DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggests adding duct structure and/or air conditioner body into the title.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPH05-042351U (cited by Applicant; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to attached translation from the EPO website). JPH05-042351U discloses a working machine (construction vehicle; paragraph 0001) comprising:
a machine body (vehicle frame #2; figure 1; paragraph 0008);
a cabin (#1) on the machine body (#2; figure 1; paragraph 0008);
an operator’s seat (#3) provided inside the cabin (#1; figures 1, 2; paragraph 0008);
an air conditioner body (#6, 8) to generate conditioned air to be supplied into the cabin (#1; figures 1-5B; paragraph 0008);
a duct structure (including ducts, chambers, outlets #9-17) to guide conditioned air supplied from the air conditioner body (#6, 8; figures 1-5B; paragraphs 0008-0013);
wherein the air conditioner body (#6, 8) is operable to mix cool air and warm air to generate conditioned air for cooling or heating (paragraphs 0005-0014);
the duct structure (#9-17; paragraphs 0008-0013; figures 1-5B) includes:
a first duct (#16, 17) to allow conditioned air for cooling to flow therethrough (paragraph 0011; figure 5A);
a second duct (#15) to allow conditioned air for heating to flow therethrough (paragraphs 0012-0013; figure 5B);
a switching box (#14) connected to the first duct (#16, 17) and the second duct (#15) and including a switch portion (including opening/closing plate #25) to switch between a first state in which conditioned air supplied from the air conditioner body is allowed to flow through the first duct (figure 5A), and a second state in which conditioned air supplied from the air conditioner body is allowed to flow through the second duct (figure 5B; paragraphs 0011-0013);
a relay duct (#13) to connect the air conditioner body (#6, 8) and the switching box (#14) to guide conditioned air generated by the air conditioner body to the switching box (paragraphs 0009-0013);
(claim 2) wherein the air conditioner body (#6, 8) is located rearward of the operator’s seat (#3; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0006-0008);
the duct structure (#9-17) extends from a position rearward of the operator’s seat (#3), via a space at one side of the operator’s seat, to a position forward of the operator’s seat (figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0006-0008).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH05-042351U (cited by Applicant; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to attached translation from the EPO website) in view of Hokimoto et al. (JP2001-063342A; cited by Applicant; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to attached translation from the EPO website). JPH05-042351U discloses:
(claim 3) a manipulator (operating lever #4) provided at one side of the operator’s seat (#3; figure 1; paragraph 0008);
(claim 4) wherein the first duct (#16, 17) includes a first air outlet (#17), the first air outlet includes a front air outlet which includes an opening located at the one side of the operator’s seat (#3; figures 1, 2, 5A, 5B);
(claim 5) a rear air outlet (#12) which includes an opening located rearward of the operator’s seat (#3; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0008, 0011, 0012)
(claim 6) wherein the switching box (#14) is provided at the one side of the operator’s seat (#3; figures 1, 2);
(claim 7) wherein the duct structure (#9-17) extends through a space below the manipulator (#4) in a front-rear direction (figures 1, 2);
(claim 8) wherein the first duct (#16, 17) includes a flat portion (#17) which is shorter in a machine body width direction than in a front-rear direction (figures 1, 2);
(claim 9) wherein the flat portion (#17) includes a front air outlet (front openings in #17) at a front portion thereof, and includes a rear air outlet (rear openings in #17) at a rear portion thereof (figure 2).
JPH05-042351U does not specifically disclose wherein the first duct extends between the manipulator and an inner wall surface of the cabin that faces the manipulator, the first air outlet opening is located higher than the manipulator, or wherein the first air outlet includes a rear air outlet opening located rearward of the operator’s seat.
Hokimoto et al. teaches a working machine (construction vehicle) comprising:
(claim 3) a manipulator (operating lever) provided at one side of an operator’s seat (#13), wherein a first air conditioning duct (#41, 42) extends between the manipulator and an inner wall surface of a cabin (#8) that faces the manipulator (figures 2, 3, 4, 7; paragraphs 0005, 0008, 0011, 0019, 0025);
(claim 4) wherein the first duct (#41, 42) includes a first air outlet, and the first air outlet includes a front air outlet (#42b) which includes an opening located at the one side of the operator’s seat (#13) and higher than the manipulator (operating lever; figure 7; paragraphs 0022, 0024);
(claim 5) wherein the first air outlet includes a rear air outlet (#47) which includes an opening located rearward of the operator’s seat (#13; figures 2-5, 7; paragraphs 0020-0024);
(claim 7) wherein a duct structure extends through a space below the manipulator (operating lever) in a front-rear direction (figures 2, 3; paragraphs 0005, 0010, 0025, 0032);
(claim 8) wherein the first duct (#41, 42) includes a flat portion (#42) which is shorter in a machine body width direction than in a front-rear direction, the flat portion is provided between the manipulator (operating lever) and the inner wall surface of the cabin (#8; figures 2-4, 7);
(claim 9) wherein the flat portion (#42) includes a front air outlet (front #42b) at a front portion thereof, and includes a rear air outlet (rear #42b) at a rear portion thereof (figures 2, 7, 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the working machine of JPH05-042351U to include wherein the first duct extends between the manipulator and an inner wall surface of the cabin that faces the manipulator, the front air outlet opening is located higher than the manipulator, and a rear air outlet opening is located rearward of the operator’s seat, as taught by Hokimoto et al., so as to extend the first duct along the side of a seated worker such that the air outlets are located at positions that provide optimal comfort for the seated worker without interfering with the manipulator, and such that the space between the seat and inner surface of the cabin is effectively utilized (Hokimoto et al.: paragraphs 0005, 0008, 0011, 0019, 0022-0028).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH05-042351U (cited by Applicant; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to attached translation from the EPO website) in view of JPS62-67140U (cited by Applicant; page numbers pointed out below correlate to translation provided by Applicant). JPH05-042351U discloses duct portions (#9-17) that make up the duct structure, but does not specifically disclose cushioning between end surfaces of the duct portions. JPS62-67140U (pages 3-4; figures 1, 2) teaches:
(claim 12) a duct structure includes one duct (#2) and another duct (#1) connected to each other;
the one duct (#2) includes a first connector portion (locating projection #10) to be inserted into and connected to the another duct (#1);
the another duct (#1) includes a second connector portion (locating hole #9) to receive and to be connected to the one duct (#2);
the first connector portion (#10) includes a first end surface (end wall #10a) perpendicular to a direction in which the first connector portion is inserted;
the second connector portion (#9) includes a second end surface (end wall #9a) to face the first end surface (#10a);
cushioning (seal member #7) is interposed between the first end surface (#10a) and the second end surface (#9a);
(claim 13) wherein the first end surface (#10a) is an annular surface extending inward from an outer peripheral surface of the one duct (#2);
the second end surface (#9a) is an annular surface extending inward from an outer peripheral surface of the another duct (#1);
the cushioning (#7) is an annular component to abut the first end surface (#10a) and the second end surface (#9a);
the second connector portion (#9) includes a folded portion (#9a) folded from a radially innermost portion of the second end surface in a direction away from the first end surface (#10a);
the first connector portion (#10) includes a tubular portion (#10b) extending from a radially innermost portion of the first end surface (#10a) toward the another duct (#1);
the tubular portion (#10b) is provided, on an outer surface thereof, with a projection to engage with the folded portion (#9a);
the folded portion (#9a) is configured to abut the outer surface of the tubular portion (#10b) when the one duct (#2) and the another duct (#1) are connected to each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the working machine of JPH05-042351U to include cushioning between end surfaces of the duct portions, as taught by JPS62-67140U, so as to attach end surfaces of duct portions in a manner that prevents ventilation resistance, thereby allowing for steady flow of air through the duct structure (JPS62-67140U: bottom of page 3-top of page 4).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH05-042351U (cited by Applicant; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to attached translation from the EPO website) in view of Kojima et al. (JPH08-244451A; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to attached translation from the EPO website). JPH05-042351U does not specifically disclose an outside air inlet on a back surface of the cabin (#1). Kojima et al. teaches a work machine (construction vehicle; figures 1-5; paragraphs 0001-0054) comprising:
wherein a cabin (#8) includes, at a back surface thereof, an outside air inlet (including insertion hole #10A, outside air intake port #22D, external air opening #19A, 32A) to allow outside air to be introduced therethrough into an air conditioner body (#13, 31);
the back surface of the cabin (#8) has attached thereto a rear cover (filter box #22) projecting rearward from the back surface;
the outside air inlet (#10A, 19A, 22D, 32A) is provided in the rear cover (#22);
the rear cover (#22) includes a lid (including filter box #22, shutter #34) closeable and openable;
the outside air inlet (#10A, 19A, 22D, 32A) is provided in the lid (#22, 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the outside air inlet on the back surface of the cabin, as taught by Kojima et al., to improve the working machine of JPH05-042351U, for the predictable result of improving cabin air quality by diluting pollutants from inside the cabin with fresh outside air, and for enhancing efficiency of the air conditioning system by ensuring a regular supply of fresh air.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The allowable subject matter of claim 10 is wherein the first duct includes a main portion to connect the switching box and a third duct provided forward of the first duct, the flat portion extending upward from the main portion along the inner wall surface of the cabin, and the flat portion is shorter than the main portion in the machine body width direction, in combination with other features of preceding claims 1, 3, and 8. JPH05-042351U and Hokimoto et al. (JP2001-063342A) do not teach the claimed spatial relationship between the first duct, the flat portion, and a third duct.
The allowable subject matter of claim 11 is wherein the relay duct includes a passage enlarged portion in which a cross-sectional area of a passage thereof increases in a direction from the air conditioner body toward the switching box, in combination with other features of preceding claim 1. JPH05-042351U and Hokimoto et al. (JP2001-063342A) do not teach the claimed passage enlarged portion in which a cross-sectional area of a passage thereof increases in a direction from the air conditioner body toward the switching box.
The allowable subject matter of claim 15 is a second filter coarser than the first filter and provided between the outside air inlet and the first filter, a frame to fix the second filter and the first filter to the outside air duct, and an insect catching net provided between the outside air inlet and the second filter, in combination with other features of claim 15 and preceding claims 1 and 14. Kojima et al. (JPH08-244451A) teaches a first filter (#22A) to remove foreign matter contained in outside air introduced through the outside air inlet (#10A, 19A, 22D, 32A), and an outside air duct (inside/outside air switching unit #19, 32) to guide outside air that has passed through the first filter (#22A) toward the air conditioner body (#13, 31), and the working machine of JPH05-042351U can be modified by Kojima et al. to include these features. Yanai et al. (JP 2006-052689 A) teaches using multiple filters including those for catching insects. However, the combination of these references does not specifically disclose a second filter coarser than the first filter and provided between the outside air inlet and the first filter, a frame to fix the second filter and the first filter to the outside air duct, and an insect catching net provided between the outside air inlet and the second filter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses vehicle air conditioning systems including duct structures for movement of cool air and warm air. Fukuda et al. (JP H09-142131 A), Kato et al. (JP H11-254940 A), Fukuda (JP 2003-267033 A), Hirooka et al. (US 7913746 B2), and Chauvel et al. (US 11370267 B2) specifically disclose work vehicles with air conditioner ducts.
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614