DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants submit that Kishigami does not teach of N is 2M, wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 3.
As discussed below in the rejection, Kishigami teaches of N is 2M (The code length of a Walsh-Hadamard code is a power of two, Paragraph 0064), wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 3 (code length is 23 = 8, Loc = 8, Paragraph 0087). Therefore, the combination of Kishigami and Lopez teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “…N is 2^M, wherein M is…” in line 5 could be changed to “…N is 2M
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5 – 6, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishigami et al (US 2023/0003870) in view of Lopez et al (US 2022/0182109).
Re claim 1, Kishigami teaches of a sensing method applied to a first communication apparatus (Fig.1), comprising: sending a first sensing signal (Fig.2) comprising first sub-signals in N periods (Nc periods (Tr), Fig.2), wherein a first sub-signal in an nth period is a signal obtained by performing phase modulation (#105, Fig.1 and phase modulator, Paragraph 0056) on a second sub-signal (from #102, Fig.1) based on an nth element in a first sequence (first sequence from a code generator, #104, Fig.1 and Paragraph 0088), N is 2M (The code length of a Walsh-Hadamard code is a power of two, Paragraph 0064), wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 3 (code length is 23 = 8, Loc = 8, Paragraph 0087), n=1, 2, . . . , N, and the first sequence is a binary sequence (Paragraph 0088) that comprises N elements (NCM orthogonal codes generated by code generator 104 are, for example, mutually orthogonal codes. The code length of a Walsh-Hadamard code is a power of two, and orthogonal codes with each code length include orthogonal codes equal in number to the code length. For example, a Walsh-Hadamard code with a code length of two, four, eight, or 16 includes two, four, eight, or 16 orthogonal codes, Paragraph 0064); when N=8 (Loc = 8, Paragraph 0087), the first sequence is any one of a first preset sequence, a second preset sequence, a third preset sequence, or a fourth preset sequence, or the first sequence is a sequence obtained by performing cyclic shift on any one of a first preset sequence, a second preset sequence, a third preset sequence, or a fourth preset sequence, wherein
the first preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1},
the second preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1},
the third preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1}, and
the fourth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1} or {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1} (Paragraph 0088); and when N=16, the first sequence is any one of a fifth preset sequence, a sixth preset sequence, a seventh preset sequence, an eighth preset sequence, or a ninth preset sequence, or the first sequence is a sequence obtained by performing cyclic shift on any one of a fifth preset sequence, a sixth preset sequence, a seventh preset sequence, an eighth preset sequence, or a ninth preset sequence (Loc = 16, Paragraphs 0064 – 0065, 0087 and 0083 – 0092). However, Kishigami does specifically teach of wherein the fifth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1}; the sixth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1}; the seventh preset sequence is {1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1}; the eighth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or the eighth preset sequence is {1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}; and the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}.
Lopez teaches of when N=16, the first sequence is any one of a fifth preset sequence, a sixth preset sequence, a seventh preset sequence, an eighth preset sequence, or a ninth preset sequence, wherein
the fifth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1};
the sixth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1};
the seventh preset sequence is {1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1};
the eighth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or
the eighth preset sequence is {1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}; and the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1} (Paragraphs 0004, 0019 – 0023 and 0035 and Figures 1 – 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected for code length of 16, the first sequence to be any one of a fifth preset sequence, a sixth preset sequence, a seventh preset sequence, an eighth preset sequence, or a ninth preset sequence as disclosed by Lopez for improved system performance, flexibility, and reliability.
Re claim 3, Kishigami teaches of wherein before the sending a first sensing signal, the sensing method further comprises: determining the first sequence (code generator, #104, Fig.1); and performing phase modulation on the second sub-signal based on the nth element in the first sequence, to obtain the first sensing signal (#105, Fig.1).
Re claim 5, Kishigami teaches of wherein the first sequence is a preconfigured sequence (Walsh-Hadamard code sequences, Paragraphs 0087 – 0088).
Re claim 6, Kishigami teaches of the first communication apparatus is a radar, or the first communication apparatus is a terminal device or a network device having a radar function (radar, Fig.1).
Re claim 17, Kishigami teaches of a communication apparatus (Fig.1), comprising: a processor; and a memory couple to the processor to store instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to perform operations (processor and memory, Paragraph 0490), the operations comprising: sending a first sensing signal (Fig.2) comprising first sub-signals in N periods (Nc periods, Fig.2), a first sub-signal in an nth period is a signal obtained by performing phase modulation (#105, Fig.1 and phase modulator, Paragraph 0056) on a second sub-signal (from #102, Fig.1) based on an nth element in a first sequence (first sequence from a code generator, #104, Fig.1 and Paragraph 0088), N is 2M (The code length of a Walsh-Hadamard code is a power of two, Paragraph 0064), wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 3 (code length is 23 = 8, Loc = 8, Paragraph 0087), n=1, 2, . . . , N, and the first sequence is a binary sequence (Paragraph 0088) that comprises N elements (NCM orthogonal codes generated by code generator 104 are, for example, mutually orthogonal codes. The code length of a Walsh-Hadamard code is a power of two, and orthogonal codes with each code length include orthogonal codes equal in number to the code length. For example, a Walsh-Hadamard code with a code length of two, four, eight, or 16 includes two, four, eight, or 16 orthogonal codes, Paragraph 0064); when N=8 (Loc = 8, Paragraph 0087), the first sequence is any one of a first preset sequence, a second preset sequence, a third preset sequence, or a fourth preset sequence, or the first sequence is a sequence obtained by performing cyclic shift on any one of a first preset sequence, a second preset sequence, a third preset sequence, or a fourth preset sequence, wherein the first preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1}, the second preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1}, the third preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1}, and the fourth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1} or {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1} (Paragraph 0088); and when N=16, the first sequence is any one of a fifth preset sequence, a sixth preset sequence, a seventh preset sequence, an eighth preset sequence, or a ninth preset sequence, or the first sequence is a sequence obtained by performing cyclic shift on any one of a fifth preset sequence, a sixth preset sequence, a seventh preset sequence, an eighth preset sequence, or a ninth preset sequence (Loc = 16, Paragraphs 0064 – 0065, 0087 and 0083 – 0092). However, Kishigami does specifically teach of wherein the fifth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1}; the sixth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1}; the seventh preset sequence is {1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1}; the eighth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or the eighth preset sequence is {1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}; and the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}.
Lopez teaches of when N=16, the first sequence is any one of a fifth preset sequence, a sixth preset sequence, a seventh preset sequence, an eighth preset sequence, or a ninth preset sequence, wherein
the fifth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1};
the sixth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1};
the seventh preset sequence is {1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1};
the eighth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or
the eighth preset sequence is {1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}; and the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1} (Paragraphs 0004, 0019 – 0023 and 0035 and Figures 1 – 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected for code length of 16, the first sequence to be any one of a fifth preset sequence, a sixth preset sequence, a seventh preset sequence, an eighth preset sequence, or a ninth preset sequence as disclosed by Lopez for improved system performance, flexibility, and reliability.
Re claim 19, Kishigami teaches of wherein before the sending a first sensing signal, the sensing method further comprises: determining the first sequence (code generator, #104, Fig.1); and performing phase modulation on the second sub-signal based on the nth element in the first sequence, to obtain the first sensing signal (#105, Fig.1).
Claims 2, 4, 7, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishigami and Lopez in view of Gao et al (WO 2021/052262) (US 2022/0204004 used as an English-language version of the WIPO (PCT) application).
Re claims 2 and 18, Kishigami and Lopez teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 17, as well as Kishigami teaches of wherein after the sending a first sensing signal, the sensing method further comprises: receiving a first signal (radar reflected wave, Fig.2); and determining a distance between the first communication apparatus and a target object based on the first sensing signal and the first signal, wherein the first signal is a signal obtained by reflecting the first sensing signal by the target object (Paragraphs 0003, 0033, 0036, 0048 and 0145). However, Kishigami and Lopez do not specifically teach of receiving a second signal; and determining a distance between the first communication apparatus and a target object based on the first sensing signal, the first signal, and the second signal, wherein the second signal comprises a second sensing signal and/or a signal obtained by reflecting the second sensing signal by the target object, the second sensing signal is transmitted by a second communication apparatus.
Gao teaches of receiving a first signal and a second signal (target reflected wave and interference signal, Fig.6 and Paragraph 0103); and determining a distance between the first communication apparatus and a target object based on the first sensing signal, the first signal, and the second signal (distance, Figures 13 – 15), wherein the first signal is a signal obtained by reflecting the first sensing signal by the target object (as shown in Fig.6); the second signal comprises a second sensing signal and/or a signal obtained by reflecting the second sensing signal by the target object (Fig.6 and Paragraph 0103), the second sensing signal is transmitted by a second communication apparatus (radar 2, Fig.6).
As discussed above in claims 1 and 17, the combination of Kishigami and Lopez teach of a sensing signal that comprises sub-signals in N periods, a sub-signal in an nth period is a signal obtained by performing phase modulation on a sub-signal based on an nth element in a sequence, and the sequence is a binary sequence that comprises N elements; when N=8, the sequence is any one of the first preset sequence, the second preset sequence, the third preset sequence, or the fourth preset sequence, or the second sequence is a sequence obtained by performing cyclic shift on any one of the first preset sequence, the second preset sequence, the third preset sequence, or the fourth preset sequence, and the second sequence and the first sequence are different preset sequences; and when N=16, the sequence is any one of the fifth preset sequence, the sixth preset sequence, the seventh preset sequence, the eighth preset sequence, or the ninth preset sequence, or the second sequence is a sequence obtained by performing cyclic shift on any one of the fifth preset sequence, the sixth preset sequence, the seventh preset sequence, the eighth preset sequence, or the ninth preset sequence.
Kishigami, Lopez and Gao do not specifically mention of the second sequence and the first sequence are different preset sequences. However, one skilled in the art would have not configured the two communication apparatuses to have the second sequence and the first sequence be the same preset sequences to avoid mutual radio frequency interference and false detection on each communication apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered other signals from other communication apparatuses so as to improve the distance determination and have each communication apparatus generate a sensing signal as taught by Kishigami and Lopez by performing phase modulation based on a corresponding sequence to ensure maximum compatibility. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second sequence and the first sequence be different preset sequences so to avoid mutual radio frequency interference and improve signal detection on each communication apparatus.
Re claims 4 and 20, Kishigami and Lopez teach all the limitations of claims 3 and 19 as well as Kishigami teaches of determining the first sequence from a sequence in a preset orthogonal sequence set (#104, Fig.1), wherein when N=8, the preset orthogonal sequence set comprises the first preset sequence, the second preset sequence and the third preset sequence (Paragraphs 0087 – 0088). Lopez further teaches of when N=16, the preset orthogonal sequence set comprises the fifth preset sequence (Figures 1 – 6). Lopez further teaches of determining a second sequence based on a preset orthogonal sequence set (Figures 1 – 6). However, Kishigami and Lopez do not specifically teach of wherein when N=8, the preset orthogonal sequence set also comprises the fourth preset sequence; and when N=16, the preset orthogonal sequence set also comprises the sixth preset sequence, the seventh preset sequence, the eighth preset sequence, and the ninth preset sequence. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the preset orthogonal sequence set for N=8 also comprise the fourth preset sequence and have the preset orthogonal sequence set for when N=16 also comprises the sixth preset sequence, the seventh preset sequence, the eighth preset sequence, and the ninth preset sequence, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215.
Kishigami and Lopez do not specifically teach of detecting a second signal comprising a second sensing signal and/or the signal obtained by reflecting the second sensing signal by a target object, wherein the first sequence from a sequence in the preset orthogonal sequence set is different than the second sequence.
Gao teaches of detecting a second signal comprising a second sensing signal and/or the signal obtained by reflecting the second sensing signal by a target object (interference signal, Fig.6 and Paragraph 0103).
Kishigami, Lopez and Gao do not specifically mention of the second sequence and the first sequence are different preset sequences. However, one skilled in the art would have not configured the two communication apparatuses to have the second sequence and the first sequence be the same preset sequences to avoid mutual radio frequency interference and false detection on each communication apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered other signals from other communication apparatuses so as to improve the distance determination and have each communication apparatus perform phase modulation based on a sequence so as to generate the radar transmission signal. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second sequence and the first sequence be different preset sequences so to avoid mutual radio frequency interference and improve signal detection on each communication apparatus.
Re claim 7, Kishigami, Lopez and Gao teach all the limitations of claim 2 as well as Gao teaches of wherein the second sub-signal comprises a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) signal, a cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) signal, a discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) signal, or a single carrier (SC) signal (FMCW, Paragraph 0087).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second sub-signal be a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) signal for high precision and resolution.
Claims 8 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishigami in view of Lopez and further in view of Hong et al (US 2021/0389416).
Re claim 8, Kishigami teaches of a communication system, comprising: a first communication apparatus (Fig.10), configured to send a first sensing signal (Radar Transmission wave, Fig.2) comprising first sub-signals in N periods (Nc periods, Fig.2), a first sub-signal in an nth period is a signal obtained by performing phase modulation (#105, Fig.1 and phase modulator, Paragraph 0056) on a second sub-signal (from #102, Fig.1) based on an nth element in a first sequence (first sequence from a code generator, #104, Fig.1 and Paragraph 0088), N is 2M (The code length of a Walsh-Hadamard code is a power of two, Paragraph 0064), wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 3 (code length is 23 = 8, Loc = 8, Paragraph 0087), n=1, 2, . . . , N, and the first sequence is a binary sequence (Paragraph 0088) that comprises N elements (NCM orthogonal codes generated by code generator 104 are, for example, mutually orthogonal codes. The code length of a Walsh-Hadamard code is a power of two, and orthogonal codes with each code length include orthogonal codes equal in number to the code length. For example, a Walsh-Hadamard code with a code length of two, four, eight, or 16 includes two, four, eight, or 16 orthogonal codes, Paragraph 0064); when N=8 (Loc = 8, Paragraph 0087); the first communication apparatus is further configured to receive a first signal, wherein the first signal is a signal obtained by reflecting the first sensing signal by a target object (radar reflected wave, Fig.2 and Paragraphs 0003 and 0033); the first communication apparatus is further configured to determine a distance between the first communication apparatus and the target object based on the first sensing signal and the first signal (Paragraphs 0003, 0033, 0036, 0048 and 0145); the first sequence is any one of a first preset sequence, a second preset sequence, a third preset sequence, or a fourth preset sequence, or the first sequence is a sequence obtained by performing cyclic shift on any one of a first preset sequence, a second preset sequence, a third preset sequence, or a fourth preset sequence, wherein
the first preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1},
the second preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1},
the third preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1}, and
the fourth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1} or {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1} (Paragraph 0088); and when N=16, the first sequence is any one of a fifth preset sequence, a sixth preset sequence, a seventh preset sequence, an eighth preset sequence, or a ninth preset sequence, or the first sequence is a sequence obtained by performing cyclic shift on any one of a fifth preset sequence, a sixth preset sequence, a seventh preset sequence, an eighth preset sequence, or a ninth preset sequence (Loc = 16, Paragraphs 0087 and 0083 – 0092). However, Kishigami does specifically teach of wherein the fifth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1}; the sixth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1}; the seventh preset sequence is {1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1}; the eighth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or the eighth preset sequence is {1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}; and the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}. Kishigami does specifically teach of a second communication apparatus, configured to send a second sensing signal comprising third sub-signals in N periods, a third sub-signal in an nth period is a signal obtained by performing phase modulation on the second sub-signal based on an nth element in a second sequence, and the second sequence is a binary sequence that comprises N elements; the first communication apparatus is further configured to receive a second signal, wherein the second signal comprises the second sensing signal and/or a signal obtained by reflecting the second sensing signal by the target object; the first communication apparatus is further configured to determine a distance between the first communication apparatus and the target object based on the first sensing signal, the first signal, and the second signal; when N=8, the second sequence is any one of the first preset sequence, the second preset sequence, the third preset sequence, or the fourth preset sequence, or the second sequence is a sequence obtained by performing cyclic shift on any one of the first preset sequence, the second preset sequence, the third preset sequence, or the fourth preset sequence, and the second sequence and the first sequence are different preset sequences, wherein the first preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1}, the second preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1}, the third preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1}, and the fourth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1} or {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1}; and when N=16, the second sequence is any one of the fifth preset sequence, the sixth preset sequence, the seventh preset sequence, the eighth preset sequence, or the ninth preset sequence, or the second sequence is a sequence obtained by performing cyclic shift on any one of the fifth preset sequence, the sixth preset sequence, the seventh preset sequence, the eighth preset sequence, or the ninth preset sequence, and the second sequence and the first sequence are different preset sequences, wherein the fifth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1}; the sixth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1}; the seventh preset sequence is {1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1}; the eighth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or the eighth preset sequence is {1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}; and the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1}, or the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}.
Lopez teaches of when N=16, the first sequence is any one of a fifth preset sequence, a sixth preset sequence, a seventh preset sequence, an eighth preset sequence, or a ninth preset sequence, wherein
the fifth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1};
the sixth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1};
the seventh preset sequence is {1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1};
the eighth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or
the eighth preset sequence is {1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}; and the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, −1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, 1, −1, −1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1}, or
the ninth preset sequence is {1, −1, 1, −1, 1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, 1, −1, −1, 1, −1} (Paragraphs 0004, 0019 – 0023 and 0035 and Figures 1 – 6).
Hong teaches of a communication system, comprising: a first communication apparatus (Radar system 1, Figures 3C – 3F), configured to send a first sensing signal comprising first sub-signals in N periods (periodic pattern defined by the chirps, Paragraph 0046 and Figures 3C – 3F), a first sub-signal in an nth period is a signal obtained by performing phase modulation on a second sub-signal (phase encoded orthogonal chirps, Paragraph 0048 and phase modulation, Paragraph 0052) based on a first sequence (Paragraph 0056); and a second communication apparatus (Radar system 2, Figures 3C – 3F), configured to send a second sensing signal comprising third sub-signals in N periods (periodic pattern defined by the chirps, Paragraph 0046 and Figures 3C – 3F), a third sub-signal in an nth period is a signal obtained by performing phase modulation (phase encoded orthogonal chirps, Paragraph 0048 and phase modulation, Paragraph 0052) on the second sub-signal based on a second sequence (Paragraph 0056); the first communication apparatus is further configured to receive a first signal (return signals, Paragraphs 0064, S120, Fig.1) and a second signal (interference from another radar system, Paragraph 0020), wherein the first signal is a signal obtained by reflecting the first sensing signal by a target object (return signals, Paragraphs 0064, S120, Fig.1), and the second signal comprises the second sensing signal and/or a signal obtained by reflecting the second sensing signal by the target object (interference from another radar system, Paragraph 0020); the first communication apparatus is further configured to determine a distance between the first communication apparatus and the target object based on the first sensing signal, the first signal, and the second signal (Decoding the set of received probe signals S130 can function to convert the received signals (e.g., encoded signals) into signals that can be used to determine information (e.g., relative position and/or velocity) about the targets off of which the signals were reflected. Paragraph 0067 and Paragraphs 0030, 0043, 0069 – 0071 and 0075 – 0076 and Fig.1); wherein the second sequence and the first sequence are different preset sequences (different orthogonal phase encoding, Paragraph 0048).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have for code length of 16, the first sequence be any one of a fifth preset sequence, a sixth preset sequence, a seventh preset sequence, an eighth preset sequence, or a ninth preset sequence as disclosed by Lopez for improved system performance, flexibility, and reliability. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second communication apparatus perform the same operation as the first communication operation of Kishigami and Lopez to ensure maximum compatibility. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second sequence and the first sequence be different so to avoid mutual radio frequency interference and improve signal detection on each communication apparatus.
Re claim 9, Kishigami teaches of wherein before the first communication apparatus is configured to send the first sensing signal, the first communication apparatus is further configured to: determine the first sequence (#104, Fig.1); and perform phase modulation on the second sub-signal (Paragraph 0056) based on the nth element in the first sequence (Paragraphs 0087 – 0088), to obtain the first sensing signal (#105, Fig.1).
Re claim 10, Kishigami, Lopez and Hong teach all the limitations of claim 9 as well as Kishigami teaches of determining the first sequence from a sequence in the preset orthogonal sequence set (#104, Fig.1), wherein when N=8, the preset orthogonal sequence set comprises the first preset sequence, the second preset sequence and a third preset sequence (Loc=8, Paragraphs 0087 – 0088). Lopez teaches of when N=16, the preset orthogonal sequence set comprises the fifth preset sequence (Figures 1 – 6, Paragraphs 0004, 0019 – 0023 and 0035). However, Kishigami and Lopez do not specifically teach of wherein when N=8, the preset orthogonal sequence set also comprises the fourth preset sequence; and when N=16, the preset orthogonal sequence set also comprises the sixth preset sequence, the seventh preset sequence, the eighth preset sequence, and the ninth preset sequence. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the preset orthogonal sequence set for N=8 also comprise the fourth preset sequence and have the preset orthogonal sequence set for when N=16 also comprises the sixth preset sequence, the seventh preset sequence, the eighth preset sequence, and the ninth preset sequence, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215.
Hong teaches of wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to: detect the second signal (interference from another radar system, Paragraph 0020). Hong further teaches of determining the second sequence being different from the first sequence (Paragraph 0048).
However, Kishigami, Lopez and Hong do not specifically mention of determining the second sequence based on the second signal and a preset orthogonal sequence set; and determine the first sequence from a sequence in the preset orthogonal sequence set other than the second sequence. Kishigami teaches of determining the first sequence from a sequence in the preset orthogonal sequence set (Loc=8, Paragraphs 0087 – 0088). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed the same operation on determining the second operation so as to perform code multiplexing for high-precision sensing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have detected the second signal so as to improve the distance determination.
Re claim 11, Kishigami teaches of wherein the first sequence is a preconfigured sequence (Paragraphs 0087 – 0088).
Re claim 12, Kishigami, Lopez and Hong teach all the limitations of claim 8 as well as wherein before the second communication apparatus is configured to send the second sensing signal, the second communication apparatus is further configured to: determine the second sequence; and perform phase modulation on the second sub-signal based on the nth element in the second sequence, to obtain the second sensing signal (see claim 8).
Re claim 13, Kishigami, Lopez and Hong teach all the limitations of claim 9 as well as Kishigami teaches of determining the first sequence from a sequence in the preset orthogonal sequence set (#104, Fig.1), wherein when N=8, the preset orthogonal sequence set comprises the first preset sequence, the second preset sequence, a third preset sequence (Loc=8, Paragraphs 0087 – 0088). Lopez teaches of when N=16, the preset orthogonal sequence set comprises the fifth preset sequence (Figures 1 – 6, Paragraphs 0004, 0019 – 0023 and 0035). However, Kishigami and Lopez do not specifically teach of wherein when N=8, the preset orthogonal sequence set also comprises the fourth preset sequence; and when N=16, the preset orthogonal sequence set also comprises the sixth preset sequence, the seventh preset sequence, the eighth preset sequence, and the ninth preset sequence. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the preset orthogonal sequence set for N=8 also comprise the fourth preset sequence and have the preset orthogonal sequence set for when N=16 also comprises the sixth preset sequence, the seventh preset sequence, the eighth preset sequence, and the ninth preset sequence, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215.
Hong teaches of wherein the second communication apparatus is further configured to: detect a third signal (interference from another radar system, Paragraph 0020). Hong further teaches of determining the second sequence being different from the first sequence (Paragraph 0048).
However, Kishigami, Lopez and Hong do not specifically mention of determining the second sequence based on the second signal and a preset orthogonal sequence set; and determine the first sequence from a sequence in the preset orthogonal sequence set other than the second sequence. Kishigami teaches of determining the first sequence from a sequence in the preset orthogonal sequence set (Loc=8, Paragraphs 0087 – 0088). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed the same operation on determining the second operation so as to perform code multiplexing for high-precision sensing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have detected the third signal so as to improve the distance determination performed by the second communication apparatus.
Re claim 14, Kishigami teaches of wherein the second sequence is a preconfigured sequence (Paragraphs 0087 – 0088).
Re claim 15, Kishigami teaches of wherein the first communication apparatus is a radar (radar, Fig.1), or the first communication apparatus is a terminal device or a network device having a radar function; and/or the second communication apparatus is a radar, or the second communication apparatus is a terminal device or a network device having a radar function.
Re claim 16, Kishigami, Lopez and Hong teach all the limitations of claim 8 as well as Hong teaches of wherein the second sub-signal comprises a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) signal, a cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) signal, a discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) signal, or a single carrier (SC) signal (FMCW, Paragraphs 0020 and 0030).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second sub-signal be a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) signal for high precision and resolution.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633