DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Porta (US 2021/0012126 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Porta discloses a method and an inattentiveness determination device which determines whether or not a driver of a vehicle is inattentive (e.g. Abstract & [0002]), comprising
a processor (e.g. Fig. 1: 106a-106n & [0025]), the processor is configured to:
set an inattentiveness determinati8on region so that at least a part of a region in which a front window is located is not set as the inattentiveness determination region (e.g. Fig. 8: regions 502a, 502b, 520 not including front window);
detect a line-of-sight direction of the driver (e.g. Fig. 8: 508 & [0153-0156]);
detect a position of a mobile terminal in an interior of the vehicle based on an image acquired from an indoor camera for capturing an image of the interior of the vehicle (e.g. Fig. 8: 412’ & [0154]);
determine whether the driver is in an inattentive state based on whether or not the line-of-sight direction of the driver is within the inattentiveness determination region (e.g. Fig. 8: 412’ & [0153-0159]: determine whether direction of gaze of the driver corresponds to the location of the smartphone); and
modify the inattentiveness determination region so as to include a region in which the mobile terminal is located, when there is the mobile terminal in the interior of the vehicle (e.g. Fig. 8 & [0154]: set mobile terminal location as inattentiveness region when the mobile terminal is detected).
Regarding claim 3, Porta discloses an inattentiveness determination system comprising:
a driver monitor camera which captures an image of a face of the driver (e.g. Fig. 2: 102a-102n & [0070]); and an indoor camera which captures the image of the interior of the vehicle (e.g. Fig. 2: 102b & [0026-0028]), wherein the processor is configured to detect the line-of-sight direction of the driver based on the image captured by the driver monitor camera, and the indoor camera is arranged to capture an image of a region located in front of the driver (e.g. Fig. 8 & [0153-0156]).
Regarding claim 4, Porta discloses the indoor camera (e.g. Fig. 2: 102b & [0026-0028]), but fails to disclose the indoor camera is arranged so as to capture an image from a ceiling of the vehicle forwardly downwardly in the vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, Porta discloses the driver monitor camera and the indoor camera are different cameras (e.g. [0070]: more than one indoor camera are used).
Regarding claim 8, Porta discloses the processor is configured to: determine that the driver is in the inattentive state (e.g. Fig. 8: 412’ & [0153-0159]: determine whether direction of gaze of the driver corresponds to the location of the smartphone); and based on the determination that the driver is in the inattentive state, control a speaker in the vehicle to output a sound that indicates the driver is in the inattentive state (e.g. [0135]).
Regarding claim 13, Porta discloses the processor detects the position of the mobile terminal by inputting the image into a convolutional neural network, wherein the convolutional neural network outputs information indicating the position of the mobile terminal (e.g. [0106-0112]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porta (US 2021/0012126 A1) in view of Kuroda et al. (US 2022/0111841 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Porta fails to disclose, but Kuroda teaches the processor detects the line-of-sight direction of the driver based on positions of pupils of the user and a corneal reflection of a light source in the image captured by the driver monitor camera (e.g. [0090]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Porta with the teachings of Kuroda to utilize positions of pupils and corneal reflection to determine line-of-sight of a driver. The modification would have yielded only predictable results to one skilled in the art since it is merely simple substitutions of one known method with another (replacing line-of-sight method of Porta with Kuroda’s teachings).
Regarding claim 10, Kuroda teaches the processor is configured to: determine the positions of the pupils and the corneal reflection of the light source by inputting a facial image (e.g. [0090]: picture of driver’s head) into a neural network (e.g. [0038]: neural network).
Regarding claim 11, Kuroda teaches processor detects the line-of-sight direction of the driver based on a positional relationship between an inner corner of an eye and an iris (e.g. [0090]: control unit 34 detects looking direction of the driver based on positional relationship between pupil and corneal reflection) in the image captured by the driver monitor camera (e.g. [0090]: driver monitoring camera).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porta (US 2021/0012126 A1) in view of Fung et al. (US 2016/0001781 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Porta discloses: to determine whether the driver is in the inattentive state comprises:
determine whether the driver is in the inattentive state based on whether or not the line- of-sight direction of the driver is within a first area of the inattentiveness determination region for a period of time greater than a first threshold (e.g. [0161]: determine an amount of time driver not been looking at the road and looking downwards at the smartphone), or
determine whether the driver is in the inattentive state based on whether or not the line- of-sight direction of the driver is within a second area of the inattentiveness determination region for a period of time greater than a second threshold,
Porta fails to disclose, but Fung teaches:
determine whether the driver is in the inattentive state based on whether or not the line- of-sight direction of the driver is within a first area of the inattentiveness determination region for a period of time greater than a first threshold (e.g. [0557]: head look is rear-looking for more than 2s), or
determine whether the driver is in the inattentive state based on whether or not the line- of-sight direction of the driver is within a second area of the inattentiveness determination region for a period of time greater than a second threshold (e.g. [0640-0641]: driver looking at navigation system exceeds a threshold time length corresponds to 5 or 10 head looks)
the first threshold and the second threshold are different thresholds ([0557, 0640, 0641, 0636]: although Fung does not clearly state how much time corresponds to a head look, it teaches dynamically changing the thresholds based on different states of the driver, and if 5 head looks correspond to 2s, then Fung is broadly interpreted as setting 10 head looks as threshold for determining driver inattentiveness when looking at navigation system; thus, first threshold is different from second threshold).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Porta with the teachings of Fung to dynamically setting thresholds to determine attentiveness of a driver so as to provide accurate measurement for the specific driver state, driver and driving environment for determining driver’s attentiveness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 7-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAM WAN MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2688