DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is a Final Office Action, in response to the communication received on 06/09/2026. Therefore, Claims 1-14 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims 1, 11 and 14 are sufficient to overcome the rejections set forth in the previous Office Action for being directed toward non-statutory subject matter. The examiner withdraws the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 Second Paragraph
4. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims 1 and 14 are sufficient to overcome Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 Second Paragraph set forth in the previous Office Action. The examiner withdraws the rejections.
Response to Arguments
5. Claims 1, 11 and 14 have been amended. Applicant's arguments bridging page 15, 3rd paragraph to page 17 last paragraph, filed on 06/09/2026 have been fully considered. However, no argument was filed regarding rejections of claim 12 ,13 and 14. Therefore, rejection of claims 12, 13 and 14 have been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 12 , 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cogna et al. (USP 2020/0409358) in view of Tariq et al. ( USP 2021/0201676).
As Per Claim 12, Cogna et al. ( Cogna) discloses, a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a remote monitoring program ( via vehicle computing device 404 comprising 416, 418, [0054], [0069], [0080, Fig.4; teleoperation system 114), Fig.5) for remotely monitoring a plurality of vehicles fleet 502, Fig.5) configured to travel autonomously and travel under remote control, the remote monitoring program causing a computer to serve as: an acquisition part that acquires a plurality of pieces of positional information indicative of respective positions of the vehicles ( 114 receiving vehicle sensor data 436 [0083]) which contains location and orientational data [0055] also see [0017]).
However, Cogna does not explicitly teach, acquiring a plurality of pieces of sound data indicative of sounds in respective surroundings of the vehicles; a detection part that performs detection of a siren sound of an emergency vehicle in each of the acquired pieces of sound data; an estimation part that estimates, in a case where the siren sound is detected in the pieces of sound data, a position of the emergency vehicle on the basis of the respective pieces of positional information of vehicles and the pieces of sound data; an identification part that identifies a vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle among the vehicles on the basis of time variation of the estimated position of the emergency vehicle; and an indication part that indicates the vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle in a case where the vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle is identified among the vehicles.
In a an analogous art , Tariq et a l. (Tariq) teaches, emergency vehicle detection and response, acquiring a plurality of pieces of sound data indicative of sounds in respective surroundings of the vehicles; ( via remote center 130 being configured with vehicle computing system 106 of autonomous vehicle 102. E V 108 of vehicle computing system capturing audio data and classifying a sound as an emergency sound 110 (e.g. siren) and remote computing device 130 is receiving raw and /or processed data audio and visual data [0047], [0046], [0048], fig.1); a detection part that performs detection of a siren sound of an emergency vehicle in each of the acquired pieces of sound data; ( vehicle computing system 106, [0014]); an estimation part that estimates, in a case where the siren sound is detected in the pieces of sound data, a position of the emergency vehicle on the basis of the respective pieces of positional information of vehicles and the pieces of sound data; vehicle computing system 106, [0014-0015])[0037-0038]); an identification part that identifies a vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle among the vehicles on the basis of time variation of the estimated position of the emergency vehicle; and an indication part that indicates the vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle in a case where the vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle is identified among the vehicles ( vehicle computing device 106, [0048], Figs. 2A-2B and [0058]-[0079]) also see Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Cogna and Tariq before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Cogna to include the teachings (vehicle computing device 106, emergency vehicle detection and response component 108 and sensor data processing component 136) of Tariq and configure with the teleoperation system of Cogna in order to teleoperation system receiving raw and /or processed audio and visual data from the vehicle and detecting an emergency vehicle based on its siren sound classification and its proximity to the autonomous vehicle, to provide navigation guidance to the autonomous vehicle. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to receive information of vehicles’ surrounding situation and provide navigation guidance.
As Per Claim 13, Cogna et al. (Cogna ) teaches, a remote monitoring system, (teleoperation system 114), Fig.5) comprising: a plurality of vehicles (fleet 502, Fig.5) configured to travel autonomously ( [0027]) and travel under remote control; ( Figs.1, 5)
and a remote monitoring device ( Teleoperation system 114, Fig.5) for remotely monitoring the vehicles wherein each of the vehicles includes: a positional information acquisition part that acquires a piece of positional information indicative of a position of the vehicle; ( sensor system 406, [0055]-0057], Fi.4); a microphone that acquires a piece of sound data indicative of a sound in surroundings of the vehicle;(“teleoperation device may include a microphone”, [0027]); a communication part that transmits the piece of positional information and the piece of sound data to the remote monitoring device, ( emitters 408,[0074], Fig.4); and the remote monitoring device ( teleoperation system 114, Fig.5) includes: an acquisition part that acquires the pieces of positional information indicative of the respective positions of the vehicles ( 114 receiving vehicle sensor data 436 [0083]) which contains location and orientational data [0055] also see [0017]).
However, Cogna does not explicitly teach, an acquisition part that acquires the pieces of sound data indicative of the sounds in the respective surroundings of the vehicles; a detection part that performs detection of a siren sound of an emergency vehicle in each of the acquired pieces of sound data; an estimation part that estimates, in a case where the siren sound is detected in pieces of sound data, a position of the emergency vehicle on the basis of the respective pieces of positional information of vehicles and the pieces of sound data; an identification part that identifies a vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle among the vehicles on the basis of time variation of the estimated position of the emergency vehicle; and an indication part that indicates the vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle in a case where the vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle is identified among the vehicles.
In a an analogous art, Tariq teaches, emergency vehicle detection and response, wherein, an acquisition part that acquires the pieces of sound data indicative of the sounds in the respective surroundings of the vehicles; (via remote center 130
being configured with vehicle computing system 106 of autonomous vehicle 102. E V 108 of vehicle computing system capturing audio data and classifying a sound as an emergency sound 110 (e.g. siren) and remote computing device 130 is receiving raw and /or processed data audio and visual data [0047], [0046], [0048], fig.1); a detection part that performs detection of a siren sound of an emergency vehicle in each of the acquired pieces of sound data; ( vehicle computing system 106, [0014]); an estimation part that estimates, in a case where the siren sound is detected in pieces of sound data, a position of the emergency vehicle on the basis of the respective pieces of positional information of vehicles and the pieces of sound data; ( vehicle computing system 106, [0014-0015])[0037-0038]); an identification part that identifies a vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle among the vehicles on the basis of time variation of the estimated position of the emergency vehicle; and an indication part that indicates the vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle in a case where the vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle is identified among the vehicles. ( vehicle computing device 106, [0048], Figs. 2A-2B and [0058]-[0079]) also see Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Cogna and Tariq before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Cogna to include the teachings (vehicle computing device 106, emergency vehicle detection and response component 108 and sensor data processing component 136) of Tariq and configure with the teleoperation system of Cogna in order to teleoperation system receiving raw and /or processed audio and visual data from the vehicle and detecting an emergency vehicle based on its siren sound classification and its proximity to the autonomous vehicle, to provide navigation guidance to the autonomous vehicle. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to receive information of vehicles’ surrounding situation and to provide navigation guidance (i.e., smooth trip, time saving).
As Per Claim 14, Cogna et al. (Cogna ) teaches, a device, (teleoperation system 114), Fig.5), comprising: a processor; and a memory including a program that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: ( via vehicle computing device 404 comprising 416, 418, [0054], [0069], [0080, Fig.4; teleoperation system 114), Fig.5).
However, Cogna does not explicitly teach, acquire a plurality of pieces of positional information indicative of respective positions of a plurality of vehicles and a plurality of pieces of sound data indicative of sounds in respective surroundings of the vehicles; perform detection of a siren sound of an emergency vehicle in each of the acquired pieces of sound data; estimate, in a case where the siren sound is detected in the pieces of sound data, a position of the emergency vehicle on the basis of the respective pieces of positional information of vehicles and the pieces of sound data; identify a vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle among the vehicles on the basis of time variation of the estimated position of the emergency vehicle; and indicate the vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle in a case where the vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle is identified among the vehicles.
In a an analogous art, Tariq et al. (Tariq) teaches, emergency vehicle detection and response, acquire a plurality of pieces of positional information indicative of respective positions of a plurality of vehicles and a plurality of pieces of sound data indicative of sounds in respective surroundings of the vehicles; ( via remote center 130 being configured with vehicle computing system 106 of autonomous vehicle 102. E V 108 of vehicle computing system capturing audio data and classifying a sound as an emergency sound 110 (e.g. siren) and remote computing device 130 is receiving raw and /or processed data audio and visual data [0047], [0046], [0048], fig.1); perform detection of a siren sound of an emergency vehicle in each of the acquired pieces of sound data; ( vehicle computing system 106, [0014]); estimate, in a case where the siren sound is detected in the pieces of sound data, a position of the emergency vehicle on the basis of the respective pieces of positional information of vehicles and the pieces of sound data; ( vehicle computing system 106, [0014-0015])[0037-0038]); identify ( via vehicle computing device 106), a vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle among the vehicles on the basis of time variation of the estimated position of the emergency vehicle; and indicate the vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle in a case where the vehicle approached by the emergency vehicle is identified among the vehicles.( vehicle computing device 106, [0048], Figs. 2A-2B and [0058]-[0079]) also see Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Cogna and Tariq before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Cogna to include the teachings ( vehicle computing device 106, emergency vehicle detection and response component 108 and sensor data processing component 136) of Tariq and configure with the teleoperation system of Cogna in order to teleoperation system receiving raw and /or processed audio and visual data from the vehicle and detecting an emergency vehicle based on its siren sound classification and its proximity to the autonomous vehicle, to provide navigation guidance to the autonomous vehicle. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to receive information of vehicles’ surrounding situation and to provide navigation guidance (i.e., smooth trip, time saving).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 1-11 are allowed.
The statement of reasons for allowance will be provided in subsequent office action pending amendments to claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUHAMMAD SHAFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666C