DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-25, 29-32, and 34-42, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barzman et al. (US 11,756,448) in view of Johnson et al. (US 2007/0015121).
Regarding claims 23-24, and 37, Barzman discloses a system which provides a questionnaire to a user, and wherein user speech responses are compared against possible responses and a recognition grammar (a list of words, phrases, etc., associated with the questionnaire as per claim 24), and a raw score is generated. See col. 8: 5-23. Barzman discloses wherein the system transitions based upon the score. See col. 8: 53-58 and col. 6: 62-65.
Barzman discloses various I/O for user input and output in col. 7: 37-61, but does not explicitly disclose a microphone for input speech. However, such configurations are established, as is disclosed by the system of Johnson in paragraph 0007. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to consider such a system with Barzman, in order to provide effective user input.
Barzman does not disclose a state machine configuration, comprising a current state and transitions to a next state. However, such software configurations are well-established, as is disclosed by Johnson in paragraph 0088. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider this concept with the Barzman system, in order to maintain effective software organization.
Regarding claims 25 and 38, Barzman discloses analyzing a biomarker associated with a neuropsychological condition in the speech response to determine the program flow. See col. 6: 62-65. The use of a state machine configuration would be obvious as described above with regard to claim 23.
Regarding claim 29, Barzman discloses recording timings related to transitions. See col. 4: 1-3. The use of a state machine would be obvious as described above with regard to claim 24.
Regarding claim 30, Barzman discloses obtaining text phrases and generating speech synthesis and recognition grammars for a questionnaire, and wherein the questionnaire has transitions based on events related to the recognition grammar.. See col. 7: 11-36.
Barzman discloses a voice user interface for a clinical diagnostic application. See col. 7: 41-44.
Barzman does not disclose a state machine configuration, comprising a current state and transitions to a next state. However, such software configurations are well-established, as is disclosed by the system of Johnson in paragraph 0088. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider this concept with the Barzman system, in order to provide effective organization.
Regarding claims 31-32, Barzman discloses wherein the speech segments can be edited regarding biomarkers for a neuropsychological condition. See col. 8: 5-28.
Regarding claims 34-36, Barzman discloses wherein the phrases are obtained and predicted from previous test results of other patients with similar demographics. See col. 8: 58-63.
Regarding claim 39-41, Barzman discloses a camera for analysis of visual responses of the user, as well as touch sensors, and a visual display for providing prompts. See col. 7: 37-61. The use of a state machine would be obvious as described above with regard to claim 37.
Regarding claim 42, Barzman discloses recording timings related to transitions. See col. 4: 1-16. The use of a state machine would be obvious as described above with regard to claim 37.
Claims 26-28, and 33, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barzman et al. (US 11,756,448) in view of Johnson et al. (US 2007/0015121) and Lathan et al. (US 2015/0196242).
Regarding claims 26 and 33, Barzman does not disclose administering a battery of tests based on the bio-marker. However, this is an established concept with regard to mental health systems, as is disclosed by the testing system of Lathan in paragraph 0037. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider this with the Barzman system, in order to provide a thorough examination. The use of a state machine would be obvious as described above with regard to claim 23.
Regarding claims 27-28, Barzman does not disclose a stack for returning to the questionnaire. However, the use of such is well-established with regard to software systems, as is disclosed by Johnson in paragraph 0076. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider this concept with the Barzman system, in order to provide effective software flow and organization.
Conclusion
TIMOTHY A. MUSSELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/TIMOTHY A MUSSELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715