DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakano (US 2020/0104987 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Nakano discloses an inspection unit (Fig. 2, controller 10) configured to inspect an image formed on a sheet (On the basis of a print job, the controller 10 forms an image on a paper sheet S with the image former 30, and generates a scan image by reading the image formed on the paper sheet S with the reader 60. The controller 10 inspects the image formed on the paper sheet S by comparing the generated scan image with a reference image (a correct image) associated (linked) with the print job. Hereinafter, an inspection of an image formed on a paper sheet S will be simply referred to as “inspection”, par. 39); a memory configured to store an inspection result inspected by the inspection unit (Fig. 1, storage 21 and storage 21 associated with an inspection job, par. 57); and a setting unit configured to set a condition for automatically deleting the inspection result (Fig. 3, delete at end selection contained in automatic inspection settings 503).
Regarding claim 2: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Nakano further discloses wherein, in a case where a deletion condition set for automatically deleting the inspection result is met (Fig. 2, “delete at end” is selected), the setting unit is configured to request (Fig. 3, automatic inspection setting screen), for a deletion unit configured to delete the inspection result from the memory, to delete the inspection result from the memory (When the above selection is made, and an “OK” button is selected, “Newly Create” is selected, and settings are made so that a reference image to be used for inspection using the automatic inspection function is newly created. Further, as “Delete at End” is selected, settings are made so that the created reference image will be deleted from the storage 21 after execution of the inspection job., par. 57).
Regarding claim 3: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Nakano further discloses further comprising a receiving unit (Fig. 1, operation display 50) configured to receive an operation from a user (Fig. 3 and The operation display 50 includes a touch-panel display, a numeric keypad, a start button, and a stop button. The operation display 50 displays an input screen for inputting various instructions, a state of the apparatus, or the like, and receives various kinds of settings such as print settings, and various kinds of instructions. The operation display 50 functions as a receiver and a display., par. 34), wherein the condition for automatically deleting the inspection result is settable through the receiving unit (Fig. 3, automatic inspection settings and “delete at end” selection).
Regarding claim 4: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Nakano further discloses further comprising a control unit (Fig. 2, controller 10) configured to determine, as to the inspection result stored in the memory, whether or not the condition for automatically deleting the inspection result is met at predetermined intervals (A reference image determined to satisfy the predetermined condition is then deleted from the storage 21. The amount of data serving as the criterion for determination of deletion of a reference image may be set at 90% to 100% of the storage capacity of the storage 21, for example. The predetermined condition includes the following conditions, for example. (1) A reference image that has a frequency of usage for inspection equal to or lower than a predetermined frequency (a first condition). The predetermined frequency may be set at an appropriate value determined through an experiment or the like. For example, the predetermined frequency may be set as three to five times a month. (2) A reference image that was stored into the storage 21 before a predetermined time and date, was last edited before the predetermined time and date, and/or was last used for inspection before the predetermined time and date (a second condition). The time and date when a reference image was stored into the storage 21, the time and date when the reference image was edited last time, and the time and date when the reference image was used for inspection last time may be stored as time stamps in the header of the file of the reference image. The predetermined time and date may be set at appropriate values determined through an experiment or the like. For example, the predetermined time and date may be set between a date and time one month ago and a date and time one year ago. (3) A reference image not associated with an inspection job in a plurality of reference images that is to be used for inspection in the inspection job in the sample output mode and is stored in the storage 21 (a third condition). (4) A reference image that is to be used for inspection of an inspection target image formed by executing an inspection job having a confidentiality level equal to or higher than a predetermined level (a fourth condition). The predetermined level may be set as appropriate in view of the security policy or the like of each organization. The job ID of an inspection job that uses the reference image for inspection may be stored in the header of the file of the reference image. (5) A reference image that has been used in an executed inspection job in a setting in which a reference image used for inspection after execution of an inspection job is to be deleted (a fifth condition). The setting may be set in accordance with a user instruction that is input from the operation display 50. (6) A reference image that meets at least one of the following set criteria: the expiration date of the reference image, the number of inspection jobs that have used the reference image in inspecting inspection target images, and the number of paper sheets on which inspection target images have been inspected with the use of the reference image (a sixth condition). The expiration date of the reference image, the number of inspection jobs that have used the reference image in inspecting inspection target images, and the number of paper sheets on which inspection target images have been inspected with the use of the reference image may be set in accordance with a user instruction that is input from the operation display 50. (7) A reference image that corresponds to the other reference image in a setting in which another reference image having the same file name as a reference image being stored is already stored in the storage 21, and is to be overwritten by the reference image being stored (a seventh condition). The setting may be set in accordance with a user instruction that is input from the operation display 50. (8) A reference image for which a deleting option has been received among a plurality of reference images displayed on the operation display 50 (an eighth condition). The deleting option may be received when reference images are displayed in the form of thumbnails or the like in a selectable manner on the operation display 50, for example. (9) A reference image generated through execution of a reference image generation job in different print settings from the print settings of an inspection job in a case where a plurality of reference images to be used in inspecting inspection target images formed through execution of an inspection job are generated and stored by executing a plurality of reference image generation jobs having different print settings (a ninth condition). (10) A reference image associated with an inspection job in a case where updating has been performed to change the print settings of the inspection job stored in the storage 21 or the storage 22 (a tenth condition). The changes in the print settings include a change in the page sequence, and a change in the position or the range of an image, for example., pars. 42-52).
Regarding claim 5: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Nakano further discloses wherein the inspection unit is operable to perform inspection of test printing, and wherein the condition for automatically deleting the inspection result (A reference image determined to satisfy the predetermined condition is then deleted from the storage 21. The amount of data serving as the criterion for determination of deletion of a reference image may be set at 90% to 100% of the storage capacity of the storage 21, for example. The predetermined condition includes the following conditions, for example. , par. 42) comprises a time elapsed after completion of the test printing (The proof output mode may be a mode in which, when one copy of printed matter is printed and is determined to be normal through a visual inspection before an inspection job is executed, a scan image of the printed matter is stored as the reference image, is associated with the inspection job, the inspection is conducted, and the inspection job is then deleted from the storage 20 (or is not stored into the storage 20). In the description below, for ease of explanation, the reference image generation job is executed in the sample output mode unless otherwise specified, par. 41) and (2) A reference image that was stored into the storage 21 before a predetermined time and date, was last edited before the predetermined time and date, and/or was last used for inspection before the predetermined time and date (a second condition). The time and date when a reference image was stored into the storage 21, the time and date when the reference image was edited last time, and the time and date when the reference image was used for inspection last time may be stored as time stamps in the header of the file of the reference image. The predetermined time and date may be set at appropriate values determined through an experiment or the like. For example, the predetermined time and date may be set between a date and time one month ago and a date and time one year ago., par. 44).
Regarding claim 6: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Nakano further discloses wherein the inspection unit is operable to perform inspection of main printing, and wherein the condition for automatically deleting the inspection result (A reference image determined to satisfy the predetermined condition is then deleted from the storage 21. The amount of data serving as the criterion for determination of deletion of a reference image may be set at 90% to 100% of the storage capacity of the storage 21, for example. The predetermined condition includes the following conditions, for example. , par. 42) comprises a time elapsed after completion of the main printing (When generating a reference image, the controller 10 performs control as follows. The controller 10 associates a reference image generated by executing the reference image generation job with an inspection job, and stores the reference image into the storage 20. The reference image may be stored in the storage 21 of the reading apparatus 102, and the print job may be stored in the storage 22 of the image forming apparatus 101. When the data amount of the reference images stored in the storage 21 becomes equal to or larger than a predetermined amount, the controller 10 determines whether the stored reference images satisfy a predetermined condition. A reference image determined to satisfy the predetermined condition is then deleted from the storage 21. The amount of data serving as the criterion for determination of deletion of a reference image may be set at 90% to 100% of the storage capacity of the storage 21, for example. The predetermined condition includes the following conditions, for example., par. 42).
Regarding claim 7: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Nakano further discloses further comprising a control unit configured to delete the inspection result such that older inspection result is deleted with higher priority in a case where the condition for automatically deleting the inspection result (A reference image determined to satisfy the predetermined condition is then deleted from the storage 21. The amount of data serving as the criterion for determination of deletion of a reference image may be set at 90% to 100% of the storage capacity of the storage 21, for example. The predetermined condition includes the following conditions, for example. , par. 42) is met by two or more inspection results ((6) A reference image that meets at least one of the following set criteria: the expiration date of the reference image, the number of inspection jobs that have used the reference image in inspecting inspection target images, and the number of paper sheets on which inspection target images have been inspected with the use of the reference image (a sixth condition). The expiration date of the reference image, the number of inspection jobs that have used the reference image in inspecting inspection target images, and the number of paper sheets on which inspection target images have been inspected with the use of the reference image may be set in accordance with a user instruction that is input from the operation display 50., par. 48).
Regarding claim 8: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Nakano further discloses wherein the inspection unit is operable to perform the inspection of main printing and the inspection of the test printing, and wherein the control unit is configured to delete the inspection result of the test printing with high priority in a case where both the inspection result of the main printing and the inspection result of the test printing that is newer than the main printing meets the conditions for automatically deleting the inspection results (The reference image generation job may be a print job generated by changing the number of copies in an inspection job from two or larger to one, for example. Further, in the reference image generation job, print settings may be changed as necessary for each inspection job. When the reference image generation job is generated, the output mode may be a sample output mode or a proof output mode, for example. The sample output mode may be a mode in which one copy of printed matter is printed for any of the stored inspection jobs, and a scanned image of the printed matter is associated as the reference image with the inspection job and is stored together with the inspection job. The proof output mode may be a mode in which, when one copy of printed matter is printed and is determined to be normal through a visual inspection before an inspection job is executed, a scan image of the printed matter is stored as the reference image, is associated with the inspection job, the inspection is conducted, and the inspection job is then deleted from the storage 20 (or is not stored into the storage 20). In the description below, for ease of explanation, the reference image generation job is executed in the sample output mode unless otherwise specified, par. 41 and The automatic inspection setting screen 503 includes “inspection settings” 504 for setting ON/OFF of the automatic inspection function, “reference image settings” 505 for determining whether to newly create a reference image or whether to select a reference image from among registered images, and “inspection level settings” 506 for setting an inspection level. In the example shown in FIG. 3, “ON” is selected in the “inspection settings” 504. “Newly Create” is selected, and “Delete at End” is selected in the “reference image settings” 505. “High” is selected in the “inspection level settings” 506. The inspection levels are the same as those in an image forming system having a conventional automatic inspection function, and therefore, is not described herein., par. 56).
Regarding claim 9: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Nakano further discloses wherein the condition for automatically deleting the inspection result comprises a remaining free memory amount of the memory (When generating a reference image, the controller 10 performs control as follows. The controller 10 associates a reference image generated by executing the reference image generation job with an inspection job, and stores the reference image into the storage 20. The reference image may be stored in the storage 21 of the reading apparatus 102, and the print job may be stored in the storage 22 of the image forming apparatus 101. When the data amount of the reference images stored in the storage 21 becomes equal to or larger than a predetermined amount, the controller 10 determines whether the stored reference images satisfy a predetermined condition. A reference image determined to satisfy the predetermined condition is then deleted from the storage 21. The amount of data serving as the criterion for determination of deletion of a reference image may be set at 90% to 100% of the storage capacity of the storage 21, for example. The predetermined condition includes the following conditions, for example., par. 42).
Regarding claim 10: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Nakano further discloses further comprising: a display unit (Fig. 1, display 50); and a control unit (Fig. 3, automatic inspection setting screen) configured to suspend (Fig. 3, manipulate automatic inspection settings), in a case where there is an inspection result that satisfies the condition for automatically deleting the inspection result (Fig. 3,”delete at end” selected), a process of deleting the inspection result and control the display unit to indicate (The operation display 50 includes a touch-panel display, a numeric keypad, a start button, and a stop button. The operation display 50 displays an input screen for inputting various instructions, a state of the apparatus, or the like, and receives various kinds of settings such as print settings, and various kinds of instructions. The operation display 50 functions as a receiver and a display. , par. 34) that there is an inspection result that satisfies the condition for automatically deleting the inspection result ((8) A reference image for which a deleting option has been received among a plurality of reference images displayed on the operation display 50 (an eighth condition). The deleting option may be received when reference images are displayed in the form of thumbnails or the like in a selectable manner on the operation display 50, for example., par. 50).
Regarding claim 11: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 10. Nakano further discloses wherein the control unit is further configured to control the display unit to display a screen (Fig. 3) that allow selection to continue or cancel the process of deleting the inspection results that satisfies the condition for automatically deleting the inspection result (Fig. 3, “OK” or “CANCEL” buttons along with additional automatic inspection settings).
Regarding claim 12: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Nakano further discloses wherein inspection is performed using a reference image, which is used as a reference for the inspection wherein inspection is performed using a reference image, which is used as a reference for the inspection (On the basis of a print job, the controller 10 forms an image on a paper sheet S with the image former 30, and generates a scan image by reading the image formed on the paper sheet S with the reader 60. The controller 10 inspects the image formed on the paper sheet S by comparing the generated scan image with a reference image (a correct image) associated (linked) with the print job. Hereinafter, an inspection of an image formed on a paper sheet S will be simply referred to as “inspection”. The reference image serves as a criterion for inspection, being a normal image. With this, an automatic inspection function is executed. In a case where the controller 10 determines, as a result of the inspection, that the image formed on the paper sheet S is abnormal, the controller 10 determines that the paper sheet S on which the image determined to be abnormal is formed is waste paper, and is ejected onto a waste sheet catch tray (not shown) that is prepared separately from the sheet catch tray 44. The abnormality in the image formed on the paper sheet S determined to be waste paper may include a stain, a corner bend, wrinkles, and skew. Hereinafter, a print job for forming an image to be inspected on a paper sheet S will be referred to as an inspection job. Further, an image to be inspected will be referred to as an inspection target image. As this inspection job is executed, a paper sheet S determined to be non-defective as a result of inspection is output as printed matter of a product. The inspection job forms a first print job.. par. 39), stored in the memory (The reference image may be stored in the storage 21, par. 42), wherein the reference image is associated with the inspection result (On the basis of a print job, the controller 10 forms an image on a paper sheet S with the image former 30, and generates a scan image by reading the image formed on the paper sheet S with the reader 60. The controller 10 inspects the image formed on the paper sheet S by comparing the generated scan image with a reference image (a correct image) associated (linked) with the print job. Hereinafter, an inspection of an image formed on a paper sheet S will be simply referred to as “inspection”. The reference image serves as a criterion for inspection, being a normal image. With this, an automatic inspection function is executed. In a case where the controller 10 determines, as a result of the inspection, that the image formed on the paper sheet S is abnormal, the controller 10 determines that the paper sheet S on which the image determined to be abnormal is formed is waste paper, and is ejected onto a waste sheet catch tray (not shown) that is prepared separately from the sheet catch tray 44. The abnormality in the image formed on the paper sheet S determined to be waste paper may include a stain, a corner bend, wrinkles, and skew. Hereinafter, a print job for forming an image to be inspected on a paper sheet S will be referred to as an inspection job. Further, an image to be inspected will be referred to as an inspection target image. As this inspection job is executed, a paper sheet S determined to be non-defective as a result of inspection is output as printed matter of a product. The inspection job forms a first print job., par. 39), and further comprising a control unit configured to select (Fig. 3, automatic inspection setting screen), as a candidate for deletion from the memory, the reference image that is associated with the inspection result that satisfies the condition for automatically deleting the inspection result (Fig. 3, automatic inspection settings and A reference image determined to satisfy the predetermined condition is then deleted from the storage 21. The amount of data serving as the criterion for determination of deletion of a reference image may be set at 90% to 100% of the storage capacity of the storage 21, for example. The predetermined condition includes the following conditions, for example., par. 42).
Regarding claim 13: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 12. Nakano further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to not select, in a case where there are two or more inspection result data associated with the reference image, the reference image as the candidate for deletion from the memory ((8) A reference image for which a deleting option has been received among a plurality of reference images displayed on the operation display 50 (an eighth condition). The deleting option may be received when reference images are displayed in the form of thumbnails or the like in a selectable manner on the operation display 50, for example., par. 50).
Regarding claim 14: Nakano discloses an image forming unit configured to form an image on a sheet based on image data (The image forming apparatus 101 performs image formation (printing) on a recording medium (a paper sheet, for example)., par. 19); an inspection unit configured to inspect an image formed on a sheet (The controller 10 inspects the image formed on the paper sheet S by comparing the generated scan image with a reference image (a correct image) associated (linked) with the print job., par. 39); a memory configured to store an inspection result inspected by the inspection unit (Fig. 1, storage 21 and storage 21 associated with an inspection job, par. 57); and a controller (controller 10, par. 42) configured to execute main printing (A reference image determined to satisfy the predetermined condition is then deleted from the storage 21. The amount of data serving as the criterion for determination of deletion of a reference image may be set at 90% to 100% of the storage capacity of the storage 21, for example. The predetermined condition includes the following conditions, for example. , par. 42) for controlling the image forming unit to form an image based on the image data (The controller 10 associates a reference image generated by executing the reference image generation job with an inspection job, and stores the reference image into the storage 20. The reference image may be stored in the storage 21 of the reading apparatus 102, and the print job may be stored in the storage 22 of the image forming apparatus 101., par. 42), or test printing for controlling the image forming unit to form an image based on only a part of the image data (The reference image generation job may be a print job generated by changing the number of copies in an inspection job from two or larger to one, for example. Further, in the reference image generation job, print settings may be changed as necessary for each inspection job. When the reference image generation job is generated, the output mode may be a sample output mode or a proof output mode, for example. The sample output mode may be a mode in which one copy of printed matter is printed for any of the stored inspection jobs, and a scanned image of the printed matter is associated as the reference image with the inspection job and is stored together with the inspection job. The proof output mode may be a mode in which, when one copy of printed matter is printed and is determined to be normal through a visual inspection before an inspection job is executed, a scan image of the printed matter is stored as the reference image, is associated with the inspection job, the inspection is conducted, and the inspection job is then deleted from the storage 20 (or is not stored into the storage 20). In the description below, for ease of explanation, the reference image generation job is executed in the sample output mode unless otherwise specified, par. 41), wherein a first inspection result obtained by performing the test printing (The reference image generation job may be a print job generated by changing the number of copies in an inspection job from two or larger to one, for example. Further, in the reference image generation job, print settings may be changed as necessary for each inspection job. When the reference image generation job is generated, the output mode may be a sample output mode or a proof output mode, for example. The sample output mode may be a mode in which one copy of printed matter is printed for any of the stored inspection jobs, and a scanned image of the printed matter is associated as the reference image with the inspection job and is stored together with the inspection job. The proof output mode may be a mode in which, when one copy of printed matter is printed and is determined to be normal through a visual inspection before an inspection job is executed, a scan image of the printed matter is stored as the reference image, is associated with the inspection job, the inspection is conducted, and the inspection job is then deleted from the storage 20 (or is not stored into the storage 20). In the description below, for ease of explanation, the reference image generation job is executed in the sample output mode unless otherwise specified, par. 41) is automatically deleted (Fig. 3, automatic inspection settings), and a second inspection result obtained by performing the main printing is not automatically deleted (On the basis of a print job for generating a reference image, the controller 10 forms an image on a paper sheet S with the image former 30, and generates a scan image to be used as the reference image by reading the image formed on the paper sheet S with the reader 60. After being determined to be normal through a visual inspection or the like conducted by the user, the generated scan image is associated as the reference image with an inspection job that is to use the reference image in the inspection, and is stored into the storage 20. Hereinafter, the print job for generating the reference image will be referred to as the reference image generation job. The reference image generation job forms a second print job., par. 40).
Regarding claim 15: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 14. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 3 are applicable.
Regarding claim 16: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 14. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 4 are applicable.
Regarding claim 17: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 14. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 5 are applicable.
Regarding claim 18: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 14. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 7 are applicable.
Regarding claim 19: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 14. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 8 are applicable.
Regarding claim 20: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 14. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 9 are applicable.
Regarding claim 21: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 14. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 10 are applicable.
Regarding claim 22: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 14. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 11 are applicable.
Regarding claim 23: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 14. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 12 are applicable.
Regarding claim 24: Nakano satisfies all the elements of claim 23. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 13 are applicable.
Conclusion
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664
11 September 2026