DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two-layer coating must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al. (2022/0193501) in view of Nagakura et al. (2022/0193494). Claim 1, Shinohara discloses a golf ball comprising a core and a cover of at least one layer which encases the core and has an outer surface on which numerous dimples are formed [0045], wherein the cover has a material hardness on the Shore D hardness scale of less than 60 [0058]; the outer surface of the cover has a paint coat thereon which is composed of at least two layers, an inner layer and an outer layer [0019], the inner paint layer being formed of a coating composition that includes as base resins an acrylic resin and a urethane resin [0025] and the outer paint layer being formed of a two-part curable urethane coating composition that includes a polyol component and a polyisocyanate component [0028, 0030] and contains zero parts of an inorganic or organic filler based on the solids content of the base resins; in a dimple cross-section, defining the ratio between the thickness of a paint layer (film thickness) formed at a center portion (bottom) of the dimple and the thickness of the paint layer formed at edge portions of the dimple as the edge ratio: (film thickness at dimple edge)/(film thickness at dimple center) × 100. Table 1, example 3, letting E1 be the edge ratio of the inner paint layer (6/8=75% E1), E2 be the edge ratio of the outer paint layer (71% E2), and ET be the edge ratio of the overall paint coat (16/22=72.7% ET), the golf ball satisfies the conditions -10 ≤ E2 - E1 ≤ 10 (71-75 = -4) and ET - E2 ≥ 0 (72.7-71 = 1.7). Shinohara does not disclose the compression of the golf ball. Nagakura teaches a golf ball when compressed under a final load of 1,275 N (130 kgf) from an initial load state of 98 N (10 kgf), has a compressive deformation of from 2.0 to 4.0 mm [0089]. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the deformation for the desired performance. Claim 2, Shinohara discloses the coating composition for the inner paint layer has an acrylic resin content that is at least 50 wt% of the overall base resin [0021]. Claim 3, Shinohara discloses zero parts filler. Applicant claims less than 5%. Claim 4, Shinohara discloses the two-part curable urethane coating composition for the outer paint layer includes a polyol component which is composed primarily of a hydroxyl group-containing polyester polyol having an alicyclic structure on the molecule [0031, 0062] and a non-yellowing polyisocyanate such as hexamethylene diisocyanate [0034]. Claim 5, Shinohara discloses the two-part curable urethane coating composition for the outer paint layer polyol is not limited and further discloses a polyol component which is composed primarily of an acrylic polyol [0004, 0030] and an isocyanate component which is composed primarily of an elastic modified polyisocyanate [0035]. Claim 6, Shinohara discloses the two-part curable urethane coating composition includes a thickener which modifies the viscosity. Claim 7, Shinohara discloses the inner paint layer has a thickness of from 3 to 12 µm [0026]. Claim 8, Shinohara discloses the outer paint layer has a thickness of from 10 to 25 µm [0040]. Claim 9, Shinohara discloses the core has a diameter of 40 mm or less [0047]. Shinohara does not disclose the compression of the golf ball. Nagakura teaches a golf ball and, when compressed under a final load of 1,275 N (130 kgf) from an initial load state of 98 N (10 kgf), has a compressive deformation of from 3.0 to 4.0 mm [0073]. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the deformation for the desired performance. Claim 10, Shinohara discloses wherein at least one layer of the cover is formed of a resin composition containing component (a) below or component (b) below or both: (a) an ionic ethylene-methacrylic acid-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer having an unsaturated carboxylic acid content of 5 wt% or more, (b) an ionic ethylene-methacrylic acid-unsaturated carboxylic acid ester copolymer having an unsaturated carboxylic acid content of 5 wt% or more (Himilan) [0072]. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the deformation for the desired performance.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
September 16, 2026