CTNF 18/977,272 CTNF 87463 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claims 16-20 are objected to because they include reference characters which do not avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. The reference character “M” after “matching circuit” in claims 16-20 is not the same as the reference character “M1” after “matching circuit” in claims 1-15 which causes confusion in which reference character is being implied. Further the remaining reference characters in claims 16-20 match the reference characters in claims 1-15. For example, reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be clear so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 and 16 recite “first frequency band” and “second frequency band”. This limitation is indefinite in light of the disclosed invention and the Specification because it is unclear whether the bands are intended to be claimed. For example, the specification discloses ranges of the first band as from ~650 MHz - 5 GHz and the second band as from ~1.5 - 1.7 GHz, and also allows A1/A2 to act as legacy or satellite antennas in those bands however the claim only recites “first frequency band” and “second frequency band” without anchoring them to any range, standard (e.g., LTE/5G band), or band relationship (e.g., second band included in first band vs separate). A skilled artisan would not be able to determine the metes and bounds of which combinations are actually claimed and clear if “first frequency band” and “second frequency band” can overlap or be subsets with no stated constraint. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190044218 A1 (hereinafter “Ye”) . Claim 16: Ye teaches an electronic device comprising a housing (e.g., see 11 in FIG. 2), the electronic device comprising: a printed circuit board (e.g., see 114, Para. 40) comprising a wireless communication module (e.g., for communicating signals), a processor (e.g., see Para. 40), and a ground (G) (e.g., see grounded elements for A1, A22 in FIG. 4, Para. 50, 53); a first conductive portion (e.g., see A1 or A22 in FIG. 4), a second conductive portion (e.g., A1 or A22), and a third conductive portion (e.g., see A2) which are electrically connected to the wireless communication module; a first non-conductive portion (e.g., see 121 or 122 in FIG. 1, 4, Para. 46) disposed between the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion; and a second non-conductive portion (e.g., 121 or 122) disposed between the second conductive portion and the third conductive portion, wherein the third conductive portion is electrically connected to a matching circuit (M) through a first point (P1) (e.g., see 19 connected to A21, A211), wherein the matching circuit (M) is electrically connected to the processor through an electrical path (e.g., a processor connected to the switching module is inherent for controlling the switching module, see Para. 58), wherein the processor is configured to control an impedance of the matching circuit (M) to correspond to a first impedance while the first conductive portion operates to radiate signals in a first frequency band and the second conductive portion operates to radiate signals in the first frequency band (e.g., at a first frequency and impedance, see Para. 52-56, 60-61), and wherein the processor is further configured to control an impedance of the matching circuit (M) to correspond to a second impedance while the first conductive portion operates to radiate signals in a second frequency band and the second conductive portion operates to radiate signals in the second frequency band (e.g., at a second frequency and impedance, see Para. 52-56, 60-61). Claim 20: Ye teaches the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the first conductive portion is configured to operate as a legacy antenna or a satellite antenna, wherein the second conductive portion is configured to operate as a legacy antenna or a satellite antenna, and wherein the third conductive portion is configured to operate as a legacy antenna (e.g., wherein LTE-A covers satellite direct-to-cell antennas and legacy antennas) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye . Claim 17: Ye teaches the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the matching circuit (M) comprises: a switch comprising at least one of a first contact point, a second contact point, a third contact point, and a fourth contact point; and at least one of a first lumped element, a second lumped element, a third lumped element (e.g., see at least 19 including contact points for each switching component, switch and ground, see Para. 62). Ye may not explicitly teach an additional fourth lumped element. However Ye explicitly teaches additional lumped elements in the configurations for switching module may be possible (e.g., see Para. 57) and impedance circuits for the first radiating section and second radiating section (e.g., see FIGS. 5 and 6). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to utilize an additional fourth lumped element and further elements in order to optimize the configuration for a specific radiation frequency change or band as suggested by the lumped circuits for the first and second radiating sections (e.g., see Para. 54-56). Claim 18: Ye teaches the electronic device of claim 17, wherein the electronic device is configured such that, in case that the matching circuit (M) is controlled by the processor to correspond to the first impedance, wherein, in the matching circuit (M), at least one of the first contact point, the second contact point, and the third contact point is turned on, and wherein the third conductive portion is electrically connected to the ground G through at least one of the first lumped element, the second lumped element, and the third lumped element (e.g., see Para. 59, said first impedance further defined by when three switching components are short-circuit and see connection to ground through 193 in FIG. 7). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMAL PATEL whose telephone number is (571)270-7443. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dimary Lopez can be reached at (571) 270-7893. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AMAL PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845 Application/Control Number: 18/977,272 Page 2 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 18/977,272 Page 3 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 18/977,272 Page 4 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 18/977,272 Page 5 Art Unit: 2845