DETAILED ACTION
Claims status: amended claims: 1, 9-11, 16; canceled claims: 8, 13-15, 17-20; the rest is unchanged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new secondary reference is currently being used in the present application. The Ho et al. reference is no longer used in the present rejection.
Additionally, regarding the Takahashi et al. reference applicant argues in pg.5 of the remarks that the reference does not teach: the THz scanner assembly configured to be focused only on a periphery of the golf ball. The examiner respectfully disagrees because Takahashi et al. disclose: the THz scanner assembly configured to focused only on a periphery of the golf ball (para. [0016], [0044]). Para. [0016] & [0044] teach measuring light reflected off the golf ball.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (JP 2021063821 A; pub. Apr. 22, 2021) in view of van Mechelen et al. (US 2022/0016671 A1; pub. Jan. 20, 2022).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi et al. disclose: A method of analyzing at least one characteristic of a golf ball comprising at least a core (fig.2(a) -2(b) item 502) and a cover layer (fig.2(a) -2(b) item 501), the method comprising:
acquiring imaging data related to at least one characteristic of a golf ball via at least one terahertz scanner assembly (para. [0082]); and wherein an imaging area of the at least one terahertz scanner assembly is configured to be focused only on a periphery of the golf ball (para. [0016], [0044]).
wherein the at least one characteristic of the golf ball includes:
(i) a thickness of at least one paint or coating layer on the cover layer (para. [0082]).
Takahashi et al. are silent about: generating at least one parameter from the imaging data and comparing the at least one parameter against a threshold value, the at least one characteristic of the golf ball includes both
(i) a thickness of at least one paint or coating layer on the cover layer; and
(ii) a composition of at least one paint or coating layer on the cover layer.
In a similar field of endeavor van Mechelen et al. disclose: generating at least one parameter from the imaging data and comparing the at least one parameter against a threshold value (para. [0035]), the at least one characteristic of the sample includes both
(i) a thickness of at least one paint or coating layer on the cover layer; and
(ii) a composition of at least one paint or coating layer on the cover layer (para. [0012]) motivated by the benefits for quality control (van Mechelen et al. para. [0006]).
In light of the benefits for quality control as taught by van Mechelen et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Takahashi et al. with the teachings of van Mechelen et al.
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi et al. disclose: spinning the golf ball (para. [0082]).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi et al. disclose: the method is non-destructive relative to the golf ball, and the method employs non-ionizing radiation (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, van Mechelen et al. disclose: the periphery of the sample only includes a portion of at least one paint or coating layer (para. [0012], [0052]) motivated by the benefits for quality control (van Mechelen et al. para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi et al. disclose: the periphery of the golf ball only includes a portion of at least one paint or coating layer, and a portion of the cover layer (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi et al. disclose: the periphery of the golf ball only includes a portion of at least one paint or coating layer, a portion of the cover layer, and a portion of a casing layer surrounding the cover layer (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, van Mechelen et al. disclose: the at least one terahertz scanner assembly is configured to detect imperfections in an outermost paint or coating layer of the sample (para. [0012], [0042], [0052]) motivated by the benefits for quality control (van Mechelen et al. para. [0006]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (JP 2021063821 A; pub. Apr. 22, 2021) in view of van Mechelen et al. (US 2022/0016671 A1; pub. Jan. 20, 2022) and further in view of Petermann (US 2023/0194243 A1; pub. Jun. 22, 2023).
Regarding claim 2, the combined references are silent about: the at least one terahertz scanner assembly comprises a plurality of terahertz scanners that are each arranged at a different orientation relative to object
In a similar field of endeavor Petermann discloses: the at least one terahertz scanner assembly comprises a plurality of terahertz scanners that are each arranged at a different orientation relative to object (para. [0057]) motivated by the benefits for a more complete object inspection.
In light of the benefits for a more complete object inspection, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Takahashi et al. and van Mechelen et al. with the teachings of Petermann.
Regarding claim 3, the combined references are silent about: the at least one terahertz scanner assembly comprises at least one first terahertz scanner arranged at a first angle relative to object and at least one second terahertz scanner arranged at a second angle relative to the object, wherein the first angle is different than the second angle.
In a similar field of endeavor Petermann discloses: the at least one terahertz scanner assembly comprises at least one first terahertz scanner arranged at a first angle relative to object and at least one second terahertz scanner arranged at a second angle relative to the object, wherein the first angle is different than the second angle (para. [0057]) motivated by the benefits for a more complete object inspection.
In light of the benefits for a more complete object inspection, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Takahashi et al. and van Mechelen et al. with the teachings of Petermann.
Claims 6 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (JP 2021063821 A; pub. Apr. 22, 2021) in view of van Mechelen et al. (US 2022/0016671 A1; pub. Jan. 20, 2022) and further in view of Ito et al. (US 2017/0234792 A1; pub. Aug. 17, 2017).
Regarding claim 6, the combined references are silent about: generating a notification when the at least one parameter exceeds the threshold value.
In a similar field of endeavor Ito et al. disclose: generating a notification when the at least one parameter exceeds the threshold value (para. [0131]) motivated by the benefits for improved quality control.
In light of the benefits for improved quality control, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Takahashi et al. and van Mechelen et al. with the teachings of Ito et al.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Takahashi et al., van Mechelen et al. and Ito et al. disclose: A method of analyzing at least one characteristic of a golf ball via non-ionizing electromagnetic radiation, the golf ball comprising at least a core and a cover layer, the method comprising: directing an imaging area of at least one terahertz scanner assembly at a periphery of the golf ball, wherein the periphery of the golf ball only includes a portion of at least one paint or coating layer surrounding the cover layer, and a portion of the cover layer; acquiring imaging data related to at least one characteristic of a golf ball via the at least one terahertz scanner assembly, wherein the at least one characteristic of the golf ball includes both:
(i) a thickness of at least one paint or coating layer on the cover layer;
(ii) a composition of the at least one paint or coating layer on the cover layer;
generating at least one parameter from the imaging data and comparing the at least one parameter against at least one threshold value; and
generating a notification when the at least one parameter exceeds the at least one threshold value (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 6).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (JP 2021063821 A; pub. Apr. 22, 2021) in view of van Mechelen et al. (US 2022/0016671 A1; pub. Jan. 20, 2022) and further in view of Ariessohn et al. (WO 2012/050612 A1; pub. Apr. 19, 2012).
Regarding claim 7, the combined references are silent about: the imaging data requires less than 10 nanoseconds.
In a similar field of endeavor Ariessohn et al. disclose: the imaging data requires less than 10 nanoseconds (pg.2 L15-26, pg.20 L18-20) motivated by the benefits for real-time inspection (Ariessohn et al. pg.4 L21-33).
In light of the benefits for real-time inspection as taught by Ariessohn et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Takahashi et al. and van Mechelen et al. with the teachings of Ariessohn et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884