DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ki et al (US 10801935 B2; hereinafter Ki) in view of Johnson et al. (US B2; hereinafter Johnson).
Regarding claim 1, Ki teaches an agricultural system comprising: an in-situ sensor that detects a value of a dynamic response characteristic of an agricultural work machine (see at least, Col lines 33-35, The wheel torque sensor 208 may identify the torque being distributed through the ground engaging mechanisms 108, 110 to the underlying surface 128) corresponding to a first geographic location (see at least, Col 12 lines 61-66, the IPM may provide…50% available torque to the wheels 126 when the tractor 102 is in the first region 410); of a plurality of different geographic locations, in a field (see at least, Fig 4, Col 12 line 17, a first, second, and third region 410, 412, 414; Col 11 lines 41-42, the outer boundaries of the field on which the tractor 102 travelled…each data point 408 may have the specific GPS latitude 404, GPS longitude 406); one or more processors; and memory storing instructions, executable by the one or more processors, that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the one or more processors (see at least, Col 5 lines 12-14, The controller 202 may have one or more memory unit and processor and be able to control and monitor many components of the tractor 102 and trailer 104) to: obtain an information map that includes values of an agricultural characteristic corresponding to the plurality of different geographic locations in the field (see at least, Col 3 lines 36-39, the controller stores a plurality of cone index values and a plurality of geographic locations in the memory unit as a cone index map while the work machine moves along the underlying surface; *Examiner interprets cone index as an agricultural characteristic, e.g. Col 1 lines 46-50, The
cone index represents the mechanical properties of the underlying surface and is frequently determined by measuring the soil penetration resistance…determine the cone index of any particular area, a cone penetrometer or the like is used).
Ki does not explicitly teach identify a predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to a second geographic location in the field based on the value of the dynamic response characteristic, detected by the in-situ sensor, corresponding to the first geographic location in the field
and a value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the first geographic location; and control the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field. However, Johnson teaches these limitations.
Johnson teaches identify a predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to a second geographic location in the field based on the value of the dynamic response characteristic (see at least, Col 16 lines 32-35, the controller 128 may include a look-up table(s)…that correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment), detected by the in-situ sensor, corresponding to the first geographic location in the field and a value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the first geographic location (see at least, Col 11 line 67, Col 12 lines 1-5, the controller 128 may be configured to generate a field map (e.g., a graphical field map) illustrating the down pressure applied to the closing discs 66, the adjustment made to the down pressure applied to the closing discs 66 at various positions within the field, and/or the penetration depths of the closing discs 66); and control the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field (see at least, Col 16 lines 27-35, Based on the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure, the controller 128 may be configured to determine and execute one or more drive parameter adjustments to the vehicle 12, such as an adjustment to the ground speed of the vehicle 12…may include a look-up table(s)…that correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ki to include identify a predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to a second geographic location in the field based on the value of the dynamic response characteristic, detected by the in-situ sensor, corresponding to the first geographic location in the field and a value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the first geographic location; and control the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field as taught by Johnson in order to determine an operational adjustment and to control the operation of the additional tool to execute the operational adjustment (Johnson, Col 2 lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the agricultural system of claim 1. Ki further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the one or more processors to: identify a relationship between the dynamic response characteristic and the agricultural characteristic based on the value of the dynamic response characteristic (see at least, Col 12 lines 57-60, the IPM may vary the amount of torque provided to the wheels 126 of the trailer 104 based on the cone index value identified in the data set 400 for that region), detected by the in-situ sensor (see at least, Col lines 33-35 The wheel torque sensor 208 may identify the torque being distributed through the ground engaging mechanisms 108, 110 to the underlying surface 128), corresponding to the first geographic location in the field and the value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the first geographic location in the field (see at least, Col 11 lines 59-62, FIG. 4…A first region 410 is represented by a cone index value of CI1…may be the cone index value of dry soil).
Johnson further teaches identify the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field based on the relationship between the dynamic response characteristic and the agricultural characteristic (see at least, (Col 16 lines 27-35, Based on the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure, the controller 128 may be configured to determine and execute one or more drive parameter adjustments to the vehicle 12, such as an adjustment to the ground speed of the vehicle 12…may include a look-up table(s)…that
correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ki to include identify the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field based on the relationship between the dynamic response characteristic and the agricultural characteristic as taught by Johnson in order to determine an operational adjustment and to control the operation of the additional tool to execute the operational adjustment (Johnson, Col 2 lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the agricultural system of claim 2. Ki further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the one or more processors to: identify a value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the second geographic location in the field (see at least, Col 12 lines 1-3, A second region 412 is represented by a cone index value of CI2…may be the cone index value of damp soil).
Johnson further teaches identify the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field based on the relationship between the dynamic response characteristic and the agricultural characteristic and the value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the second geographic location in the field (see at least, (Col 16 lines 27-35, Based on the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure, the controller 128 may be configured to determine and execute one or more drive parameter adjustments to the vehicle 12, such as an adjustment to the ground speed of the vehicle 12…may include a look-up
table(s)…that correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ki to include identify the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field based on the relationship between the dynamic response characteristic and the agricultural characteristic and the value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the second geographic location in the field as taught by Johnson in order to determine an operational adjustment and to control the operation of the additional tool to execute the operational adjustment (Johnson, Col 2 lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the agricultural system of claim 3. Johnson further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the one or more processors to: generate a functional predictive machine dynamic response map that maps the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic (see at least, Col 16 lines 27-35, Based on the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure, the controller 128 may be configured to determine and execute one or more drive parameter adjustments to the vehicle 12, such as an adjustment to the ground speed of the vehicle…may include a look-up table(s)…that correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment) to the second geographic location(see at least, Col 11 lines 63-66, the time-stamped data may allow the down pressure and/or penetration depth measurements to be matched or correlated to a corresponding set of location coordinates received or derived from the location sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ki to include generate a functional predictive machine dynamic response map that maps the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic as taught by Johnson in order to determine an operational adjustment and to control the operation of the additional tool to execute the operational adjustment (Johnson, Col 2 lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the agricultural system of claim 1. Ki further teaches wherein the information map includes, as the values of the agricultural characteristic corresponding to the plurality of different geographic locations in the field, values of a terrain feature characteristic corresponding to the plurality of different geographic location in the field (see at least, Col 11 lines 61-63, A first region 410 is represented by a cone index value of CI1…may be the cone index value of dry soil; Col 12 lines 1-3, A second region 412 is represented by a cone index value of CI2…may be the cone index value of damp soil; Col 12 lines 9-11, a third region 414 is represented by a cone index value of CI3. …may be the cone index value of muddy soil).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the agricultural system of claim 5. Ki further teaches wherein the terrain feature characteristic comprises one of soil roughness, ground type, or ground height (see at least, Col 1 lines 46-50, The cone index represents the mechanical properties of the underlying surface and is frequently determined by measuring the soil penetration resistance…
determine the cone index of any particular area, a cone penetrometer or the like is used).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the agricultural system of claim 1. Johnson further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the one or more processors to control the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field by controlling one or more of: a propulsion subsystem of the agricultural work machine; a steering subsystem of the agricultural work machine; an active suspension subsystem of the agricultural work machine; or an active seat subsystem of the agricultural work machine (see at least, Col 16 lines 27-35, Based on the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure, the controller 128 may be configured to determine and execute one or more drive parameter adjustments to the vehicle 12, such as an adjustment to the ground speed of the vehicle 12…may include a look-up table(s)…that correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ki to include control the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field by controlling a propulsion subsystem of the agricultural work machine as taught by Johnson in order to determine an operational adjustment and to control the operation of the additional tool to execute the operational adjustment (Johnson, Col 2 lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 9, Ki teaches a computer implemented method comprising: detecting, with an in-situ sensor, a value of a dynamic response characteristic of an agricultural work machine (see at least, Col lines 33-35, The wheel torque sensor 208 may identify the torque being distributed through the ground engaging mechanisms 108, 110 to the underlying surface 128) corresponding to a first geographic location (see at least, Col 12 lines 61-66, the IPM may provide…50% available torque to the wheels
126 when the tractor 102 is in the first region 410), of a plurality different geographic locations, in a field (see at least, Fig 4, Col 12 line 17, a first, second, and third region 410, 412, 414; Col 11 lines 41-42, the outer boundaries of the field on which the tractor 102 travelled…each data point 408 may have the specific GPS latitude 404, GPS longitude 406); obtaining an information map that includes values of an agricultural characteristic corresponding to the plurality of different geographic locations in the field (see at least, Col 3 lines 36-39, the controller stores a plurality of cone index values and a plurality of geographic locations in the memory unit as a cone index map while the work machine moves along the underlying surface; *Examiner interprets cone index as an agricultural characteristic, e.g. Col 1 lines 46-50, The cone index represents the mechanical properties of the underlying surface and is frequently determined by measuring the soil penetration resistance…determine the cone index of any particular area, a cone penetrometer or the like is used).
Ki does not explicitly teach identifying a predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to a second geographic location in the field based on the value of the dynamic response characteristic, detected by the in-situ sensor, corresponding to the first geographic location in the field and a value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the first geographic location; and controlling the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field. However, Johnson teaches these limitations.
Johnson teaches identifying a predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to a second geographic location in the field based on the value of the dynamic response characteristic (see at least, Col 16 lines 32-35, the controller 128 may include a look-up table(s)…that correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment), detected by the in-situ sensor, corresponding to the first geographic location in the field and a value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the first geographic location (see at least, Col 11 line 67, Col 12 lines 1-5, the controller 128 may be configured to generate a field map (e.g., a graphical field map) illustrating the down pressure applied to the closing discs 66, the adjustment made to the down pressure applied to the closing discs 66 at various positions within the field, and/or the penetration depths of the closing discs 66); and controlling the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field (see at least, Col 16 lines 27-35, Based on the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure, the controller 128 may be configured to determine and execute one or more drive parameter adjustments to the vehicle 12, such as an adjustment to the ground speed of the vehicle 12…may include a look-up table(s)…that correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ki to include identifying a predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to a second geographic location in the field based on the value of the dynamic response characteristic, detected by the in-situ sensor, corresponding to the first geographic location in the field and a value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the first geographic location; and controlling the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field as taught by Johnson in order to determine an operational adjustment and to control the operation of the additional tool to execute the operational adjustment (Johnson, Col 2 lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the computer implemented method of claim 9. Ki further teaches comprising identifying a relationship between the dynamic response characteristic and the agricultural characteristic based on the value of the dynamic response characteristic (see at least, Col 12 lines 57-60, the IPM may vary the amount of torque provided to the wheels 126 of the trailer 104 based on the cone index value identified in the data set 400 for that region), detected by the in-situ sensor (see at least, Col lines 33-35 The wheel torque sensor 208 may identify the torque being distributed through the ground engaging mechanisms 108, 110 to the underlying surface 128), corresponding to the first geographic location in the field and the value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the first geographic location in the field (see at least, Col 11 lines 59-62, FIG. 4…A first region 410 is represented by a cone index value of CI1…may be the cone index value of dry soil).
Johnson further teaches wherein identifying the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic comprises: identifying the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field based on the relationship between the dynamic response characteristic and the agricultural characteristic (see at least, (Col 16 lines 27-35, Based on the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure, the controller 128 may be configured to determine and execute one or more drive parameter adjustments to the vehicle 12, such as an adjustment to the ground speed of the vehicle 12…may include a look-up table(s)…that correlates
the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ki to include identifying the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field based on the relationship between the dynamic response characteristic and the agricultural characteristic as taught by Johnson in order to determine an operational adjustment and to control the operation of the additional tool to execute the operational adjustment (Johnson, Col 2 lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the computer implemented method of claim 10. Johnson further teaches comprising identifying a value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the second geographic location Col 12 lines 1-3, A second region 412 is represented by a cone index value of CI2…may be the cone index value of damp soil.
Johnson further teaches wherein identifying the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic comprises: identifying the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field based on the relationship between the dynamic response characteristic and the agricultural characteristic and the value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the second geographic location in the field (see at least, (Col 16 lines 27-35, Based on the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure, the controller 128 may be configured to determine and execute one or more drive parameter adjustments to the vehicle 12, such as an adjustment to the ground speed of the vehicle 12…may include a look-up table(s)…that
correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ki to include identifying the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic comprises: identifying the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field based on the relationship between the dynamic response characteristic and the agricultural characteristic and the value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the second geographic location in the field as taught by Johnson in order to determine an operational adjustment and to control the operation of the additional tool to execute the operational adjustment (Johnson, Col 2 lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the computer implemented method of claim 11. Johnson further teaches comprising generating a functional predictive machine dynamic response map that maps the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic to the second geographic location (see at least, Col 16 lines 27-35, Based on the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure, the controller 128 may be configured to determine and execute one or more drive parameter adjustments to the vehicle 12, such as an adjustment to the ground speed of the vehicle…may include a look-up table(s)…that correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment) to the second geographic location(see at least, Col 11 lines 63-66, the time-stamped data may allow the down pressure and/or penetration depth measurements to be matched or correlated to a corresponding set of location coordinates received or derived from the location sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ki to include generating a functional predictive machine dynamic response map that maps the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic as taught by Johnson in order to determine an operational adjustment and to control the operation of the additional tool to execute the operational adjustment (Johnson, Col 2 lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the computer implemented method of claim 9. Ki further teaches wherein obtaining the information map comprises obtaining a terrain feature map that includes, as the values of the agricultural characteristic corresponding to the plurality of different geographic locations in the field, values of a terrain feature characteristic corresponding to the plurality of different geographic locations in the field (see at least, Col 11 lines 61-63, A first region 410
is represented by a cone index value of CI1…may be the cone index value of dry soil; Col 12 lines 1-3, A second region 412 is represented by a cone index value of CI2…may be the cone index value of damp soil; Col 12 lines 9-11, a third region 414 is represented by a cone index value of CI3. …may be the cone index value of muddy soil).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the computer implemented method of claim 9. Johnson further teaches wherein controlling the agricultural work machine comprises one or more of: controlling a propulsion subsystem of the agricultural work machine; controlling a steering subsystem of the agricultural work machine; controlling an active suspension subsystem of the agricultural work machine; or controlling an active seat subsystem of the agricultural work machine (see at least, Col 16 lines 27-35, Based on the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure, the controller 128 may be configured to determine and execute one or more drive parameter adjustments to the vehicle 12, such as an adjustment to the ground speed of the vehicle 12…may include a look-up table(s)…that correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ki to include controlling the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field by controlling a propulsion subsystem of the agricultural work machine as taught by Johnson in order to determine an operational adjustment and to control the operation of the additional tool to execute the operational adjustment (Johnson, Col 2 lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 16, Ki teaches an agricultural work machine comprising: an in-situ sensor that detects a value of a dynamic response characteristic of the agricultural work machine (see at least, Col lines 33-35, The wheel torque sensor 208 may identify the torque being distributed through the ground engaging mechanisms 108, 110 to the underlying surface 128) corresponding to a first geographic location (see at least, Col 12 lines 61-66, the IPM may provide…50% available torque to the wheels
126 when the tractor 102 is in the first region 410); of a plurality of different geographic locations, in a field (see at least, Fig 4, Col 12 line 17, a first, second, and third region 410, 412, 414; Col 11 lines 41-42, the outer boundaries of the field on which the tractor 102 travelled…each data point 408 may have the specific GPS latitude 404, GPS longitude 406); one or more processors; and memory storing instructions, executable by the one or more processors, that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the one or more processors (see at least, Col 5 lines 12-14, The controller 202
may have one or more memory unit and processor and be able to control and monitor many components of the tractor 102 and trailer 104) to: obtain an information map that includes values of an agricultural characteristic corresponding to the plurality of different geographic locations in the field (see at least, Col 3 lines 36-39, the controller stores a plurality of cone index values and a plurality of geographic locations in the memory unit as a cone index map while the work machine moves along the underlying surface; *Examiner interprets cone index as an agricultural characteristic, e.g. Col 1 lines 46-50, The cone index represents the mechanical properties of the underlying surface and is frequently determined by measuring the soil penetration resistance…determine the cone index of any particular area, a cone penetrometer or the like is used).
Ki does not explicitly teach identify a predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to a second geographic location in the field based on the value of the dynamic response characteristic, detected by the in-situ sensor, corresponding to the first geographic location in the field
and a value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the first geographic location; and control the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field. However, Johnson teaches these limitations.
Johnson teaches identify a predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to a second geographic location in the field based on the value of the dynamic response characteristic (see at least, Col 16 lines 32-35, the controller 128 may include a look-up table(s)…that correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment), detected by the in-situ sensor, corresponding to the first geographic location in the field and a value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the first geographic location (see at least, Col 11 line 67, Col 12 lines 1-5, the controller 128 may be configured to generate a field map (e.g., a graphical field map) illustrating the down pressure applied to the closing discs 66, the adjustment made to the down pressure applied to the closing discs 66 at various positions within the field, and/or the penetration depths of the closing discs 66); and control the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field (see at least, Col 16 lines 27-35, Based on the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure, the controller 128 may be configured to determine and execute one or more drive parameter adjustments to the vehicle 12, such as an adjustment to the ground speed of the vehicle 12…may include a look-up table(s)…that correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ki to include identify a predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to a second geographic location in the field based on the value of the dynamic response characteristic, detected by the in-situ sensor, corresponding to the first geographic location in the field and a value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the first geographic location; and control the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field as taught by Johnson in order to determine an operational adjustment and to control the operation of the additional tool to execute the operational adjustment (Johnson, Col 2 lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the agricultural work machine of claim 16. Ki further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the one or more processors to: identify a relationship between the dynamic response characteristic and the agricultural characteristic based on the value of the dynamic response characteristic (see at least, Col 12 lines 57-60, the IPM may vary the amount of torque provided to the wheels 126 of the trailer 104 based on the cone index value identified in the data set 400 for that region), detected by the in-situ sensor (see at least, Col lines 33-35 The wheel torque sensor 208 may identify the torque being distributed through the ground engaging mechanisms 108, 110 to the underlying surface 128), corresponding to the first geographic location in the field and the value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the first geographic location in the field (see at least, Col 11 lines 59-62, FIG. 4…A first region 410 is represented by a cone index value of CI1…may be the cone index value of dry soil).
Johnson further teaches identify the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field based on the relationship between the dynamic response characteristic and the agricultural characteristic (see at least, (Col 16 lines 27-35, Based on the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure, the controller 128 may be configured to determine and execute one or more drive parameter adjustments to the vehicle 12, such as an adjustment to the ground speed of the vehicle 12…may include a look-up table(s)…that
correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ki to include identify the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field based on the relationship between the dynamic response characteristic and the agricultural characteristic as taught by Johnson in order to determine an operational adjustment and to control the operation of the additional tool to execute the operational adjustment (Johnson, Col 2 lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 18, The agricultural work machine of claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the one or more processors to: identify a value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the second geographic location in the field Col 12 lines 1-3, A second region 412 is represented by a cone index value of CI2…may be the cone index value of damp soil
Johnson further teaches identify the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field based on the relationship between the dynamic response characteristic and the agricultural characteristic and the value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the second geographic location in the field (see at least, Col 11 line 67, Col 12 lines 1-5, the controller 128 may be configured to generate a field map (e.g., a graphical field map) illustrating the down pressure applied to the closing discs 66, the adjustment made to the down pressure applied to the closing discs 66 at various positions within the field, and/or the penetration depths of the closing discs 66); and generate a functional predictive machine dynamic response map that maps the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic (see at least, Col 16 lines 27-35, Based on the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure, the controller 128 may be configured to determine and execute one or more drive parameter adjustments to the vehicle 12, such as an adjustment to the ground speed of the vehicle…may include a look-up table(s)…that correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment) to the second geographic location (see at least, Col 11 lines 63-66, the time-stamped data may allow the down pressure and/or penetration depth measurements to be matched or correlated to a corresponding set of location coordinates received or derived from the location sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ki to include identify a predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to a second geographic location in the field based on the value of the dynamic response characteristic, detected by the in-situ sensor, corresponding to the first geographic location in the field and a value of the agricultural characteristic, in the information map, corresponding to the first geographic location; and control the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field as taught by Johnson in order to determine an operational adjustment and to control the operation of the additional tool to execute the operational adjustment (Johnson, Col 2 lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the agricultural work machine of claim 16. Johnson further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the one or more processors to control the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field by controlling one or more of: a propulsion subsystem of the agricultural work machine; a steering subsystem of the agricultural work machine; an active suspension subsystem of the agricultural work machine; or an active seat subsystem of the agricultural work machine (see at least, Col 16 lines 27-35, Based on the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure, the controller 128 may be configured to determine and execute one or more drive parameter adjustments to the vehicle 12, such as an adjustment to the ground speed of the vehicle 12…may include a look-up table(s)…that correlates the monitored penetration depth and/or down pressure to the appropriate drive parameter adjustment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ki to include control the agricultural work machine based on the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field by controlling a propulsion subsystem of the agricultural work machine as taught by Johnson in order to determine an operational adjustment and to control the operation of the additional tool to execute the operational adjustment (Johnson, Col 2 lines 2-7).
Claims 7, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ki et al (US 10801935 B2; hereinafter Ki) in view of Johnson et al. (US 11006567 B2; hereinafter Johnson) in view of Svitak et al. (US 20200156518 A1; hereinafter Svitak).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the agricultural system of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the dynamic response characteristic comprises operator seat response. However, Svitak teaches this limitation.
Svitak teaches herein the dynamic response characteristic comprises operator seat response (see at least, [0044] height adjustment mechanism is also “smart” in part because it distinguishes over seat height changes due to terrain from height changes due to internal factors such as operator weight or leaky suspension components).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ki and Johnson to include the dynamic response characteristic comprises operator seat response as taught by Svitak in order to maximize operator safety and comfort under many driving conditions (Svitak, [0044]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the computer implemented method of claim 9. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein detecting, with the in-situ sensor, the value of the dynamic response characteristic of the agricultural work machine corresponding to the first geographic location comprises detecting, with the in-situ sensor, a value of an operator seat response corresponding to the first geographic location; wherein identifying the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field comprises identifying the predictive value of the operator seat response corresponding to the second geographic location in the field. However, Svitak teaches this limitation.
Svitak teaches wherein detecting, with the in-situ sensor, the value of the dynamic response characteristic of the agricultural work machine corresponding to the first geographic location comprises detecting, with the in-situ sensor, a value of an operator seat response corresponding to the first geographic location (see at least, Fig 3, [0032] rate of change of position, velocity, acceleration and vibration isolation patterns are also anticipated…velocity of 100 mm/sec or vibration frequencies over 2 hz, can be indicative of an random terrain vibrations like gravel); wherein identifying the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field comprises identifying the predictive value of the operator seat response corresponding to the second geographic location in the field (see at least, Fig 3, [0032] velocities of 250 mm/sec can be indicative of shock loads such as potholes and ruts….Single or multiple events causing vibration, such …crop rows… only have a minimal overall effect, thus keeping the seat height within the set predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ki and Johnson to include detecting, with the in-situ sensor, the value of the dynamic response characteristic of the agricultural work machine corresponding to the first geographic location comprises detecting, with the in-situ sensor, a value of an operator seat response corresponding to the first geographic location; wherein identifying the predictive value of the dynamic response characteristic corresponding to the second geographic location in the field comprises identifying the predictive value of the operator seat response corresponding to the second geographic location in the field as taught by Svitak in order to maximize operator safety and comfort under many driving conditions (Svitak, [0044]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Ki and Johnson teaches the agricultural system of claim 16. Ki further teaches wherein the agricultural characteristic comprises one of soil roughness, ground type, or ground height (see at least, Col 1 lines 46-50, The cone index represents the mechanical properties of the underlying surface and is frequently determined by measuring the soil penetration resistance…
determine the cone index of any particular area, a cone penetrometer or the like is used).
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the dynamic response characteristic comprises operator seat response. However, Svitak teaches this limitation.
Svitak teaches wherein the dynamic response characteristic comprises operator seat response (see at least, [0044] height adjustment mechanism is also “smart” in part because it distinguishes over seat height changes due to terrain from height changes due to internal factors such as operator weight or leaky suspension components).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ki and Johnson to include the dynamic response characteristic comprises operator seat response as taught by Svitak in order to maximize operator safety and comfort under many driving conditions (Svitak, [0044]).
Conclusion
/TOYA PETTIEGREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662