DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2024 and 7/10/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 12, 13 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claims 8, 12-13 and 19, “partial discharge” already has antecedent basis in Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 14, “the threshold representation” has no antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 12, 15-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (CN 117949788, Apr 30, 2024, herein Wei).
Regarding Claim 1, Wei teaches:
A method of monitoring a health of an electric power train (Online insulation monitoring technology for high-voltage boxes in high-speed trains [0001]), the method comprising:
detecting a partial discharge within the electric power train with a partial discharge sensor (The "partial discharge sensors" are the "TEV sensor" of [0086] and the "HFCT sensor" of [0093] in the high-voltage box in the power train [0001]);
imaging the electric power train with a camera to generate an image (An infrared thermal imager - "camera" - is installed inside the high-voltage box [0098-0099]);
comparing the detected partial discharge with a partial discharge threshold (In [0090-0091], for the TEV sensor, the partial discharge value and discharge quantity value - "detected partial discharge" - are evaluated - "comparing" - for exceeding the limit - "partial discharge threshold." In [0093], for the HFCT sensor, the amplitude-frequency characteristics - of the HFCT sensor signal - "detected partial discharge" - are calculated to evaluate - "comparing" - whether the current amplitude exceeds a limit. - "partial discharge threshold.");
comparing the image of the electric power train to a threshold representation (In [0100], thermal imaging is performed on various areas within the high-voltage box. The location and temperature rise data are compared and analyzed with historical data - "threshold representation" [0100]); and
determining the health of the electric power train based upon the detection of the partial discharge and the image of the electric power train (In [0093], [0100] & [0105] Software acquires image data from the thermal infrared imager and the partial discharge value data, performs analysis and calculation, and provides PHM health trend prediction functions including an assessment of immediate health of the power train).
Regarding Claim 2, Wei teaches:
outputting an indication of the health of the electric power train (In [0054] the monitoring signals from the PD sensors and infrared thermal imaging sensors are transmitted, enabling communication with the EMU monitoring screen.).
Regarding Claim 3, Wei teaches:
outputting the health of the electric power train further comprises displaying the health of the electric power train on a display (In [0038] and Figure 6 there is an interface display diagram of the monitoring system. In [0108] both the infrared image data is displayed and the partial discharge data are displayed).
Regarding Claim 4, Wei teaches:
outputting the indication further comprises outputting that a threshold has been met or exceeded when either the detected partial discharge meets or exceeds the partial discharge threshold or the image of the electric power train meets or exceeds the threshold representation (In [0105] threshold over-limit alarms are provided, which is outputting that a threshold has been met or exceeded.).
Regarding Claim 5, Wei teaches:
the camera is an infrared camera or an ultraviolet camera (In [0098], the imager is an infrared imager).
Regarding Claim 7, Wei teaches:
the camera is the infrared camera (In [0098], the imager is an infrared imager), and wherein imaging the electric power train further comprises thermally imaging the electric power train (In [0001] and [0099] The infrared imager is inside the high-voltage box of the in the high speed train).
Regarding Claim 8, Wei teaches:
detecting partial discharge and imaging the electric power train are at a same location within the electric power train (In [0101-0102] and Figures 11-12 the thermal imagers, HFCTs and TEVs detect partial discharges at the same locations.).
Regarding Claim 12, Wei teaches:
the electric power train comprises at least some electrical insulation, and wherein detecting partial discharge further comprises detecting electrical insulation latent degradation based upon the detected partial discharge (In [0105], the health trend prediction functions of the online insulation monitoring system is the "detecting electrical insulation latent degradation.").
Regarding Claim 15, Wei teaches:
imaging the electric power train further comprises determining a heat map of the electric power train; and wherein comparing the image of the electric power train to the threshold representation further comprises comparing the heat map to a threshold heat map to determine the health of the electric power train based upon temperature differences between the heat map and the threshold heat map (In [0100] the infrared thermal imager generates location and temperature rise data that are compared and analyzed with historical data using the PHM model).
Regarding Claim 16, Wei teaches:
imaging the electric power train further comprises measuring a temperature over time to determine a temperature trend (In [0105] image data from the infrared thermal imager allows for trend information and health trend prediction functions.).
Regarding Claim 18, Wei teaches:
determining the health of the electric power train is completed in real time (In [0032] the high-voltage box online insulation monitoring system of this invention provides continuous real-time online insulation status monitoring for equipment inside the high-voltage box of EMU trains.).
Regarding Claim 19, Wei teaches:
detecting partial discharge within the electric power train with the partial discharge sensor further comprises detecting partial discharge with at least two partial discharge sensors to generate a first signal and a second signal (In Fig 9 and [0101] there are two HFCT sensors and two TEV sensors.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9-10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of Agapiou et al. (US 2012/0265458, Oct 18, 2012, herein Agapiou).
Regarding Claim 6, Wei does not teach the limitations.
However, Agapiou teaches:
the camera is the ultraviolet camera (In [0056] and Fig 1 UV sensor 104 can measure electrical discharges), and wherein outputting the indication further comprises outputting the indication that the image exceeds an ultraviolet light intensity threshold (In [0057] and Fig 1, UV sensors having a lower sensitivity would be sufficient to sense only discharges above a certain higher threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wei in view of Agapiou by having the camera is the ultraviolet camera, and wherein outputting the indication further comprises outputting the indication that the image exceeds an ultraviolet light intensity threshold because UV sensors are capable of detecting coronas as opposed to other light as taught by Agapiou [0056].
Regarding Claim 9, Wei does not teach the limitations.
However, Agapiou teaches:
the electric power train is an electric machine (electric motor with stator 102 of [0032] and Fig 1), wherein
detecting the partial discharge within the electric power train further comprises detecting partial discharge within the electric machine (In [0055-0056], partial discharges are found in the stator 102 of the motor of Fig 1), wherein
imaging the electric power train further comprises imaging the electric machine (In [0056] UV sensor 104 images the motor), and wherein the electric machine is one of a generator, a starter, a motor, or a transformer (electric motor in [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wei in view of Agapiou by having the electric power train is an electric machine, wherein detecting the partial discharge within the electric power train further comprises detecting partial discharge within the electric machine, wherein imaging the electric power train further comprises imaging the electric machine, and wherein the electric machine is one of a generator, a starter, a motor, or a transformer because if insulation is not comprehensive around the wires, electrical discharges can result, and those electrical discharges need to be detected as taught by Agapiou [0008-0011].
Regarding Claim 10, Wei does not teach the limitations.
However, Agapiou teaches:
the electric machine is the generator (In [0030] generators can be analyzed for Partial discharge), and wherein determining the health of the electric machine further comprises determining at least one of a rotor health for a generator rotor, a stator insulation health for a generator stator (In [0029] electrical faults in a rotor or stator can be analyzed), or a bearing health for a bearing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wei in view of Agapiou by having the electric machine is the generator, and wherein determining the health of the electric machine further comprises determining at least one of a rotor health for a generator rotor, a stator insulation health for a generator stator, or a bearing health for a bearing because it allows for the diagnosis of electrical faults in stators and rotors as taught by Agapiou [0029].
Regarding Claim 13, Wei does not teach the limitations.
However, Agapiou teaches:
detecting partial discharge further comprises detecting arcing or corona within the electric power train (In [0056] UV sensor 104 can be used to detect a corona).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wei in view of Agapiou by having detecting partial discharge further comprises detecting arcing or corona within the electric power train because repeated coronas can progressively damage the insulation and lead to the failure of the motor as taught by Agapiou [0010].
Regarding Claim 14, Wei does not teach the limitations.
However, Agapiou teaches:
determining at least one of an open circuit, a short circuit, a thermal runaway, an eccentricity, or a bearing failure by comparing the image to the threshold representation (In [0055] short circuits can be detected by detecting a corona).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wei in view of Agapiou by having detecting partial discharge further comprises detecting arcing or corona within the electric power train because repeated coronas can progressively damage the insulation and lead to the failure of the motor as taught by Agapiou [0010].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of Zhu et al. (US 7,012,822, Pub Feb 7, 2003, herein Zhu).
Wei teaches:
the electric power train comprises a converter (In [0009] the high-voltage box of the power train has a DC-DC power supply), and wherein
Wei does not teach:
determining the health of the electric power train further comprises determining the health of at least one of semiconductors or capacitors within the converter.
However, Zhu teaches:
The Examiner is combining Wei in view of Zhu by using the system of Wei to determine the health of the DC-DC Converter of Zhu.
determining the health of the electric power train further comprises determining the health of at least one of semiconductors or capacitors within the converter (In Figure 4, the DC/DC converter has semiconductor switches and capacitors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wei in view of Zhu by having determining the health of the electric power train further comprises determining the health of at least one of semiconductors or capacitors within the converter because it is applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of detecting failure in those parts and the failure of the converter and motor.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0098513, Mar 26, 2020, herein Zhang).
Wei does not teach the limitations.
However, Zhang teaches:
determining when the temperature will exceed a temperature threshold based upon the temperature trend (In [0029], characteristics such as intensity and location of the heat source in a set of thermal images can be analyzed with data obtained from other sensors to track the damage to the components, loosening of a connection and other potential failure points of components in the internal volume. In addition to providing information on actual damage impacting a transformer during operation, the images and data are also used to predict a fault condition before it occurs. In the event that a characteristic value for the thermal data or any other sensor data exceeds a predetermined threshold for that characteristic value, the transformer can be taken offline.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wei in view of Zhang by having determining when the temperature will exceed a temperature threshold based upon the temperature trend because it is applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of predicting failure in a part and taking that part offline before failure.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of Cook et al. (US 2024/0133936, Apr 25, 2024, herein Cook).
Wei does not teach the limitations.
However, Cook teaches:
comparing the first signal to the second signal to determine a location or source of the partial discharge within the electric power train (In [0041], the attenuation profiles associated with the plurality of sensors, distances between adjacent sensors of the plurality of sensors, amplitude information collected at the respective sensing locations of the plurality of the sensors allow for the determination of the location of a partial discharge or an arc through monitoring system.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wei in view of Cook by having comparing the first signal to the second signal to determine a location or source of the partial discharge within the electric power train because it allows for the automatic identification and location of a partial discharge and reduces the amount of time required by an in-person site visit as taught by Cook [0003].
Conclusion
/R.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 09/15/2026
/A.A/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858