DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on December 11, 2024, claim 1-20 have been examined this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes et al (US 2019/0310351 A1) in view of Sinclair et al (US 2020/0005097 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hughes teaches a system, comprising [0063 for pulsed laser configured to produce or emit pulses of light with a certain pulse duration]:
a light source configured to emit a light pulse [0063 for using a light source of a pulsed radar with a repetition frequency];
a light receiver configured to detect a reflected light pulse [0077 for having multiple types of receives that detecting the input beam and produce an electrical signal].
Hughes fails to explicitly teach a radar transmitter configured to transmit a radar signal, wherein an emission direction of the light pulse of the light source and a transmission direction of the radar signal of the radar transmitter are at least in part synchronized and a radar receiver configured to detect a reflected radar signal; and a processor configured to determine a dimensional representation of an environment based at least in part on the detected reflected light pulse and the detected reflected radar signal.
Sinclair has a small, gimballed, multi-sensor system employs a shared aperture for at least some of the image sensors (abstract) and teaches a radar transmitter configured to transmit a radar signal [0034 for bi-directional propagation, emission and collection, of several types of signals such as RADAR],
wherein an emission direction of the light pulse of the light source and a transmission direction of the radar signal of the radar transmitter are at least in part synchronized [0037-0038 for one gimbal carries all components (synchronized) and having sensor fusion (radar and lidar)]
and a radar receiver configured to detect a reflected radar signal [0034 and 0042 for RADAR transceiver unit that generates a scanned RF signal that is transmitted via the phased array send and receive antennas];
and a processor configured to determine a dimensional representation of an environment based at least in part on the detected reflected light pulse and the detected reflected radar signal [0050 for image processing means for cars and bicycles using both RADAR and LIDAR data].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the pulsed light techniques, as disclosed by Hughes, further including the signal processing calculations as taught by Sinclair for the purpose to determine velocity, weather, and distance values (Sinclair, 0050).
Regarding Claim 13, Hughes teaches method, comprising [0063 for pulsed laser configured to produce or emit pulses of light with a certain pulse duration]:
emitting a light pulse from a light source [0063 for using a light source of a pulsed radar with a repetition frequency];
using a dual mode scanner to scan the light pulse in an emission direction [0072 for scanner steers the output beam in one or more directions downrange];
receiving at a light receiver a reflected light pulse [0077 for having multiple types of receives that detecting the input beam and produce an electrical signal].
Hughes fails to explicitly teach transmitting a radar signal from a radar transmitter; using a dual mode scanner to scan the light pulse in an emission direction; using the dual mode scanner to scan the radar signal in a transmission direction, wherein the emission direction and the transmission direction are at least in part synchronized; receiving at a radar receiver a reflected radar signal; and determining a dimensional representation of an environment based at least in part on the received reflected light pulse and the received reflected radar signal.
Sinclair has a small, gimballed, multi-sensor system employs a shared aperture for at least some of the image sensors (abstract) and teaches transmitting a radar signal from a radar transmitter [0034 for bi-directional propagation, emission and collection, of several types of signals such as RADAR],
using the dual mode scanner to scan the radar signal in a transmission direction [0039 for the gimbal points the aperture in both azimuth and elevation over a range of angles],
wherein the emission direction and the transmission direction are at least in part synchronized [0037-0038 for one gimbal carries all components (synchronized) and having sensor fusion (radar and lidar)]
receiving at a radar receiver a reflected radar signal [0034 and 0042 for RADAR transceiver unit that generates a scanned RF signal that is transmitted via the phased array send and receive antennas];
and determining a dimensional representation of an environment based at least in part on the received reflected light pulse and the received reflected radar signal [0050 for image processing means for cars and bicycles using both RADAR and LIDAR data].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the pulsed light techniques, as disclosed by Hughes, further including the signal processing calculations as taught by Sinclair for the purpose to determine velocity, weather, and distance values (Sinclair, 0050).
Regarding Claim 2, Hughes fails to explicitly teach a dual mode scanner configured to: receive the light pulse of the light source and the radar signal of the radar transmitter; and direct the emission direction of the light pulse and the transmission direction of the radar signal.
Sinclair has a small, gimballed, multi-sensor system employs a shared aperture for at least some of the image sensors (abstract) and teaches a dual mode scanner configured to [0039 for the gimbal points the aperture in both azimuth and elevation over a range of angles]:
receive the light pulse of the light source and the radar signal of the radar transmitter [0034 for optics and radio signals];
and direct the emission direction of the light pulse and the transmission direction of the radar signal [0020 and 0062 for mirror system designed to collect and focus light R in multiple spectral bands, received through the common aperture].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the pulsed light techniques, as disclosed by Hughes, further including the scanning calculations as taught by Sinclair for the purpose to have an economical fused sensor system (Sinclair, 0060).
Regarding Claim 3 and 14, Hughes teaches the dual mode scanner includes a polygon mirror and a scan mirror, wherein the polygon mirror is configured to [0092]:
receive the light pulse of the light source and the radar signal of the radar transmitter [0093 for multiple sensors can include a separate light source or a common light source];
and reflect the light pulse of the light source and the radar signal of the radar transmitter at the scan mirror along a first axis; and wherein the scan mirror is configured to [0101for reflective surface of the scan mirror reflects the output beam]:
reflect the received light pulse of the light source in the emission direction of the light pulse along a second axis [0098 for polygon mirror may be in the form of a rotatable block with multiple reflective surfaces angularly offset from one another].
Regarding Claim 4 and 15, Hughes teaches the scan mirror is further configured to reflect the received radar signal of the radar transmitter along the second axis [0119 for rotatable polygon mirror with three reflective surfaces, a square shape with four reflective surfaces, an octagonal shape with eight reflective surfaces].
Regarding Claim 5 and 16, Hughes fails to explicitly teach the scan mirror is further configured to transmit the received radar signal of the radar transmitter.
Sinclair has a small, gimballed, multi-sensor system employs a shared aperture for at least some of the image sensors (abstract) and teaches the scan mirror is further configured to transmit the received radar signal of the radar transmitter [0020 and 0062 for mirror system designed to collect and focus light R in multiple spectral bands, received through the common aperture].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the pulsed light techniques, as disclosed by Hughes, further including the scanning calculations as taught by Sinclair for the purpose to have an economical fused sensor system (Sinclair, 0060).
Regarding Claim 6 and 17, Hughes fails to explicitly teach the emission direction of the light pulse of the light source and the transmission direction of the radar signal of the radar transmitter are synchronized along a first axis and a second axis.
Sinclair has a small, gimballed, multi-sensor system employs a shared aperture for at least some of the image sensors (abstract) and teaches the emission direction of the light pulse of the light source and the transmission direction of the radar signal of the radar transmitter are synchronized along a first axis and a second axis [0038-0039 for having gimbal with shared boresight for both azimuth and elevation].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the pulsed light techniques, as disclosed by Hughes, further including the scanning calculations as taught by Sinclair for the purpose to have an economical fused sensor system (Sinclair, 0060).
Regarding Claim 7, Hughes teaches the first axis corresponds to an azimuth direction and the second axis corresponds to an elevation direction [0122 for polygon mirror rotates, the scanner produces one scan line for each reflective surface].
Regarding Claim 8 and 18, Hughes fails to explicitly teach the emission direction of the light pulse of the light source and the transmission direction of the radar signal of the radar transmitter are synchronized along a first axis and decoupled along a second axis.
Sinclair has a small, gimballed, multi-sensor system employs a shared aperture for at least some of the image sensors (abstract) and the emission direction of the light pulse of the light source and the transmission direction of the radar signal of the radar transmitter are synchronized along a first axis and decoupled along a second axis [0062 for phased array send and receive antennas are installed on the backside of the second mirror substrate].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the pulsed light techniques, as disclosed by Hughes, further including the signal processing calculations as taught by Sinclair for the purpose to determine velocity, weather, and distance values (Sinclair, 0050).
Regarding Claim 9, Hughes teaches the first axis corresponds to an azimuth direction and the second axis corresponds to an elevation direction [0122 for polygon mirror rotates, the scanner produces one scan line for each reflective surface].
Regarding Claim 10 and 19, Hughes fails to explicitly teach the second axis of the emission direction of the light pulse of the light source is mechanically steered and the second axis of the transmission direction of the radar signal of the radar transmitter is electronically steered.
Sinclair has a small, gimballed, multi-sensor system employs a shared aperture for at least some of the image sensors (abstract) and the second axis of the emission direction of the light pulse of the light source is mechanically steered [0034, 0039]
and the second axis of the transmission direction of the radar signal of the radar transmitter is electronically steered [0037 for gimbal carries the mirror system, the phased array transceiver, LIDAR, and acoustic transceiver and 0039].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the pulsed light techniques, as disclosed by Hughes, further including the signal processing calculations as taught by Sinclair for the purpose to determine velocity, weather, and distance values (Sinclair, 0050).
Regarding Claim 11, Hughes teaches the mechanical steering of the second axis of the emission direction of the light pulse of the light source is performed at least in part by a scan mirror [0097 for a polygon mirror along with a scan mirror and operates in a one-eye configuration],
wherein the scan mirror includes a first surface that is reflective for light and transmissive for radar and a second surface that is reflective for radar [0101 for a reflective surface of the scan mirror reflects the output beam toward one of the reflective surfaces].
Regarding Claim 12, Hughes fails to explicitly teach the first surface includes a dichroic coating and the second surface corresponds to a metallic surface.
Sinclair has a small, gimballed, multi-sensor system employs a shared aperture for at least some of the image sensors (abstract) and the first surface includes a dichroic coating and the second surface corresponds to a metallic surface [0068 for a transparent substrate on which a dichroic dielectric coating has been deposited].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the pulsed light techniques, as disclosed by Hughes, further including the reflectivity calculations as taught by Sinclair for the purpose to divide light into multiple optical bands (Sinclair, 0068).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes et al (US 2019/0310351 A1) in view of Sinclair et al (US 2020/0005097 A1) and Zhu (US 9097800 B1).
Regarding Claim 20, Hughes teaches a system, comprising [0063 for pulsed laser configured to produce or emit pulses of light with a certain pulse duration]:
a light source configured to emit light [0063 for using a light source of a pulsed radar with a repetition frequency];
a dual mode scanner configured to scan the emitted light across a first field of regard [0072 for scanner steers the output beam in one or more directions downrange]
a light receiver configured to detect a return light pulse corresponding to the emitted light scattered by an external target located downrange to provide a lidar measurement signal [0054-0056 and 0077 for having multiple types of receives that detecting the input beam and produce an electrical signal].
Hughes fails to explicitly teach a radio frequency source configured to transmit radio signals; and the transmitted radio signals across a second field of regard; a radio frequency receiver configured to detect a return radio frequency signal corresponding to the transmitted radio signals scattered by the external target located downrange to provide a radar measurement signal.
Sinclair has a small, gimballed, multi-sensor system employs a shared aperture for at least some of the image sensors (abstract) and teaches a radio frequency source configured to transmit radio signals [0034 for bi-directional propagation, emission and collection, of several types of signals such as RADAR],
and the transmitted radio signals across a second field of regard [0039 for gimbal]
a radio frequency receiver configured to detect a return radio frequency signal corresponding to the transmitted radio signals scattered by the external target located downrange to provide a radar measurement signal [0034 and 0042 for RADAR transceiver unit that generates a scanned RF signal that is transmitted via the phased array send and receive antennas].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the pulsed light techniques, as disclosed by Hughes, further including the signal processing calculations as taught by Sinclair for the purpose to determine velocity, weather, and distance values (Sinclair, 0050).
Hughes fails to explicitly teach and a processor configured to identify the lidar measurement signal and the radar measurement signal as corresponding to the same external target and to determine a fused measurement for the external target based on the lidar measurement signal and the radar measurement signal.
Zhu has light detection and ranging device associated with an autonomous vehicle scans through a scanning Zone (abstract) and teaches and a processor configured to identify the lidar measurement signal and the radar measurement signal as corresponding to the same external target [col 27, lines 20-30 for 3-D point map so as to account for a spatial displacement of the one or more radio-reflective features with respect to the 3-D point map during the temporal offset]
and to determine a fused measurement for the external target based on the lidar measurement signal and the radar measurement signal [col 27, lines 20-40 for using light reflective features for solid materials].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the pulsed light techniques, as disclosed by Hughes, further including the reflective measurement calculations as taught by Zhu for the purpose to ensure the vehicle avoids light reflective solid materials (Zhu, col 27, lines 35-41).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bozchalooi et al (US 2018/0329037A1) has a LiDAR device that transmits a single or multiple continuous or intermittent laser beams to the environment and detects the reflected light on one or more detectors.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648