Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12, 13, 14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozcan Ozturk et al. (U.S. 2024/0251382 A1) in view of Kim Dongwoo et al. (WO 2024/186048 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ozturk teaches a wireless device (UE 1000 of the wireless communication system 100 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 10) comprising:
a network modem (Fig. 10, a baseband modem processor 1004) configured to connect with a first network in a first network mode and connect with a second network in a second network mode (para.[0123], [0124] and Fig. 8, processor communicate with first cell utilizing SIM1 and a second cell utilizing SIM2);
a controller (Fig. 10, a processor 1004) configured to control a connected state and an inactive state of the first network mode and the second network mode (para. [0113] and Fig. 7);
the first network mode is in the connected state when the second network mode is in the inactive state (para. [0101], SIM1 may be in a RRC connected mode, while SIM2 may be in an RRC idle mode (programmable to have RRC inactive mode));
the second network mode is in the connected state when the first network mode is in the inactive state (para. [0101], SIM1 may be in a RRC connected mode, while SIM2 may be in an RRC idle mode (programmable to have RRC inactive mode));
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach “switch the first network mode from the inactive state to the connected state when the second network mode is in the inactive state” and “switch the second network mode from the inactive state to the connected state when the first network mode is in the inactive state”.
In the same field of wireless communication between an electronic device and different wireless networks, Dongwoo discloses a controller (a processor 610 of Fig. 6, page 29) configured to:
switch the first network mode from the inactive state to the connected state (switch the satellite modem from a deactivated (off) state to an activated (on) state, last paragraph of page 2) when the second network mode is in the inactive state (switch the cellular communication modem from an activated (on) state to a deactivated (off) state, last paragraph of page 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the controller’s functions that control the state and connection between the wireless devices and the two networks as taught by Ozturk to include the mode switching as taught by Dongwoo for the purpose of utilizing the controller to perform mode switching more efficiently, saving power and improving the success rate of communication connections.
Regarding claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, in combination of Ozturk and Dongwoo, specifically Ozturk teaches “wherein the first network is a terrestrial network, and the second network is a non-terrestrial network” (para. [0100], Fig. 8, each SIM card may be configured to communicate with a different RAT), “wherein the wireless device is a user equipment” (para. [0005] and 106 of fig. 1, a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network).
Regarding claim 3, and as applied to claim 1 above, in combination of Ozturk and Dongwoo, specifically Ozturk teaches “wherein the wireless device is a user equipment” (para. [0005] and 106 of fig. 1, a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network).
Regarding to claim 12, and as applied to claim 1 above, Ozturk teaches “wherein the controller is configured to non-simultaneously grant access of the set of shared resources to the network modem (para. [0114], baseband modem processor) to connect with the first network and the second network” (para. [0101] and [0161], a single transceiver for both SIM cards, only one SIM card may use the transceiver for the same direction communication at a time).
Ozturk fails to teach “wherein the network modem in the first network mode is further configured to access the set of shared resources to connect with the first network, and wherein the network modem in the second network mode is further configured to access the set of shared resources to connect with the second network”.
Dongwoo teaches “a set of shared resources (para. [51], a communication channel), wherein the network modem in the first network mode is further configured to access the set of shared resources to connect with the first network (para. [51], first communication processor supports a communication channel of a band for communication with the first network), and wherein the network modem in the second network mode is further configured to access the set of shared resources to connect with the second network (para. [51], second communication processor supports a communication channel of a designated band for communication with the second network; the first and second communication processors may be in a single chip or a single package).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ozturk’s dual SIM dual standby mode configuration to include a set of share resources used by the two networks as taught by Dongwoo for the purposes of reducing operating costs for the wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 13, Ozturk teaches a method of operating a wireless device (para. [0006], Fig. 7, 8, 10 & 12) comprising:
a controller and a network modem (a baseband modem processor 1004 in para. [0114], Fig. 10) that is connectable with a first network and a second network (Fig. 8) comprising:
connecting either the network modem in a first network mode with the first network or the network modem in a second network mode with the second network (SIM1 for NR RAT, SIM2 for LTE RAT, para. [0100], [0123], [0124] and Fig. 8);
controlling, by the controller of the wireless device, a connected state and an inactive state of the first network mode and the second network mode (para. [0113] and Fig. 7);
the first network mode is in the connected state when the second network mode is in the inactive state (para. [0101], Fig.8, dual SIM dual standby mode);
the second network is in the connected state when the first network mode is in the inactive state (para. [0101], Fig. 8, dual SIM dual standby mode);
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach “switch the first network mode from the inactive state to the connected state when the second network mode is in the inactive state” and “switch the second network mode from the inactive state to the connected state when the first network mode is in the inactive state”.
Dongwoo discloses a controller (a processor 610 of Fig. 6) configured to:
switch the first network mode from the inactive state to the connected state (switch the satellite modem from a deactivated (off) state to an activated (on) state, para. [7]) when the second network mode is in the inactive state (switch the cellular communication modem from an activated (on) state to a deactivated (off) state, para. [7]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the controller’s functions that control the state and connection between the wireless devices and the two networks as taught by Ozturk to include the mode switching as taught by Dongwoo for the purpose of utilizing the controller to perform mode switching more efficiently, saving power and resources and improving the success rate of communication connections.
Regarding 14, and as applied to 13 above, in combination of Ozturk and Dongwoo, specifically Ozturk teaches “wherein the first network is a terrestrial network, and the second network is a non-terrestrial network” (para. [0100], Fig. 8, each SIM card may be configured to communicate with a different RAT), “wherein the wireless device is a user equipment” (para. [0005] and 106 of fig. 1, a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network).
Regarding to claim 20, and as applied to claim 13 above, Ozturk teaches “wherein the controller is configured to non-simultaneously grant access of the set of shared resources to the network modem (para. [0114], baseband modem processor) to connect with the first network and the second network” (para. [0101] and [0161], a single transceiver for both SIM cards, only one SIM card may use the transceiver for the same direction communication at a time).
Ozturk fails to teach “accessing, by the network modem in the first network mode, a set of shared resources to connect with the first network” and “accessing, by the network modem in the second network mode, the set of shared resources to connect with the second network”.
Dongwoo teaches “a set of shared resources (para. [51], a communication channel), wherein the network modem in the first network mode is further configured to access the set of shared resources to connect with the first network (para. [51], first communication processor supports a communication channel of a band for communication with the first network), and wherein the network modem in the second network mode is further configured to access the set of shared resources to connect with the second network (para. [51], second communication processor supports a communication channel of a designated band for communication with the second network; the first and second communication processors may be in a single chip or a single package).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ozturk’s dual SIM dual standby mode configuration to include a set of share resources used by the two networks as taught by Dongwoo for the purposes of reducing operating costs for the wireless communication system.
Claims 4-9, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozcan Ozturk et al. (U.S. 2024/0251382 A1) in view of Kim Dongwoo et al. (WO 2024/186048 A1) and further in view of Peng Cheng et al. (U.S. 2023/0164867 A1).
Regarding claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Ozturk teaches “the first network mode and the second network mode are capable of being in the inactive state simultaneously” (para. [0104], UE has the capability to have simultaneous inactive connections on multiple SIMs);
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach “switch a mode of the controller from an active mode to a sleep mode when the first network mode and the second network mode are simultaneously in the inactive state”.
In the same field of wireless communication supporting dual connectivity mode, Cheng teaches “switching a mode of the controller from an active mode to a sleep mode when the first network mode and the second network mode are simultaneously in the inactive state” (para. [0059], UE entering “deep sleep” mode when not engaging in active communications).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the UE’s internal configuration that have simultaneous inactive networks as taught by Ozturk to include the controller’s sleep mode when the network is inactive as taught by Cheng for the purpose of saving power and resources.
Regarding claim 5, and as applied to claim 4 above, Ozturk teaches “when one of the first network mode and the second network mode initiates switching from the inactive state to the connected state” (para. [0108], a scheduled entity SIM in RRC Idle mode (programmable to have Inactive mode) move to RRC Connected state);
the controller (Fig. 10, a processor 1004);
wherein after switching to the active mode the controller switches one of the first network mode and the second network mode from the inactive state to the connected state (para. [0108]).
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach “switch a mode of the controller from the sleep mode to the active mode”.
Cheng teaches “switch a mode of the controller from the sleep mode to the active mode” (para. [0071], UE supports different states of power savings, quickly transition back to a connected state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the function to activate the network modes as taught by Ozturk to include the controller’s capability to transition back to connected mode from sleep mode as taught by Cheng for the purpose of saving power and resources.
Regarding claim 6, and as applied to claim 5 above, Ozturk teaches “a memory configured to store” (para. [0117], the memory be used for storing data that is manipulated by the processor).
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach “a memory configured to store at least one of first network data and first modem configuration associated with the first network and second network data and second modem configuration associated with the second network”.
Cheng teaches “a memory configured to store at least one of first network data and first modem configuration associated with the first network and second network data and second modem configuration associated with the second network” (para. [0016] & [0025] and fig. 21 & 22, memory stores instructions for dual-connectivity mode communication, report of cell quality measurements, first lower layer configuration and second lower layer configuration)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the memory for data storing as taught by Ozturk to include the capability of containing data about the networks as taught by Cheng for the purpose of reducing retransition latency, reducing power consumption and enhancing reliability when the UE transitions back to connected state.
Regarding claim 7, and as applied to claim 6 above, Ozturk teaches “memory may also be used for storing data that is manipulated by the processor when executing software” (para. [0117]).
Ozturk fails to explicitly teach “wherein before switching to the sleep mode, the controller is configured to store at least one of the first network data, the first modem configuration, the second network data, and the second modem configuration in the memory”.
Cheng teaches “wherein before switching to the sleep mode, the controller is configured to store at least one of the first network data, the first modem configuration, the second network data, and the second modem configuration in the memory” (para. [0047] & [0073], fig. 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ozturk’s network data saving functions to include the condition when the network data is saved as taught by Cheng for the purpose of reducing power consumption and risks of losing network data, improving reliability of the network when performing the mode transition.
Regarding claim 8, and as applied to claim 6 above, in combination of Ozturk and Cheng, specifically Ozturk teaches “wherein the memory is a flash memory” (Ozturk teaches in Fig.10 a flash memory (para. [0119])).
Regarding claim 9, and as applied to claim 6 above, Ozturk teaches “transition back from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state, the UE may transmit an RRC resume request to the NG-RAN” (para. [0094]).
Ozturk fails to explicitly teach before “switching to the active mode, the controller is configured to retrieve at least one of the first network data, the first modem configuration, the second network data, and the second modem configuration from the memory”.
Cheng teaches “wherein before switching to the active mode, the controller is configured to retrieve at least one of the first network data (para. [0005], fig. 6, once the UE transitions back to a connected state, the UE reports the measurements and restores an original MCG and SCG configuration used in dual connectivity mode), the first modem configuration, the second network data, and the second modem configuration from the memory”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ozturk’s network re-registration procedure between inactive mode to connected mode to include the UE’s functions of restoring the original configuration as taught by Cheng for the purpose of reducing retransition latency, reducing power consumption and enhancing reliability when the UE transitions back to connected state.
Regarding claim 15, and as applied to claim 13 above, Ozturk teaches “the first network mode and the second network mode are capable of being in the inactive state simultaneously” (para. [0104], UE have the capability to have simultaneous inactive connections on multiple SIMs);
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach “switch a mode of the controller from an active mode to a sleep mode when the first network mode and the second network mode are simultaneously in the inactive state”.
Cheng teaches “switching a mode of the controller from an active mode to a sleep mode when the first network mode and the second network mode are simultaneously in the inactive state” (para. [0059], UE entering “deep sleep” mode when not engaging in active communications).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the UE’s internal configuration that have simultaneous inactive networks as taught by Ozturk to include the controller’s sleep mode when the network is inactive as taught by Cheng for the purpose of saving power and resources.
Regarding claim 16, and as applied to claim 15 above, Ozturk teaches “when one of the first network mode and the second network mode initiates switching from the inactive state to the connected state” (para. [0108], a scheduled entity SIM in RRC Idle mode (programmable to have Inactive mode) move to RRC Connected state);
the controller (Fig. 10, a processor 1004);
wherein after switching to the active mode the controller switches one of the first network mode and the second network mode from the inactive state to the connected state (para. [0108]).
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach “by the controller, the mode of the controller from the sleep mode to the active mode”.
Cheng teaches “switch a mode of the controller from the sleep mode to the active mode” (para. [0071], UE supports different states of power savings, quickly transition back to a connected state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the function to activate the network modes as taught by Ozturk to include the controller’s capability to transition back to connected mode from sleep mode as taught by Cheng for the purpose of saving power and resources.
Regarding claim 17, and as applied to claim 16 above, Ozturk teaches “a memory configured to store” (para. [0117], the memory be used for storing data that is manipulated by the processor).
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach “a memory configured to store at least one of first network data and first modem configuration associated with the first network and second network data and second modem configuration associated with the second network”.
Cheng teaches “a memory configured to store at least one of first network data and first modem configuration associated with the first network and second network data and second modem configuration associated with the second network” (para. [0016] & [0025] and fig. 21 & 22, memory stores instructions for dual-connectivity mode communication, report of cell quality measurements, first lower layer configuration and second lower layer configuration)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the memory for data storing as taught by Ozturk to include the capability of containing data about the networks as taught by Cheng for the purpose of reducing retransition latency, reducing power consumption and enhancing reliability when the UE transitions back to connected state.
Regarding 18, and as applied to claim 17 above, Ozturk teaches “memory may also be used for storing data that is manipulated by the processor when executing software” (para. [0117]), “transition back from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state, the UE may transmit an RRC resume request to the NG-RAN” (para. [0094]).
Ozturk fails to explicitly teach “storing, be the controller before switching to the sleep mode, at least one of the first network data, the first modem configuration, the second network data, and the second modem configuration in the memory” and “retrieving, by the controller before switching to the active mode, at least one of the first network data, the first modem configuration, the second network data, and the second modem configuration from the memory”.
Cheng teaches “wherein before switching to the sleep mode, the controller is configured to store at least one of the first network data, the first modem configuration, the second network data, and the second modem configuration in the memory” (para. [0047]&[0073], fig. 21), “wherein before switching to the active mode, the controller is configured to retrieve at least one of the first network data, the first modem configuration, the second network data, and the second modem configuration from the memory” (para. [0005], fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ozturk’s network data saving functions and the network re-registration procedure between inactive mode to connected mode to include the condition when the network data is saved and the UE’s functions of restoring the original configuration as taught by Cheng for the purpose of reducing retransition latency, reducing power consumption and enhancing reliability when the UE transitions back to connected state.
Claims 10, 11, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozcan Ozturk (U.S. 2024/0251382 A1) in view of Kim Dongwoo et al. (WO 2024/186048 A1), and further in view of Srirang A. Lovlekar et al. (U.S. 2021/0014667 A1).
Regarding claim 10, and as applied to claim 1 above, Ozturk teaches “The UE context of the UE can be stored in the last serving base station” (para. [0093]).
However, Ozturk fails to teach that “wherein the controller is further configured to provide a connected state schedule of the second network mode to the first network mode”.
Lovlekar teaches “wherein the controller is further configured to provide a connected state schedule of the second network mode to the first network mode” (para. [0139], [0236], [0306], UE provides to the network of the first SIM the second SIMs traffic activity pattern and/or serving frequency, the network provides scheduling for the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ozturk’s UE context saving functions to include the transferring of connected state schedule from one network to the other network as taught by Lovlekar for the purpose of reducing retransition latency and enhancing efficiency of the dual mode wireless communication system.
Regarding to claim 11, and as applied to claim 10 above, Ozturk teaches “when a multi-SIM scheduled entity is active on a first SIM, another non-active SIM may be configured to monitor the wireless network for paging messages” (para. [0002]).
However, Ozturk fails to teach “wherein the first network mode is configured to provide the connected state schedule of the second network mode to a scheduler of the first network” and “wherein the scheduler of the first network is configured to schedule, based on the connected state schedule of the second network mode, a connected state schedule of the first network mode such that the connected state of the first network mode and the connected state of the second network mode are non-overlapping”.
Lovlekar teaches “wherein the first network mode is configured to provide the connected state schedule of the second network mode to a scheduler of the first network” (para. [0139], [0236] and [0306]), “wherein the scheduler of the first network is configured to schedule, based on the connected state schedule of the second network mode, a connected state schedule of the first network mode such that the connected state of the first network mode and the connected state of the second network mode are non-overlapping” (para. [18], [19], [139] and [157], fig. 8A and 10, the UE with processing element determines the first SIM has entered connected state and the second SIM has entered idle state to transmit paging scheduling information (time-domain information of the second SIM) to the wireless network corresponding to the first SIM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ozturk’s dual SIM dual standby functions to employ the storing of network data in the dual mode network and include network scheduler for controlling the connected state schedule of the two networks as taught by Lovlekar for the purpose of reducing retransition latency and enhancing the efficiency of dual mode wireless communication system.
Regarding to claim 19, and as applied to claim 13 above, Ozturk teaches “The UE context of the UE can be stored in the last serving base station” (para. [0093]), “when a multi-SIM scheduled entity is active on a first SIM, another non-active SIM may be configured to monitor the wireless network for paging messages” (para. [0002]).
However, Ozturk fails to teach “providing, by the controller, a connected state schedule of the second network mode to the first network mode”, “providing, by the first network mode, the connected state schedule of the second network mode to a scheduler of the first network” and “scheduling, by the scheduler of the first network based on the connected state schedule of the second network mode, a connected state schedule of the first network mode such that the connected state of the first network mode and the connected state of the second network mode are non-overlapping”.
Lovlekar teaches “providing, by the controller, a connected state schedule of the second network mode to the first network mode”, “providing, by the first network mode, the connected state schedule of the second network mode to a scheduler of the first network” (para. [0139], [0236], [0306], UE provides to the network of the first SIM the second SIMs traffic activity pattern and/or serving frequency, the network provides scheduling for the UE), “scheduling, by the scheduler of the first network based on the connected state schedule of the second network mode, a connected state schedule of the first network mode such that the connected state of the first network mode and the connected state of the second network mode are non-overlapping” (para. [18], [19], [139] and [157], fig. 8A and 10, the UE with processing element determines the first SIM has entered connected state and the second SIM has entered idle state to transmit paging scheduling information (time-domain information of the second SIM) to the wireless network corresponding to the first SIM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ozturk’s UE context saving and dual SIM dual standby functions to include the transferring of connected state schedule from one network to the other network, employ the storing of network data and the network scheduler for controlling the connected state schedule of the two networks as taught by Lovlekar for the purpose of reducing retransition latency and enhancing the efficiency of dual mode wireless communication system.
Conclusion
/T.V./Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465