DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4-5,7-13,16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,204,205 B1 Pasula in view US 2009/0199107 A1 to LEWIS et al, and further in view US 2012/0072270 A1 to Waylonis et al.
As to claims 1 and 13, Pasula discloses a system [a method] comprising: a memory device; and a processor coupled to the memory device and configured to (see fig.4; col.9,ll.42-60): receive an indication to dismiss a displayed content for later follow up, wherein a user interacted with the displayed content in a specific manner to dismiss the displayed content for later follow up (see col.6,ll.59-col.7,ll.6 and fig.3A-3B; col.8,ll.28-49); receive from a user device via a network an indication to display a follow up content associated with the previously dismissed (see fig.1,3B-3C; col.8,ll.54-col.9,ll.5), provide the follow up content to the user via the user device (see fig.1,3C; col.8,ll.58-62 and col.5,ll.28-32); track user engagement with the follow up content (see col.5,ll.44-57; col.8,ll.1-3).
Pasula fails to discloses determine, based at least in part on the tracked user engagement with the follow up content, to generate a sales lead with respect to the displayed content: and send the sales lead to an advertiser with which the displayed content is associated.
LWEIS discloses determine, based at least in part on the tracked user engagement with the follow up content, to generate a sales lead with respect to the displayed content: and send the sales lead to an advertiser with which the displayed content is associated (see page.5,¶0057,¶0059; discloses the mobile communication device 104 can report advertisement interaction activity (e.g., "click to clip" to save the advertisement for future review by the user)… based on the reported usage data, the marketplace platform can have an opportunity to perform a brokered sale with the advertising platform 102 based on certain kinds of user interactions with the advertisement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pasula with the teaching as taught by LWEIS in order to monitoring user interaction another opportunity to present the selected advertisement to the user.
Pasula and LWEIS fail to explicitly discloses wherein user engagement with the follow up content is tracked across interactions with the follow up content and tracking information is accumulated across such interactions until a lead generation criteria is met.
Waylonis discloses wherein user engagement with the follow up content is tracked across interactions with the follow up content and tracking information is accumulated across such interactions until a lead generation criteria is met (see page.4,¶0059-¶0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pasula and LWEIS with the teaching as taught by Waylonis in order to measure or observe user behavior related to ads that have been stored, and thereby perform financial transactions in order to crediting the publishers and charging the advertisers based on the usage information.
As to claims 4 and 16, Pasula further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to provide a follow up request to a content provider associated with the displayed content(see col.7,ll.60-63).
As to claims 5 and 17, Pasula further discloses wherein the follow up request includes information associated with the displayed content (see col.7,ll.17-19).
As to claims 7 and 19, Pasula further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to infer user preferences and/or proclivities from the tracked user engagement with the follow up content (see col.5,ll.47-51).
As to claim 8 , Pasula further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to store the inferred user preferences and/or proclivities in a user profile database (see col.5,ll.47-51).
As to claim 9, Pasula further discloses wherein the follow up content is different content than the displayed content for later follow up (see fig.3A-3D; col.8,ll.28-38).
As to claim 10, Pasula further discloses wherein the follow up content is interactive (see fig.3A-3D; col.8,ll.28-38).
As to claim 11, Pasula further discloses wherein the follow up content is provided in a follow up queue (see fig.2; col.7,ll.12-16).
As to claim 12, Pasula further discloses wherein the indication is a selection of a hyperlink (see fig.3A-3D; col.8,ll.14-49).
As to claim 20, Pasula discloses a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and comprising computer instructions for (see col.2,ll.1-22): receiving an indication to dismiss a displayed content for later follow up, wherein a user interacted with the displayed content in a specific manner to dismiss the displayed content for later follow up (see col.6,ll.59-col.7,ll.6 and fig.3A-3B; col.8,ll.28-49); receiving from a user device via a network an indication to display a follow up content associated with the previously dismissed content (see fig.1,3B-3C; col.8,ll.54-col.9,ll.5), providing the follow up content to the user via the user device (see fig.1,3C; col.8,ll.58-62 and col.5,ll.28-32); tracking user engagement with the follow up content (see col.5,ll.44-57; col.8,ll.1-3).
Pasula fails to discloses determine, based at least in part on the tracked user engagement with the follow up content, to generate a sales lead with respect to the displayed content: and send the sales lead to an advertiser with which the displayed content is associated.
LWEIS discloses determine, based at least in part on the tracked user engagement with the follow up content, to generate a sales lead with respect to the displayed content: and send the sales lead to an advertiser with which the displayed content is associated (see page.5,¶0057,¶0059; discloses the mobile communication device 104 can report advertisement interaction activity (e.g., "click to clip" to save the advertisement for future review by the user)… based on the reported usage data, the marketplace platform can have an opportunity to perform a brokered sale with the advertising platform 102 based on certain kinds of user interactions with the advertisement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pasula with the teaching as taught by LWEIS in order to monitoring user interaction another opportunity to present the selected advertisement to the user.
Pasula and LWEIS fail to explicitly discloses wherein user engagement with the follow up content is tracked across interactions with the follow up content and tracking information is accumulated across such interactions until a lead generation criteria is met.
Waylonis discloses wherein user engagement with the follow up content is tracked across interactions with the follow up content and tracking information is accumulated across such interactions until a lead generation criteria is met (see page.4,¶0059-¶0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pasula and LWEIS with the teaching as taught by Waylonis in order to measure or observe user behavior related to ads that have been stored, and thereby perform financial transactions in order to crediting the publishers and charging the advertisers based on the usage information.
Claims 2-3 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,204,205 B1 Pasula in view US 2009/0199107 A1 to LEWIS et al, and further in view US 2012/0072270 A1 to Waylonis et al, and further in view of US 9,414,115 B1 to Mao et al.
As to claims 2 and 14, Pasula, LWEIS and Waylonis fail explicitly disclose wherein the specific manner includes a user gesture performed by the user via a touch screen comprising the user device.
Mao discloses wherein the specific manner includes a user gesture performed by the user via a touch screen comprising the user device (see fig.1A,1D and 8; col.14,ll.4-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pasula, LWEIS and Waylonis with the teaching as taught by Mao in order to receive and analyze a feedback to determine effectiveness of the just broadcast media ads.
As to claims 3 and 15, Mao further discloses wherein the user gesture includes one or more of clicking on the displayed content at a particular location, tapping on the displayed content at the particular location, and swiping the displayed content in a certain direction (see fig.1A,1D and 8; col.14,ll.4-23).
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,204,205 B1 Pasula in view US 2009/0199107 A1 to LEWIS et al, and further in view US 2012/0072270 A1 to Waylonis et al, and further in view of 2005/0149880 A1 to Postrel.
As to claims 6 and 18, Pasula, LWEIS and Waylonis fail explicitly disclose wherein the follow up request includes parameters about a preferred communication format associated with the user.
Postrel discloses wherein the follow up request includes parameters about a preferred communication format associated with the user (see fig.1,el.6; page.3, ¶0035-¶0038).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pasula, LWEIS and Waylonis with the teaching as taught by Mao in order to allow the user to make a desired selection for later viewing of the stored ads.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MULUGETA MENGESHA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/Mulugeta Mengesha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424