III. DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Remarks
As to Claim objections, Examiner does not read from specification into claims, so the objections are maintained.
Through out 103 response section, Applicant arguments are based on assumption of reading claims interpretation into claims language.
Applicant argued Schuller does not appear to relate to a prompt expressed in a natural language, does not teach compressed prompt.
Examiner believe Schuller Schuller [0014] teaches using natural language descriptions, thus the pompt, could be in natural language, thus reads on “ prompt expressed in a natural language”.
Schuller [0435] prompt compression teaches compressed prompt.
Claim objections
“prompt compression”, “tokens”, “semantic loss” have not been clearly defined in claims. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over ANANTHANARAYA et al. U.S. 20250371053 in view of Schüller et al. U.S. 20250181138.
As to claim 1, ANANTHANARAYA discloses a method of performing natural language prompt compression, the method comprising:
obtaining a prompt for an artificial intelligence (AI) inference model ([0015]]0019]), wherein the prompt corresponds to a first plurality of tokens (prompt includes a first concatenation of the query and the first context content [0019]);
providing the prompt as an input to an AI compression model (a prompt for the foundation model [0035]); and
obtaining a compressed prompt (compressed. [0027]) based on an output of the AI compression model ([0026]), wherein the compressed prompt corresponds to a second plurality of tokens which is smaller than the first plurality of tokens (reduced version of a foundation model having fewer parameters than an associated non-compressed model. [0027]).
ANANTHANARAYA does not explicitly teach
the prompt and the compressed prompt are expressed using natural language.
Schüller teaches the prompt and the compressed prompt are expressed using natural language. (natural language [0174] prompt compression. [0435])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified ANANTHANARAYA by the teaching of Schüller to include the prompt and the compressed prompt are expressed using natural language with the motivation to provide a more complex, nuanced, multimodal, non-sequential, and/or realistic conversational AI and/or other types of human-machine interactions as taught by Schüller [0019]).
As to claim 2, ANANTHANARAYA as modified teaches a method of claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining a first embedding representing the prompt and a second embedding representing the compressed prompt (i.e. embedding [0029]);
determining a semantic loss between the first embedding and the second embedding ([0027] [0043]); and
training the AI compression model based on the semantic loss ([0015]]0019]).
As to claim 3, ANANTHANARAYA as modified teaches a method of claim 1, further comprising:
appending a question to the compressed prompt to obtain an appended compressed prompt; and
providing the appended compressed prompt to the AI inference model to obtain a first inference result. (fig. 6, 626).
As to claim 4, ANANTHANARAYA as modified teaches a method of claim 3, further comprising:
appending the question to the prompt to obtain an appended prompt (fig. 6, 626);
providing the appended prompt to the AI inference model to obtain a second inference result (fig. 6, 654);
determining a reward score based on the first inference result and the second inference result (fig. 6, 644); and
training the AI compression model based on the reward score (fig. 6, 654).
As to claim 5, ANANTHANARAYA as modified teaches a method of claim 4, wherein
parameters of the AI inference model are frozen during the training of the AI compression model ( [0032])..
As to claim 6, ANANTHANARAYA as modified teaches a method of claim 1, wherein
the AI compression model and the AI inference model are large language models (LLMs) (LLM [0015]).
As to claim 7, ANANTHANARAYA as modified teaches a method of claim 1, wherein
the prompt is a chain of thought prompt comprising a plurality of questions and a corresponding plurality of answers.(query [0015]).
As to claim 8, ANANTHANARAYA as modified teaches a method of claim 1, wherein
a number of the second plurality of tokens is less than a maximum number of tokens for the AI compression model. (reduced version of a foundation model having fewer parameters than an associated non-compressed model. [0027]).
As to claims 9-20, the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejection above. They are therefore rejected as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL, Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory- period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136 (a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply-expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2100.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system:
"http://portal.uspto.gov/external/portal/pair"
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) 866-217-9197 (toll-free)
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Yicun Wu
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 2100
/YICUN WU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153