DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-17, as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority
2. The application is filed on 12/11/2024 but claims the benefit of foreign application number KR 10-2024-0060502 filed on 05/08/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea).
Claim 1:
Step Analysis 1: Statutory Category? Yes. The claim is a system claim.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitation of collect state information of the passenger at real-time driving information. This limitation, as drafted, is an system that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “collect state information of the passenger at real-time driving information,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “collect state information of the passenger at real-time driving information” language, the claim encompasses a user simply collecting data of the passenger at real-time driving information in his/her mind. The mere nominal recitation of a generic sensor data for collecting information of the passenger at real-time driving information does not take the claim limitation out of the mental processes grouping. Thus, the claim recites a mental.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The claim recites two additional elements: determine a motion sickness state of the passenger based on the collected state information; generate motion sickness reduction information and to provide alert performs the determination step. The determination step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of gathering vehicle data for use in generating alert step), and amounts to mere data gathering or manipulations, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The sensors that perform the determination step is also recited at a high level of generality, and merely automates the determination step. Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (determine a motion sickness state and to calculate ratio and generate motion sickness reduction information to provide alert).
The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the sensors circuit and processor ). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the determination step was considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The background of the example does not provide any indication that the driver circuit is anything other than a generic, and the Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs. court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere collection or determination of data over a sensors and processor is a well understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the determining step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer.
For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible
Claim 2:
Similar analysis applied as to perform operations over a time period wherein determine a motion sickness state of each of the plurality of passengers based on the collected state information.
Claim 3:
Similar analysis applied as to perform operations to display passenger information.
Claim 4:
Similar analysis applied as to perform operations to display image information.
Claim 5:
Similar analysis applied as to arrange display.
Claim 6:
Similar analysis applied as to arrange air conditioner direction.
Claim 7:
Similar analysis applied as to arrange air conditioner change direction.
Claim 8:
Similar analysis applied as to monitor biosignal of passenger.
Claim 9:
Similar analysis applied as to monitor position and temperature.
Claim 10:
Similar analysis applied as to vehicle type.
Claim 11:
Similar analysis applied as to different types of sensors for data collection.
Same arguments applied to claims 12-17
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wan (US 20190022347 A1) (hereinafter Wan) in view of MORIURA (US 20210031789
A1) (hereinafter MORIURA).
Regarding claim 1, Wan discloses a system for reducing motion sickness of a passenger in a moving device (Fig. 1, para 61, sensed vehicle movements, to reduce or avoid the onset of motion sickness by notifying the occupant, para 67, By alerting occupant onset of motion sickness is reduced or avoided, para 37, vehicle 20 includes a motion sickness mitigation system 22 for mitigation motion sickness of occupants of the vehicle 20), the system comprising:
a state information acquisition unit configured to collect state information of the passenger (Fig.3, collect vehicle state information 222, collect occupant state information 224, sickness prediction module 134, occupant state input signal 160, para 18, sensing devices monitor conditions (i.e. state information) and conditions state value (C) which is indicative of that occupant experience motion sickness, para 52, data and information is collected and predicts occupant will experience motion sickness, para 48, occupant profile 148 built using information - health conditions, motion sickness and mitigation preferences and information data obtained in real time (i.e. collect information), para 51, motion sickness mitigation system 22 monitor for indications of occupant motion sickness, at steps 220, 222 and 224 to collect information for real time motion sickness, based on maneuvers and occupant's susceptibility to motion sickness (i.e, collect real-time driving information));
a processor configured to: determine a motion sickness state of the passenger based on the collected state information and the collected real-time driving information (para 15, occupant state input signal is delivered the processor by occupant state devices which represents state of the occupant, para 42, controller 28 process information and provide commands based to motion sickness state by mitigation system 22, para 18, processor calculates condition state value (C) where C is indicative occupant motion sickness, para 61, FIG. 6, a process 400 determines occupant state, and alerts sensory mismatch of sensed vehicle movements (i.e., determine motion sickness state), para 22, occupant state input signal represents states of the occupant and processor evaluates states of occupant (i.e., determine a motion state), para 51, process 200 proceeds to steps 220, 222 and 224- (occupant states information) to collect information for real-time motion sickness by the vehicle 20 (i.e., real-time driving information), para 50, A determination is made as to whether occupant experience motion sickness, when determination of motion sickness from collected data, para 52, data and information is collected at steps 220, 222 and 224 and detect occupant experience motion sickness in the current trip (i.e, during driving)); and
generate motion sickness reduction information for reducing motion sickness of the passenger based on the determined motion sickness state (para 44, processor 114 generate control signals for system 30, para 67, The mitigation module 138 processes input signals 156, 158, 160, 162, 183 and generate alert occupant to reduce motion sickness, para 61, FIG. 6, process 400 determines occupant state, and alerts sensory mismatch of sensed vehicle movements, to reduce or avoid onset of motion sickness (i.e., generate motion sickness reduction information), para 52, process 200 predicts that occupant will experience motion sickness based on results of steps 220, 222 and 224, claim 6, processor calculate motion sickness value based on vehicle state signals and vehicle motion sickness value is indicative of occupant motion sickness (i.e., based on the determined motion sickness state)); and
a driving unit located in the moving device (Fig. 1, 2, vehicle 20, sensing system 24, controller 28, actuator system 30, vehicle state system 32, occupant state system 34, motion sickness mitigation system 22) and configured to provide visual or tactile perception of the passenger based on the generated motion sickness reduction information (para 62, output device of motion sickness mitigation system 22 presents information in visual, audible, tactile/haptic, or other form, para 63, alert an occupant, a visual message may be provided to the occupant, para 68, when motion sickness is predicted or likely, motion sickness mitigation system 22 alerts the occupant to avoid or alleviate motion sickness, para 67, By alerting occupant, onset of motion sickness is reduced or avoided, para 22, processor evaluates states of occupant selects visual display, audible display and haptic display system based on the gaze).
Wan specifically fails to disclose a behavior information acquisition unit configured to collect real-time driving information of the moving device from at least one sensor of the moving device.
In analogous art, MORIURA discloses a behavior information acquisition unit configured to collect real-time driving information of the moving device from at least one sensor of the moving device (para 02, a motion sickness reduction apparatus induces a quasi-driver head motion to a passenger in a moving vehicle, para 18, triggering onset of travel sickness for the person 200, suffering travel sickness at the current point in time (i.e., real time), para 22, moving vehicle information includes behavior information indicating the behavior of the moving vehicle (car 100) and information indicating internal space (inside the body 101) of moving vehicle (car 100), para 55, estimation unit 412 acquires moving vehicle information including behavior information (about car's 100 traveling direction), para 123, travel sickness estimation system (10) further includes a communications unit (42) configured to communicate with a data center (50) that collects information about travel sickness ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of motion sickness mitigation includes activating a display to alert the occupant to an upcoming vehicle maneuver to avoid a mismatch between sensed movements of the vehicle by the occupant disclosed by Wan to use travel sickness estimation system which are configured or designed to estimate the chances of triggering the onset of travel sickness as taught by MORIURA to include travel sickness estimation system which urging the person to take precautions to prevent the travel sickness or processing of preventing the person from suffering travel sickness to be performed and to travel sickness estimation system reduces onset of travel sickness. [MORIURA, para 018].
Regarding claim 2, Wan discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the state information acquisition unit is further configured to collect state information of each of a plurality of passengers riding in the moving device (para 63, visual display system 106 is located to be readily viewed by a seated occupant. For example, for front seat occupants, for rear seat occupants), and wherein processor is further configured to determine a motion sickness state of each of the plurality of passengers based on the collected state information, and individually generate the motion sickness reduction information (para 37, vehicle 20 includes a motion sickness mitigation system 22 for predicting and/or mitigating motion sickness of occupants of the vehicle 20).
Regarding claim 3, Wan discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the driving unit comprises: a display configured to output the real-time driving information of the moving device so that the real-time driving information is visually recognizable by the passenger; and an air conditioner located below the display and configured to blow air toward the passenger (para 51, process 200 proceeds to steps 220, 222 and 224 to collect information for real time motion sickness, para 40, The controller 28, support operations and functions of additional vehicle systems 38 include heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system 100, visual display system 106, a haptic display system 108, para 58, mitigation module 138 provides a cabin condition signal 176 to adjust cabin conditions to mitigate motion sickness may alter operation of HVAC system 100 to change airflow or may be reduced and/or the airflow may be increased).
Regarding claim 4, Wan fails to discloses the system according to claim 3, wherein the motion sickness reduction information generated by the processor comprises an augmented reality image that reflects the real-time driving information of the moving device, and wherein the display outputs the augmented reality image.
In analogous art, MORIURA discloses the system according to claim 3, wherein the motion sickness reduction information generated by the processor comprises an augmented reality image that reflects the real-time driving information of the moving device, and wherein the display outputs the augmented reality image (para 02, a motion sickness reduction apparatus induces a quasi-driver head motion to a passenger in a moving vehicle, para 18, triggering onset of travel sickness for the person 200, suffering travel sickness at the current point in time (i.e., real time), para 105, travel sickness estimation system 10 provided for a system that uses virtual environment (such as an augmented reality (AR) or a virtual reality (VR), para 34, systems 32 include a 3D head-up display (HUD), to display information by projecting a virtual image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of motion sickness mitigation includes activating a display to alert the occupant to an upcoming vehicle maneuver to avoid a mismatch between sensed movements of the vehicle by the occupant disclosed by Wan to use travel sickness estimation system which are configured or designed to estimate the chances of triggering the onset of travel sickness as taught by MORIURA to include travel sickness estimation system which urging the person to take precautions to prevent the travel sickness and to provide to a system that uses virtual environment (such as an augmented reality (AR) or a virtual reality (VR) to reduce motion sickness of moving vehicle [MORIURA, para 018].
Regarding claim 5, Wan discloses the system according to claim 3, wherein each of a plurality of displays is arranged in one direction, and wherein each of the plurality of displays is individually driven (para 63, FIG. 7, visual displays system 106, such as one with a liquid crystal displays or video screen/projection, included as displays device in vehicle 20 for perception by occupant, para 64, haptic displays system 108 is located for perception by occupant, in a seat 474).
Regarding claim 6, Wan discloses the system according to claim 5, wherein each of a plurality of air conditioners is arranged in one direction, and wherein each of the plurality of air conditioners is individually driven (para 51, driving induced motion sickness prediction module 134 through cabin conditions signal 156 supplied by vehicle systems 38 or sensors 80. cabin temperature, airflow rates supplied by HVAC system 100).
Regarding claim 7, Wan discloses the system according to claim 6, wherein the plurality of air conditioners changes at least one of a direction, temperature, or intensity of the air being ejected (para 40, interface 98 to receive inputs from an occupant such as temperature, aroma and lighting, para 48, occupant provide information such as temperature, aroma and lighting preferences for mitigation measures, para 51, driving induced motion sickness prediction module 134 through cabin conditions signal 156 supplied by vehicle systems 38 and/or sensors 80, cabin temperature, and airflow rates may be supplied by the HVAC system 100).
Regarding claim 8, Wan discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the state information acquisition unit comprises a wearable biosensor allowed to be worn by the passenger, and wherein the biosensor acquires and monitors a biosignal of at least one of EEG, heart rate, electrocardiogram, or pulse of the passenger (para 40, biometric sensors for sensing biological features of occupant, para 51, biometric information of occupant supplied by biometric sensors 90, point of gaze, head movement, para 16, MSV.sub.o calculated using occupant's heart rate, respiration rate, skin temperature, blood pressure and facial expression).
Regarding claim 9, Wan discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the state information acquisition unit comprises a camera located in the moving device, and wherein the state information acquisition unit is further configured to photograph and monitor position and temperature changes of the passenger (para 23, A camera observes an occupant and provides a visual signal representative of the occupant, para 66, module 136 reads the occupant state input signal 160 and evaluates the state of the occupant. Using input, such as from the motion sensors 92 and the camera 94,).
Regarding claim 10, Wan discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the moving device comprises a vehicle that is movable on land and water (para 02, Motion sickness may occur when a person is carried by a moving object such as a ground vehicle, plane, boat, or other by other means of transport, para 37, vehicle 20 may be a plane, boat or other type of mobile device).
Regarding claim 11, Wan discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor of the moving device comprises at least one of an acceleration sensor, a brake sensor, a tilt sensor, a yaw/pitch/roll sensor, a steering angle sensor, a GPS sensor, or any combination thereof (para 40, controller 28 receive information from sensors, steering angle sensor 49, roll, pitch, and yaw sensor(s) 51, wheel speed sensors, various sensors for propulsion system 44, vehicle speed sensor, temperature sensors, position sensors, etc., para 53, motion sickness value associated with vehicle states (MSV.sub.v) is calculated from vehicle state input signal 158, accelerations of x, y, and z axis, and roll, pitch, and yaw, using vehicle state input signal 158 supplied by acceleration/deceleration sensors 82 and roll, pitch and yaw sensor(s) 51).
Regarding claim 12, Wan discloses a method of reducing motion sickness of a passenger in a moving device (Fig. 1, para 61, sensed vehicle movements, to reduce or avoid the onset of motion sickness by notifying the occupant, para 67, By alerting occupant onset of motion sickness is reduced or avoided, para 37, vehicle 20 includes a motion sickness mitigation system 22 for mitigation motion sickness of occupants of vehicle 20), the method comprising:
collecting state information of the passenger; collecting real-time driving information of the moving device from at least one sensor located in the moving device (Fig.3, collect vehicle state information 222, collect occupant state information 224, sickness prediction module 134, occupant state input signal 160, para 18, sensing devices monitor conditions (i.e. state information) and conditions state value (C) which is indicative of that occupant experience motion sickness, para 52, data and information is collected and predicts occupant will experience motion sickness, para 48, occupant profile 148 built using information - health conditions, motion sickness and mitigation preferences and information data obtained in real time (i.e. collect information), para 51, motion sickness mitigation system 22 monitor for indications of occupant motion sickness, at steps 220, 222 and 224 to collect information for real time motion sickness, based on maneuvers and occupant's susceptibility to motion sickness (i.e, collect real-time driving information));
determining a motion sickness state of the passenger based on the collected state information and the collected real-time driving information (para 15, occupant state input signal is delivered the processor by occupant state devices which represents state of the occupant, para 42, controller 28 process information and provide commands based to motion sickness state by mitigation system 22, para 18, processor calculates condition state value (C) where C is indicative occupant motion sickness, para 61, FIG. 6, a process 400 determines occupant state, and alerts sensory mismatch of sensed vehicle movements (i.e., determine motion sickness state), para 51, process 200 proceeds to steps 220, 222 and 224- (occupant states information) to collect information for real-time motion sickness by the vehicle 20 (i.e., real-time driving information para 52, data and information is collected at steps 220, 222 and 224 and detect occupant experience motion sickness in the current trip (i.e, during driving));
generating motion sickness reduction information for reducing motion sickness of the passenger based on the determined motion sickness state (para 44, processor 114 generate control signals for system 30, para 67, The mitigation module 138 processes input signals 156, 158, 160, 162, 183 and generate alert occupant to reduce motion sickness, para 61, FIG. 6, a process 400 determines occupant state, and alerts sensory mismatch of sensed vehicle movements, to reduce or avoid onset of motion sickness (i.e., generate motion sickness reduction information), para 52, process 200 predicts that occupant will experience motion sickness based on results of steps 220, 222 and 224, claim 6, processor calculate motion sickness value based on vehicle state signals and vehicle motion sickness value is indicative of occupant motion sickness (i.e., based on the determined motion sickness state)); and
providing visual or tactile perception of the passenger based on the generated motion sickness reduction information (para 62, output device of motion sickness mitigation system 22 presents information in visual, audible, tactile/haptic, or other form, para 63, alert an occupant, a visual message may be provided to the occupant, para 68, when motion sickness is predicted or likely, motion sickness mitigation system 22 alerts the occupant to avoid or alleviate motion sickness, para 67, By alerting occupant, onset of motion sickness is reduced or avoided, para 22, processor evaluates states of occupant selects visual display, and haptic display system based on the gaze).
Even though Wan discloses reducing motion sickness of a passenger in a moving device based driving information of the moving device [61, 67].
In analogous art, MORIURA more specifically discloses reducing motion sickness of a passenger in a moving device based driving information of the moving device (para02, motion sickness reduction apparatus induces a quasi-driver head motion to a passenger in a moving vehicle, para 18, triggering onset of travel sickness for the person 200, suffering travel sickness at the current point in time (i.e., real time), para 55, estimation unit 412 acquires moving vehicle information including behavior information (about car's 100 traveling direction, para 123, travel sickness estimation system (10) further includes a communications unit (42) configured to communicate with a data center (50) that collects information about travel sickness ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of motion sickness mitigation includes activating a display to alert the occupant to an upcoming vehicle maneuver to avoid a mismatch between sensed movements of the vehicle by the occupant disclosed by Wan to use travel sickness estimation system which are configured or designed to estimate the chances of triggering the onset of travel sickness as taught by MORIURA to include travel sickness estimation system which urging the person to take precautions to prevent the travel sickness or processing of preventing the person from suffering travel sickness to be performed and to travel sickness estimation system reduces onset of travel sickness. [MORIURA, para 018].
Regarding claim 13, Wan discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the collecting of the state information comprises collecting state information of each of a plurality of passengers riding in the moving device (Fig.3, collect vehicle state information 222, collect occupant state information 224, sickness prediction module 134, occupant state input signal 160, para 18, sensing devices monitor conditions (i.e. state information) and conditions state value (C) which is indicative of that occupant experience motion sickness, para 52, data and information is collected and predicts occupant will experience motion sickness), and
wherein the generating of the motion sickness reduction information comprises:
determining a motion sickness state of each of the plurality of passengers based on the collected state information; and individually generating the motion sickness reduction information (para 67, mitigation module 138 processes signals 156, 158, 160, 162, 183 and generate alert occupant to reduce motion sickness, para 61, FIG. 6, a process 400 determines occupant state, and alerts sensory mismatch of sensed vehicle movements, to reduce or avoid onset of motion sickness (i.e., generate motion sickness reduction information), para 52, process 200 predicts that occupant will experience motion sickness based on results of steps 220, 222 and 224).
Regarding claim 14, Wan discloses a system for reducing motion sickness of a passenger in a vehicle (Fig. 1, para 61, sensed vehicle movements, to reduce or avoid the onset of motion sickness by notifying the occupant, para 67, By alerting occupant onset of motion sickness is reduced or avoided, para 37, vehicle 20 includes a motion sickness mitigation system 22 for mitigation motion sickness of occupants of the vehicle 20), the system comprising:
a first sensor configured to collect state information of the passenger (Fig.3, collect vehicle state information 222, collect occupant state information 224, sickness prediction module 134, occupant state input signal 160, para 52, data and information is collected and predicts occupant will experience motion sickness, para 48, occupant profile 148 built using information - health conditions, motion sickness and mitigation preferences and information data obtained in real time (i.e. collect information), para 51, biometric information of occupant supplied by biometric sensors 90, information on facial expression, point of gaze, head movement, para 16, MSV.sub.o is calculated using and occupant's heart rate, respiration rate, skin resistance, skin temperature, blood pressure and facial expression);
a second sensor configured to collect real-time driving information of the moving device (para 40, controller 28 receive information from sensors, which include steering angle sensor 49, roll, pitch, and yaw sensor(s) 51, wheel speed sensors, various sensors for the propulsion system 44, a vehicle speed sensor, various temperature sensors, position sensors, etc, para 51, at steps 220, 222 and 224- (occupant states information) to collect information for real-time motion sickness by the vehicle 20 (i.e., real-time driving information), para 52, process 200 predicts that occupant will experience motion sickness based on results of steps 220, 222 and 224);
a display in the moving device (FIG. 7, visual display system for the motion sickness mitigation system, visual display system 106, a haptic display system 108); and a processor configured to: determine a motion sickness state of the passenger based on the collected state information and the collected real-time driving information (para 15, occupant state input signal is delivered the processor by occupant state devices which represents state of the occupant, para 42, controller 28 process information and provide commands based to motion sickness state by mitigation system 22, para 18, processor calculates condition state value (C) where C is indicative occupant motion sickness, para 61, FIG. 6, a process 400 determines occupant state, and alerts sensory mismatch of sensed vehicle movements (i.e., determine motion sickness state), para 22, occupant state input signal represents states of the occupant and processor evaluates states of occupant (i.e., determine a motion state), para 51, process 200 proceeds to steps 220, 222 and 224- (occupant states information) to collect information for real-time motion sickness by the vehicle 20 (i.e., real-time driving information), para 50, A determination is made as to whether occupant experience motion sickness, determination of motion sickness from collected data);
generate motion sickness reduction information for reducing motion sickness of the passenger based on the determined motion sickness state (para 44, processor 114 generate control signals for system 30, para 67, The mitigation module 138 processes input signals 156, 158, 160, 162, 183 and generate alert occupant to reduce motion sickness, para 61, FIG. 6, a process 400 determines occupant state, and alerts sensory mismatch of sensed vehicle movements, to reduce or avoid onset of motion sickness (i.e., generate motion sickness reduction information), para 52, process 200 predicts that occupant will experience motion sickness based on results of steps 220, 222 and 224, claim 6, processor calculate motion sickness value based on vehicle state signals and vehicle motion sickness value is indicative of occupant motion sickness (i.e., based on the determined motion sickness state)); and
control the display to provide visual or tactile perception of the passenger based on the generated motion sickness reduction information (para 62, output device of motion sickness mitigation system 22 presents information in visual, audible, tactile/haptic, or other form, para 63, alert an occupant, a visual message may be provided to the occupant, para 68, when motion sickness is predicted or likely, motion sickness mitigation system 22 alerts the occupant to avoid or alleviate motion sickness, para 67, By alerting the occupant to upcoming vehicle movements, the onset of motion sickness is reduced or avoided, para 22, processor evaluates states of occupant selects visual display, audible display and haptic display system based on the gaze).
Even though Wan discloses reducing motion sickness of a passenger in a moving device based driving information of the moving device [61, 67].
In analogous art, MORIURA more specifically discloses reducing motion sickness of a passenger in a moving device based driving information of the moving device (para02, motion sickness reduction apparatus induces a quasi-driver head motion to a passenger in a moving vehicle, para 18, triggering onset of travel sickness for the person 200, suffering travel sickness at the current point in time (i.e., real time), para 55, estimation unit 412 acquires moving vehicle information including behavior information (about car's 100 traveling direction, para 123, travel sickness estimation system (10) further includes a communications unit (42) configured to communicate with a data center (50) that collects information about travel sickness).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of motion sickness mitigation includes activating a display to alert the occupant to an upcoming vehicle maneuver to avoid a mismatch between sensed movements of the vehicle by the occupant disclosed by Wan to use travel sickness estimation system which are configured or designed to estimate the chances of triggering the onset of travel sickness as taught by MORIURA to include travel sickness estimation system which urging the person to take precautions to prevent the travel sickness or processing of preventing the person from suffering travel sickness to be performed and to travel sickness estimation system reduces onset of travel sickness. [MORIURA, para 018].
Regarding claim 15, Wan discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the vehicle comprises at least one of an off-road vehicle, a tracked vehicle, a hovercraft, or an aircraft (para 02, Motion sickness may occur when a person is carried by a moving object such as a ground vehicle, plane, boat, or other by other means of transport, para 37, vehicle 20 may be a plane, boat or other type of mobile device).
Regarding claim 16, Wan discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the first sensor comprises at least one of a biosensor, a wearable sensor, a camera, or any combination thereof (para 40, occupant state devices 88 include biometric sensors 90 for sensing biological features of an occupant, para 51, biometric information of occupant supplied by biometric sensors 90, information on facial expression, point of gaze, head movement, occupant's personal electronic device(s) PED 99 to obtain data on the occupant, and an interface 98 to receive inputs from an occupant such as temperature, aroma and lighting preferences., para 16, MSV.sub.o is calculated using and occupant's heart rate, respiration rate, skin resistance, skin temperature, blood pressure, para 60, occupant wearable device 109 such as a PED or a wristband through which they may receive alerts.).
Regarding claim 17, Wan discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the second sensor comprises at least one of an acceleration sensor, a brake sensor, a tilt sensor, a yaw/pitch/roll sensor, a steering angle sensor, a GPS sensor, or any combination thereof (para 50, vehicle behavior changes, e.g. stop-and-go, turns, lane changes; the duration of the upcoming current trip is longer (e.g. from GPS); and/or the route profile/environmental situation from steps 210, 212, para 40, controller 28 may receive information from any number of additional sensors, steering angle sensor 49, roll, pitch, and yaw sensor(s) 51, wheel speed sensors, various sensors for propulsion system 44, a vehicle speed sensor, various temperature sensors, position sensors, etc.,).
Conclusion
/MIRZA F ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688