DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 11, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furukawa et al. (6,098,420).
Regarding claim 1, Furukawa discloses an absorption chiller (see figures 1-2) comprising:
an evaporator (56) configured to carry and evaporate refrigerant therein (see figure 1);
an absorber (55) configured to generate an absorption liquid by mixing the refrigerant from the evaporator (56) with an absorbent (see figure 1);
a regenerator (52 and 53) configured to heat the absorption liquid supplied from the absorber (55; see figure 1);
a condenser (54) configured to receive the refrigerant from the regenerator (52 and 53; see figure 1); and
a heat pipe (the heat transfer pipe 1) that is arranged in at least one of the evaporator (56) or the absorber (55) and extends in a longitudinal direction (see figure 1-2), the heat pipe (1) comprising a rib (the protruded spiral threads 2) that protrudes from an inner surface of the heat pipe (1) toward a center of the heat pipe (1) and that extends in the longitudinal direction and along a spiral shape (Col. 2, lines 19-28; see figure 2), and
wherein a width of the rib (2) in the longitudinal direction decreases toward the center of the heat pipe (1; see figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Furukawa discloses the rib (2) comprises a first inclined surface (the left side inclined surface of the rib 2) that extends from the inner surface of the heat pipe (1) and extends obliquely (the inclined surface of the rib 2 extends along a spiral shape therefore, the surface is obliquely with respect to the flow direction in longitudinal direction) with respect to a flow direction of fluid in the heat pipe (1; see figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Furukawa discloses the rib (2) further comprises:
a protruding surface (the tip surface of the rib 2) that protrudes from the inner surface of the heat pipe (1; see figure 2); and
a second inclined surface (the right side inclined surface of the rib 2) that extends from the protruding surface (the tip surface) toward the inner surface of the heat pipe (1) and extends obliquely (the inclined surface of the rib 2 extends along a spiral shape therefore, the surface is obliquely with respect to the flow direction in longitudinal direction) with respect to the flow direction of the fluid (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Furukawa discloses the rib (the protruded spiral threads 2) is one of a plurality of ribs (2) that are spaced apart from one another in a peripheral direction of the heat pipe (1) and that extend in the longitudinal direction along the inner surface of the heat pipe (1; Col. 6, lines 12-16; see figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Furukawa discloses the rib (2) comprises:
a connection surface (the surface between the base points of the rib 2) connected to the inner surface of the heat pipe (1; see figure 2); and
a protruding surface (the tip surface of the rib 2) spaced apart from the connection surface toward the center of the heat pipe (1; see figure 2), and
wherein a width of the connection surface (the surface between the base points of the rib 2) in a peripheral direction of the heat pipe (1) is greater than a width of the protruding surface (the tip surface of the rib 2) in the peripheral direction (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Furukawa discloses the heat pipe (1) is arranged in both the evaporator (56) and the absorber (55; see figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Furukawa discloses the heat pipe (1) further comprises a plurality of protrusions (3) that protrude from an outer surface of the heat pipe (1) and are arranged in the longitudinal direction and a peripheral direction of the heat pipe (1; see figure 2).
Regarding claim 17, Furukawa discloses a distance between two adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions (3) in the peripheral direction is less than a distance between two adjacent protrusions (3) of the plurality of protrusions (3) in the longitudinal direction (see figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 18, Furukawa discloses the heat pipe (1) defines:
a first flow path (the flow path in longitudinal direction) between columns of the plurality of protrusions (3) that are spaced apart from each other in the longitudinal direction (see figures 2-3), the first flow path extending in the peripheral direction (see figure 2); and
a second flow path (the flow path in peripheral direction) between rows of the plurality of protrusions (3) that are arranged in the peripheral direction (see figure 2), the second flow path (the flow path in peripheral direction) extending in the longitudinal direction (see figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 20, Furukawa discloses an absorption chiller comprising:
an evaporator (56) configured to carry and evaporate refrigerant therein (see figure 1);
an absorber (55) configured to generate an absorption liquid by mixing the refrigerant from the evaporator (56) with an absorbent (see figure 1);
a regenerator (52 and 53) configured to heat the absorption liquid supplied from the absorber (55; see figure 1);
a condenser (54) configured to receive the refrigerant from the regenerator (52 and 53; see figure 1); and
a heat pipe (1) arranged in at least one of the evaporator (56) or the absorber (55), the heat pipe comprising:
a base pipe (1) that extends in a first direction (the radial direction) and is configured to carry fluid therein (see figure 2), and a rib (the protruded spiral threads 2) that protrudes from an inner surface of the base pipe (1) and extends in the first direction (the radial direction) and along a spiral shape (see figure 2), wherein a width of the rib (2) in the first direction (the radial direction) decreases toward a center of the base pipe (1; see figure 2).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 10-11 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (KR100707682B1).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses an absorption chiller (see figures 1-4) comprising:
an evaporator (107) configured to carry and evaporate refrigerant therein (see figure 1);
an absorber (106) configured to generate an absorption liquid by mixing the refrigerant from the evaporator (107) with an absorbent (paragraph 3 of page 2; see figure 1);
a regenerator (103) configured to heat the absorption liquid supplied from the absorber (106; see figure 1);
a condenser (101) configured to receive the refrigerant from the regenerator (103; see figure 1); and
a heat pipe (the heat transfer pipe 20 of the evaporator 107 and/or absorber 106) that is arranged in at least one of the evaporator (107) or the absorber (106) and extends in a longitudinal direction (the last paragraph of page 2 and paragraph 3 of page 4; see figure 1-4), the heat pipe (20) comprising a rib (21) that protrudes from an inner surface of the heat pipe (20) toward a center of the heat pipe (20) and that extends in the longitudinal direction and along a spiral shape (see figure 2), and
wherein a width of the rib (21) in the longitudinal direction decreases toward the center of the heat pipe (20; see figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses the rib (21) comprises a first inclined surface (the left side inclined surface of the rib 21) that extends from the inner surface of the heat pipe (20) and extends obliquely (the inclined surface of the rib 21 extends along a spiral shape therefore, the surface is obliquely with respect to the flow direction) with respect to a flow direction of fluid in the heat pipe (20; see figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 3, Cho discloses the rib (21) further comprises:
a protruding surface (the tip surface of the rib 21) that protrudes from the inner surface of the heat pipe (20; see figures 2a-2b); and
a second inclined surface (the right side inclined surface of the rib 21) that extends from the protruding surface (the tip surface) toward the inner surface of the heat pipe (20) and extends obliquely (the inclined surface of the rib 21 extends along a spiral shape therefore, the surface is obliquely with respect to the flow direction in longitudinal direction) with respect to the flow direction of the fluid (see figures 2a-2b).
Regarding claim 6, Cho discloses the rib (21) is one of a plurality of ribs (21) that are spaced apart from one another in a peripheral direction of the heat pipe (20) and that extend in the longitudinal direction along the inner surface of the heat pipe (20; see figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 7, Cho discloses the plurality of ribs (21) define an acute angle with respect to a flow direction (the flow direction along the central axis of the pipe) of fluid in the heat pipe (20; see figure 2b or 3b).
Regarding claim 10, Cho discloses a width of the rib (21) in a peripheral direction of the heat pipe (20) decreases from the inner surface of the heat pipe toward the center of the heat pipe (20; see figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 11, Cho discloses the rib (21) comprises:
a connection surface (the surface between the base points of the rib 21 on the inner surface of the heat pipe 20) connected to the inner surface of the heat pipe (20; see figure 2b or 3b); and
a protruding surface (the tip surface of the rib 21) spaced apart from the connection surface toward the center of the heat pipe (20; see figure 2b or 3b), and
wherein a width of the connection surface (the surface between the base points of the rib 21) in a peripheral direction of the heat pipe (20) is greater than a width of the protruding surface (the tip surface of the rib 21) in the peripheral direction (see figure 2b or 3b).
Regarding claim 15, Cho discloses the heat pipe (20) is arranged in both the evaporator (107) and the absorber (106; the last paragraph of page 2; see figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Cho discloses the heat pipe (20) further comprises a plurality of protrusions (10) that protrude from an outer surface of the heat pipe (20) and are arranged in the longitudinal direction and a peripheral direction of the heat pipe (20; see figure 2a).
Regarding claim 17, Cho discloses a distance (the width d is 0.5 to 1 mm) between two adjacent protrusions (10) of the plurality of protrusions (10) in the peripheral direction is less than a distance (the width d2 is 1 to 1.2 mm) between two adjacent protrusions (10) of the plurality of protrusions (10) in the longitudinal direction (the last two paragraph of page 4; see figures 2a-2b).
Regarding claim 18, Cho discloses the heat pipe (20) defines:
a first flow path (the flow path in longitudinal direction) between columns of the plurality of protrusions (10) that are spaced apart from each other in the longitudinal direction (see figures 2a-2b), the first flow path extending in the peripheral direction (see figure 2a-2b); and
a second flow path (the flow path in peripheral direction) between rows of the plurality of protrusions (10) that are arranged in the peripheral direction (see figures 2a-2b), the second flow path (the flow path in peripheral direction) extending in the longitudinal direction (see figures 2a-2b).
Regarding claim 19, Cho discloses a width (the width d2 is 1-1.2mm) of the first flow path (the flow path in longitudinal direction) in the longitudinal direction is greater than a width (the width d is 0.5 to 1mm) of the second flow path (the flow path in peripheral direction) in the peripheral direction (the last two paragraph of page 4; see figures 2a-2b).
Regarding claim 20, Cho discloses an absorption chiller comprising:
an evaporator (107) configured to carry and evaporate refrigerant therein (see figure 1);
an absorber (106) configured to generate an absorption liquid by mixing the refrigerant from the evaporator (107) with an absorbent (see figure 1);
a regenerator (103) configured to heat the absorption liquid supplied from the absorber (106; see figure 1);
a condenser (101) configured to receive the refrigerant from the regenerator (103; see figure 1); and
a heat pipe (20) arranged in at least one of the evaporator (107) or the absorber (106), the heat pipe comprising:
a base pipe (20) that extends in a first direction (the radial direction) and is configured to carry fluid therein (see figure 2a), and a rib (21) that protrudes from an inner surface of the base pipe (20) and extends in the first direction (the radial direction) and along a spiral shape (see figure 2a), wherein a width of the rib (21) in the first direction (the radial direction) decreases toward a center of the base pipe (20; see figures 2a-2b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furukawa in view of Shibata et al. (JP2009030913A).
Regarding claim 4, Furukawa discloses the protruding surface (the tip surface) of the rib (2) connects the first inclined surface (the left side surface of the rib 2) to the second inclined surface (the right side surface of the rib 2).
However, Furukawa fails to disclose the protruding surface is convex toward the center of the heat pipe.
Shibata teaches a heat transfer pipe of an absorption refrigerator comprising a protruding surface (the convex ridges 43 of the rib) is convex toward the center of the heat transfer pipe (41; see figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the absorption chiller of Furukaw to incorporate the claimed convex surface for the rib as taught by Shibata in order to improve the flow smoothness by reducing the turbulence for fluid due to smooth convex surface instead of the sharp corner or edge with the flat tip surface.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furukawa.
Regarding claim 12, Furukawa discloses a ratio of the width of the connection surface (the surface between the base points of the rib 2) with respect to the width of the protruding surface (the tip surface of the rib 2).
Though Furukawa fails to disclose the ratio is in a range from 2.0 to 2.5, Furukawa disclosure a ratio between the connection surface and the protruding surface in certain ratio (see figure 2). Furukawa’s disclosure meets of the general condition of the claimed ratio range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date that the claimed ratio range is just a matter of obviousness of similar and overlapping range which can be achieved through routine experimentation to optimize the ratio range of Furukawa to claimed range in order to optimize the fluid flow and heat transfer (see MPEP 2144.05 section II-A).
Regarding claim 13, Furukawa discloses the rib (2) comprises an inclined surface that extends obliquely (the inclined surface of the rib 2 extends along a spiral shape therefore, the surface is obliquely with respect to the flow direction) from the protruding surface toward the inner surface of the heat pipe (1; see figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Furukawa discloses a height of the rib (2) protruding from the inner surface of the heat pipe (1) is in certain a range (see figure 2).
Though Furukawa fails to disclose the claimed height is in a range from 0.18 to 0.28 millimeters, Furukawa disclosure certain height of the rib (2; see figure 2). Furukawa’s disclosure meets of the general condition of the claimed height range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date that the claimed height range is just a matter of obviousness of similar and overlapping range which can be achieved through routine experimentation to optimize the height range of the rib of Furukawa to claimed range in order to optimize the fluid flow and heat transfer (see MPEP 2144.05 section II-A).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furukawa in view of Shibata.
Regarding claim 4, Cho discloses the protruding surface (the tip surface) of the rib (21) connects the first inclined surface (the left side inclined surface of the rib 21) to the second inclined surface (the right side inclined surface of the rib 21).
However, Cho fails to disclose the protruding surface is convex toward the center of the heat pipe.
Shibata teaches a heat transfer pipe of an absorption refrigerator comprising a protruding surface (the convex ridges 43 of the rib) is convex toward the center of the heat transfer pipe (41; see figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the absorption chiller of Cho to incorporate the claimed convex surface for the rib as taught by Shibata in order to improve the flow smoothness by reducing the turbulence for fluid due to smooth convex surface instead of the sharp corner or edge with the sharp tip surface.
Regarding claim 5, Cho as modified discloses a length of the protruding surface (the convex tip surface of the rib 21) in the longitudinal direction is less than a length of each of the first inclined surface (the left side surface of the rib 21) and the second inclined surface (the right side surface of the rib 21) in the longitudinal direction (see figure 2b of Cho).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho.
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses the plurality of ribs (21) define an angle with respect to a flow direction of fluid in the heat pipe (20) in certain degree (see figures 2b or 3b).
Though Cho fails to explicitly disclose the angle in a range from 38 degrees to 48 degrees, Cho clearly disclose the angle in certain degree (see figure 2b or 3b). Cho’s disclosure meets of the general condition of the claimed angle of the ribs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date that the claimed angle range is just a matter of obviousness of similar and overlapping range which can be achieved through routine experimentation to optimize the angle range of Cho to claimed range to enhance the fluid flow and heat transfer (see MPEP 2144.05 section II-A).
Regarding claim 9, Cho discloses a number of the plurality of ribs (21; see figure 2a).
Though Cho fails to disclose the number of ribs is in a range from 8 to 12, Cho disclosure a number of plurality of ribs (see figure 2a). Cho’s disclosure meets of the general condition of the claimed number of the ribs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date that the claimed number of rib range is just a matter of obviousness of similar and overlapping range which can be achieved through routine experimentation to optimize the number of rib range of Cho to claimed range in order to optimize the fluid flow and heat transfer (see MPEP 2144.05 section II-A).
Regarding claim 12, Cho discloses a ratio of the width of the connection surface (the surface between the base points of the rib 21 on the inner surface of the heat pipe 20) with respect to the width of the protruding surface (the tip surface of the rib 21).
Though Cho fails to disclose the ratio is in a range from 2.0 to 2.5, Cho disclosure a ratio between the connection surface and the protruding surface in certain ratio (see figure 2a). Cho’s disclosure meets of the general condition of the claimed ratio range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date that the claimed ratio range is just a matter of obviousness of similar and overlapping range which can be achieved through routine experimentation to optimize the ratio range of Cho to claimed range in order to optimize the fluid flow and heat transfer (see MPEP 2144.05 section II-A).
Regarding claim 13, Cho discloses the rib (21) comprises an inclined surface that extends obliquely (the inclined surface of the rib 21 extends along a spiral shape therefore, the surface is obliquely with respect to the flow direction in the longitudinal direction) from the protruding surface toward the inner surface of the heat pipe (20; see figure 2a).
Regarding claim 14, Cho discloses a height of the rib (21) protruding from the inner surface of the heat pipe (20) is in certain a range (see figure 2).
Though Cho fails to disclose the claimed height is in a range from 0.18 to 0.28 millimeters, Cho disclosure certain height of the rib (21; see figure 2a). Cho’s disclosure meets of the general condition of the claimed height range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date that the claimed height range is just a matter of obviousness of similar and overlapping range which can be achieved through routine experimentation to optimize the height range of the rib of Cho to claimed range in order to optimize the fluid flow and heat transfer (see MPEP 2144.05 section II-A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KUN KAI MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763