DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The Drawings filed 11 December 2024 are approved by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner and an initialed copy is attached.
Citation Notation
The following citations are made for the convenience of the reader:
Citations to PG publications are made to paragraph number under the ¶ format. Citations to other publications made under the format “ col 1/2” or pp 1 are directed to column and line number or to a page - whichever is appropriate. It is noted that any reference to a figure or a table is also directed to any accompanying text in the specification or the document. Notwithstanding those citations, the reference(s) is (are) relied upon for the teachings as a whole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “essentially free” in claims 7, 15 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “essentially free” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to the metes and bounds of the claimed limitation (what is the threshold for a composition to be “essentially free”?).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhi ("Characterizations of spinel LiMn2-xZrxO4 cathode for lithium-ion batteries." Acta Physico-Chimica Sinica, 21(1), 89-92, Year: 2005).
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 11-17, 19 and 20: Zhi discloses a LiMn2-xZrxO4 with x=0, 0.01, 0.02, 0.04, 0.06, 0.08 and 0.1 (abs).
Claims 1, 5, 8, 10 and 18: Regarding the claimed disordered, energy and capacity property, if a prior art reference teaches the substantially identical structure/material/product, it would be reasonable that the same function and/or property would be imparted or exhibited. See MPEP 2112.01. Applicant is welcomed to provide any evidence that the disclosed material is exceedingly different from the claimed material - thus the claimed properties would inevitably not be present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binder (US-20150089797-A1).
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 11-17, 19 and 20: Binder discloses A doped spinel comprising the formula:
Li1±wMe1vMe2x-vMn2-x-yTiyO4-zFz
where, 0≦w<1, 0.3<x≦0.7, 0.3≦v<0.7, x>v, 0.0001≦y≦0.35, and 0.0001≦z≦0.3. Me1 is a metal selected from a group of elements consisting of Cr, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, and Zn. Me2 is a metal selected from a group of elements consisting of Ni, Fe, Co, Mg, Cr, V, Ru, Mg, Al, Zn, Cu, Cd, Ag, Y, Sc, Ga, In, As, Sb, Pt, Au, and B (abs, 3-5, 41-44, 52 and examples). Further, Binder discloses the disordered feature (¶4, 7, 32 and 51). The Binder reference discloses the claimed invention with the claimed formula and elements but does not disclose the composition with the claimed elements and stoichiometric amounts with enough specificity to anticipate the claimed invention. Nevertheless, given that Binder discloses a composition with the claimed elements and stoichiometric values meeting the claimed formula, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the chemical art at the time of the invention to utilize and optimize any of the taught components since Binder teaches each one. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pursue the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success since the reference is directed to a similar field of endeavor. It is also noted that the fact that many components and values are disclosed would not have made any of them, such as Y or Zr, less obvious. Here, Binder discloses each of the claimed components and stoichiometric values and there is no evidence nor teaching that the selection of the claimed components would be repugnant to a skilled artisan. Further, obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Claims 1, 5, 8, 10 and 18: Regarding the claimed energy, XRD patterns and capacity property, if a prior art reference teaches the substantially identical structure/material/product, it would be reasonable that the same function and/or property would be imparted or exhibited. See MPEP 2112.01. Applicant is welcomed to provide any evidence that the disclosed material is exceedingly different from the claimed material - thus the claimed properties would inevitably not be present.
Conclusion
/TRI V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764