Detailed Action
Claims 1, 4, 10, 13, and 15 are amended
Claims 1-20 are pending
Priority
The present application for patent is a Continuation of U.S. patent application Ser. No. 18/626,087 filed Apr. 3, 2024, which is a Continuation of U.S. patent application Ser. No. 18/361,512 filed Jul. 28, 2023, which is a Continuation of U.S. patent application Ser. No. 17/161,398, now U.S. Pat. No. 11,765,129 filed Jan. 28, 2021. Therefore, the effective filing date of this application is 01/28/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/01/2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to the objections to the drawings and specification. The objections have been overcome due to Applicant’s filed corrections.
With respect to the double patenting rejection in regards to U.S. Patent No. US 11,765,129 B2. The rejection has been overcome due to Applicant filing an approved terminal disclaimer. However, the double patenting rejection is being maintained with respect to U.S. Patent No. US 11,991,148 B2 and U.S. Patent No. US 12,206,644 B2 due to no terminal disclaimer being received for these patent numbers. Examiner suggests filing a separate terminal disclaimer to overcome the double patenting rejection.
With respect to USC 112(f) claim interpretation for claims 4, 13, and 18. The interpretation has been overcome for claims 4 and 13 due to Applicant amending the claims to remove the functional language. However, claim 18 has not been amended. Therefore, the 112(f) interpretation for claim 18 is maintained.
With respect to the USC 103 rejection Applicant has argued that KENNEDY fails to teach the amended limitation of “the network perimeter associated with one or more network addresses based at least in part on one or more access requests of the plurality of access requests originating from the one or more network addresses of a client device having a respective status indicative of the one or more access requests being successful”. In particular Applicant has argued that KENNEDY fails to teach of “a client device”. However, BURSTEIN does teach of a client device and BURSTEIN does teach “the network perimeter associated with one or more network … based at least in part on one or more access requests of the plurality of access requests originating from the one or more network … of a client device having a respective status indicative of the one or more access requests being successful” ([BURSTEIN, para. 0081] “Upon receiving a message from an authentication server, a management module determines whether the message indicates that the access request from a supplicant was granted. If the access request to access the requested resources was granted, then, at block 350, the management module sends an access confirmation to network device 110 a and proceeds to step depicted in block 360.”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0082] “At block 360, a management module updates one or more trust topology maps maintained by the management module. In an embodiment, the management module updates its trust topology maps based on information indicating which device identifies itself as an authenticator and which device identifies itself as a supplicant. The trust topology maps are created and maintained using the information that is exchanged in requests such as access requests and exchanged in responses to the access requests.”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0059] “when network device 110 a requests that a network device 110 b (a supplicant) gains access to network”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0037] “In an embodiment, network devices 110 a, 110 b can be any type of a workstation, laptop, PDA device, phone, switch, router, firewall of other device.”) As can be seen from these citations BURSTEIN teaches of a client device and determining a network perimeter based on successful access requests originating from a client device. BURSTEIN does not explicitly mention of “network addresses of a client device”. However, KENNEDY teaches ([KENNEDY, para. 0040] “ For example, an IP address of a last server that sent a message is a reliable identifier that indicates an origin of the message and this IP address information is utilized to determine whether the last server that sent the message corresponds to the sender identified in the message.”) IP address of a last server is a network address of a device. Furthermore, a client device can also act and operate as a server. Therefore, BURSTEIN-KENNEDY teach all limitations of independent claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
“… the machine learning model is configured to” in claim 18
Because this claim limitation(s) is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
See specification para. [0050, 0053, 0054] for hardware support
See specification para. [0033-0036] for functional support
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 10-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,991,148 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the corresponding claims further recite similar/same limitation of the same subject matter.
Current application 18/977,293
U.S. Patent No. US 11,991,148 B2
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: obtaining information associated with a plurality of access requests to access computing resources of an organization, the plurality of access requests having respective statuses that are indicative of whether a corresponding access request of the plurality of access requests was successful; determining a network perimeter of the organization in accordance with the information associated with the plurality of access requests and the respective statuses, the network perimeter associated with one or more network addresses based at least in part on one or more access requests of the plurality of access requests originating from the one or more network addresses of a client device having a respective status indicative of the one or more access requests being successful; and implementing one or more network policies in accordance with the network perimeter.
1) A method comprising:
receiving connection data corresponding to network requests of client devices associated with a network, wherein an item of the connection data includes at least one network address;
training a machine learning model using the connection data, wherein the machine learning model is configured to output scores for network zones input into the machine learning model;
receiving a network zone;
inputting the network zone into the machine learning model to obtain a corresponding score, the corresponding score representing a security of the network zone relative to the network;
displaying data to a network administrator, the data representing the corresponding score and a recommendation;
receiving an approval of the recommendation from the network administrator; and
modifying a network operation of the network based on the corresponding score after receiving the approval.
2.) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating a recommendation for a network administrator of the organization based at least in part on the information associated with the plurality of access requests and the respective statuses.
1) … inputting the network zone into the machine learning model to obtain a corresponding score, the corresponding score representing a security of the network zone relative to the network;
displaying data to a network administrator, the data representing the corresponding score and a recommendation;
receiving an approval of the recommendation from the network administrator; and
modifying a network operation of the network based on the corresponding score after receiving the approval.
3.) The method of claim 2, further comprising:
obtaining a score for the one or more network addresses via a machine learning model, the score representing a security of the one or more network addresses relative to a network, wherein the recommendation is based at least in part on the score.
1) … training a machine learning model using the connection data, wherein the machine learning model is configured to output scores for network zones input into the machine learning model;
receiving a network zone;
inputting the network zone into the machine learning model to obtain a corresponding score, the corresponding score representing a security of the network zone relative to the network;
displaying data to a network administrator, the data representing the corresponding score and a recommendation; …
4.) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
training a machine learning model using the information associated with the plurality of access requests and the respective statuses, wherein the machine learning model outputs scores for the one or more network addresses input into the machine learning model, and wherein determining the network perimeter is based at least in part on an output of the machine learning model.
1) … training a machine learning model using the connection data, wherein the machine learning model is configured to output scores for network zones input into the machine learning model; …
5.) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving an approval of the one or more network policies via a user interface of an application used by a network administrator of the organization, wherein the one or more network policies are implemented based at least in part on receiving the approval.
1) … inputting the network zone into the machine learning model to obtain a corresponding score, the corresponding score representing a security of the network zone relative to the network;
displaying data to a network administrator, the data representing the corresponding score and a recommendation;
receiving an approval of the recommendation from the network administrator; and
modifying a network operation of the network based on the corresponding score after receiving the approval.
6) The method of claim 1, wherein implementing the one or more network policies comprises automatically adjusting the network perimeter based at least in part on the information associated with the plurality of access requests and the respective statuses.
7.) The method of claim 6, wherein adjusting at least one network policy comprises automatically adjusting a network perimeter boundary based on the outputs of the machine learning model.
Claims 10-20 are parallel claims to claims 1-6. Therefore, claims 10-20 are rejected in a similar manner.
Claims 1-5 and 10-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 8, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. US 12,206,644 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the corresponding claims further recite similar/same limitation of the same subject matter.
Current application 18/977,293
U.S. Patent No. US 12,206,644 B2
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: obtaining information associated with a plurality of access requests to access computing resources of an organization, the plurality of access requests having respective statuses that are indicative of whether a corresponding access request of the plurality of access requests was successful; determining a network perimeter of the organization in accordance with the information associated with the plurality of access requests and the respective statuses, the network perimeter associated with one or more network addresses based at least in part on one or more access requests of the plurality of access requests originating from the one or more network addresses of a client device having a respective status indicative of the one or more access requests being successful; and implementing one or more network policies in accordance with the network perimeter.
1) A method comprising:
receiving connection data corresponding to network requests of client devices associated with a network, wherein an item of the connection data includes at least one network address and a status of a connection request corresponding to the at least one network address;
training a machine learning model using the connection data, wherein the machine learning model is configured to output scores for network zones input into the machine learning model;
receiving a network zone;
inputting the network zone into the machine learning model to obtain a corresponding score, the corresponding score representing a security of the network zone relative to the network; and
modifying a network operation of the network based on the corresponding score.
10.) The method of claim 9, wherein adjusting the at least one network policy comprises automatically adjusting a network perimeter boundary based on the outputs of the machine learning model.
2.) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating a recommendation for a network administrator of the organization based at least in part on the information associated with the plurality of access requests and the respective statuses.
2.) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating a recommendation for a network administrator based at least in part on the corresponding score.
3.) The method of claim 2, further comprising:
obtaining a score for the one or more network addresses via a machine learning model, the score representing a security of the one or more network addresses relative to a network, wherein the recommendation is based at least in part on the score.
1) … training a machine learning model using the connection data, wherein the machine learning model is configured to output scores for network zones input into the machine learning model; …
2) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating a recommendation for a network administrator based at least in part on the corresponding score.
4.) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
training a machine learning model using the information associated with the plurality of access requests and the respective statuses, wherein the machine learning model outputs scores for the one or more network addresses input into the machine learning model, and wherein determining the network perimeter is based at least in part on an output of the machine learning model.
1) … training a machine learning model using the connection data, wherein the machine learning model is configured to output scores for network zones input into the machine learning model; …
8) The method of claim 7, further comprising receiving updated connection data and re-training the neural network using the updated connection data.
5.) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving an approval of the one or more network policies via a user interface of an application used by a network administrator of the organization, wherein the one or more network policies are implemented based at least in part on receiving the approval.
3.) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
displaying data to a network administrator via a user interface of an application used by the network administrator, the data representative of the corresponding score and a recommendation displaying the data.
4.) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving an approval of a recommendation from a network administrator via a user interface of an application used by the network administrator.
Claims 10-19 are parallel claims to claims 1-5. Therefore, claims 10-14 and 15-19 are rejected in a similar manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-10, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BURSTEIN (US-20130133023-A1) in view of KENNEDY (US-20170230403-A1), hereinafter BURSTEIN-KENNEDY.
Regarding claim 1, BURSTEIN teaches “A method comprising: obtaining information associated with a plurality of access requests to access computing resources of an organization, the plurality of access requests having respective statuses that are indicative of whether a corresponding access request of the plurality of access requests was successful; ([BURSTEIN, abstract] “In an embodiment, the method is comprising, receiving an access request, from an authenticator device, to grant a supplicant device access to a data network; transmitting the access request to an authentication server”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0074] “At block 300, a management module receives an access request from a network device 110 a (an authenticator) to allow a network device 110 b (a supplicant) to access a secure network 100.”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0077] “Once the request reaches an authentication server, the authentication server determines whether access to a secure network can be granted to the supplicant.”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0078] “If an authentication server determines that a supplicant can be granted access to the secure network, then the authentication server generates an access confirmation message indicating that the supplicants is granted access to the secure network, and transmits the access confirmation to the management module.”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0043] “network devices 110 a, 110 b and AAA server 160 implement TrustSec software. As an example, network devices 110 a, 110 b are Cisco Catalyst 6500 switches hosting TrustSec software.”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0044] “Cisco TrustSec creates a trusted enterprise network encompassing switches, routers and other devices with a wireless network of controllers.”) determining a network perimeter of the organization in accordance with the information associated with the plurality of access requests and the respective statuses, the network perimeter associated with one or more network … based at least in part on one or more access requests of the plurality of access requests originating from the one or more network … of a client device having a respective status indicative of the one or more access requests being successful ([BURSTEIN, para. 0081] “Upon receiving a message from an authentication server, a management module determines whether the message indicates that the access request from a supplicant was granted. If the access request to access the requested resources was granted, then, at block 350, the management module sends an access confirmation to network device 110 a and proceeds to step depicted in block 360.”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0082] “At block 360, a management module updates one or more trust topology maps maintained by the management module. In an embodiment, the management module updates its trust topology maps based on information indicating which device identifies itself as an authenticator and which device identifies itself as a supplicant. The trust topology maps are created and maintained using the information that is exchanged in requests such as access requests and exchanged in responses to the access requests.”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0059] “when network device 110 a requests that a network device 110 b (a supplicant) gains access to network”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0037] “In an embodiment, network devices 110 a, 110 b can be any type of a workstation, laptop, PDA device, phone, switch, router, firewall of other device.”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0060] “upon receiving a response to the access requests, trust topology map unit 118 can use the information included in the response to the access request to update a trust topology map for the network 110. For example, the information included in the response to the access request received by management module 130 can be used to update the trust topology map to indicate that network device 110 b (a supplicant) became a part of the trusted network 100.”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0060] “a trust topology map 122 represents trust relationships or security relationships that have been established among devices in a secure network 100. Information stored in trust topology map 122 can be obtained by management module 130 by obtaining data that are communicated from network device 110 a to AAA server 160.”) implementing one or more network policies in accordance with the network perimeter. ([BURSTEIN, para. 0091] “At block 480, a management module updates its trust topology map. For example, upon receiving a peer policy for a supplicant, the management module can include in its trust topology map the information indicating the policy information for the supplicant, and that one or more roles are assigned to the supplicant, which is now a part of a secure network.”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0044] “Cisco TrustSec creates a trusted enterprise network encompassing switches, routers and other devices with a wireless network of controllers. It provides a foundation for authenticating supplicant devices, assigning roles to the supplicant devices, enforcing access policies and delivering integrity and confidentiality to the network traffic.”)
However, BURSTEIN does not teach “network perimeter associated with one or more network addresses … requests originating from the one or more network addresses”.
In analogous teaching KENNEDY teaches “network perimeter associated with one or more network addresses … requests originating from the one or more network addresses …” ([KENNEDY, para. 0058] “At 502, an IP address of a received message is identified. For example, the IP address of the last server that sent the received message is identified.”) ([KENNEDY, para. 0063] “At 512 it is determined whether the identified IP address is contained within or adjacent to a network neighborhood authorized or historically known to send legitimate email for the sender of the message. … determining whether the identified IP address is within an authorized neighborhood includes determining whether the identified IP address is within the boundaries of the block of adjacent IP addresses contained within the selected sender models. In some embodiments, determining whether the identified IP address is within an authorized neighborhood includes matching the hostname of the server at the identified IP address with an organization network domain name for all servers authorized to send for the sender per the selected sender models.”) ([KENNEDY, para. 0035] “determining whether an identifier of the sender (e.g., domain name, sub domain, IP address) is included in a list of senders known to be reputable for the recipient. For example, there exists a predetermined list of entities and their associated identifiers that are known to be reputable for the specific recipient. ”) ([KENNEDY, para. 0040] “ For example, an IP address of a last server that sent a message is a reliable identifier that indicates an origin of the message and this IP address information is utilized to determine whether the last server that sent the message corresponds to the sender identified in the message.”)
Thus, given the teaching of KENNEDY, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of network address by KENNEDY into the teaching of determining network perimeter and implementing a policy by BURSTEIN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because KENNEDY recognizes the need to detect security risk of senders ([KENNEDY, para. 0003] “Therefore, there exists a need for a more flexible way to identify authenticity and security risk of a message and reputation of a sender.”) ([KENNEDY, para. 0012] “Performing a risk assessment of a message is disclosed. In some embodiments, a message is received.”)
Regarding claim 10, this claim recites of a device that performs the steps of method claim 1. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected in a similar manner as in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, this claim recites of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for tangibly storing computer program instructions capable of being executed by at least one computer processor that performs the steps of method claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected in a similar manner as in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 6 and 20, BURSTEIN-KENNEDY teach all limitations of claims 1 and 15. BURSTEIN further teaches “wherein implementing the one or more network policies comprises automatically adjusting the network perimeter based at least in part on the information associated with the plurality of access requests and the respective statuses. ([BURSTEIN, para. 0091] “At block 480, a management module updates its trust topology map. For example, upon receiving a peer policy for a supplicant, the management module can include in its trust topology map the information indicating the policy information for the supplicant, and that one or more roles are assigned to the supplicant, which is now a part of a secure network.”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0044] “Cisco TrustSec creates a trusted enterprise network encompassing switches, routers and other devices with a wireless network of controllers. It provides a foundation for authenticating supplicant devices, assigning roles to the supplicant devices, enforcing access policies and delivering integrity and confidentiality to the network traffic.”) ([BURSTEIN, para. 0082] “The trust topology maps are created and maintained using the information that is exchanged in requests such as access requests and exchanged in responses to the access requests.”)
Regarding claim 7, BURSTEIN-KENNEDY teach all limitations of claim 1. BURSTEIN further teaches “wherein the respective statuses are further indicative of whether the corresponding access request was unsuccessful. ([BURSTEIN, para. 0081] “Upon receiving a message from an authentication server, a management module determines whether the message indicates that the access request from a supplicant was granted … If the access request to access the requested resources was not granted, then, optionally, the management module can send an access denial message to network device 110 a.”)
Regarding claim 8, BURSTEIN-KENNEDY teach all limitations of claim 1. BURSTEIN further teaches “wherein a successful access request is indicative that a network … from which the corresponding access request originated successfully established a connection with a requested computing resource of the computing resources of the organization. ([BURSTEIN, para. 0081] “a method is performed at management device such as an access router or other computing device, and comprises receiving an access request, from an authenticator device, to grant a supplicant device access to a trusted network; transmitting the access request to an authentication server; after sending a response that the access request was granted, updating a trust topology map by including in the trust topology map information that was obtained from the response and that is about a secure link established between the authenticator device and the supplicant device.”)
KENNEDY teaches of a network address as seen in claim 1. The same rejection and motivation apply.
Regarding claim 9, BURSTEIN-KENNEDY teach all limitations of claim 1. BURSTEIN further teaches “wherein the network perimeter is inclusive of the one or more network .... ([BURSTEIN, para. 0061] “a trust topology map 122 represents trust relationships or security relationships that have been established among devices in a secure network 100. Information stored in trust topology map 122 can be obtained by management module 130 by obtaining data that are communicated from network device 110 a to AAA server 160. For example, trust topology map 122 can be created from information pertaining to access requests, responses to access requests, authentication/authorization requests, responses to authentication/authorization requests, policy requests, responses to policy requests, security protocol interactions such as IPSec negotiations, and other communications related to trust relationships or security relationships.”)
KENNEDY teaches of a network address as seen in claim 1. The same rejection and motivation apply.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BURSTEIN-KENNEDY in view of LONG (US-20170250915-A1), hereinafter BURSTEIN-KENNEDY-LONG.
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 16, BURSTEIN-KENNEDY teach all limitations of claims 1, 10, and 15. However, BURSTEIN-KENNEDY does not teach “generating a recommendation for a network administrator of the organization based at least in part on the information associated with the plurality of access requests and the respective statuses”
In analogous teaching LONG teaches “generating a recommendation for a network administrator of the organization based at least in part on the information associated with the plurality of access requests and the respective statuses. ([LONG, para. 0147] “The label feature module 724 uses contextual information about a device to generate features for input to a machine learning model that scores candidate label values.”) ([LONG, para. 0148] “The label feature module 724 also generates numerical features quantifying network traffic having the device as an endpoint. For example, the features indicate total or average data transferred through connections, average frequency of establishing connections, average duration of connections, or number of established connections, proportion of network traffic using a given protocol). Such features may include only inbound network traffic, only outbound network traffic, or may include both.”) ([LONG, para. 0171] “The labeling engine 710 assigns 820 labels to devices based on the collected contextual information. For example, the labeling engine 710 extracts features based on the collected contextual information and either determines the labels based on a weighted aggregate value based on the features or using a machine learning based model.”) ([LONG, para. 0171] “For example, the rule simplification module 738 identifies (a) a general rule with a scope portion specifying a set of label values and (b) a specific rule with a scope portion specifying the same set of label values as the general rule as well as additional label values for additional label dimensions. … the rule simplification module 738 sends recommendations of proposed simplifications to an administrator through the rule creation interface 740 rather than performing rule simplification automatically. ”)
Thus, given the teaching of LONG, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of sending a recommendation to an administrator by LONG into the teaching of determining network perimeter and implementing a policy by BURSTEIN-KENNEDY. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because LONG recognizes the need to improve setting up policies ([LONG, para. 0006] “Conventional techniques for setting up policies use whitelist models based on rules that exhaustively list permissible actions. Configuring such lists can be very time consuming for administrative domains with large numbers of servers.”) ([LONG, para. 0008] “embodiment of a method regulates network traffic of a network domain comprising a plurality of computing devices. … A communication rule is generated for regulating communications between the consumer computing device and the provider computing device.”)
Regarding claims 3, 12, and 17, BURSTEIN-KENNEDY-LONG teach all limitation of claims 2, 11, and 16. KENNEDY further teaches “obtaining a score for the one or more network addresses via a machine learning model, the score representing a security of the one or more network addresses relative to a network, … ([KENNEDY, para. 0016] “In some embodiments, a risk analysis is performed for an incoming message at least in part by performing an authenticity and/or reputation analysis to determine an overall measure of risk (e.g., risk score). Performing authenticity analysis may include determining a measure of confidence that a sender identified in the message (e.g., domain of sender) is the actual sender of the message.”) ([KENNEDY, para. 0018] “For example, analysis server 102 is in communication with a plurality of different recipient message servers and the analysis server 102 at least in part automatically determines a reputation score for a sender (e.g., network/Internet domain, email address, etc.) at least in part by using machine learning to analyze messages from the sender that have been received at one or more recipient message servers.”) ([KENNEDY, para. 0054] “For example, because the address of the sender identified in the message may have been spoofed, a likelihood measure (e.g., score value) that the sender identified by the message actually sent the message is determined.”)
The same motivation to modify BURSTEIN with KENNEDY as in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
However, BURSTEIN-KENNEDY does not teach “wherein the recommendation is based at least in part on the score”.
In analogous teaching LONG teaches “wherein the recommendation is based at least in part on the score” ([LONG, para. 0147] “The label feature module 724 uses contextual information about a device to generate features for input to a machine learning model that scores candidate label values.”) ([LONG, para. 0171] “The labeling engine 710 assigns 820 labels to devices based on the collected contextual information. For example, the labeling engine 710 extracts features based on the collected contextual information and either determines the labels based on a weighted aggregate value based on the features or using a machine learning based model.”) ([LONG, para. 0171] “For example, the rule simplification module 738 identifies (a) a general rule with a scope portion specifying a set of label values and (b) a specific rule with a scope portion specifying the same set of label values as the general rule as well as additional label values for additional label dimensions. … the rule simplification module 738 sends recommendations of proposed simplifications to an administrator through the rule creation interface 740 rather than performing rule simplification automatically.”)
The same motivation to modify BURSTEIN-KENNEDY with LONG as in the rejection of claim 2 applies.
Regarding claims 5, 14, and 19, BURSTEIN-KENNEDY teach all limitations of claims 1, 10, and 15. However, BURSTEIN-KENNEDY does not teach “receiving an approval of the one or more network policies via a user interface of an application used by a network administrator of the organization, wherein the one or more network policies are implemented based at least in part on receiving the approval.”
In analogous teaching LONG teaches “receiving an approval of the one or more network policies via a user interface of an application used by a network administrator of the organization, wherein the one or more network policies are implemented based at least in part on receiving the approval. ([LONG, para. 0054] “Descriptions of managed servers 130, unmanaged devices 140, and labeled devices 150 can be loaded into the administrative domain state 320 in various ways, such as by interacting with the global manager 120 via a graphical user interface (GUI)”) ([LONG, para. 0171] “For example, the rule simplification module 738 identifies (a) a general rule with a scope portion specifying a set of label values and (b) a specific rule with a scope portion specifying the same set of label values as the general rule as well as additional label values for additional label dimensions. … the rule simplification module 738 sends recommendations of proposed simplifications to an administrator through the rule creation interface 740 rather than performing rule simplification automatically. ”) ([LONG, para. 0185] “ The communication rules creation module 390 generates a rule for the web service that specifies the labels that characterize the provider devices as the provided-by portion of the rule and the set of labels that characterize the consumer devices as the used-by portion of the rule. The global manager 120 may provide the generated rule to an administrator for approval. The administrator may modify the generated rule if necessary. The global manager 120 enforces the generated rule across devices of the administrative domain”).
The same motivation to modify BURSTEIN-KENNEDY with LONG as in the rejection of claim 2 applies.
Claims 4, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BURSTEIN-KENNEDY in view of ZAWOAD (US-20190387005-A1).
Regarding claims 4, 13, and 18, BURSTEIN-KENNEDY teach all limitations of claims 1, 10, and 15. KENNEDY further teaches “… wherein the machine learning model outputs scores for the one or more network addresses input into the machine learning model, and wherein determining the network perimeter is based at least in part on an output of the machine learning model. ([KENNEDY, para. 0018] “analysis server 102 is in communication with a plurality of different recipient message servers and the analysis server 102 at least in part automatically determines a reputation score for a sender (e.g., network/Internet domain, email address, etc.) at least in part by using machine learning to analyze messages from the sender that have been received at one or more recipient message servers.”) ([KENNEDY, para. 0026] “In some embodiments, machine learning or another automated process is utilized to determine the measure of global reputation based on gathered/generated information about the sender of the global reputation.”) ([KENNEDY, para. 0027] “determining the measure of global reputation for the sender includes determining whether an identifier of the sender (e.g., domain name, sub domain, IP address) is included in a list of senders known to be reputable.”) ([KENNEDY, para. 0041] “the sender model is automatically determined. For example, using one or more repositories storing messages received from the sender, a list of server IP addresses authorized or historically known to send messages for the sender is automatically determined. … Machine learning may be utilized to automatically detect sources of and properties that are characteristic of authentic messages from the sender using historical information about messages previously sent by or on behalf of the sender.”) ([KENNEDY, para. 0047] “For example, using a repository storing messages received from the sender to only the recipient, individual or neighborhoods of IP addresses associated with the sender model for a sender are automatically determined.”).
The same motivation to modify BURSTEIN with KENNEDY as in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
However, BURSTEIN-KENNEDY does not teach “training a machine learning model using the information associated with the plurality of access requests and the respective statuses …”.
In analogous teaching ZAWOAD teaches “training a machine learning model using the information associated with the plurality of access requests and the respective statuses” ([ZAWOAD, para. 0225] “The model training engine 602 may train and/or update one or more machine-learning models.”) ([ZAWOAD, para. 0226] “To train the machine-learning model, the model training engine 602 may obtain training data including a list of network identifiers (e.g., one or more IP addresses and/or one or more network domain names) with an preassigned maliciousness scores. In some examples, the training data may include historical maliciousness activity information obtained from one or more malicious activity sources (e.g., the third-party servers described in connection to FIG. 1).”) ([ZAWOAD, para. 0232] “At 706, the scoring engine 606 may access the machine learning model. Utilizing common feature types as those used to train the machine-learning model 704, the scoring engine 606 may input such features into the machine-learning model 704 to calculate a maliciousness score. By way of example, the scoring engine 606 may input the features associated with an IP address into the machine-learning model 704”) ([para. 0079] “Such features may include malicious files downloaded from an IP address, malicious files communicating with an IP address, and/or malicious URLs tied to an IP address.”).
Thus, given the teaching of ZAWOAD, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of training a machine learning model by ZAWOAD into the teaching of determining network perimeter and implementing a policy by BURSTEIN-KENNEDY. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because ZAWOAD recognizes the need to detect malicious activity ([ZAWOAD, para. 0028] “Additionally, techniques provided herein for expanding the feature set by determining related IP addresses and/or network domain names can improve the accuracy of malicious activity analysis, resulting in more accurate malicious activity detection”)
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure.
SETHI (US-9660998-B1): This prior art teaches of systems are provided herein to enable secure proxying of network traffic between trusted and untrusted environments. In particular, a secure proxy may be provided that includes a set of policies. The policies may be applicable to various network protocol layers (e.g., an application layer), network traffic types, and/or endpoint resolution. The set of policies may be used to inspect, restrict and/or modify traffic between the trusted and untrusted environment to ensure data and network security. A proxy device may use the set of policies, for example, to obtain current service-related information (such as the list of IP addresses) currently associated with a computing resource requested by an application. Such endpoint information may be used, in turn, to update a white list.
DAS (US-10848462-B2): This prior art teaches of a method and policy management system for managing policies in network security system. The policy management system receives one or more data packets from a request source of plurality of request sources, monitors at least one of, an inbound transmission time, an out bound transmission time and a jitter hit rate associated with the one or more data packets and a hit count, a current hit count, last hit time and hit per policy associated with each of plurality of policies of network firewall in real-time. Based on monitoring, policy management system estimates a hit count percentage for each of the plurality of policies and groups plurality of policies into plurality of policy clusters based on hit count percentage associated with each of the plurality of policies. Thus, the present disclosure provides an efficient way of managing network firewall policies without any human intervention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A./
06/25/2026
/AFAQ ALI/Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434