DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 12/11/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/24/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the OOI RF signature”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear to the Examiner if the claim language is intended to depend on the subject matter of claims 9 and 10 or if the claimed limitation is meant to reference a specific OOI RF signature. For the purposes of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “the OOI RF signature” as “a OOI RF signature”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Synthesis of Passive Human Radio Frequency Signatures via Generative Adversarial Network, hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses
at least one antenna configured to (See at least Fig. 1, Page 3 Col. 2 Para. 4 “The system includes a receiving antenna”) (i) receive radio frequency (RF) signals emitted from a region of interest (ROI) such that a ROI RF signature is obtained (See at least Page 4 Col. 1 Para. 1 “The RF signals are collected from enclosed spaces.”);
(ii) receive RF signals from the ROI having an RF emitting object of interest (OOI) therein such that an altered ROI RF signature is obtained (See at least Page 4 Col. 1 Para. 3 “Only a laptop, SDR, and cell phone are used to collect data in the enclosed space […] The real-life environment wherein people carry their cell phones in most situations is simulated by leaving the cell phone powered on or off in the enclosed space randomly, regardless of the occupancy status. […] signals emitted by the cell phone” Liu discloses a cell phone as an RF emitting object within the enclosure (ROI)); and
(iii) receive RF signals from an OOI within a shielded environment such that a generally unaltered OOI RF signature is obtained (See at least Page 4 Col. Para. 1 “the collected data is automatically labeled, and the collected RF signals corresponding to the human occupancy status are associated to the labels” The Examiner notes that the OOI is a human occupant); and
at least one computer readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon to (See at least Page 4 Col. 1 Para. 3 “the laptop and SDR are always in working status. A low-cost SDR, RTL2832U, is used to collect the RF raw data at two separate locations”):
create a synthesized altered ROI RF signature based on the ROI RF signature and the unaltered OOI RF signature (See at least Page 4 Col. 1 Para. 2 “The performance of human RF signatures synthesis system is evaluated by the classification results of the trained CNN and KNN models taking the inputs of the real baseline spectrum and the synthesized RF data.”);
compare the synthesized altered ROI RF signature with the altered ROI RF signature (See at least Page 7 Col. 1 Para. 1 “calculating the correlation between the generated data and the real data, the HSGAN is also evaluated by HOD results. The CNN and KNN classifiers are trained with the real collected data with and without human occupancy in the study room. These two trained models take the inputs of synthesized data and baseline spectrum of study room or office” The Examiner notes that the synthesized data of Liu corresponds to the synthesized altered ROI RF signature of the instant application and the altered ROI RF signature corresponds to the baseline spectrum.); and
determine if the RF emitting OOI in the ROI is the same OOI that was within the shield environment based on the comparison of the synthesized altered ROI RF signature with the altered ROI RF signature (See at least Page 7 Col. 1 Para. 1 “These two trained models take the inputs of synthesized data and baseline spectrum of study room or office, respectively. […] Both models achieve very encouraging detection performance. The proposed HSGAN can not only generates the human RF signatures at the location of the RF signals in the study room” Liu discloses determining human detections from the comparison, thereby evaluating if the RF emitting OOI in the ROI is the same OOI).
Regarding claim 5, Liu, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Liu additionally discloses
a neural network configured to (i) receive the ROI RF signature and the unaltered OOI RF signature (See at least Fig. 2, Page 5 Col. 2 Para. 2 “Both model 𝐺𝐺 and 𝐷𝐷 are CNNs and their designs are shown in Figure 2” Liu discloses a convolutional neural network (CNN) to process data.) and
(ii) carry out the creation of the synthesized altered ROI RF signature based on the ROI RF signature and the unaltered OOI RF signature (See at least Fig. 2, Page 5 Col. 2 Para. 2 “Both model 𝐺𝐺 and 𝐷𝐷 are CNNs and their designs are shown in Figure 2” Liu discloses a convolutional neural network (CNN) to process data.).
Regarding claim 6, Liu, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 5. Liu additionally discloses
the neural network is a conditional generative adversarial network (CGAN) (See at least Page 7 Col. 1 Para. 2 “This paper presents a human RF signatures synthesis system using a conditional GAN”).
Regarding claim 17, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claims 1 and 5. Accordingly, claim 17 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 1 and 5 shown above. Liu additionally discloses
via the one or more processors (See at least Page 3 Col. 2 Para. 4 “The system includes a receiving antenna, an SDR, a data reprocessing module”).
Regarding claim 18, Liu, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 17. Liu additionally discloses
wherein the OOI is a human (See at least Page 2 Col. 1 Para. 3 “it is the first time that a GAN is used to generate passive human RF signatures”).
Regarding claim 20, Liu, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 17. Liu additionally discloses
the neural network is a conditional generative adversarial network (CGAN) (See at least Page 7 Col. 1 Para. 2 “This paper presents a human RF signatures synthesis system using a conditional GAN”).
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baxley (US 20150350902 A1), hereinafter Baxley.
Regarding claim 8, Baxley discloses
at least one antenna configured to (See at least [0069] “The sensor network 110 may include one or more RF/EM antenna(s) 112 coupled to an RF controller 115.”) (i) receive radio frequency (RF) signals emitted from a region of interest (ROI) such that a ROI RF signature is obtained (See at least [0070] “The antenna(s) 112 may be configured for receiving radio frequency signals from one or more devices 10 associated with various entities 20 within the AUS.” The Examiner notes that AUS is an area under surveillance, analogous to at least a ROI.) and
(ii) receive a first set of RF signals emitted from the ROI having an object of interest (OOI) therein such that an altered ROI RF signature is obtained (See at least [0070] “The antenna(s) 112 may be configured for receiving radio frequency signals from one or more devices 10 associated with various entities 20 within the AUS.”, [0047] “a system for detection and identification of EM personas may include an electromagnetic (EM) sensor network for receiving emitted EM signals from one or more mobile electronic devices carried by individual within an area under surveillance (AUS)”); and
at least one computer readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon to (See at least [0147] “Embodiments within the scope of the present disclosure also include computer readable media for carrying or having computer-executable instructions or data structures stored thereon.”):
create a first synthesized OOI RF signature based on the ROI RF signature and the altered ROI RF signature, wherein the first set of RF signals emitted from the ROI having the OOI therein is received during a first time period (See at least [0048] “The EM persona engine may further identify a location signal corresponding to a detected location of an electronic device and/or a series of locations of the electronic device detected during a detection interval.” Baxley discloses receiving over a plurality of times and locations the corresponding RF signals of the OOI.);
create a second synthesized OOI RF signature based on a second ROI RF signature and a second altered ROI signature, wherein the second altered ROI RF signature is based on a second set of RF signals emitted from a second ROI having the OOI therein at a second time period, and wherein the second ROI RF signature is based on RF signals emitted from a second ROI (See at least [0048] “The EM persona engine may further identify a location signal corresponding to a detected location of an electronic device and/or a series of locations of the electronic device detected during a detection interval.” Baxley discloses receiving over a plurality of times and locations the corresponding RF signals of the OOI. Additionally, the Examiner notes that the claims as presented have a broadest reasonable interpretation that the second ROI RF signature, second altered ROI signature, second ROI, and second time are the same as their respective first instances because no distinction between first and second is made in the claim.);
determine that the first synthesized OOI RF signature is substantially the same as the second synthesized OOI RF signature (See at least [0048] “The EM persona engine may further identify a location signal corresponding to a detected location of an electronic device and/or a series of locations of the electronic device detected during a detection interval.” Baxley discloses Baxley discloses performing successful detection of a same EM persona over differing time and locations, which is determination that the signature is substantially the same); and
provide tracking information to a user based on the determination that the first synthesized OOI RF signature is substantially the same as the second synthesized OOI RF signature, wherein the tracking information identifies a first location of the OOI during the first time period and a second location of the OOI during the second time period (See at least [0089] “generate and store activity logs during operations so that relevant personnel can inspect and review prior detection episodes” See also [0121])
Regarding claim 11, Baxley, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 8. Baxley additionally discloses
the first synthesized OOI RF signature and the second synthesized OOI RF signature is further based on the OOI RF signature (See at least [0047] “a system for detection and identification of EM personas may include an electromagnetic (EM) sensor network for receiving emitted EM signals from one or more mobile electronic devices carried by individual within an area under surveillance (AUS)” The Examiner notes that the BRI of the OOI is a human with the emitter, as they are collocated and treated as a point source by the reference.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Qi (CN 106597129 A), hereinafter Qi.
Regarding claim 2, Liu, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Liu does not explicitly disclose the RF signals received from the OOI within the shield environment are not reflected RF signals. However, Qi, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
the RF signals received from the OOI within the shield environment are not reflected RF signals (See at least Figs. 1-3, Item 101, “microwave dark room of the invention (hereinafter referred to as "dark") comprising an electromagnetic shielding chamber, a wall in the electromagnetic shielding chamber of the absorbing material and a measuring antenna” Qi discloses RF shielding environment which eliminates reflected or scattered electromagnetic waves from the OOI 102 at receiver 101.).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the RF system disclosed by Liu with the receiving system disclosed by Qi. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously increase measurement accuracy (See at least “reduce reflection noise in the darkroom, providing a pure measurement environment, which improves the accuracy of measurement”).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Qi, in further view of Kurs (US 20240302293 A1), hereinafter Kurs.
Regarding claim 3, The combination of Liu and Qi, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 2. The combination of Liu and Qi does not explicitly disclose the at least one antenna configured to receive the RF signals from the OOI in the shielded environment is different than the at least one antenna configured to receive the RF signals from the ROI having the RF emitting OOI therein. However, Kurs, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
the at least one antenna configured to receive the RF signals from the OOI in the shielded environment is different than the at least one antenna configured to receive the RF signals from the ROI having the RF emitting OOI therein (See at least Figs. 3A, 8A, [0197] “The antennas 808a-808h may have different functionality such that an antenna may be configured to transmit for one period of time, and then receive for other periods of time.” Kurs discloses varied combinations of a plurality of receive antennas for evaluation of an OOI/ROI).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the RF system disclosed by Liu with the receiving system disclosed by Qi with the antenna system disclosed by Kurs. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve timing and accuracy (See at least [0047] “The various hardware architectures and characterization techniques described herein may enable improved sensing times with accuracy sufficient for quantitative sensor, detection, identification, and imaging applications.”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Liu, Qi, and Kurs, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1, 2, and 3. Liu further discloses
the RF emitting OOI within the ROI and the OOI within the shield environment is a human (See at least Page 4 Col. Para. 1 “the collected data is automatically labeled, and the collected RF signals corresponding to the human occupancy status are associated to the labels” The Examiner notes that the OOI is a human occupant).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Qi, in further view of Kurs, in further view of Liu (US 20220148335 A1), hereinafter Liu (335).
Regarding claim 7, The combination of Liu, Qi, and Kurs as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 2, 3, and 4. The combination of Liu, Qi, and Kurs does not explicitly disclose the at least one computer readable storage medium has further instructions stored thereon to grant the RF emitting OOI in the ROI access to a room when it is determined that the RF emitting OOI in the ROI is the same OOI that was within the shielded environment. However, Liu (335), in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
the at least one computer readable storage medium has further instructions stored thereon to grant the RF emitting OOI in the ROI access to a room when it is determined that the RF emitting OOI in the ROI is the same OOI that was within the shielded environment (See at least [0059] “When a person has been positively identified, the image processor 42 may actuate an actuator 44, for example to unlock a lock on a door”, [0004] “gait recognition is applicable to many applications such as person identification, criminal investigation, and healthcare.”, [0005] “gait data can usually be captured by […] radar.” Liu (335) discloses gait rf recognition based on prior training data to unlock a door (access a room)).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the RF system disclosed by Liu with the receiving system disclosed by Qi with the antenna system disclosed by Kurs with the lock system disclosed by Liu (335). One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve recognition performance (See at least [0080] “Comparing with our preliminary work, the canonical feature fc contains discriminative power which can further improve the recognition performance”).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baxley, in view of Qi.
Regarding claim 9, Baxley, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Baxley does not explicitly disclose the at least one antenna is further configured to receive RF signals from the OOI in an electromagnetic (EM) shielded environment such that an OOI RF signatured is obtained, wherein the OOI emits RF signals and the RF signals from the OOI in the EM shielded environment are free of RF signals reflected off of the OOI. However, Qi, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
the at least one antenna is further configured to receive RF signals from the OOI in an electromagnetic (EM) shielded environment such that an OOI RF signatured is obtained, wherein the OOI emits RF signals and the RF signals from the OOI in the EM shielded environment are free of RF signals reflected off of the OOI (See at least Figs. 1-3, Item 101, “microwave dark room of the invention (hereinafter referred to as "dark") comprising an electromagnetic shielding chamber, a wall in the electromagnetic shielding chamber of the absorbing material and a measuring antenna” Qi discloses RF shielding environment which eliminates reflected or scattered electromagnetic waves from the OOI 102 at receiver 101.).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the RF system disclosed by Baxley with the receiving system disclosed by Qi. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously increase measurement accuracy (See at least “reduce reflection noise in the darkroom, providing a pure measurement environment, which improves the accuracy of measurement”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Baxley and Qi, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 8 and 9. Baxley further discloses
the OOI is a human (See at least [0047] “a system for detection and identification of EM personas may include an electromagnetic (EM) sensor network for receiving emitted EM signals from one or more mobile electronic devices carried by individual within an area under surveillance (AUS)” The Examiner notes that the BRI of the OOI is a human with the emitter, as they are collocated and treated as a point source by the reference.).
Claims 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, in view of Baxley, in further view of Liu.
Regarding claim 12, Baxley, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Baxley does not explicitly disclose a neural network configured to (i) receive the ROI RF signature and the altered ROI RF signature and (ii) carry out the creation of the synthesized OOI RF signature based on the ROI RF signature and the altered ROI RF signature. However, Liu, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
a neural network configured to (i) receive the ROI RF signature and the altered ROI RF signature (See at least Fig. 2, Page 5 Col. 2 Para. 2 “Both model 𝐺𝐺 and 𝐷𝐷 are CNNs and their designs are shown in Figure 2” Liu discloses a convolutional neural network (CNN) to process data.) and (ii) carry out the creation of the synthesized OOI RF signature based on the ROI RF signature and the altered ROI RF signature (See at least Fig. 2, Page 5 Col. 2 Para. 2 “Both model 𝐺𝐺 and 𝐷𝐷 are CNNs and their designs are shown in Figure 2” Liu discloses a convolutional neural network (CNN) to process data.).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the RF system disclosed by Baxley with the network system disclosed by Liu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously increase accuracy (See at least Page 6 Col. 1 Para. 1 “These two trained classifiers should be able to accurately distinguish the occupancy status,”).
Regarding claim 13, The combination of Baxley and Liu, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 8 and 12. Baxley does not explicitly disclose the neural network is a conditional generative adversarial network (CGAN). However, Liu, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
the neural network is a conditional generative adversarial network (CGAN) (See at least Page 7 Col. 1 Para. 2 “This paper presents a human RF signatures synthesis system using a conditional GAN”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the RF system disclosed by Baxley with the network system disclosed by Liu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously increase accuracy (See at least Page 6 Col. 1 Para. 1 “These two trained classifiers should be able to accurately distinguish the occupancy status,”).
Regarding claim 14, Baxley, as shown below, discloses a method comprising the following limitations:
receiving, via at least one antenna, radio frequency (RF) signals from a region of interest (ROI) (See at least [0069] “The sensor network 110 may include one or more RF/EM antenna(s) 112 coupled to an RF controller 115.”)
receiving, via the at least one antenna, RF signals from the ROI to obtain an altered ROI RF signature, wherein the altered ROI RF signature represents the ROI having the OOI therein (See at least [0070] “The antenna(s) 112 may be configured for receiving radio frequency signals from one or more devices 10 associated with various entities 20 within the AUS.”, [0047] “a system for detection and identification of EM personas may include an electromagnetic (EM) sensor network for receiving emitted EM signals from one or more mobile electronic devices carried by individual within an area under surveillance (AUS)”);
synthesizing, (See at least [0048] “The EM persona engine may further identify a location signal corresponding to a detected location of an electronic device and/or a series of locations of the electronic device detected during a detection interval.” Baxley discloses receiving over a plurality of times and locations the corresponding RF signals of the OOI.);
synthesizing, (See at least [0048] “The EM persona engine may further identify a location signal corresponding to a detected location of an electronic device and/or a series of locations of the electronic device detected during a detection interval.” Baxley discloses receiving over a plurality of times and locations the corresponding RF signals of the OOI. Additionally, the Examiner notes that the claims as presented have a broadest reasonable interpretation that the second ROI RF signature, second altered ROI signature, second ROI, and second time are the same as their respective first instances because no distinction between first and second is made in the claim.);
determining, via at least one processor, that the first synthesized OOI RF signature is substantially the same as the second synthesized OOI RF signature (See at least [0048] “The EM persona engine may further identify a location signal corresponding to a detected location of an electronic device and/or a series of locations of the electronic device detected during a detection interval.” Baxley discloses Baxley discloses performing successful detection of a same EM persona over differing time and locations, which is determination that the signature is substantially the same); and
providing tracking information to a user based on the determining that the first synthesized OOI RF signature is substantially the same as the second synthesized OOI RF signature, wherein the tracking information identifies a first location of the OOI during a first time period and a second location of the OOI during the second time period (See at least [0089] “generate and store activity logs during operations so that relevant personnel can inspect and review prior detection episodes” See also [0121])
Baxley does not explicitly disclose
(See at least Page 4 Col. 1 Para. 1 “Lastly, a CNN model and a k-nearest neighbors (KNN) model are trained with the real signals in the selected frequency bands with and without human occupancy at the location of interest.”);
via a neural network (See at least Fig. 2, Page 5 Col. 2 Para. 2 “Both model 𝐺𝐺 and 𝐷𝐷 are CNNs and their designs are shown in Figure 2” Liu discloses a convolutional neural network (CNN) to process data.)
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the RF system disclosed by Baxley with the network system disclosed by Liu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously increase accuracy (See at least Page 6 Col. 1 Para. 1 “These two trained classifiers should be able to accurately distinguish the occupancy status,”).
Regarding claim 16, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 13. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 13, shown above.
Claims 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baxley, in view of Liu, in further view of Qi.
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Baxley and Liu, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 14. Baxley further discloses
(See at least [0047] “a system for detection and identification of EM personas may include an electromagnetic (EM) sensor network for receiving emitted EM signals from one or more mobile electronic devices carried by individual within an area under surveillance (AUS)” The Examiner notes that the BRI of the OOI is a human with the emitter, as they are collocated and treated as a point source by the reference.).
The combination of Baxley and Liu does not explicitly disclose receiving RF signals from the OOI in an electromagnetic (EM) shielded environment such that an OOI RF signatured is obtained, wherein the OOI emits RF signals and the RF signals from the OOI in the EM shielded environment are free of RF signals reflected off of the OOI, . However, Qi, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
receiving RF signals from the OOI in an electromagnetic (EM) shielded environment such that an OOI RF signatured is obtained, wherein the OOI emits RF signals and the RF signals from the OOI in the EM shielded environment are free of RF signals reflected off of the OOI, (See at least Figs. 1-3, Item 101, “microwave dark room of the invention (hereinafter referred to as "dark") comprising an electromagnetic shielding chamber, a wall in the electromagnetic shielding chamber of the absorbing material and a measuring antenna” Qi discloses RF shielding environment which eliminates reflected or scattered electromagnetic waves from the OOI 102 at receiver 101.).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the RF system disclosed by Baxley with the receiving system disclosed by Qi. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously increase measurement accuracy (See at least “reduce reflection noise in the darkroom, providing a pure measurement environment, which improves the accuracy of measurement”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Baxley.
Regarding claim 19, Liu, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Liu further discloses
(See at least Page 7 Col. 1 Para. 1 “These two trained models take the inputs of synthesized data and baseline spectrum of study room or office, respectively. […] Both models achieve very encouraging detection performance. The proposed HSGAN can not only generates the human RF signatures at the location of the RF signals in the study room” Liu discloses determining human detections from the comparison, thereby evaluating if the RF emitting OOI in the ROI is the same OOI).
Liu does not explicitly disclose granting the OOI in the ROI access to a room, wherein the granting the OOI in the ROI access to the room is based on the
granting the OOI in the ROI access to a room, wherein the granting the OOI in the ROI access to the room is based on the (See at least [0123] “The entity 20 is determined, based on the EM personas of their devices 10, coupled with access control information, to be an identified, authorized person, with permitted access to the facility” Baxley discloses granting access to buildings or entryways based on controls including recognition of an authorized person, analogous to a learned same OOI from a shield environment).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the RF system disclosed by Liu with the access system disclosed by Baxley. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve security (See at least [0052] “combined with other security and safety infrastructure, to provide improved and enhanced security and safety awareness capabilities”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bai (US 20230188389 A1) - Certain aspects of the present disclosure provide techniques for radio frequency (RF) sensing. A method that may be performed by a UE generally includes receiving, from a base station (BS), a configuration for the UE to perform RF sensing. The method generally includes transmitting an RF sensing signal based on the configuration. The method generally includes performing one or more measurements of one or more reflections of the RF sensing signal. Certain aspects of the subject matter described in this disclosure canbe implemented in a method for wireless communication by a BS. The method generally includes receiving a RF sensing capabilities message from a UE. The method generally includes transmitting, to the UE, a configuration for the UE to perform RF sensing based on the RF sensing capabilities message
Wang (US 11408978 B2) - Methods, apparatus and systems for wireless vital signs monitoring are described. In one embodiment, a described system comprises: a transmitter, a receiver, a processor. The transmitter transmits, using N1 transmit antennas, a wireless signal through a wireless multipath channel of a venue, while a first object in the venue is having a first repetitive motion. The receiver receives, using N2 receive antennas, the wireless signal through the wireless multipath channel, and extracts a plurality of time series of channel information (TSCI) of the wireless multipath channel from the wireless signal. N1 and N2 are positive integers. Each of the plurality of TSCI is associated with a transmit antenna of the transmitter and a receive antenna of the receiver. The processor computes a first information of the first repetitive motion based on the plurality of TSCI, and monitors the first repetitive motion of the first object based on the first information.
Macoskey (US 20220205451 A1) - A system for measuring a first physical parameter includes a mechanical device configured to operate based on the first physical parameter, and a source sensor coupled with the mechanical device and configured to output a signal indicative of the first physical parameter that is based on a second physical parameter and a forward mapping function, wherein the forward mapping function is learned during a system training phase in which pairwise first physical parameter data from a first physical parameter sensor is forward mapped from second physical parameter data from the source sensor.
McFadden (US 20220171017 A1) - An ultra-wideband (UWB) system includes an enclosure, and an ultra-wideband (UWB) transmitter array within the enclosure, the UWB transmitter array having a transmitter component that transmits electromagnetic waves toward a region-of-interest (ROI), the UWB array having a receiver component that receives reflected electromagnetic waves from objects in the ROI and generates object data. The system further includes a radar absorbing material positioned to receive electromagnetic waves transmitted from the transmitter component that are not directed toward the ROI, and a pattern recognition device having a processor configured to process the electromagnetic waves reflected from the ROI and to determine whether an object-of-interest (OOI) pattern is recognized within the object data.
/KENNETH W GOOD/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648