Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10964109.
US App #18976798
1
4
US Patent #10964109
1
1, 8
US App #18976798 Claim 1
US Patent #10964109 Claim 1
1. A method for creating a three-dimensional complete virtual model of a real-world vehicle from a collection of images taken at a series of points, where each point is marked by one of a plurality of physical markers, comprising the steps of:
a) providing a plurality of locations around the real-world vehicle to capture one or more images around the real-world vehicle;
b) determining an amount of levels required to create the three-dimensional complete virtual model;
c) determining a height for a first portion of the collection of images to be taken from;
d) creating a level by capturing, by an image-capture device, the first portion of images by placing the image-capture device at the height and capturing one image at each of the plurality of locations;
e) repeating steps c and d an amount of times equal to the number of levels determined in step b;
f) creating an image mesh by applying a predetermined schema to each of the levels to categorize how each image within each level relates to one-another;
g) generating a navigation grid, the navigation grid comprising a series of hyperlinks overlaid on the image mesh, wherein each hyperlink provides means for loading and rendering one of the captured images from step d; and
h) creating the three-dimensional complete virtual model of the real-world vehicle by incorporating the plurality of captured images from step d, the image mesh, and the navigation grid, such that an end-user will be able to visualize and navigate through the three-dimensional complete virtual model by clicking through the navigation grid.
1. A method for creating a three-dimensional complete virtual model of a real-world vehicle from a collection of images taken at a series of points, where each point is marked by one of a plurality of physical markers, comprising the steps of:
a) determining a placement destination for each of the plurality of physical markers, wherein the plurality of physical markers are placed in a predetermined formation around the real-world vehicle;
b) determining an amount of levels required to create the three-dimensional complete virtual model;
c) determining a height for a first portion of the collection of images to be taken from;
d) creating a level by capturing, by an image-capture device, the first portion of images by placing the image-capture device at the height and capturing one image at each of the plurality of physical markers;
e) repeating steps c and d an amount of times equal to the number of levels determined in step b;
f) creating an image mesh by applying a predetermined schema to each of the levels to categorize how each image within each level relates to one-another;
g) generating a navigation grid, the navigation grid comprising a series of hyperlinks overlaid on the image mesh, wherein each hyperlink provides means for loading and rendering one of the captured images from step d; and
h) creating the three-dimensional complete virtual model of the real-world vehicle by incorporating the plurality of captured images from step d, the image mesh, and the navigation grid, such that an end-user will be able to visualize and navigate through the three-dimensional complete virtual model by clicking through the navigation grid.
US App #18976798 Claim 4
US Patent #10964109 Claim 1
4. A method of displaying a three-dimensional complete virtual model of a real-world vehicle, comprising the steps of:
a) providing a plurality of locations around the real-world vehicle to capture one or more
images around the real-world vehicle;
b) determining an amount of levels required to create the three-dimensional complete virtual model;
c) determining a height for a first portion of the collection of images to be taken from;
d) creating a level by capturing, by an image-capture device, the first portion of images by placing the image-capture device at the height and capturing one image at each of the plurality of locations;
e) repeating steps c and d an amount of times equal to the number of levels determined in step b;
f) creating an image mesh by applying a predetermined schema to each of the levels to categorize how each image within each level relates to one-another;
g) generating a navigation grid, the navigation grid comprising a series of hyperlinks overlaid on the image mesh, wherein each hyperlink provides means for loading and rendering one of the captured images from step d;
h) creating the three-dimensional complete virtual model of the real-world vehicle by incorporating the plurality of captured images from step d, the image mesh, and the navigation grid, such that an end-user will be able to visualize and navigate through the three-dimensional complete virtual model by clicking through the navigation grid; and
i) providing a virtual joystick, the virtual joystick being configured to allow an end user to rotate the three-dimensional complete virtual model one or more degrees up to 360 degrees.
1. A method for creating a three-dimensional complete virtual model of a real-world vehicle from a collection of images taken at a series of points, where each point is marked by one of a plurality of physical markers, comprising the steps of:
a) determining a placement destination for each of the plurality of physical markers, wherein the plurality of physical markers are placed in a predetermined formation around the real-world vehicle;
b) determining an amount of levels required to create the three-dimensional complete virtual model;
c) determining a height for a first portion of the collection of images to be taken from;
d) creating a level by capturing, by an image-capture device, the first portion of images by placing the image-capture device at the height and capturing one image at each of the plurality of physical markers;
e) repeating steps c and d an amount of times equal to the number of levels determined in step b;
f) creating an image mesh by applying a predetermined schema to each of the levels to categorize how each image within each level relates to one-another;
g) generating a navigation grid, the navigation grid comprising a series of hyperlinks overlaid on the image mesh, wherein each hyperlink provides means for loading and rendering one of the captured images from step d; and
h) creating the three-dimensional complete virtual model of the real-world vehicle by incorporating the plurality of captured images from step d, the image mesh, and the navigation grid, such that an end-user will be able to visualize and navigate through the three-dimensional complete virtual model by clicking through the navigation grid.
US Patent #10964109 Claim 8
8. The three-dimensional complete virtual model of claim 7, further comprising a virtual joystick configured to provide for navigation of the three-dimensional complete model in a complete 360 degrees.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For example, Claim 1 of Patent 10964109 discloses "a) determining a placement destination for each of the plurality of physical markers, wherein the plurality of physical markers are placed in a predetermined formation around the real-world vehicle;" while Application 18976798 Claim 1 discloses "a) providing a plurality of locations around the real-world vehicle to capture one or more images around the real-world vehicle". The physical markers placed around the vehicle indicate the locations in which the image capturing will be taking place. Therefore, Patent 10964109 Claim 1 discloses all limitations of Application 18976798 Claim 1.
Claim 2 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11915374.
US App #18976798
2
US Patent #11915374
1
US App #18976798 Claim 2
US Patent #11915374 Claim 1
2. A three-dimensional complete virtual model of a static real-world vehicle, comprising:
a plurality of collections of individual images, each individual image taken from a point from a series of points and taken from a height selected from at least one height,
wherein the series of points are determined based on a plurality of locations around the real-world vehicle,
an image mesh created by applying a predetermined schema to each of the plurality of collections;
a navigation grid comprising a series of hyperlinks overlaid on the image mesh,
wherein each of the hyperlinks corresponds to one of the individual images,
wherein the three-dimensional complete virtual model can be navigated through an internet-enabled electronic device through utilization of the navigation grid.
1. A three-dimensional complete virtual model of a static real-world vehicle, comprising:
a plurality of collections of individual images, each individual image taken from a point from a series of points and taken from a height selected from one or more predetermined heights,
wherein the series of points are determined based on a
plurality of physical markers placed in a predetermined
formation around the real-world vehicle
wherein each of the collections consists of images taken at a height which is different than that of the other
collections;
an image mesh created by applying a predetermined
schema to each of the plurality of collections;
a navigation grid comprising a series of hyperlinks over
laid on the image mesh,
wherein each of the hyperlinks corresponds to one of the individual images,
wherein the three-dimensional complete virtual model
can be navigated through an internet-enabled electronic
device through utilization of the navigation grid,
wherein the one or more predetermined heights is proportional to a size of the real-world vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaarschmidt et al (US20180033212) in view of Finn et al (US20160217624), Pridie et al (US20200118329), RCLifeOn ("3D Printing My House - Photogrammetry Using a Drone", 2017), Nussbaum et al (US10832476) further in view of Holzer et al (US20200234397).
Regarding Claim 1. Schaarschmidt teaches A method for creating a three-dimensional complete virtual model of a real-world vehicle (Schaarschmidt, abstract, the invention describes a method for generating an active visual product configuration based on interactive digital 2D or 3D objects displayed on an operating device. Processing options and degrees of freedom and/or object characteristics are defined in an object control unit of a data processing system. A variant model is created in the data processing system and corresponding parameters are assigned to the object and to the processing options. A visualization unit assigned to the operating device represents the complex variant mode! optically in a 3D-scenario for active product configuration. The active product configuration is carried out via a display device and/or a touch screen integrated in the operating device. All processing options and degrees of freedom of the object can be animated. During the production configuration, a communication control unit effects data communication between the visualization unit and the object control unit and the configuration instance of the variant model.
[0026] In the example shown, the method for visual product configuration using interactive 3D objects is explained with reference to a car model on an operating device 1 in the form of a tablet computer comprising a touchscreen. Further see Fig 2.), comprising the steps of:
Schaarschmidt fails to explicitly teach, however, Finn teaches a plurality of physical markers (Finn, abstract, the invention describes a method, a system, and a mobile device that incorporate augmented reality technology into land surveying, 3D laser scanning, and digital modeling processes. By incorporating the augmented reality technology, the mobile device can display an augmented reality image comprising a real view of a physical structure in the real environment and a 3D digital model of an unbuilt design element overlaid on top of the physical structure at its intended tie-in location. In an embodiment, a marker can be placed at predetermined set of coordinates at or around the tie-in location, determined by surveying equipment. on that the 3D digital
model of the unbuilt design element can be visualized in a geometrically correct orientation with respect to the physical structure. Embodiments of the present invention can also be applied to a scaled down 3D printed object representing the physical structure if visiting the project site is not possible.
[0067] In step (355) of the method, using the camera 141 of the mobile device 140, an image of the physical marker 103 placed on the physical structure in a real environment can be captured. As described in relation to FIG. 3B, the physical marker is placed at a predetermined set of coordinates determined by surveying equipment in an embodiment of the present invention. In one embodiment, the physical marker is placed at or around a tie-in location as described above in relation to FIG. 3B.)
Schaarschmidt and Finn are analogous art, because they all teach method of
creating/displaying 3D model of an object. Schaarschmidt further teaches capture images of a vehicle using markers around the vehicle to calibrate. Finn further teaches arranging physical markers to mark coordinates. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3D vehicle model creating method (taught in Schaarschmidt), to further use physical markers to mark coordinates (taught in Finn), so as to provide a more accurate/effective method to present and plan projects (image capturing) in an arbitrary physical environment (Finn, [0001-0003]).
The combination of Schaarschmidt and Finn fails to explicitly teach, however, Pridie teaches from a collection of images taken at a series of points, where each point is marked by one of a plurality of physical markers
a) providing a plurality of locations around the real-world vehicle to capture one or more images around the real-world vehicle;
b) determining an amount of levels required to create the three-dimensional complete virtual model;
c) determining a height for a first portion of the collection of images to be taken from; (Pridie, abstract, the invention describes a system for generating a three-dimensional model of a physical object including a camera skid placed at a known distance from the physical object and moved fully around the physical object at the known distance, a set of cameras on the camera skid for capturing image data at a series of locations fully around the physical object, and a computing d vice for generating a three-dimensional model of the physical object using the known distance and the image data.
[0015] Referring now to FIG. 1, a system 100 for three-dimensional object imaging is shown. The system 100 includes an imaging skid 110, overhead camera(s)
112, a projector 113, a set of cam eras 114 an object 115, an imaging control system 120, and an object modelling server 130, all interconnected by a network 150.
[0016] The imaging skid 110 is a mobile mount for a series of cameras 114 at various heights. Preferably, sufficient independent cameras 114 are fixed on the imaging skid 110 such that 60% overlap in field of view between cameras for a given object being imaged are present. These cameras 114 are arranged at regular intervals up a tower, pillar, or similar rig fixed to a movable base.
[0063] Referring now to FIG. 5, a perspective view of a three-dimensional object being imaged using a system 500 for three-dimensional object imaging. This perspective shows the overhead camera(s) 512 with their full field perspective 527 of the entirety of the environment in which the imaging skid 510 is moving to capture images of the object 515 using the cameras 514. A series of different paths 521, 522, and 523 may be designated at different distances from the object 515. Though shown as circular, other paths may be used as well.
[0064] The paths 521, 522, and 523 are shown as concentric circles of different radii that are physically drawn on the ground around the object 515. However, a series of QR codes 525 may also be used or used instead.
Therefore, 525 are equivalent to markers on the ground-level surf ace around the object of interest (515)).
Schaarschmidt, Finn and Pridie are analogous art, because they all teach method of creating/displaying 3D model of an object. Schaarschmidt further teaches
capturing a plurality of images for generating virtual 3D model of the interested object.
Pridie further teaches capturing a plurality of images for generating 3D model of the
interested object while positioning cameras based on pre-arranged markers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3D vehicle model creation method (taught in Schaarschmidt and Finn), to further use markers surrounding the object of
interest (taught in Pridie), so as to provide a better system that is capable of multiple resolutions and of capturing large, irregular objects with sufficient detail to create a detailed and accurate 3D model (Pridie, [0003-0007]).
The combination of Schaarschmidt, Finn and Pridie further teaches d) creating a level by capturing, by an image-capture device, the first portion of images by placing the image-capture device at the height and capturing one image at each of the plurality of locations (Pridie, [0016] The imaging skid 110 is a mobile mount for a series of cameras 114 at various heights. Preferably, sufficient independent cameras 114 are fixed on the imaging skid 110 such that 60% overlap in field of view between cameras for a given object being imaged are present. These cameras 114 are arranged at regular intervals up a tower, pillar, or similar rig fixed to a movable base.
Therefore, the camera at different height will capture image of the object at different level.
[0056] Next, the imaging skid begins imaging on path or at desired distance at 430. At this phase, the imaging skid moves around the object being imaged, while being careful to use the path or imaging distance to maintain the known, desired distance. In this way, images at the same depth may be compared to generate a more accurate three-dimensional model for the object.
[0064] The paths 521, 522, and 523 are shown as concentric circles of different radii that are physically drawn on the ground around the object 515. However, a series of QR codes 525 may also be used or used instead.
Therefore, camera at different height will capture image of the object at different
level, and the camera will circle the object and capture the image at each of the marker position 525.);
The combination of Schaarschmidt, Finn and Pridie fails to explicitly teach, however, RCLifeOn teaches e) repeating steps c and d an amount of times equal to the number of levels determined in step b (RCLifeOn, The video describes using a drone to capture images, a software to generate the images into a 3D model and then using a 3D printer to print your house in a 3D environment.)
Page 3-4, from a drone controller user interface, a point of interest is set for the drone to rotate automatically around.
Page 5-7, the height of the drone will be 6.3m altitude. The drone will automatically fly at the altitude and circle around the point of interest (the object) in a set
radius. A picture is taken at time interval of every 2 seconds.
Page 8-9, the height of the drone is now set at 11 .4m altitude. The drone will
automatically fly at the altitude and circle around the point of interest (the object) in a set radius of 32m. A picture is taken at time interval of every 2 seconds. This will give a set
of picture at a different level.
Therefore, for each of the level (height), the picture capturing will repeat so as to
capture image at different angle relative to the object.);
Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Finn and RCLifeOn are analogous art, because they all
teach method of creating/displaying 3D model of a vehicle/object. RCLifeOn further
teaches method of capturing plurality of images of an object with drone at different
levels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3D vehicle model
(taught in Schaarschmidt, Pridie and Finn), to further using the flying image capturing
vehicles for capturing the input images for creating 3D model at multiple different levels
(taught in RCLifeOn), so as to provide a method for user to create 3D model for any
object that can be circled around by a drone.
The combination of Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Finn and RCLifeOn fails to explicitly
teach, however, Nussbaum teaches f) creating an image mesh by applying a predetermined schema to each of the levels to categorize how each image within each level relates to one-another (Nussbaum, abstract, the invention describes methods, systems, and computer implemented virtualization software applications and computer-implemented graphical user interface tools for remote virtual visualization of structures. Images are captured by an imaging vehicle of a structure and the captured images are transmitted to a remote server via a communication network. Using virtual 3D digital modeling software the server, using the images received from the imaging vehicle, generates a virtual 3D digital model of the structure and stores it in a database. This virtual 3D digital model can be accessed by remote users, using virtualization software applications, and used to view images of the structure. The user is able to manipulate the images and to view them from various perspectives and compare the before-the-damage images with images taken after damage have occurred. Based on all this the user is enabled to remotely communicate with an insurance agent and/or me an insurance claim.
Col 8, line 14-26, In performing the above described maneuvers above and around the structure on the property 310 the imaging vehicle 320 captures multiple
images, possibly hundreds or even thousands of images. From these captured images,
a virtual 3D digital imaging software 260 of the remote server 210 may construct or
generate a virtual 3D digital model 220 of the structure or a part thereof.
Col 21, line 24-40, At block 1906, the server 620 may communicate data including at least a portion of the virtual representation to the user electronic device 680.
Such data may be sent to the user as part or all of the virtual 3D digital model, a mesh
or other encoding of a graphical representation of the model, a set of images depicting
views of the model, or other representations of the physical structure based upon the
virtual 3D digital model.
Col 24, line 4-25, In yet further embodiments, the methods and systems
described above may be applied to vehicles, such as cars, trucks. boats. motorcycles,
airplanes, or trains.);
Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Finn, RCLifeOn and Nussbaum are analogous art, because they all teach method of creating/displaying 3D model of a vehicle/object.
Nussbaum further teaches method of capturing plurality of images of a static vehicle with flying imaging vehicles and create mesh of the model. Therefore, it would have
been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the 3D vehicle model (taught in Schaarschmidt, Pridie,
Finn and RCLifeOn), to further using the flying image capturing vehicles for capturing
the input images for creating 3D model and create model mesh (taught in Nussbaum),
so as to provide a remote vehicle inspection method that allowing plurality of images be
captured when the remote vehicle is static and transfer the model mesh over network
(Nussbaum, col 1, line 7-14, col 21, line 24-40).
The combination of Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Finn, RCLifeOn and Nussbaum fails to explicitly teach, however, Holzer teaches g) generating a navigation grid, the navigation grid comprising a series of hyperlinks overlaid on the image mesh, wherein each hyperlink provides means for loading and rendering one of the captured images from step d (Holzer, abstract, the invention describes a method of creating a three-dimensional (3D) skeleton based on a plurality of vertices and a plurality of faces in a two-dimensional (2D) mesh in a top-down image of an object A correspondence mapping between a designated perspective view image and the top-down object image may be determined based on the 3D skeleton. The correspondence mapping may link a respective first location in the top-down object image to a respective second location in
the designated perspective view image for each of a plurality of points in the designated
perspective view image. A top-down mapped image of the object may be created by
determining a first respective pixel value for each of the first locations, with each first
respective pixel value being determined based on a second respective pixel value for the respective second location linked with the respective first location via the correspondence mapping.
[0041] FIG. 2 illustrates one example of a method 200 for performing geometric
analysis of a perspective view image, performed in accordance with one or more embodiments. The method 200 may be performed on any suitable computing device. For example, the method 200 may be performed on a mobile computing device such as a smart phone. Alternately, or additionally, the method 200 may be performed on a remote server in communication with a mobile computing device.
[0057] In some implementations, a mesh predicted in the camera frame may be projected directly onto the image, obtaining a 2D mesh overlaid to the frame. Alternately, a mesh predicted in a difference frame can be used to obtain 3D-2D correspondence mappings between mesh 3D vertices and their corresponding location in the image, and then involve solving a Perspective-N-Point problem that yields the transformation to the camera frame.
[0093] According to various embodiments, object component identity information may be used to allow separate mapping estimation for different object components. For
example, the image of the vehicle shown in FIG. 12 has been segmented to identify the
different vehicle components, which are shown in different colors. For example, the vehicle includes the components 1202, 1204, and 1206 which correspond with the front right wheel, the front right door, and the rear right door respectively. These components have then been separately supplied as input to the machine learning algorithm for the mapping estimation, as shown in the bottom right of the image.
Schaarschmidt, [0013] According to another feature, the present invention also comprises a system for generating an active visual product configuration on the basis of
interactive digital 2D or 3D objects (2), which configuration can be operated on a preferably mobile operating device having integral touchscreen (display with touch function) and/or a pointing device, which operating device is connected via an Internet connection to a data processing system.
[0033] If the user now activates by "touching and simultaneously dragging" the
"Rotate" button or the driver door directly as shown in FIG. 6.2, the user opens the vehicle, and the interior containing additional vehicle objects 2 becomes visible.
Fig 7-7.2 indicates that "seat" object is clickable for further actions. Fig 8-8.2 indicates that "wheel" object is clickable for further actions.).
Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Finn, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum and Holzer are analogous art, because they all teach method of creating/displaying 3D model of a vehicle/object. Schaarschmidt further teaches add clickable link to the model section to allow user to further interact with the 3D model. Holzer further teaches map individual point/portion of
the model/mesh to an image of the corresponding portion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the 3D vehicle model (taught in Schaarschmidt, Pridie,
Finn, RCLifeOn and Nussbaum), to further map individual point/portion of the model/mesh to an image of the corresponding portion (taught in Holzer), so as to provide a more accurate/effective view for images that are captured at different viewpoints of an object (Holzer, [0005]).; and
The combination of Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Finn, Pridie, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum and Holzer further teaches h) creating the three-dimensional complete virtual model of the real-world vehicle by incorporating the plurality of captured images from step d, the image mesh, and the navigation grid, such that an end-user will be able to visualize and navigate through the three-dimensional complete virtual model by clicking through the navigation grid (RCLifeOn, page 10, the captured images are all imported in Autodesk and a 3D mesh of the object is created.
Page 11, the virtual model of the object is created.).
Claim 2 is similar in scope as Claim 1, and thus is rejected under same rationale.
Regarding Claim 3. The combination of Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Finn, Pridie, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum and Holzer further teaches The model of claim 2, wherein the at least one height is two or more heights, wherein each of the collections consists of images taken at a height which is different than that of the other collections (Pridie, abstract, the invention describes a system for generating a three-dimensional model of a physical object including a camera skid placed at a known distance from the physical object and moved fully around the physical object at the known distance, a set of cameras on the camera skid for capturing image data at a series of locations fully around the physical object, and a computing d vice for generating a three-dimensional model of the physical object using the known distance and the image data.
[0016] The imaging skid 110 is a mobile mount for a series of cameras 114 at various heights. Preferably, sufficient independent cameras 114 are fixed on the imaging skid 110 such that 60% overlap in field of view between cameras for a given object being imaged are present. These cameras 114 are arranged at regular intervals up a tower, pillar, or similar rig fixed to a movable base.
RCLifeOn, The video describes using a drone to capture images, a software to generate the images into a 3D model and then using a 3D printer to print your house in a 3D environment.)
Page 3-4, from a drone controller user interface, a point of interest is set for the drone to rotate automatically around.
Page 5-7, the height of the drone will be 6.3m altitude. The drone will automatically fly at the altitude and circle around the point of interest (the object) in a set
radius. A picture is taken at time interval of every 2 seconds.
Page 8-9, the height of the drone is now set at 11 .4m altitude. The drone will
automatically fly at the altitude and circle around the point of interest (the object) in a set radius of 32m. A picture is taken at time interval of every 2 seconds. This will give a set
of picture at a different level.).
The reasoning for combination of Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Finn, Pridie, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum and Holzer is the same as described in Claim 1.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaarschmidt et al in view of Finn et al, Pridie et al, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum et al, Holzer et al further in view of Snyder et al (US20130300740).
Claim 4 is similar in scope as Claim 1, and thus is rejected under same rationale. Claim 4 further requires:
The combination of Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Finn, Pridie, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum and Holzer fails to explicitly teach, however, Snyder teaches i) providing a virtual joystick, the virtual joystick being configured to allow an end user to rotate the three-dimensional complete virtual model one or more degrees up to 360 degrees (Snyder, abstract, the invention describes systems and methods are provided for displaying data, such as 3D models, having spatial coordinates. In one aspect, a height map and color map are generated from the data. In another aspect, material classification is applied to surfaces within a 3D model. Based on the 3D model, the height map, the color map, and the material classification, haptic responses are generated on a haptic device. In another aspect, a 3D user interface (UI) data model comprising model definitions is derived from the 3D models. The 3D model is updated with video data. In another aspect, user controls are provided to navigate a point of view through the 3D model to determine which portions of the 3D model are displayed.
[0225] A virtual joystick 824, shown by the circle between the arrows, allows the screen view to translate forward, backward, left and right. This also changes the 3D coordinates of the focus point. As described earlier, the focus point can be an object. Therefore, as a user moves through a 3D scene, new points or objects can be selected as the screen's focus, and the screen view can be rotated around the focus point or object using the controls described here.).
Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Finn, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum, Holzer and Snyder are analogous art, because they all teach method of creating/displaying 3D model of a vehicle/object. Schaarschmidt further teaches add clickable link to the model section to allow user to further interact with the 3D model. Snyder further teaches using virtual joystick to manipulate virtual object. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3D vehicle model user interface (taught in Schaarschmidt, Pridie, Finn, RCLifeOn, Nussbaum and Holzer), to further use a virtual joystick to manipulate (taught in Snyder), so as to provide an intuitive method to view 3D object.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dodd et al (US 20180005049), abstract, the invention describes method of determining the position of an object in a scene. The method comprises: receiving captured images of the scene, each image being captured from a different field of view of the scene, wherein a portion of the scene with a volume comprises a detectable object, the volume is divided into volume portions, and each volume portion is within the captured field of view of at least two of the captured images so that an image of each volume portion appears in the at least two of the captured images; detecting, for each volume portion in each of the captured images within which an image of that volume portion appears, whether or not an image of one of the detectable objects in the scene is positioned within a distance of the position of the image of that volume portion, a correspondence between the images of the detectable objects detected in the at least two of the images is established, the correspondence indicating that the images of the detectable objects detected in the at least two of the images correspond to a single detectable object in the scene, and the position in the scene of that volume portion is established as a position in the scene of the single detectable object.
/Xin Sheng/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619