DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tao et al. (hereinafter Tao) (US 2022/0027099 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Tao discloses an association storage section that stores a sheet profile and identification information for identifying a tray to accommodate sheets in association with each other (The storage 5 stores therein paper feed stage setting information 52 in which a given paper profile is associated as the paper profile with one recording paper tray 7 of the recording paper trays 7. The paper sensor (paper size sensor 71, paper class detection sensor 73) detects information about the recording paper housed in each of the recording paper trays 7., par. 62); and a hardware processor (Fig. 1, controller 10), wherein the hardware processor: accepts selection of at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information (As illustrated in FIG. 2, the paper feed stage setting information 52 is information in which the recording paper trays 7a to 7n that are paper feed stages are associated with the paper profiles of the recording paper housed in a corresponding one of the recording paper trays 7a to 7n. Note that it is possible for the user to manually associate settings (referred to as manual setting in the following) of an attribute value group to each paper feed stage in the paper feed stage setting information 52. Additionally, either a paper profile or a manual setting can be associated with each paper feed stage in the paper feed stage setting information 52. Accordingly, a paper feed stage (recording paper tray 7b) that is not associated with a paper profile is associated with a manual setting. In other words, a manual setting is valid only when a paper profile is not associated with a paper feed stage. When a paper profile is associated with a paper feed stage, the image forming section 6 performs advanced printing based on the paper profile. When a manual setting is associated with a paper feed stage, the image forming section 6 performs simple printing based on the manual setting., par. 22); and registers the at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information that is accepted in association with the tray (Note that it is possible for the user to manually associate settings (referred to as manual setting in the following) of an attribute value group to each paper feed stage in the paper feed stage setting information 52. Additionally, either a paper profile or a manual setting can be associated with each paper feed stage in the paper feed stage setting information 52.; When a manual setting is associated with a paper feed stage, the image forming section 6 performs simple printing based on the manual setting., par. 22 and When a manual setting is received as the associated setting in Step S109, the paper feed stage setting section 11 receives the manual setting of an attribute value group manually set by the user (Step S110). By updating the paper feed stage setting information 52 using the received manual setting, the paper feed stage setting section 11 then associates the received manual setting with the recording paper tray 7 (Step S111) and the conformity confirmation operation ends., par. 45).
Regarding claim 2: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Tao further discloses wherein the hardware processor (Fig. 1, controller 10) registers, based on association of the sheet profile and the identification information stored in the association storage section (The storage 5 stores therein paper feed stage setting information 52 in which a given paper profile is associated as the paper profile with one recording paper tray 7 of the recording paper trays 7. The paper sensor (paper size sensor 71, paper class detection sensor 73) detects information about the recording paper housed in each of the recording paper trays 7., par. 62), the sheet profile and the identification information in association with the tray corresponding to the sheet profile and the identification information (Through this configuration, an appropriate paper profile can be associated with each recording paper tray 7 in a simple operation., par. 63).
Regarding claim 3: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Tao further discloses wherein the hardware processor (The controller 10 functions as a paper feed stage setting section 11, a paper feed stage selecting section 12, and a type converting section 13., par. 33) specifies the tray corresponding to the identification information based on the at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information that is accepted, thereby setting the at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information that is accepted to the specified tray (Note that it is possible for the user to manually associate settings (referred to as manual setting in the following) of an attribute value group to each paper feed stage in the paper feed stage setting information 52. Additionally, either a paper profile or a manual setting can be associated with each paper feed stage in the paper feed stage setting information 52.; When a manual setting is associated with a paper feed stage, the image forming section 6 performs simple printing based on the manual setting., par. 22 and When a manual setting is received as the associated setting in Step S109, the paper feed stage setting section 11 receives the manual setting of an attribute value group manually set by the user (Step S110). By updating the paper feed stage setting information 52 using the received manual setting, the paper feed stage setting section 11 then associates the received manual setting with the recording paper tray 7 (Step S111) and the conformity confirmation operation ends., par. 45).
Regarding claim 4: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Tao further discloses wherein a pair of the sheet profile and the identification information (Fig. 2) that is stored in the association storage section in association includes a plurality of pairs of sheet profiles and identification information pieces (The storage 5 stores therein paper feed stage setting information 52 in which a given paper profile is associated as the paper profile with one recording paper tray 7 of the recording paper trays 7. The paper sensor (paper size sensor 71, paper class detection sensor 73) detects information about the recording paper housed in each of the recording paper trays 7., par. 62), wherein the hardware processor (Fig. 1, controller 10) registers at least one of the pairs of sheet profiles and identification information pieces that are accepted in association with a tray (As illustrated in FIG. 2, the paper feed stage setting information 52 is information in which the recording paper trays 7a to 7n that are paper feed stages are associated with the paper profiles of the recording paper housed in a corresponding one of the recording paper trays 7a to 7n. , par. 22).
Regarding claim 5: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Tao further discloses wherein upon accepting at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information registered in association with the tray (Fig. 3B, S109-S111), the hardware processor (Fig. 1, controller 10) loads at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information for the tray (When a manual setting is received as the associated setting in Step S109, the paper feed stage setting section 11 receives the manual setting of an attribute value group manually set by the user (Step S110). By updating the paper feed stage setting information 52 using the received manual setting, the paper feed stage setting section 11 then associates the received manual setting with the recording paper tray 7 (Step S111) and the conformity confirmation operation ends., par. 45).
Regarding claim 6: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Tao further discloses wherein the hardware processor registers at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information in association (Note that it is possible for the user to manually associate settings (referred to as manual setting in the following) of an attribute value group to each paper feed stage in the paper feed stage setting information 52. Additionally, either a paper profile or a manual setting can be associated with each paper feed stage in the paper feed stage setting information 52.; When a manual setting is associated with a paper feed stage, the image forming section 6 performs simple printing based on the manual setting., par. 22 and When a manual setting is received as the associated setting in Step S109, the paper feed stage setting section 11 receives the manual setting of an attribute value group manually set by the user (Step S110). By updating the paper feed stage setting information 52 using the received manual setting, the paper feed stage setting section 11 then associates the received manual setting with the recording paper tray 7 (Step S111) and the conformity confirmation operation ends., par. 45) with information on a job (Upon receiving a printing instruction in which no paper feed stage is specified, the paper feed stage selecting section 12 performs a paper feed selection operation to select a paper feed stage in which recording paper corresponding to a setting value included in the print job of the printing instruction is housed., par. 35) when the sheet profile and the identification information are stored in association with each other in the association storage section (The storage 5 stores therein paper feed stage setting information 52 in which a given paper profile is associated as the paper profile with one recording paper tray 7 of the recording paper trays 7. The paper sensor (paper size sensor 71, paper class detection sensor 73) detects information about the recording paper housed in each of the recording paper trays 7., par. 62) or when the hardware processor registers at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information in association with the tray (Through this configuration, an appropriate paper profile can be associated with each recording paper tray 7 in a simple operation., par. 63).
Regarding claim 7: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 6. Tao further discloses wherein upon accepting the information on the job registered (Through this configuration, an appropriate paper profile can be associated with each recording paper tray 7 in a simple operation., par. 63) by the hardware processor (Fig. 1, controller 10), the hardware processor (Fig. 1, controller 10) loads at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information for the tray (Upon receiving a printing instruction for the simple printing, the paper feed stage selecting section 12 uses the paper type converted by the type converting section 13 to select a recording paper tray 7 corresponding to a setting value included in a print job from the recording paper trays 7a to 7n regardless of whether or not any paper profile is associated. The paper feed stage selecting section 12 then performs simple printing., par. 60).
Regarding claim 8: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Tao further discloses wherein the sheet profile is a profile in which a sheet and an attribute of the sheet read by a sensor are associated with each other (The paper sensor (paper size sensor 71, paper class detection sensor 73) detects information about the recording paper housed in each of the recording paper trays 7. The open-close detection sensor 72 detects an opening or closing operation of each of the recording paper trays 7. When the open-close detection sensor 72 detects the opening or closing operation of a recording paper tray 7 of the recording paper trays 7, the paper feed stage setting section 11 updates the paper feed stage setting information 52 using a paper profile specified by the information about the recording paper in the recording paper tray detected by the paper sensor., par. 64).
Regarding claim 9: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Tao further discloses wherein the hardware processor registers at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information based on a conveyance path along which a sheet is conveyed when the sheet profile and the identification information are stored in association with each other in the association storage section (The storage 5 stores therein paper feed stage setting information 52 in which a given paper profile is associated as the paper profile with one recording paper tray 7 of the recording paper trays 7. The paper sensor (paper size sensor 71, paper class detection sensor 73) detects information about the recording paper housed in each of the recording paper trays 7., par. 62) or when the hardware processor registers at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information in association with the tray (Fig. 2 and Through this configuration, an appropriate paper profile can be associated with each recording paper tray 7 in a simple operation., par. 63).
Regarding claim 10: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Tao further discloses wherein the hardware processor registers information on a registrant in association when associating the at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information that is accepted to the tray (The storage 5 stores therein paper feed stage setting information 52 in which either a paper profile or a manual setting as an attribute value group manually set by a user is associated with each of the recording paper trays 7a to 7n. The paper feed stage selecting section 12 selects a recording paper tray 7 from the recording paper trays 7a to 7n from which the recording paper is to be fed to the image forming section 6 based on a printing instruction. By referring to the paper feed stage setting information, the paper feed stage selecting section 12 notifies the image forming section 6 of the specific paper profile associated with the selected recording paper tray 7 and causes the image forming section 6 to perform the advanced printing., par. 58).
Regarding claim 11: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Tao further discloses wherein the hardware processor registers the at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information that is accepted in association with the tray (Note that it is possible for the user to manually associate settings (referred to as manual setting in the following) of an attribute value group to each paper feed stage in the paper feed stage setting information 52. Additionally, either a paper profile or a manual setting can be associated with each paper feed stage in the paper feed stage setting information 52.; When a manual setting is associated with a paper feed stage, the image forming section 6 performs simple printing based on the manual setting., par. 22 and When a manual setting is received as the associated setting in Step S109, the paper feed stage setting section 11 receives the manual setting of an attribute value group manually set by the user (Step S110). By updating the paper feed stage setting information 52 using the received manual setting, the paper feed stage setting section 11 then associates the received manual setting with the recording paper tray 7 (Step S111) and the conformity confirmation operation ends., par. 45) after completion of a job which is executed with the sheet profile and the identification information being stored in association with each other in the association storage section (Fig. 3B, S108-S111).
Regarding claim 13: Tao discloses an association storage section that stores first information in which a sheet profile and identification information for identifying a tray to accommodate sheets are stored in association with each other (The storage 5 stores therein paper feed stage setting information 52 in which a given paper profile is associated as the paper profile with one recording paper tray 7 of the recording paper trays 7. The paper sensor (paper size sensor 71, paper class detection sensor 73) detects information about the recording paper housed in each of the recording paper trays 7., par. 62); and a hardware processor (Fig. 1, controller 10), wherein the hardware processor: accepts selection of the first information stored in the association storage section (As illustrated in FIG. 2, the paper feed stage setting information 52 is information in which the recording paper trays 7a to 7n that are paper feed stages are associated with the paper profiles of the recording paper housed in a corresponding one of the recording paper trays 7a to 7n. Note that it is possible for the user to manually associate settings (referred to as manual setting in the following) of an attribute value group to each paper feed stage in the paper feed stage setting information 52. Additionally, either a paper profile or a manual setting can be associated with each paper feed stage in the paper feed stage setting information 52. Accordingly, a paper feed stage (recording paper tray 7b) that is not associated with a paper profile is associated with a manual setting. In other words, a manual setting is valid only when a paper profile is not associated with a paper feed stage. When a paper profile is associated with a paper feed stage, the image forming section 6 performs advanced printing based on the paper profile. When a manual setting is associated with a paper feed stage, the image forming section 6 performs simple printing based on the manual setting., par. 22); and registers the tray corresponding to the sheet profile included in the first information in association with the sheet profile included in the first information, the first information being accepted by the hardware processor (Note that it is possible for the user to manually associate settings (referred to as manual setting in the following) of an attribute value group to each paper feed stage in the paper feed stage setting information 52. Additionally, either a paper profile or a manual setting can be associated with each paper feed stage in the paper feed stage setting information 52.; When a manual setting is associated with a paper feed stage, the image forming section 6 performs simple printing based on the manual setting., par. 22 and When a manual setting is received as the associated setting in Step S109, the paper feed stage setting section 11 receives the manual setting of an attribute value group manually set by the user (Step S110). By updating the paper feed stage setting information 52 using the received manual setting, the paper feed stage setting section 11 then associates the received manual setting with the recording paper tray 7 (Step S111) and the conformity confirmation operation ends., par. 45).
Regarding claim 14: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 13. Tao further discloses wherein the first information includes a plurality of pieces of first information, wherein the hardware processor registers at least two or more of the plurality of pieces of first information as second information (Fig. 2 and As illustrated in FIG. 2, the paper feed stage setting information 52 is information in which the recording paper trays 7a to 7n that are paper feed stages are associated with the paper profiles of the recording paper housed in a corresponding one of the recording paper trays 7a to 7n., par. 22).
Regarding claim 15: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 14. Tao further discloses wherein upon accepting the first information registered by the hardware processor (Fig. 2 and As illustrated in FIG. 2, the paper feed stage setting information 52 is information in which the recording paper trays 7a to 7n that are paper feed stages are associated with the paper profiles of the recording paper housed in a corresponding one of the recording paper trays 7a to 7n., par. 22), the hardware processor loads the sheet profile included in the accepted first information for the tray corresponding to the identification information included in the accepted first information (Upon receiving a printing instruction for the simple printing, the paper feed stage selecting section 12 uses the paper type converted by the type converting section 13 to select a recording paper tray 7 corresponding to a setting value included in a print job from the recording paper trays 7a to 7n regardless of whether or not any paper profile is associated. The paper feed stage selecting section 12 then performs simple printing., par. 60).
Regarding claim 16: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 14. Tao further discloses wherein upon accepting the second information registered by the hardware processor, the hardware processor loads the sheet profile included in each of the plurality of pieces of first information (Upon receiving a printing instruction for the simple printing, the paper feed stage selecting section 12 uses the paper type converted by the type converting section 13 to select a recording paper tray 7 corresponding to a setting value included in a print job from the recording paper trays 7a to 7n regardless of whether or not any paper profile is associated. The paper feed stage selecting section 12 then performs simple printing., par. 60) included in the accepted second information to the tray corresponding to the identification information included in each of the plurality of pieces of first information included in the accepted second information (Fig. 2 and As illustrated in FIG. 2, the paper feed stage setting information 52 is information in which the recording paper trays 7a to 7n that are paper feed stages are associated with the paper profiles of the recording paper housed in a corresponding one of the recording paper trays 7a to 7n., par. 22).
Regarding claim 17: Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 1 are applicable.
Regarding claim 18: The structural elements of apparatus claim 1 perform all of the steps of method claim 1. Thus, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 19: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 18. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 1 are applicable. A non-transitory storage medium is inherently taught as evidenced by controller 10 and various memories stored therein.
Regarding claim 20: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Tao further discloses and an image forming section that forms an image on a sheet (When a paper profile is associated with a paper feed stage, the image forming section 6 performs advanced printing based on the paper profile. When a manual setting is associated with a paper feed stage, the image forming section 6 performs simple printing based on the manual setting., par. 22).
Regarding claim 21: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 20. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 4 are applicable.
Regarding claim 22: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 20. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 5 are applicable.
Regarding claim 23: Tao discloses storing in an association storage section a sheet profile and identification information for identifying a tray to accommodate sheets in association with each other; and accepting selection of at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information (The storage 5 stores therein paper feed stage setting information 52 in which a given paper profile is associated as the paper profile with one recording paper tray 7 of the recording paper trays 7. The paper sensor (paper size sensor 71, paper class detection sensor 73) detects information about the recording paper housed in each of the recording paper trays 7., par. 62); and registering the at least one of the sheet profile and the identification information that is accepted in association with the tray (The storage 5 stores therein paper feed stage setting information 52 in which a given paper profile is associated as the paper profile with one recording paper tray 7 of the recording paper trays 7. The paper sensor (paper size sensor 71, paper class detection sensor 73) detects information about the recording paper housed in each of the recording paper trays 7., par. 62).
Regarding claim 24: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 23. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 23 are applicable. A non-transitory storage medium is inherently taught as evidenced by controller 10 and various memories stored therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao in view of Negishi (JP-2023135442-A).
Regarding claim 12: Tao satisfies all the elements of claim 5. Tao further discloses wherein the hardware processor (Fig. 1, controller 10) a to 7n, par. 28) 7 in a simple operation., par. 63) based on the loading (Open-close detection sensors 72a to 72n are respectively provided in the recording paper trays 7a to 7n. The open-close detection sensors 72a to 72n are provided inside unillustrated removable cassettes and detect opening and closing operation of the trays. Replenishment or replacement of the recording paper in the recording paper trays 7a to 7n involves opening and closing operation of the trays. Accordingly, the open-close detection sensors 72a to 72n respectively detect access to the recording paper housed in the recording paper trays 7a to 7n. Note that open-close detection sensor 72 is a general term for the open-close detection sensors 72a to 72n., par. 28) by the hardware processor.
Tao fails to specifically address notifies; is to be replenished with sheets.
Negishi discloses notifies; is to be replenished with sheets (Decide whether In this case, the control unit 400 displays a screen on the display of the operation unit 502 that prompts the user to insert the sheet P into the paper type identification device 100 again. When the user confirms the reinsertion instruction using the operation unit 502, the control unit 400 returns to the process of S2 and instructs the paper type identification control unit 150 to measure the sheet P. Thereafter, the processes from S3 onwards are performed again., par. 63).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include notifies; is to be replenished with sheets in order to prompt the user to insert sheets as taught by Negishi (par. 63).
Conclusion
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664
09 September 2026