mapping estimation, as shown in the bottom right of the image.
Schaarschmidt, [0013] According to another feature, the present invention also comprises a system for generating an active visual product configuration on the basis of
interactive digital 2D or 3D objects (2), which configuration can be operated on a preferably mobile operating device having integral touchscreen (display with touch function) and/or a pointing device, which operating device is connected via an Internet connection to a data processing system.
[0033] If the user now activates by "touching and simultaneously dragging" the
"Rotate" button or the driver door directly as shown in FIG. 6.2, the user opens the vehicle, and the interior containing additional vehicle objects 2 becomes visible.
Fig 7-7.2 indicates that "seat" object is clickable for further actions. Fig 8-8.2 indicates that "wheel" object is clickable for further actions.
Schaarschmidt teaches creating an interactive 3D model of a vehicle with clickable link to model section to allow user to further interact with the 3D model. Holzer further teaches map individual point/portion of the model/mesh to an image of the corresponding portion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3D vehicle model (taught in Schaarschmidt, Pridie, RCLifeOn and Nussbaum), to further map individual point/portion of the model/mesh to an image of the corresponding portion (taught in Holzer), so as to provide a more accurate/effective view for images that are captured at different viewpoints of an object (Holzer, [0005]).
Therefore, the combination of Schaarschmidt, Pridie, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum and Holzer still teaches the above-mentioned limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaarschmidt et al (US20180033212) in view of Pridie et al (US20200118329), RCLifeOn ("3D Printing My House - Photogrammetry Using a Drone", 2017), Nussbaum et al (US10832476) further in view of Holzer et al (US20200234397).
Regarding Claim 1. Schaarschmidt teaches A method for creating a three-dimensional complete virtual model of a real-world vehicle (Schaarschmidt, abstract, the invention describes a method for generating an active visual product configuration based on interactive digital 2D or 3D objects displayed on an operating device. Processing options and degrees of freedom and/or object characteristics are defined in an object control unit of a data processing system. A variant model is created in the data processing system and corresponding parameters are assigned to the object and to the processing options. A visualization unit assigned to the operating device represents the complex variant mode! optically in a 3D-scenario for active product configuration. The active product configuration is carried out via a display device and/or a touch screen integrated in the operating device. All processing options and degrees of freedom of the object can be animated. During the production configuration, a communication control unit effects data communication between the visualization unit and the object control unit and the configuration instance of the variant model.
[0026] In the example shown, the method for visual product configuration using interactive 3D objects is explained with reference to a car model on an operating device 1 in the form of a tablet computer comprising a touchscreen. Further see Fig 2.),
Schaarschmidt fails to explicitly teach, however, Pridie teaches from a collection of images taken at a series of points, where each point is marked by one of a plurality of locations, comprising the steps of:
a) providing a plurality of locations around the real-world vehicle to capture one or more images around the real-world vehicle;
b) determining an amount of levels required to create the three-dimensional complete virtual model;
c) determining a height for a first portion of the collection of images to be taken from; (Pridie, abstract, the invention describes a system for generating a three-dimensional model of a physical object including a camera skid placed at a known distance from the physical object and moved fully around the physical object at the known distance, a set of cameras on the camera skid for capturing image data at a series of locations fully around the physical object, and a computing d vice for generating a three-dimensional model of the physical object using the known distance and the image data.
[0015] Referring now to FIG. 1, a system 100 for three-dimensional object imaging is shown. The system 100 includes an imaging skid 110, overhead camera(s)
112, a projector 113, a set of cam eras 114 an object 115, an imaging control system 120, and an object modelling server 130, all interconnected by a network 150.
[0016] The imaging skid 110 is a mobile mount for a series of cameras 114 at various heights. Preferably, sufficient independent cameras 114 are fixed on the imaging skid 110 such that 60% overlap in field of view between cameras for a given object being imaged are present. These cameras 114 are arranged at regular intervals up a tower, pillar, or similar rig fixed to a movable base.
[0063] Referring now to FIG. 5, a perspective view of a three-dimensional object being imaged using a system 500 for three-dimensional object imaging. This perspective shows the overhead camera(s) 512 with their full field perspective 527 of the entirety of the environment in which the imaging skid 510 is moving to capture images of the object 515 using the cameras 514. A series of different paths 521, 522, and 523 may be designated at different distances from the object 515. Though shown as circular, other paths may be used as well.
[0064] The paths 521, 522, and 523 are shown as concentric circles of different radii that are physically drawn on the ground around the object 515. However, a series of QR codes 525 may also be used or used instead.
Therefore, 525 are physical locations on the ground-level surf ace around the object of interest (515)).
Schaarschmidt and Pridie are analogous art, because they both teach method of creating/displaying 3D model of an object. Schaarschmidt further teaches generating interactive virtual 3D model of the interested object. Pridie further teaches capturing a plurality of images for generating 3D model of the interested object while positioning cameras based on pre-arranged markers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3D vehicle model creation method (taught in Schaarschmidt), to further use markers surrounding the object of interest (taught in Pridie), so as to provide a better system that is capable of multiple resolutions and of capturing large, irregular objects with sufficient detail to create a detailed and accurate 3D model (Pridie, [0003-0007]).
The combination of Schaarschmidt and Pridie further teaches d) creating a level by capturing, by an image-capture device, the first portion of images by placing the image-capture device at the height and capturing one image at each of the plurality of locations (Pridie, [0016] The imaging skid 110 is a mobile mount for a series of cameras 114 at various heights. Preferably, sufficient independent cameras 114 are fixed on the imaging skid 110 such that 60% overlap in field of view between cameras for a given object being imaged are present. These cameras 114 are arranged at regular intervals up a tower, pillar, or similar rig fixed to a movable base.
Therefore, the camera at different height will capture image of the object at different level.
[0056] Next, the imaging skid begins imaging on path or at desired distance at 430. At this phase, the imaging skid moves around the object being imaged, while being careful to use the path or imaging distance to maintain the known, desired distance. In this way, images at the same depth may be compared to generate a more accurate three-dimensional model for the object.
[0064] The paths 521, 522, and 523 are shown as concentric circles of different radii that are physically drawn on the ground around the object 515. However, a series of QR codes 525 may also be used or used instead.
Therefore, camera at different height will capture image of the object at different
level, and the camera will circle the object and capture the image at each of the marker position 525.);
The combination of Schaarschmidt and Pridie fails to explicitly teach, however, RCLifeOn teaches e) repeating steps c and d an amount of times equal to the number of levels determined in step b (RCLifeOn, The video describes using a drone to capture images, a software to generate the images into a 3D model and then using a 3D printer to print your house in a 3D environment.)
Page 3-4, from a drone controller user interface, a point of interest is set for the drone to rotate automatically around.
Page 5-7, the height of the drone will be 6.3m altitude. The drone will automatically fly at the altitude and circle around the point of interest (the object) in a set
radius. A picture is taken at time interval of every 2 seconds.
Page 8-9, the height of the drone is now set at 11 .4m altitude. The drone will
automatically fly at the altitude and circle around the point of interest (the object) in a set radius of 32m. A picture is taken at time interval of every 2 seconds. This will give a set
of picture at a different level.
Therefore, for each of the level (height), the picture capturing will repeat so as to
capture image at different angle relative to the object.);
Schaarschmidt, Pridie and RCLifeOn are analogous art, because they all
teach method of creating/displaying 3D model of a vehicle/object. RCLifeOn further
teaches method of capturing plurality of images of an object with drone at different
levels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3D vehicle model
(taught in Schaarschmidt and Pridie), to further using the flying image capturing
vehicles for capturing the input images for creating 3D model at multiple different levels
(taught in RCLifeOn), so as to provide a method for user to create 3D model for any
object that can be circled around by a drone.
The combination of Schaarschmidt, Pridie and RCLifeOn fails to explicitly
teach, however, Nussbaum teaches f) creating an image mesh by applying a predetermined schema to each of the levels to categorize how each image within each level relates to one-another (Nussbaum, abstract, the invention describes methods, systems, and computer implemented virtualization software applications and computer-implemented graphical user interface tools for remote virtual visualization of structures. Images are captured by an imaging vehicle of a structure and the captured images are transmitted to a remote server via a communication network. Using virtual 3D digital modeling software the server, using the images received from the imaging vehicle, generates a virtual 3D digital model of the structure and stores it in a database. This virtual 3D digital model can be accessed by remote users, using virtualization software applications, and used to view images of the structure. The user is able to manipulate the images and to view them from various perspectives and compare the before-the-damage images with images taken after damage have occurred. Based on all this the user is enabled to remotely communicate with an insurance agent and/or me an insurance claim.
Col 8, line 14-26, In performing the above described maneuvers above and around the structure on the property 310 the imaging vehicle 320 captures multiple
images, possibly hundreds or even thousands of images. From these captured images,
a virtual 3D digital imaging software 260 of the remote server 210 may construct or
generate a virtual 3D digital model 220 of the structure or a part thereof.
Col 21, line 24-40, At block 1906, the server 620 may communicate data including at least a portion of the virtual representation to the user electronic device 680.
Such data may be sent to the user as part or all of the virtual 3D digital model, a mesh
or other encoding of a graphical representation of the model, a set of images depicting
views of the model, or other representations of the physical structure based upon the
virtual 3D digital model.
Col 24, line 4-25, In yet further embodiments, the methods and systems
described above may be applied to vehicles, such as cars, trucks. boats. motorcycles,
airplanes, or trains.);
Schaarschmidt, Pridie, RCLifeOn and Nussbaum are analogous art, because they all teach method of creating/displaying 3D model of a vehicle/object.
Nussbaum further teaches method of capturing plurality of images of a static vehicle with flying imaging vehicles and create mesh of the model. Therefore, it would have
been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the 3D vehicle model (taught in Schaarschmidt, Pridie and RCLifeOn), to further using the flying image capturing vehicles for capturing
the input images for creating 3D model and create model mesh (taught in Nussbaum),
so as to provide a remote vehicle inspection method that allowing plurality of images be
captured when the remote vehicle is static and transfer the model mesh over network
(Nussbaum, col 1, line 7-14, col 21, line 24-40).
The combination of Schaarschmidt, Pridie, RCLifeOn and Nussbaum fails to explicitly teach, however, Holzer teaches g) generating a navigation grid, the navigation grid comprising a series of hyperlinks overlaid on the image mesh, wherein each hyperlink provides means for loading and rendering one of the captured images from step d (Holzer, abstract, the invention describes a method of creating a three-dimensional (3D) skeleton based on a plurality of vertices and a plurality of faces in a two-dimensional (2D) mesh in a top-down image of an object A correspondence mapping between a designated perspective view image and the top-down object image may be determined based on the 3D skeleton. The correspondence mapping may link a respective first location in the top-down object image to a respective second location in
the designated perspective view image for each of a plurality of points in the designated
perspective view image. A top-down mapped image of the object may be created by
determining a first respective pixel value for each of the first locations, with each first
respective pixel value being determined based on a second respective pixel value for the respective second location linked with the respective first location via the correspondence mapping.
[0041] FIG. 2 illustrates one example of a method 200 for performing geometric
analysis of a perspective view image, performed in accordance with one or more embodiments. The method 200 may be performed on any suitable computing device. For example, the method 200 may be performed on a mobile computing device such as a smart phone. Alternately, or additionally, the method 200 may be performed on a remote server in communication with a mobile computing device.
[0057] In some implementations, a mesh predicted in the camera frame may be projected directly onto the image, obtaining a 2D mesh overlaid to the frame. Alternately, a mesh predicted in a difference frame can be used to obtain 3D-2D correspondence mappings between mesh 3D vertices and their corresponding location in the image, and then involve solving a Perspective-N-Point problem that yields the transformation to the camera frame.
[0093] According to various embodiments, object component identity information may be used to allow separate mapping estimation for different object components. For
example, the image of the vehicle shown in FIG. 12 has been segmented to identify the
different vehicle components, which are shown in different colors. For example, the vehicle includes the components 1202, 1204, and 1206 which correspond with the front right wheel, the front right door, and the rear right door respectively. These components have then been separately supplied as input to the machine learning algorithm for the mapping estimation, as shown in the bottom right of the image.
Schaarschmidt, [0013] According to another feature, the present invention also comprises a system for generating an active visual product configuration on the basis of
interactive digital 2D or 3D objects (2), which configuration can be operated on a preferably mobile operating device having integral touchscreen (display with touch function) and/or a pointing device, which operating device is connected via an Internet connection to a data processing system.
[0033] If the user now activates by "touching and simultaneously dragging" the
"Rotate" button or the driver door directly as shown in FIG. 6.2, the user opens the vehicle, and the interior containing additional vehicle objects 2 becomes visible.
Fig 7-7.2 indicates that "seat" object is clickable for further actions. Fig 8-8.2 indicates that "wheel" object is clickable for further actions.).
Schaarschmidt, Pridie, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum and Holzer are analogous art, because they all teach method of creating/displaying 3D model of a vehicle/object. Schaarschmidt further teaches add clickable link to the model section to allow user to further interact with the 3D model. Holzer further teaches map individual point/portion of
the model/mesh to an image of the corresponding portion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the 3D vehicle model (taught in Schaarschmidt, Pridie,
RCLifeOn and Nussbaum), to further map individual point/portion of the model/mesh to an image of the corresponding portion (taught in Holzer), so as to provide a more accurate/effective view for images that are captured at different viewpoints of an object (Holzer, [0005]).; and
The combination of Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Pridie, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum and Holzer further teaches h) creating the three-dimensional complete virtual model of the real-world vehicle by incorporating the plurality of captured images from step d, the image mesh, and the navigation grid, such that an end-user will be able to visualize and navigate through the three-dimensional complete virtual model by clicking through the navigation grid (RCLifeOn, page 10, the captured images are all imported in Autodesk and a 3D mesh of the object is created.
Page 11, the virtual model of the object is created.).
Claim 2 is similar in scope as Claim 1, and thus is rejected under same rationale.
Regarding Claim 3. The combination of Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Pridie, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum and Holzer further teaches The model of claim 2, wherein the at least one height is two or more heights, wherein each of the collections consists of images taken at a height which is different than that of the other collections (Pridie, abstract, the invention describes a system for generating a three-dimensional model of a physical object including a camera skid placed at a known distance from the physical object and moved fully around the physical object at the known distance, a set of cameras on the camera skid for capturing image data at a series of locations fully around the physical object, and a computing d vice for generating a three-dimensional model of the physical object using the known distance and the image data.
[0016] The imaging skid 110 is a mobile mount for a series of cameras 114 at various heights. Preferably, sufficient independent cameras 114 are fixed on the imaging skid 110 such that 60% overlap in field of view between cameras for a given object being imaged are present. These cameras 114 are arranged at regular intervals up a tower, pillar, or similar rig fixed to a movable base.
RCLifeOn, The video describes using a drone to capture images, a software to generate the images into a 3D model and then using a 3D printer to print your house in a 3D environment.)
Page 3-4, from a drone controller user interface, a point of interest is set for the drone to rotate automatically around.
Page 5-7, the height of the drone will be 6.3m altitude. The drone will automatically fly at the altitude and circle around the point of interest (the object) in a set
radius. A picture is taken at time interval of every 2 seconds.
Page 8-9, the height of the drone is now set at 11 .4m altitude. The drone will
automatically fly at the altitude and circle around the point of interest (the object) in a set radius of 32m. A picture is taken at time interval of every 2 seconds. This will give a set
of picture at a different level.).
The reasoning for combination of Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Pridie, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum and Holzer is the same as described in Claim 1.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaarschmidt et al in view of Pridie et al, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum et al, Holzer et al further in view of Snyder et al (US20130300740).
Claim 4 is similar in scope as Claim 1, and thus is rejected under same rationale. Claim 4 further requires:
The combination of Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Pridie, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum and Holzer fails to explicitly teach, however, Snyder teaches i) providing a virtual joystick, the virtual joystick being configured to allow an end user to rotate the three-dimensional complete virtual model one or more degrees up to 360 degrees (Snyder, abstract, the invention describes systems and methods are provided for displaying data, such as 3D models, having spatial coordinates. In one aspect, a height map and color map are generated from the data. In another aspect, material classification is applied to surfaces within a 3D model. Based on the 3D model, the height map, the color map, and the material classification, haptic responses are generated on a haptic device. In another aspect, a 3D user interface (UI) data model comprising model definitions is derived from the 3D models. The 3D model is updated with video data. In another aspect, user controls are provided to navigate a point of view through the 3D model to determine which portions of the 3D model are displayed.
[0225] A virtual joystick 824, shown by the circle between the arrows, allows the screen view to translate forward, backward, left and right. This also changes the 3D coordinates of the focus point. As described earlier, the focus point can be an object. Therefore, as a user moves through a 3D scene, new points or objects can be selected as the screen's focus, and the screen view can be rotated around the focus point or object using the controls described here.).
Schaarschmidt, Pridie, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum, Holzer and Snyder are analogous art, because they all teach method of creating/displaying 3D model of a vehicle/object. Schaarschmidt further teaches add clickable link to the model section to allow user to further interact with the 3D model. Snyder further teaches using virtual joystick to manipulate virtual object. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3D vehicle model user interface (taught in Schaarschmidt, Pridie, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum and Holzer), to further use a virtual joystick to manipulate (taught in Snyder), so as to provide an intuitive method to view 3D object.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dodd et al (US 20180005049), abstract, the invention describes method of determining the position of an object in a scene. The method comprises: receiving captured images of the scene, each image being captured from a different field of view of the scene, wherein a portion of the scene with a volume comprises a detectable object, the volume is divided into volume portions, and each volume portion is within the captured field of view of at least two of the captured images so that an image of each volume portion appears in the at least two of the captured images; detecting, for each volume portion in each of the captured images within which an image of that volume portion appears, whether or not an image of one of the detectable objects in the scene is positioned within a distance of the position of the image of that volume portion, a correspondence between the images of the detectable objects detected in the at least two of the images is established, the correspondence indicating that the images of the detectable objects detected in the at least two of the images correspond to a single detectable object in the scene, and the position in the scene of that volume portion is established as a position in the scene of the single detectable object.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Xin Sheng/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619