DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 11-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 13-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,964,118 (Patent ‘118, hereinafter). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the features of current claims 1-7, 11-18 are already included in claims 1-7, 13-20 of Patent ‘118. See Tables below.
Table I
Current Application 18/977138
US. Patent No. 10,964,118
1-7, 11-18
1-7, 13-20, respectively
Table II
Current Application 18/977138
US. Patent No. 10,964,118
1. A system of providing augmented reality (AR) with object recognition in a physical environment to advance a narrative, comprising: a processor programmed to:
access narrative data representing the narrative, the narrative data comprising one or more nodes, each node of the one or more nodes being associated with a decision rule that specifies one or more physical objects in the physical environment to be recognized through image recognition to advance past the node in the narrative;
for a first node of the one or more nodes:
generate a user interface associated with the narrative for the first node; access a first decision rule specifying a first physical object to be recognized to advance past the first node in the narrative;
perform, using an image classifier, image recognition on an image of the physical environment;
determine that the first physical object is in the physical environment based on the image recognition;
transition from the first node in the narrative based on the first decision rule and the determination that the first physical object is in the physical environment; and
update the user interface to a second node in the narrative based on the transition from the first node.
1. A system of providing augmented reality (AR) with object recognition in a physical environment to advance a narrative, comprising: a processor programmed to:
access narrative data representing the narrative, the narrative data comprising one or more nodes, each node of the one or more nodes being associated with a decision rule that specifies one or more physical objects in the physical environment to be recognized through image recognition to advance past the node in the narrative;
for a first node of the one or more nodes:
generate a user interface associated with the narrative for the first node, the user interface including a first virtual object and a real image of a first physical object captured by an image capture device in the physical environment, the first virtual object being overlaid onto a view of the physical environment that includes the first physical object and the first virtual object being programmed to react to and interact with, in the user interface, the real image of the first physical object; access a first decision rule specifying the first physical object to be recognized to advance past the first node in the narrative;
perform, using an image classifier, image recognition on an image of the physical environment;
determine that the first physical object is in the physical environment based on the image recognition;
generate, in the user interface, a virtual interaction by the first virtual object with the real image of the first physical object so that the first virtual object is displayed to be overlaid onto the view of the physical environment and the real image of the first physical object captured by the image capture device and interact with the real image of the first physical object captured by the image capture device and imaged in the user interface;
transition from the first node in the narrative based on the first decision rule and the determination that the first physical object is in the physical environment; and
update the user interface to a second node in the narrative based on the transition from the first node, the second node comprising a result of the virtual interaction between the first virtual object and the real image of the first physical object in the user interface.
From the Tables above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims 1-7, 13-20 of Patent ‘118 to be as currently claims 1-7, 11-18 since all of the features of current claims 1-7, 11-18 are already included in claims 1-7, 13-20 of Patent ‘118.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeFaria et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2019/0251751, “DeFaria”, hereinafter) in view of Brent et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2019/0228269, “Brent”).
As per claim 1, as shown in Fig. 4, DeFaria teaches a system of providing augmented reality (AR) with object recognition in a physical environment to advance a narrative (¶ [60]), comprising: a processor programmed to:
access narrative data representing the narrative, the narrative data comprising one or more nodes (¶ [50], “…a narrative ruleset 412 that defines the pace of different narrative events based on one or more control criteria”. The nodes are interpreted as the events in the group chain shown in Fig. 3, ¶ [45]), each node of the one or more nodes being associated with a decision rule that specifies one or more physical objects in the physical environment to be recognized through image recognition to advance past the node in the narrative (further addressed below referring to Brent. See Fig. 4, ¶ [49-51], decision by the pace controller 406 which content to be displayed based on the ruleset 412 responsive the input. DeFaria does also teach recognizing object in the physical environment as described at ¶ [64]);
for a first node of the one or more nodes:
generate a user interface associated with the narrative for the first node (¶ [40]. See further below referring to Brent).
DeFaria does not expressly teach access a first decision rule specifying a first physical object to be recognized to advance past the first node in the narrative;
perform, using an image classifier, image recognition on an image of the physical environment;
determine that the first physical object is in the physical environment based on the image recognition;
transition from the first node in the narrative based on the first decision rule and the determination that the first physical object is in the physical environment; and
update the user interface to a second node in the narrative based on the transition from the first node.
Brent teaches a similar method of image processing for augmented reality (Abstract, and ¶ [2]), the method further comprises the above features, i.e., access a first decision rule specifying a first physical object to be recognized to advance past the first node in the narrative (¶ [42]);
perform, using an image classifier, image recognition on an image of the physical environment (¶ [192]);
determine that the first physical object is in the physical environment based on the image recognition; transition from the first node in the narrative based on the first decision rule and the determination that the first physical object is in the physical environment (¶ [163], “The interpreter 124 transforms detected physical objects and movements of the detected physical objects into programmatic instruction. The interpreter 124 evaluates the correlations against protocols in the protocol library 108, known objects in the known objects library 112, and declared objects 138, to generate programmatic instruction for controlling and operating an augmented reality device”, i.e., transitioning the first node. See also Fig. 3); and
update the user interface to a second node in the narrative based on the transition from the first node (¶ [53], for example, “…providing visual or other cues for the next operation or object with which the worker should engage”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method as taught by Brent into the method as taught by DeFaria as addressed above, the advantage of which is to enable better human performance (¶ [3]).
As per claim 2, the combined teachings of DeFaria and Brent impliedly teach wherein the first decision rule further specifies a second physical object to be recognized to advance past the first node, wherein the processor is further programmed to: advance past the first node only if the second physical object is also determined to be in the physical environment based on the image recognition (see the determining step in claim 1, referring to Brent ¶ [163], detecting more than one objects). Thus, claim 2 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 3, as addressed in claim 2, the combined DeFaria-Brent does also impliedly teach wherein the first decision rule specifies a plurality of physical objects, including the first physical object, to be recognized to advance past the first node, wherein the processor is further programmed to:
advance to a second node responsive to a determination that a first set of objects among the plurality of objects is in the physical environment (see claim 2); and advance to a third node responsive to a determination that a second set of objects among the plurality of objects is in the physical environment (Brent, ¶ [58], i.e., manipulating the next object in the sequence operation. The detection of the physical objects in the physical environment is described at ¶ [42] of Brent). Thus, claim 3 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 4, the combined DeFaria-Brent substantially teaches wherein the first decision rule further specifies an action to be performed with respect to the first physical object to advance past the first node (Brent, ¶ [53] and ¶ [58], i.e., guiding the user to manipulating the object when the previous step is completed). Thus, claim 4 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 5, the combined DeFaria-Brent does further teach wherein the user interface displays a first virtual object, the action to be performed comprises causing the first physical object to be within a sufficient proximity to a virtual object displayed by the user interface, and wherein the processor is further programmed to: determine whether the first physical object imaged in the user interface is within the sufficient proximity to the virtual object in the user interface (Brent, ¶ [58], the object to be manipulated is overlaid with visuals indicating imminent contact or proximity by the user). Thus, claim 5 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 6, the combined DeFaria-Brent sufficiently teaches wherein to determine whether the first physical object imaged in the user interface is within the sufficient proximity to the virtual object in the user interface, the processor is further programmed to: determine whether pixels of the first physical object imaged in the user interface is within a threshold number of pixels of the AR object displayed in the user interface (Brent, ¶ [118], “ “Log Action initiated.” Timing starts when user hand enters the volume near a colored overlay (e.g., dot)” in a series of actions prompted). Thus, claim 6 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 7, the combined DeFaria-Brent does also impliedly teach wherein the processor is further programmed to:
determine that the first physical object imaged in the user interface is within the sufficient proximity to the virtual object in the user interface (addressed in claims 5 and 6 above);
determine that an interaction has occurred between the first physical object imaged in the user interface and the virtual object in the user interface based on the determination that the that the first physical object imaged in the user interface is within the sufficient proximity to the virtual object in the user interface (as addressed in claim 6); and display a result of the interaction in the user interface (Brent, ¶ [131-133]). Thus, claim 7 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 8, as addressed, the combined DeFaria-Brent does further impliedly teach wherein the first decision rule further specifies a user changed perspective in the physical environment to occur such that the first physical object has a certain size relative to the first physical object (see Brent, ¶ [273], “…an impression can be given of the augmentation being obscured by a real-world object that is in front of its perceived location from the perspective of the user”). Thus, claim 8 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 9, as recited in claim 8, the combined DeFaria-Brent does also teach wherein the first decision rule further specifies an AR-guided interaction to be performed on the first physical object (Brent, ¶ [273], dynamically interacting with a real-world object). Thus, claim 9 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
Claim 11, which is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 12, which is similar in scope to claim 2 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 13, which is similar in scope to claim 3 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 14, which is similar in scope to claim 4 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 15, which is similar in scope to claim 5 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 16, which is similar in scope to claim 6 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 17, which is similar in scope to claim 7 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 18, which is similar in scope to claim 8 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19, which is similar in scope to claim 9 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeFaria et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2019/0251751) in view of Brent et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2019/0228269) further in view of Ofek et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2016/0342432, “Ofek”).
As per claim 10, the combined DeFaria-Brent does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further programmed to: generate a virtual avatar to guide the AR-guided interaction to be performed on the first physical object. However, this is well-known in the art as is disclosed by Ofek, in a similar method of guiding a user to perform a particular task (see Abstract), wherein the method includes generate a virtual avatar to guide the AR-guided interaction to be performed on the first physical object (see ¶ [26-27]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method as taught by Ofek into the combined method of DeFaria and Brent, the benefit of which is to guide the user to accomplish the task more proficiently (¶ [6]).
Claim 20, which is similar in scope to claim 10 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HAU H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611