DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to U.S. Patent Application No.: 18/977,404 filed on 12/11/2024 with effective filing date 10/4/2010. Claims 1-19 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable overs claims 1-19 of US 12,225,223, claims 1-19 of US 11,223,839 and claims 1-16 of 11,706,430. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Current application
US 12,225,223
1. A video decoding method, comprising: decoding integrated code block information; decoding split information based on the integrated code block information and size information for a transform block; and decoding code block information for the transform block in a case that the transform block is not additionally split based on the split information, wherein the code block information is decoded based on the integrated code block information,
and the code block information for the transform block comprises luminance code block information for a luminance signal of the transform block.
1. A video decoding method, comprising: decoding integrated code block information; decoding a split information based on the integrated code block information and size information for a transform block; and decoding code block information for the transform block in a case that the transform block is not additionally split based on the split information, wherein the code block information is decoded based on the integrated code block information,
and wherein the code block information for the transform block comprises a luminance code block information for a luminance signal of the transform block.
7. A video encoding method, comprising: encoding integrated code block information; encoding split information based on the integrated code block information and size information for a transform block; and encoding code block information for the transform block in a case that the transform block is not additionally split based on the split information, wherein the code block information is encoded based on the integrated code block information, and the code block information for the transform block comprises luminance code block information for a luminance signal of the transform block.
7. A video encoding method, comprising: encoding integrated code block information; encoding split information based on the integrated code block information and size information for a transform block; and encoding code block information for the transform block in a case that the transform block is not additionally split based on the split information, wherein the code block information is encoded based on the integrated code block information, and wherein the code block information for the transform block comprises a luminance code block information for a luminance signal of the transform block.
14. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream comprising: integrated code block information, wherein the bitstream includes split information in a case that a value of the integrated code block information is equal to a predetermined value and a size of a transform block corresponds to a predetermined range, code block information for the transform block is present in the bitstream in a case that the transform block is not additionally split based on the split information, whether to the transform block is additionally split is determined based on a value of a split information, the code block information is decoded based on the integrated code block information, and the code block information for the transform block comprises luminance code block information for a luminance signal of the transform block.
14. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream comprising: integrated code block information, wherein the bitstream includes a split information in a case that a value of the integrated code block information is equal to a predetermined value and a size of a transform block corresponds to a predetermined range, wherein code block information for the transform block is present in the bitstream in a case that the transform block is not additionally split based on the split information, whether to the transform block is additionally split is determined based on a value of a split information, wherein the code block information is decoded based on the integrated code block information, and wherein the code block information for the transform block comprises a luminance code block information for a luminance signal of the transform block.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
5. Claim 1-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jung et al. US 2011/0038412 A1 in view of Sasai et al. US 2013/0156099 A1.
Per claims 1, 7 & 13-14, Jung et al. discloses a video decoding method, comprising: decoding integrated code block information (para: 109-110, e.g. decoder receives encoded data and extracts encoded image data for each coding unit); decoding split information based on the integrated code block information and size information for a transform block (para: 185, e.g. if the flag=0 than result is element 1342, and if flag=1 result is element 1344 in fig. 13); TU size flag is split into plurality of blocks, hence frame is divided into plurality of blocks).
Jung et al. fails to explicitly disclose the remaining claim limitation.
Sasai et al. however in the same field of endeavor teaches decoding code block information for the transform block in a case that the transform block is not additionally split based on the split information, wherein the code block information is decoded based on the integrated code block information (para: 151 & fig. 11, e.g. when it is determined that the current CU to be decoded does not have the size of minimum quantization unit (No in Step S3), the image decoding apparatus 2000 further determines whether or not the flag of the current CU to be decoded (split_coding_unit flag) is zero and the size of the current CU to be decoded is larger than the size of minimum quantization unit (Step S5)), and the code block information for the transform block comprises luminance code block information for a luminance signal of the transform block (para: 153, e.g. the image decoding apparatus 2000 determines, by summing coded_block_flag (CBF) in each TU in the quartered processing unit, whether or not the TU for luminance and chrominance included in the current TU to be decoded is coded (Steps S11 and S12)).
Therefore, in view of disclosures by Sasai et al., it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine Jung et al. and Sasai et al. in order to improve image quality and encoding efficiency for decoding the encoded stream generated by encoded image can be improved by image decoding process.
Per claims 2, 8, & 15, Jung et al. further teaches the video decoding method of claim 1, wherein the split information is not decoded in a case that transform coefficients of the transform block are not present in a bitstream (para: 151 & fig. 11, e.g. when it is determined that the current CU to be decoded does not have the size of minimum quantization unit (No in Step S3), the image decoding apparatus 2000 further determines whether or not the flag of the current CU to be decoded (split_coding_unit flag) is zero and the size of the current CU to be decoded is larger than the size of minimum quantization unit (Step S5)).
Per claims 3, 9 & 16, Jung et al. further teaches the video decoding method of claim 1, wherein the code block information for the transform block comprises chrominance code block information for a chrominance signal of the transform block (para: 153, e.g. the image decoding apparatus 2000 determines, by summing coded_block_flag (CBF) in each TU in the quartered processing unit, whether or not the TU for luminance and chrominance included in the current TU to be decoded is coded (Steps S11 and S12)).
Per claims 4, 10, & 17 Jung et al. further teaches the video decoding method of claim 1, wherein the split information is not decoded in a case that a size of the transform block is not greater than a predetermined size (para: 151).
Per claims 5, 11, & 18 Sasai et al. further teaches the video decoding method of claim 1, wherein: the integrated code block information indicates whether transform coefficients of a luminance component and transform coefficients of a chrominance component of the transform block are present in a bitstream (para: 153).
Per claims 6, 12, & 19 Jung et al. further teaches the video decoding method of claim 1, wherein the code block information indicates whether there is at least one transform coefficient other than 0 in the transform block (para: 188-189, e.g. para: 188-189, e.g. depending on if flag=0 or 1, blocks are decoded and split in plurality of blocks).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. US 2009/0232204 A1, e.g. a first transform coefficient having an absolute
value greater than a predetermined threshold value exists in the transform coefficients in the current block, generating first flag information indicating whether the first transform coefficient exists, dividing the first transform coefficient from information of a second transform coefficient.
Srinivasan, US 2009/026835 A1, e.g. an encoder and decoder process the binary information and, in some embodiments, switch coding modes. For example, the encoder and decoder use normal, row-skip, column-skip, or differential modes, or other and/or additional modes.
Nguyen et al. US 2013/0188735 A1, e.g. methods of encoding and decoding for video data are described for encoding or decoding coefficients for a transform unit; the significant-coefficient flags for a coefficient group are encoded and decoded based upon a context determination, and the context is determined based upon the values of neighboring flags.
/Irfan Habib/Examiner, Art Unit 2485