Claim Objections
Claims 2, 8, 10, 16 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2, 8, 10, 16 and 20 recite “anterior 11” has typos, should be “anterior tooth”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 17 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of US 10935958 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claims 17 and 22 are anticipated by patent claim.
Regarding instant claim 17, patent claim 2 anticipates the claim limitations, as shown in the following table:
Instant Application
US 10935958 B2
17. A computer-implemented method of defining a trimline for use in the manufacturing of an aligner, the method comprising:
1. A computer-implemented method of defining a trimline for use in the manufacturing of an aligner, the method comprising:
receiving a 3-D digital model of a patient’s teeth projecting from a modeled gingiva;
receiving a 3-D digital model of a patient's teeth projecting from a modeled gingiva;
placing a first margin point on a first tooth in the 3-D digital model; placing a second margin point on a second tooth in the 3-D digital model, wherein the second tooth is a different tooth than the first tooth;
placing a margin point proximate a gingival margin at each tooth on at least one jaw in the 3-D digital model;
generating a trimline connecting the first margin point and the second margin point;
generating a trimline connecting the plurality of margin points;
adding at least one control point on the trimline in an interproximal region between the first margin point and the second margin point;
adding at least one control point on the trimline between two margin points; moving the at least one control point occlusally relative to the two margin points and wherein the trimline follows the control point;
generating machine code from the trimline for a corresponding aligner; and
generating machine code from the trimline for a corresponding aligner;
using the machine code to control a trimming process of a machine to produce the aligner having an edge correlating to the trimline.
2. including manufacturing the aligner and wherein an edge of the aligner is configured to correlate with the trimline according to the machine code.
Claim 17 is generic to the species of invention covered by claim 2 of the patent. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the patented invention.
Claim 22 is generic to the species of invention covered by claim 2 of the patent. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the patented invention.
Claims 17 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US 12197186 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claims 17 and 21 are anticipated by patent claim.
Regarding instant claim 17, patent claim 1 anticipates the claim limitations, as shown in the following table:
Instant Application
US 12197186 B2
17. A computer-implemented method of defining a trimline for use in the manufacturing of an aligner, the method comprising:
1. A computer-implemented method of defining a trimline for use in the manufacturing of an aligner, the method comprising:
receiving a 3-D digital model of a patient’s teeth projecting from a modeled gingiva;
receiving a 3-D digital model of a patient's teeth projecting from a modeled gingiva;
placing a first margin point on a first tooth in the 3-D digital model; placing a second margin point on a second tooth in the 3-D digital model, wherein the second tooth is a different tooth than the first tooth;
placing a margin point proximate a gingival margin at each tooth on at least one jaw in the 3-D digital model;
generating a trimline connecting the first margin point and the second margin point;
generating a trimline connecting the plurality of margin points;
adding at least one control point on the trimline in an interproximal region between the first margin point and the second margin point;
the trimline including: (i) a first tooth curve associated with a first model tooth, (ii) a second tooth curve associated with a second model tooth, and (iii) a connector curve in an interproximal region in the 3-D digital model and connecting the first tooth curve to the second tooth curve, wherein placing the margin point includes placing a first margin point of the plurality of margin points defining a first location on the first tooth curve and placing a second margin point of the plurality of margin points defining a second location on the second tooth curve; adding at least one control point on the connector curve to define a location on the connector curve between the first margin point and the second margin point;
generating machine code from the trimline for a corresponding aligner; and
generating machine code from the trimline for a corresponding aligner;
using the machine code to control a trimming process of a machine to produce the aligner having an edge correlating to the trimline.
using the machine code to control a trimming process of a machine to produce the aligner having an edge correlating to the trimline.
Claim 17 is generic to the species of invention covered by claim 1 of the patent. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the patented invention.
Claim 21 is generic to the species of invention covered by claim 1 of the patent. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the patented invention.
Claims 18 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 7 of US 12197186 B2, respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claims 17 and 21 are anticipated by patent claims, respectively.
Claims 18 and 22 are generic to the species of invention covered by claims 2 and 7 of the patent, respectively. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the patented inventions, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 20200100871 A1 in view of Kopelman US 20180116762 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches a system for defining a trimline for use in the manufacturing of an aligner ([0290] [0292] cutline i.e. “trimline” for aligner is customized for each patient), the system comprising:
a processor; and non-transitory memory including program code (Fig. 14 [0266] processing device and memory); the processor configured by the program code to:
receive a 3-D digital model of a patient’s teeth projecting from a modeled gingiva ([0278] 3D virtual model of patient’s dental arch, [0292] the dental arch with gingiva and teeth);
generate a trimline ([0290] [0292] cutline i.e. “trimline” for aligner is generated for each aligner);
generate machine code from the trimline for a corresponding aligner, and store the machine code in a non-transitory memory for generating the trimline on the corresponding aligner and use the machine code to control a trimming process of a machine to produce the aligner having an edge correlating to the trimline ([0281] virtual 3D model of a patient’s dental arch is used to generate physical mold, [0286] an aligner is generated using the physical mold, [0289] [0290] a cutline is generated for the aligner, based on the virtual 3D model of dental arch, [0006] a computer controlled trimming machine uses electronic data identifies the cutline to trim the aligner, i.e. the machine code for generating the trimline are stored in memory for trimming machine to trim the aligner).
Wang does not explicitly teach:
place a margin point proximate a gingival margin at each tooth on a jaw in the 3D digital model;
the generated trimline connecting the margin points; and
replicate a portion of the trimline from one location adjacent the 3D model of teeth to form another portion of the trimline at another location adjacent the 3D model.
Kopelman explicitly teaches explicitly teaches in an analogous art that:
place a margin point proximate a gingival margin at each tooth on a jaw in the 3D digital model (Fig. 1A [0032] [0035] – [0037] initial gingival curves are obtained on all teeth representing the gingival surface or gum line – gingival margin at each tooth, the cut line (trimline) is generated using sampling points at the initial gingival curves – margin point placed proximate a gingival margin at each tooth, some sampling points can be modified with an offset adjustment to meet a minimum radius setting);
the generated trimline connecting the margin points (Fig. 1A [0037] cut lines (trimlines) are generated based the adjusted sampling points, including using a plurality of intersection points and tangent points).
Geron explicitly teaches explicitly teaches in an analogous art that:
replicate a portion of the trimline from one location adjacent the 3D model of teeth to form another portion of the trimline at another location adjacent the 3D model (page 9 second paragraph from the bottom, copying the exact position of the labial slot to the lingual slot);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Kopelman and Geron because they all directed to designing and manufacturing dental appliance, to make the system wherein place a margin point proximate a gingival margin at each tooth on a jaw in the 3-D digital model; the generated trimline connecting the margin points; and replicate a portion of the trimline from one location adjacent the 3D model of teeth to form another portion of the trimline at another location adjacent the 3D model. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so that the resulting cut line has an optimized radius in the interproximal area, as Kopelman teaches in [0037], and the design of the other portion of the feature of the orthodontic appliance can be copied, as Geron teaches in page 9 second paragraph from the bottom.
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Geron further teaches replicate a labial portion or a lingual portion of the trimline for an anterior to form the trimline for the lingual portion or the labial portion, respectively, of the trimline for the anterior (page 9 second paragraph from the bottom, copying the exact position of the labial slot to the lingual slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Geron because they all directed to designing and manufacturing dental appliance, to make the system wherein replicate a labial portion or a lingual portion of the trimline for an anterior to form the trimline for the lingual portion or the labial portion, respectively, of the trimline for the anterior. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so that the design of the other portion of the feature of the orthodontic appliance can be copied, as Geron teaches in page 9 second paragraph from the bottom.
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Kopelman further teaches:
(i) a first tooth curve associated with a first model tooth, (ii) a second tooth curve associated with a second model tooth ([0033] [0034] [0037] the LATs of adjacent teeth – first tooth curve and second tooth curve), and
(iii) a connector curve in an interproximal region in the 3-D digital model and connecting the first tooth curve to the second tooth curve ([0037] the curves defined by the offset intersection points and tangent points – a connector curve connecting the first tooth curve to the second tooth curve).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Geron because they all directed to designing and manufacturing dental appliance, to make the system wherein (i) a first tooth curve associated with a first model tooth, (ii) a second tooth curve associated with a second model tooth, and (iii) a connector curve in an interproximal region in the 3-D digital model and connecting the first tooth curve to the second tooth curve. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so that the resulting cut line has an optimized radius in the interproximal area, as Kopelman teaches in [0037].
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Kopelman further teaches a first margin point of the plurality of margin points defines a first location on the first tooth curve and a second margin point of the plurality of margin points defines a second location on the second tooth curve ([0035] – [0037] the sampling points that define the cutline along the tooth curves of adjacent teeth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Geron because they all directed to designing and manufacturing dental appliance, to make the system wherein a first margin point of the plurality of margin points defines a first location on the first tooth curve and a second margin point of the plurality of margin points defines a second location on the second tooth curve. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so that the resulting cut line has an optimized radius in the interproximal area, as Kopelman teaches in [0037].
Regarding claims 1-4, it is directed to a method of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claims 9-12, respectively. Since Wang, Kopelman and Geron teach the claimed system, they teach the method steps for implementing the system.
Claims 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kopelman.
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches a computer-implemented method of defining a trimline for use in the manufacturing of an aligner ([0290] [0292] cutline i.e. “trimline” for aligner is customized for each patient), the method comprising:
receiving a 3-D digital model of a patient’s teeth projecting from a modeled gingiva ([0278] 3D virtual model of patient’s dental arch, [0292] the dental arch with gingiva and teeth);
placing a first margin point on a first tooth in the 3-D digital model (Fig. 1A [0032] [0035] – [0037] initial gingival curves are obtained on all teeth representing the gingival surface or gum line – gingival margin at each tooth, the cut line is generated using sampling points at the initial gingival curves – margin point placed proximate a gingival margin at each tooth, some sampling points can be modified with an offset adjustment to meet a minimum radius setting);
generating a trimline ([0290] [0292] cutline i.e. “trimline” for aligner is generated for each aligner);
generating machine code from the trimline for a corresponding aligner; and using the machine code to control a trimming process of a machine to produce the aligner having an edge correlating to the trimline ([0281] virtual 3D model of a patient’s dental arch is used to generate physical mold, [0286] an aligner is generated using the physical mold, [0289] [0290] a cutline is generated for the aligner, based on the virtual 3D model of dental arch, [0006] a computer controlled trimming machine uses electronic data identifies the cutline to trim the aligner).
Wang does not explicitly teach:
placing a first margin point on a first tooth in the 3-D digital model; placing a second margin point on a second tooth in the 3-D digital model, wherein the second tooth is a different tooth than the first tooth;
the generated trimline connecting the first margin point and the second margin point; and
adding at least one control point on the trimline in an interproximal region between the first margin point and the second margin point.
Kopelman explicitly teaches explicitly teaches in an analogous art that:
placing a first margin point on a first tooth in the 3-D digital model (Fig. 1A [0032] [0035] – [0037] initial gingival curves are obtained on all teeth representing the gingival surface or gum line – gingival margin at each tooth, the cut line is generated using sampling points at the initial gingival curves – margin point placed proximate a gingival margin at each tooth, some sampling points can be modified with an offset adjustment to meet a minimum radius setting);
placing a second margin point on a second tooth in the 3-D digital model, wherein the second tooth is a different tooth than the first tooth ([0035] – [0037] the sampling points that define the cutline along the tooth curves of adjacent teeth);
the generated trimline connecting the first margin point and the second margin point (Fig. 1A [0037] cut lines are generated based the adjusted sampling points, including using a plurality of intersection points and tangent points); and
adding at least one control point on the trimline in an interproximal region between the first margin point and the second margin point ([0037] adding the intersection points and tangent points to define the connector curve in the interproximal region i.e. “adding at least one control point on the trimline in an interproximal region between the first margin point and the second margin point”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Kopelman because they all directed to designing and manufacturing dental appliance, to make the method wherein placing a first margin point on a first tooth in the 3-D digital model; placing a second margin point on a second tooth in the 3-D digital model, wherein the second tooth is a different tooth than the first tooth; the generated trimline connecting the first margin point and the second margin point; and adding at least one control point on the trimline in an interproximal region between the first margin point and the second margin point. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so that the resulting cut line has an optimized radius in the interproximal area, as Kopelman teaches in [0037].
Regarding claim 21, Wang in view of Kopelman further teaches:
(i) a first tooth curve associated with the first model tooth, (ii) a second tooth curve associated with the second model tooth ([0033] [0034] [0037] the LATs of adjacent teeth – first tooth curve and second tooth curve), and
(iii) a connector curve in an interproximal region in the 3-D digital model and connecting the first tooth curve to the second tooth curve ([0037] the curves defined by the offset intersection points and tangent points – a connector curve connecting the first tooth curve to the second tooth curve).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Kopelman because they all directed to designing and manufacturing dental appliance, to make the method wherein (i) a first tooth curve associated with the first model tooth, (ii) a second tooth curve associated with the second model tooth; and (iii) a connector curve in an interproximal region in the 3-D digital model and connecting the first tooth curve to the second tooth curve. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so that the resulting cut line has an optimized radius in the interproximal area, as Kopelman teaches in [0037].
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kopelman as applied to claims 17 and 21 above, further in view of Hultgren US 20130177864 A1.
Regarding claim 18, neither Wang nor Kopelman explicitly further teaches placing the first margin point includes placing the first margin point at a gingival-occlusal height of a gingival zenith of a gingival margin of the first tooth in the 3-D digital model and/or placing the second margin point includes placing the second margin point at a gingival-occlusal height of a gingival zenith of a gingival margin of the second tooth in the 3-D digital model.
Hultgren explicitly teaches explicitly teaches in an analogous art that placing the first margin point includes placing the first margin point at a gingival-occlusal height of a gingival zenith of a gingival margin of the first tooth in the 3-D digital model and/or placing the second margin point includes placing the second margin point at a gingival-occlusal height of a gingival zenith of a gingival margin of the second tooth in the 3-D digital model ([0038] gingival margin point at a gingival zenith).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang and Kopelman to incorporate the teachings of Hultgren because they all directed to designing and manufacturing dental appliance, to make the method wherein placing the first margin point includes placing the first margin point at a gingival-occlusal height of a gingival zenith of a gingival margin of the first tooth in the 3-D digital model and/or placing the second margin point includes placing the second margin point at a gingival-occlusal height of a gingival zenith of a gingival margin of the second tooth in the 3-D digital model. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to determine a preferred gingival margin, as Hultgren teaches in [0038].
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kopelman as applied to claims 17 and 21 above, further in view of Geron.
Regarding claim 19, neither Wang nor Kopelman explicitly further teaches replicating the trimline connecting the first margin point and the second margin point, including the at least one control point, from one location adjacent the 3D model of teeth to form another portion of the trimline at another location adjacent the 3D model.
Geron explicitly teaches explicitly teaches in an analogous art that replicating the trimline connecting the first margin point and the second margin point, including the at least one control point, from one location adjacent the 3D model of teeth to form another portion of the trimline at another location adjacent the 3D model (page 9 second paragraph from the bottom, copying the exact position of the labial slot to the lingual slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang and Kopelman to incorporate the teachings of Geron because they all directed to designing and manufacturing dental appliance, to make the method wherein replicating the trimline connecting the first margin point and the second margin point, including the at least one control point, from one location adjacent the 3D model of teeth to form another portion of the trimline at another location adjacent the 3D model. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so that the design of the other portion of the feature of the orthodontic appliance can be copied, as Geron teaches in page 9 second paragraph from the bottom.
Regarding claim 20, Wang in view of Geron further teaches replicating includes replicating a labial portion or a lingual portion of the trimline for an anterior to form the trimline for the lingual portion or the labial portion, respectively, of the trimline for the anterior (page 9 second paragraph from the bottom, copying the exact position of the labial slot to the lingual slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang and Kopelman to incorporate the teachings of Geron because they all directed to designing and manufacturing dental appliance, to make the method wherein replicating includes replicating a labial portion or a lingual portion of the trimline for an anterior to form the trimline for the lingual portion or the labial portion, respectively, of the trimline for the anterior. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so that the design of the other portion of the feature of the orthodontic appliance can be copied, as Geron teaches in page 9 second paragraph from the bottom.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objections set forth in this Office action and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 22 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims with the appropriate filing of Terminal Disclaimer.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 5 and 13 depends on claims 4 and 12, respectively. Wang, Kopelman and Geron together teaches claims 4 and 12 as stated in 35 USC § 103 rejections above. Kopelman further teaches add at least one control point between the first margin point and the second margin point ([0037] adding the intersection points and tangent points to define the connector curve in the interproximal region i.e. “add at least one control point between the first margin point and the second margin point”). However, Wang, Kopelman and Geron do not teach or suggest individually or in combination that the control point is on the trimline.
Claim 22 depends on claim 17. Wang and Kopelman together teach claims 17 as stated in 35 USC § 103 rejections above. However, Wang and Kopelman do not teach or suggest individually or in combination that:
moving the at least one control point occlusally relative to the first margin point and the second margin point, and
wherein the trimline connecting the first margin point and the second margin point follows the at least one control point.
Regarding claims 6-8 and 14-16, they depend on allowable base claims, therefore, would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objections set forth in this Office action and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lu US 20080187887 A1 teaches modifying gingival curve to generate cutting curve by sampling points.
/M.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115