DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claims is interpreted as a cleansing composition comprising an anionic, nonionic and a viscosity modifying agent. Additionally, the phrase “substantially free of” is interpreted broadly by the definition of applicant’s specification of less than 10%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11, 13-14, 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Inamorato et al (3985687).
Inamorato et al disclose A liquid detergent of desired viscosity, conveniently pourable at room temperature and fluid at lower temperatures, includes polyethoxylated higher alkanol nonionic synthetic organic detergent, either polyethoxy higher alkanol sulfate or higher alkyl benzene sulfonate synthetic anionic organic detergent or a mixture of both, lower alkanol, sodium chloride, sodium nitrate and water, in certain proportions (abstract).
Examples 2 teaches with sufficient specificity to anticipate the claimed invention.
Alternatively, the example 2 above is silent with respect to the viscosity but Inamorato et al teach that viscosity usually be in the range of 40 to 120 centipoises, preferably from 70 to 115 centipoises, more preferably 75 to 110 centipoises, most preferably for the liquid detergents based on higher alkyl benzene sulfonate as the anionic detergent component, from 75 to 90 or 95 centipoises (col. 11, lines 12-25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to expect the working examples to comprise a viscosity as claimed.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardy (2013/0267451).
Hardy teaches an aqueous cleansing composition,
comprising: an aqueous base, and a surfactant system comprising a plurality of
surfactants dispersed in the aqueous base, the plurality of surfactants comprising one or
more anionic surfactants, one or more nonionic
surfactants or a combination thereof (see para. 0021-0022, 0050, 0085), wherein the
aqueous cleansing composition comprises a viscosity measured at about 25°C of from
about 500 cP to about 1300 cP (see para. 0027, 0042).
Hardy teaches the composition of claim 1, wherein the surfactant
system comprises a combination of the one or more anionic surfactants, the one or
more amphoteric surfactants and the one or more nonionic surfactants (see para. 0036,
0050: surfactants include anionic, amphoteric and nonionic surfactants).
Hardy teaches the composition of claim 1, wherein the one or
more anionic surfactants comprise an alkyl sulfonate, an alkyl ethoxy sulfate or a salt
thereof or a combination thereof (see para. 0030, 0053); claim 4, wherein the alkyl sulfonate comprises sodium dodecyl benzene sulfonate (DDBS) (see para. 0030); claim 4, wherein the alkyl ethoxy sulfate or a salt thereof comprises sodium lauryl ether sulfate (SLES) (see para. 0053).
Hardy teaches the composition of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of viscosity modifying agents, the viscosity modifying agents comprising ethanol, a poloxamer or a combination thereof (see para. 0041, 0048); wherein the poloxamer is present in an amount of from about 0.01 wt% to about 1 wt% (see para. 0041).
As to claim 20, Hardy teaches a method for preparing the aqueous cleaning composition of claim 1, the method comprising contacting the aqueous base and the surfactant system with one another (see para. 0013, 0045, 0086).
Hardy teaches the composition of claim 1 as described above but fails to explicitly disclose that the surfactant system is present in an amounts based on the total weight of the aqueous cleansing composition. However, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would discover the optimum or workable ranges for the amount (wt%) of surfactant system in the composition based on routine experimentation and the disclosure of Hardy (see para. 0047: the surfactants and their amounts are selected to create a relatively constant viscosity curve when the compositions are diluted from as high as 54 wt% active surfactant ingredients (AI) to as low as 5 wt% Al; see also para. 0023). Burden is shifted to the Applicant to provide evidence that the claimed ranges produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Hardy teaches the composition but fails to explicitly disclose the amount (wt%) of anionic surfactants, DDBS and SLES. However, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would discover the optimum or workable ranges for the amount (wt%) of anionic surfactants in the composition based on routine experimentation and the disclosure of Hardy (see para. 0022-0023 & 0047). Burden is shifted to the Applicant to provide evidence that the claimed ranges produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Hardy teaches the composition of claim 1, wherein the one or more nonionic surfactants comprise a reaction product of a C9-C15 or a C9-C11 alkanol and 2.5 to 10 moles of ethylene oxide (see para. 0063-0064: nonionic surfactant class includes condensation products of an alkanol containing about 8 to 18 carbon atoms condensed with about 5 to 30 moles of ethylene oxide). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the portion of the prior art's range which is within the range of applicant's claims because it has been held to be obvious to select a value in a known range by optimization for the best results. See MPEP 2144.05.
Hardy teaches the composition of claim 1 as described above, but fails to explicitly disclose the amount (wt%) of nonionic surfactants and weight ratios of the surfactant system. However, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would discover the optimum or workable ranges for the amount (wt%) and weight ratio of surfactants in the composition based on routine experimentation and the disclosure of Hardy (see para. 0022-0023, 0047, 0050). Burden is shifted to the Applicant to provide evidence that the claimed ranges produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Hardy teaches the composition as described above in the anticipation rejection, but fails to explicitly disclose the amount (wt%) of ethanol. However, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would discover the optimum or workable ranges for the amount (wt%) and weight ratio of viscosity modifying agents in the composition based on routine experimentation and the disclosure of Hardy (see para. 0041). Burden is shifted to the Applicant to provide evidence that the claimed ranges produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/NECHOLUS OGDEN JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761