DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-12, and Species A, FIGS. 2A-3C, in the reply filed on 28 January 2026, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 13-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 7-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
The priority date is 11 December 2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the interference fit between the portion of increased diameter and the retainer (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The drawings, e.g. FIG. 3B, show the portion of increased diameter 440’ spaced from the retainer 413 by the seal 525a, and do not show an interference fit between the portion of increased diameter and the retainer. Similarly, the retainer is not shown directly secured to the portion of increased diameter; claim 6 will be interpreted as components of the tool being mechanically secured together as parts of the assembled whole.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities: improper antecedence. Appropriate correction is required. The following amendments are suggested:
Claim 1 / line 7: “the inner tube”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the limitation “the interference fit” renders the claims indefinite because it lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as an interference fit. Note the relevant drawing objection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by U.S. Patent No. US 8,109,956 to Shadeck.
As to claim 1, Shadeck discloses a disposable cutting tool (interpreted as language of intended use; any tool is capable of disposal) configured for use with a cutting device for removing tissue or bone, comprising: an outer shaft (52) (col. 4 / line 63 – col. 5 / line 5) including a cutting head (66; cutting edge at 84) at a distal end thereof configured to cut tissue or bone (col. 5 / lines 49-52; col. 6 / lines 6-7), FIGS. 3A and 4A; a shaft assembly (33) configured to secure a proximal end of the outer shaft therein, FIGS. 3A and 5; an inner tube (56 and 140) concentrically disposed within the outer shaft (distal portion of 56 is disposed within 52) and extending proximally therethrough, FIGS. 3A and 5, the inner shaft supporting a proximal hub connector (100) at a proximal end thereof (col. 6 / lines 33-39); a retainer (144) disposed atop the inner tube proximate a distal end of the proximal hub connector, FIG. 5, the retainer configured to cooperate with a locking flange (proximal end 108 of hub 60) disposed on a proximal end of the shaft assembly to secure the inner tube therein (col. 7 / lines 63-67), FIG. 6; and a seal (142 and washer) disposed between the locking flange and the retainer configured to prevent fluid from leaking from the shaft assembly (col. 7 / lines 63-67), FIGS. 3A and 6, wherein the inner tube defines a portion of increased diameter (140) between the retainer and the proximal end of the outer shaft, FIG. 6, wherein, once assembled, the interference fit between the portion of increased diameter and the retainer (the portion of increased diameter would interferingly fit against the retainer if pushed against it, at least as much as the instant invention) prevents the inner tube from becoming unintentionally dislodged from the proximal hub connector during removal (interpreted as language of intended use; the snug interfitting of all of the components would prevent the inner tube from becoming unintentionally dislodged from the proximal hub connector).
As to claim 3, Shadeck discloses the disposable cutting tool according to claim 1, wherein the distal end of the proximal hub connector is tapered, FIG. 6, and cooperates with the portion of increased diameter to capture the retainer (since the retainer is between the proximal hub connector and the portion of increased diameter), FIG. 6.
As to claim 4, Shadeck discloses the disposable cutting tool according to claim 1, wherein a proximal end of the proximal hub connector includes a universal mechanical interface (mechanical interface that is universal to the cutting device disclosed and all others of complementary form) which is adapted to connect to a locking collar disposed within the cutting device to secure the cutting tool therein (interpreted as language of intended use; fully capable of connecting to a complementary locking collar disposed within the cutting device), FIG. 7B.
As to claim 6, Shadeck discloses the disposable cutting tool according to claim 1, wherein the retainer is mechanically secured to the portion of increased diameter after the retainer is engaged with the locking flange (the components, including the retainer and the portion of increased diameter, are mechanically secured to each other as parts of the assembled whole, FIG. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shadeck in view of U.S. Patent No. US 9,737,322 to Oliver et al. (hereinafter, “Oliver”).
Shadeck is silent as to wherein an inner diameter of the retainer is smaller than an outer diameter of the portion of increased diameter when sealed atop the inner tube.
Oliver teaches cutting tool, FIG. 3B, comprising an outer shaft (40); a shaft assembly (56) configured to secure a proximal end of the outer shaft therein; an inner tube (36) concentrically disposed within the outer shaft and extending proximally therethrough, the inner shaft supporting a proximal hub connector (42) at a proximal end thereof (col. 5 / lines 42-46); a retainer (54) disposed atop the inner tube proximate a distal end of the proximal hub connector, FIG. 3B, the retainer configured to cooperate with a locking flange (proximal end of 56) disposed on a proximal end of the shaft assembly to secure the inner tube therein; and a seal (88) disposed between the locking flange and the retainer configured to prevent fluid from leaking from the shaft assembly, FIG. 3B.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retainer in Shadeck to have a distal opening therethrough that closely fits around a portion of the inner tube that passes therethrough, as taught by Oliver, to contribute to the seal around the inner tube (as disclosed by Shadeck’s seals 142) and to stabilize the inner tube through the retainer so that the inner tube does not inadvertently extend off-axis through the retainer. Then, with the distal opening through the retainer closely fitting around the proximal portion of the inner tube that passes therethrough, an inner diameter of the retainer at its distal opening is the same as or only slightly larger than the outer diameter of the proximal portion of the inner tube. Then, because an outer diameter of the portion of increased diameter is greater than the outer diameter of the proximal portion of the inner tube that extends through the retainer, the outer diameter of the portion of increased diameter would also be greater than the inner diameter of the retainer at its distal opening, i.e. the inner diameter of the retainer is smaller than the outer diameter of the portion of increased diameter when sealed atop the inner tube.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shadeck in view of U.S. Patent No. US 10,527,230 to Stachulla et al. (hereinafter, “Stachulla”).
Shadeck is silent as to wherein the portion of increased diameter includes at least one of a shrink wrap, curable adhesive, or swage.
Stachulla teaches that a cylinder can be formed by swaging (col. 10 / lines 65-67).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cylindrical portion of increased diameter in Shadeck by swaging, so that the portion of increased diameter includes swage since it is formed by swaging, since Stachulla teaches that a cylinder can be formed by swaging and swaging a blank into a cylindrical shape would allow for the use of a universal blank and therefore reduce production costs.
Conclusion
/TRACY L KAMIKAWA/Examiner, Art Unit 3775