DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the determined threshold" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the comparison" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase “the determination unit determines that the target nozzle is under ejection failure based on a result of the comparison” is unclear since it is unknow what is exactly being compared to each other. As such since the meets and bounds of the claim are unknown is the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oikawa et al. (US 20190299590 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oikawa et al. teaches a print head in which a plurality of nozzles capable of ejecting ink are arranged (Fig. 12 element 3 and paragraphs [0034] and [0090]); a first detection unit configured to detect a predetermined parameter for each of the nozzles (Fig. 3a element 306 and paragraph [0065]); a determination unit configured to compare a signal based on a result of the detection by the first detection unit with a threshold to determine an ink ejection status of a target nozzle (Fig. 4 element 417 and paragraph [0065]); and a threshold generation unit configured to generate the threshold (Fig. 4 element 419, Fig. 8 element S201 and paragraphs [0091] and [0098]), wherein the printing apparatus has operation modes including: a first mode under which the threshold is variable (Fig. 8 and paragraph [0100]); and a second mode under which the threshold is fixed (Fig. 7 and paragraph [0091]) and under the first mode, the determination unit makes the determination for each of the nozzles for a predetermined number of times (paragraph [0101]), the threshold generation unit changes the threshold each time the determination, made for the predetermined number of times, is made (Fig. 8 and paragraph [0105]), and the threshold is determined for the second mode based on a result of the determination made for the predetermined number of times (Fig. 8 element 211 and paragraph [106] and [0109]).
Regarding claim 2, to the extent the claim is clear in scope, Oikawa et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and further comprising an ejection failure detection unit configured to detect an ejection failure nozzle from the plurality of nozzles (Fig. 7 element S16, Fig. 4 element 419 paragraphs [0091] and [0093]), wherein under the second mode, the determination unit makes the determination on each of the nozzle for the predetermined number of times (paragraphs [0092] and [0093]), the threshold generation unit generates the determined threshold each time the determination (Fig. 7 element S12 and paragraph [0091]), made for the predetermined number of times, is made, and the ejection failure detection unit detects the ejection failure nozzle from the plurality of nozzles based on a result of the determination made for the predetermined number of times (Fig. 7 element S16, Fig. 4 element 419 paragraphs [0091] and [0093]).
Regarding claim 3, to the extent the claim is clear in scope, Oikawa et al. teaches all the elements of claim 2 as stated above and the determination unit determines that the target nozzle is under ejection failure based on a result of the comparison ( Fig. 7 element S14 and paragraph [0093]), and the ejection failure detection unit includes a measurement unit configured to measure an ejection failure count obtained through the determination by the determination unit, and detects the ejection failure nozzle based on a result of the measurement (Fig. 4 element 421 and paragraphs [0094], [0118] and [0119]).
Regarding claim 4, Oikawa et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and the print head includes a heater element for driving each of the nozzles (paragraph [039]), and the first detection unit is a temperature detection unit configured to detect a temperature of the ink in each of the nozzles (Fig. 3A-C element 306 and paragraphs [0061] and [0074]). The examiner notes that the ability of the temperature sensor to measure the temperature of the ink is intended use and since the temperature detecting unit detects temperature in nozzle of the recording head it is taken as capable of detecting the temperature of the ink.
Regarding claim 5, Oikawa et al. teaches all the elements of claim 4 as stated above and wherein the signal based on a result of the detection by the temperature detection unit is obtained through differentiation processing executed on a signal corresponding to the temperature of the ink detected by the temperature detection unit (Fig. 5. And paragraphs [0075]- [0078]).
Regarding claim 6, Oikawa et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and wherein under the first mode, the threshold generation unit changes the threshold while performing addition or subtraction to or from a reference value each time the determination, made the for the predetermined number of times, is made (Fig. 8 elements S203 and S210 and paragraphs [0100] and [0103]).
Regarding claim 9, Oikawa et al. teaches detecting a predetermined parameter for each of the nozzles (paragraph [0065]); comparing a signal based on the detected parameter with a threshold to determine an ink ejection status of a target nozzle (Fig. 7 element S14 and paragraph [0093]); and generating the threshold (Fig. 7 element S12 and paragraph [0091]), wherein the printing apparatus has operation modes including: a first mode under which the threshold is variable (Fig. 8 and paragraph [0100]); and a second mode under which the threshold is fixed (Fig. 7 and paragraph [0091]) and under the first mode, the determination unit makes the determination for each of the nozzles for a predetermined number of times (paragraph [0101]), the threshold generation unit changes the threshold each time the determination, made for the predetermined number of times, is made (Fig. 8 and paragraph [0105]), and the threshold is determined for the second mode based on a result of the determination made for the predetermined number of times (Fig. 8 element 211 and paragraph [106] and [0109]).
Regarding claim 10, Oikawa et al. teaches all the elements of claim 9 as stated above and A computer-readable storage medium storing a program (Fig. 2 element 420 and paragraph [0047]), the program configured to cause a computer to perform each step of the method according to claim 9 (Fig. 4 element 417 and paragraph [0091]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest all of the apparatus as recited alone or in combination with particularly including wherein under the first mode, when an ejection failure count obtained through the determination made for the predetermined number of times for one of the nozzles is outside an effective range, for the one nozzle, the threshold generation unit updates the reference value to change the threshold, and the determination unit further makes the determination for the predetermined number of times.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Murase et al. (US 20200047491 A1), Oikawa et al. (US 20200298555 A1) and Tabayashi et al. (US 20070291066 A1) are cited for having apparatuses similar to the claimed invention.
/SAMUEL FREDERICK BOELITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853