DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are present for examination.
Claims 1, 7, 9, 14-15 and 17-20 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 11,307,778) (hereinafter referred as Klein ‘778) in view of Kang et al. (US2014/0325095).
With respect claim 1, Klein ‘778 teach a controller (see Fig, 2 and column 12, lines 4-10; POE controller) to:
detect a request to perform an incoming operation on the storage device (see column 11, lines 14-25; controller monitor/detect commands sent to SSD),
determine a power consumption, of the storage device, for ongoing operations across multiple channels of the storage device (see column 12, lines 15-27; POE controller 203 can estimate the expected power consumption of the write operation. The POE controller 203 can perform the same calculation for all pending commands in the command queue for SSD 205 to calculate the estimated power consumption);
determine that an available power, for the storage device, is insufficient for performing the incoming operation based on the power consumption (see column 12, lines 46-67 and column 13, lines 1-3; POE controller 203 may detect an imbalance in power consumption between such SSDs. The detected imbalance in power consumption may be an imbalance in the real-time power being consumed by SSDs 205, 207, and 209 and/or an imbalance in the estimated power that will be consumed by SSDs 205, 207, and 209 based upon the commands pending in memory buffers and/or the command queues of such SSDs… POE controller 203 may reallocate power to SSDs 205, 207, and 209 to ensure sufficient power is allocated to meet the required power consumption for such SSDs (i.e., power consumption may not be sufficient for some SSDs, so power may be reallocate power)); and
performing the incoming operation based on adjusting the power consumption for the ongoing operations (see column 12, lines 57-63; allocated/adjusted power to SSDs ensure sufficient power is available to perform the commands).
Klein ‘778 does not explicitly teach wherein the incoming operation is associated with a quality of service (QoS) target of the storage device; based on determining that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation, adjust the power consumption to achieve the QoS target.
However, Kang et al. teaches wherein the incoming operation is associated with a quality of service (QoS) target of the storage device (see paragraphs 10, 29 and 30; perform memory access operations in accordance with at least one operation metric having an adjustable setting… operation metric of a storage device may be its throughput, a measure of its storage capacity, a measure of its data persistence, a measure of its data reliability, a measure of its latency, a measure of its uniformity of response time, or a measure of its power consumption. An operation metric of a component is generally related to QoS of the component); based on determining that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation (see paragraphs 64-65; power consumption of CASE2 remains below power threshold PTH, so the QoS does satisfy the quality condition for the maximum power consumption (i.e., power is insufficient)) , adjust the power consumption to achieve the QoS target (see paragraphs 64-65; the adjustment may shift a portion of power consumed in the first and second intervals to an interval between second time T2 and third time T3 (i.e., power consumption is adjusted)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Klein ‘778 to include the above mentioned to improve performance and flexibility of memory systems by allowing a storage device to be monitored and controlled according to a host-specified quality condition (see Kang, paragraph 11).
With respect claim 3, Klein ‘778 teach wherein the controller is to: determine that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation after adjusting the power consumption (see Fig. 3 and column 12, lines 57-67 and column 13, lines 1-9; after the reallocation of power (step 309), the power consumption is again calculated (step 305) and it is determined if imbalance or insufficient power is detected (step 307)); and
continue adjusting the power consumption based on determining that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation after adjusting the power consumption (see Fig. 3 and column 12, lines 57-67 and column 13, lines 1-9; if after repeating the steps 305-309 it is again determined that the power is insufficient the power is reallocated again).
With respect claim 5, Klein ‘778 teaches wherein, to adjust the power consumption, the controller is to: enable an option to reduce a performance of one or more of the ongoing operations to reduce a power consumption of the one or more ongoing operations (see column 14, lines 49-55; wherein the controller is also configured to manage the total power shared by the plurality of SSDs by either limiting the performance of write commands by the SSDs, or adjusting the frequency of issuing write commands to the SSDs),
wherein the one or more of the ongoing operations include an erase operation or a program operation (see column 14, lines 49-55; wherein the controller is also configured to manage the total power shared by the plurality of SSDs by either limiting the performance of write commands by the SSDs).
With respect claim 6, Klein ‘778 teaches wherein, to adjust the power consumption, the controller is to: reduce a power supply to the storage device (see column 12, lines 57-67 and column 13, lines 1-3; if SSD 205 is allocated 6 W of power but has a real-time power consumption of 2 W and is estimated to consume 3 W within the next 20 seconds, the allocated power to SSD 205 over port 201a may be reduced to 3 W so that the additional 3 W of power may be allocated to an SSD that has a real-time power consumption and/or an estimated power consumption more than the allocated 6 W of power).
With respect claim 9, Klein ‘778 teach determining a power consumption, of a storage device, for ongoing operations on the storage device (see column 12, lines 15-27; POE controller 203 can estimate the expected power consumption of the write operation. The POE controller 203 can perform the same calculation for all pending commands in the command queue for SSD 205 to calculate the estimated power consumption);
determining that an available power, for the storage device, is insufficient for performing an incoming operation based on the power consumption (see column 12, lines 46-67 and column 13, lines 1-3; POE controller 203 may detect an imbalance in power consumption between such SSDs. The detected imbalance in power consumption may be an imbalance in the real-time power being consumed by SSDs 205, 207, and 209 and/or an imbalance in the estimated power that will be consumed by SSDs 205, 207, and 209 based upon the commands pending in memory buffers and/or the command queues of such SSDs… POE controller 203 may reallocate power to SSDs 205, 207, and 209 to ensure sufficient power is allocated to meet the required power consumption for such SSDs (i.e., power consumption may not be sufficient for some SSDs, so power may be reallocate power)); and
performing the incoming operation based on adjusting the power consumption for the ongoing operations (see column 12, lines 57-63; allocated/adjusted power to SSDs ensure sufficient power is available to perform the commands).
Klein ‘778 does not teach wherein the incoming operation is associated with a quality of service (QoS)target of the storage device; based on determining that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation, adjust the power consumption to achieve the QoS target.
However, Kang et al. teaches wherein the incoming operation is associated with a quality of service (QoS) target of the storage device (see paragraphs 10, 29 and 30; perform memory access operations in accordance with at least one operation metric having an adjustable setting… operation metric of a storage device may be its throughput, a measure of its storage capacity, a measure of its data persistence, a measure of its data reliability, a measure of its latency, a measure of its uniformity of response time, or a measure of its power consumption. An operation metric of a component is generally related to QoS of the component); based on determining that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation (see paragraphs 64-65; power consumption of CASE2 remains below power threshold PTH, so the QoS does satisfy the quality condition for the maximum power consumption (i.e., power is insufficient)) , adjust the power consumption to achieve the QoS target (see paragraphs 64-65; the adjustment may shift a portion of power consumed in the first and second intervals to an interval between second time T2 and third time T3 (i.e., power consumption is adjusted)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Klein ‘778 to include the above mentioned to improve performance and flexibility of memory systems by allowing a storage device to be monitored and controlled according to a host-specified quality condition (see Kang, paragraph 11).
With respect claim 11, Klein ‘778 teach determining that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation after adjusting the power consumption (see Fig. 3 and column 12, lines 57-67 and column 13, lines 1-9; after the reallocation of power (step 309), the power consumption is again calculated (step 305) and it is determined if imbalance or insufficient power is detected (step 307)); and
continuing adjusting the power consumption based on determining that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation after adjusting the power consumption (see Fig. 3 and column 12, lines 57-67 and column 13, lines 1-9; if after repeating the steps 305-309 it is again determined that the power is insufficient the power is reallocated again).
With respect claim 12, Klein ‘778 teach wherein adjust the power consumption comprises one or more of: introducing time offsets for the ongoing operations across multiple channels of the storage device; reducing a power supply to the storage device; enabling an option to reduce a performance of one or more of the ongoing operations to reduce a power consumption of the one or more ongoing operations; or reducing a speed of an ongoing read operation to reduce a power consumption of the ongoing read operation (see column 12, lines 57-67 and column 13, lines 1-3; if SSD 205 is allocated 6 W of power but has a real-time power consumption of 2 W and is estimated to consume 3 W within the next 20 seconds, the allocated power to SSD 205 over port 201a may be reduced to 3 W so that the additional 3 W of power may be allocated to an SSD that has a real-time power consumption and/or an estimated power consumption more than the allocated 6 W of power).
With respect claim 14, Klein ‘778 teaches adjusting the power consumption to enable the incoming operation to be performed further based on determining that the incoming operation is associated the QoS target of the storage device (see column 12, lines 46-67 and column 13, lines 1-3; POE controller 203 may reallocate power to SSDs 205, 207, and 209 to ensure sufficient power is allocated to meet the required power consumption for such SSDs (i.e., power consumption may not be sufficient for some SSDs, so power may be reallocate power)… allocated/adjusted power to SSDs ensure sufficient power is available to perform the commands).
Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. do not explicitly teach determining the incoming operation is associated the QoS target of the storage device.
However, Kang et al. teaches wherein the incoming operation is associated with a quality of service (QoS) target of the storage device (see paragraphs 10, 29 and 30; perform memory access operations in accordance with at least one operation metric having an adjustable setting… operation metric of a storage device may be its throughput, a measure of its storage capacity, a measure of its data persistence, a measure of its data reliability, a measure of its latency, a measure of its uniformity of response time, or a measure of its power consumption. An operation metric of a component is generally related to QoS of the component).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Klein ‘778 to include the above mentioned to improve performance and flexibility of memory systems by allowing a storage device to be monitored and controlled according to a host-specified quality condition (see Kang, paragraph 11).
With respect claim 15, Klein ‘778 teach one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a controller (see column 2, lines 30-35; controller is configured to manage the predefined power level for each of the plurality of SSDs by identifying the power consumed by each of the plurality of SSDs and allocating a new power level to each of the plurality of SSDs based on the power consumed by each of the plurality of SSD), cause the controller to:
determine a power consumption, of a storage device, for ongoing operations on the storage device (see column 12, lines 15-27; POE controller 203 can estimate the expected power consumption of the write operation. The POE controller 203 can perform the same calculation for all pending commands in the command queue for SSD 205 to calculate the estimated power consumption);
determine that an available power, for the storage device, is insufficient for performing an incoming operation based on the power consumption (see column 12, lines 46-67 and column 13, lines 1-3; POE controller 203 may detect an imbalance in power consumption between such SSDs. The detected imbalance in power consumption may be an imbalance in the real-time power being consumed by SSDs 205, 207, and 209 and/or an imbalance in the estimated power that will be consumed by SSDs 205, 207, and 209 based upon the commands pending in memory buffers and/or the command queues of such SSDs… POE controller 203 may reallocate power to SSDs 205, 207, and 209 to ensure sufficient power is allocated to meet the required power consumption for such SSDs (i.e., power consumption may not be sufficient for some SSDs, so power may be reallocate power)); and
perform the incoming operation based on adjusting the power consumption for the ongoing operations (see column 12, lines 57-63; allocated/adjusted power to SSDs ensure sufficient power is available to perform the commands).
Klein ‘778 does not teach wherein the incoming operation is associated with a quality of service (QoS) target of the storage device; based on determining that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation, adjust the power consumption to achieve the QoS target.
However, Kang et al. teaches wherein the incoming operation is associated with a quality of service (QoS) target of the storage device (see paragraphs 10, 29 and 30; perform memory access operations in accordance with at least one operation metric having an adjustable setting… operation metric of a storage device may be its throughput, a measure of its storage capacity, a measure of its data persistence, a measure of its data reliability, a measure of its latency, a measure of its uniformity of response time, or a measure of its power consumption. An operation metric of a component is generally related to QoS of the component); based on determining that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation (see paragraphs 64-65; power consumption of CASE2 remains below power threshold PTH, so the QoS does satisfy the quality condition for the maximum power consumption (i.e., power is insufficient)) , adjust the power consumption to achieve the QoS target (see paragraphs 64-65; the adjustment may shift a portion of power consumed in the first and second intervals to an interval between second time T2 and third time T3 (i.e., power consumption is adjusted)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medium taught by Klein ‘778 to include the above mentioned to improve performance and flexibility of memory systems by allowing a storage device to be monitored and controlled according to a host-specified quality condition (see Kang, paragraph 11).
With respect claim 17, Klein ‘778 teach determine that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation after adjusting the power consumption (see Fig. 3 and column 12, lines 57-67 and column 13, lines 1-9; after the reallocation of power (step 309), the power consumption is again calculated (step 305) and it is determined if imbalance or insufficient power is detected (step 307)); and
continue adjusting the power consumption based on determining that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation after adjusting the power consumption (see Fig. 3 and column 12, lines 57-67 and column 13, lines 1-9; if after repeating the steps 305-309 it is again determined that the power is insufficient the power is reallocated again).
With respect claim 18, Klein ‘778 teach wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the controller to adjust the power consumption, cause the controller to: introduce time offsets between the ongoing operations across multiple channels of the storage device; reduce a power supply to the storage device; enable an option to reduce a performance of one or more of the ongoing operations to reduce a power consumption of the one or more ongoing operations; or reduce a speed of an ongoing read operation to reduce a power consumption of the ongoing read operation\ (see column 12, lines 57-67 and column 13, lines 1-3; if SSD 205 is allocated 6 W of power but has a real-time power consumption of 2 W and is estimated to consume 3 W within the next 20 seconds, the allocated power to SSD 205 over port 201a may be reduced to 3 W so that the additional 3 W of power may be allocated to an SSD that has a real-time power consumption and/or an estimated power consumption more than the allocated 6 W of power).
With respect claim 20, Klein ‘778 teaches adjust the power consumption to enable the incoming operation to be performed based on determining that the incoming operation is associated the QoS target of the storage device (see column 12, lines 46-67 and column 13, lines 1-3; POE controller 203 may reallocate power to SSDs 205, 207, and 209 to ensure sufficient power is allocated to meet the required power consumption for such SSDs (i.e., power consumption may not be sufficient for some SSDs, so power may be reallocate power)… allocated/adjusted power to SSDs ensure sufficient power is available to perform the commands).
Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. do not teach determine that the incoming operation is associated with the QoS target of the storage device.
However, Kang et al. teaches teaches wherein the incoming operation is associated with a quality of service (QoS) target of the storage device (see paragraphs 10, 29 and 30; perform memory access operations in accordance with at least one operation metric having an adjustable setting… operation metric of a storage device may be its throughput, a measure of its storage capacity, a measure of its data persistence, a measure of its data reliability, a measure of its latency, a measure of its uniformity of response time, or a measure of its power consumption. An operation metric of a component is generally related to QoS of the component).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medium taught by Klein ‘778 to include the above mentioned to improve performance and flexibility of memory systems by allowing a storage device to be monitored and controlled according to a host-specified quality condition (see Kang, paragraph 11).
Claim(s) 2, 7-8, 10, 13, 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 11,307,778) (hereinafter referred as Klein ‘778) in view of Kang et al. (US2014/0325095) as applied to claim 1, 9 and 15 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2023/0060804).
With respect claim 2, Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. do not teach wherein the controller is to: determine a power deficit associated with performing the incoming operation; and determine that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation based on the power deficit.
However, Zhu et al. teaches command module 207 can then add the power level consumed by executing the identified command to the current power level consumed by the memory device. For example, if the identified command is a write command, the estimated power level consumed by executing the identified can be expressed as P+P.sub.W. The command module 207 can compare the that value (P+P.sub.W) to the power limit, as determined by power limit module 205. If the power level consumed by executing the identified command does not exceed the current power limit for the memory device, the command module 207 can cause the identified command to be executed (i.e., it is determined is power is sufficient) (see paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. to include the above mentioned to increase performance of the memory sub-system (see Zhu, paragraph 19).
With respect claim 7, Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. do not teach wherein, to adjust the power consumption, the controller is to: introduce time offsets for the ongoing operations across the multiple channels to cause ongoing operations to be initiated at different times or to cause the ongoing operations to be performed at different times.
However, Zhu et al. teaches wherein if the summation does not exceed the predetermined power consumption threshold, method 700 proceeds to step 740, in which memory controller 106 executes the subsequent memory operation in parallel with the plurality of memory operations. Otherwise, method 700 proceeds to step 750, in which memory controller 106 delays the execution of the subsequent memory operations (see paragraph 58).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. to include the above mentioned to increase performance of the memory sub-system (see Zhu, paragraph 19).
With respect claim 8, Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. do not teach wherein, to perform the incoming operation, the controller is to: determine that the available power, for the storage device, is sufficient for performing the incoming operation after adjusting the power consumption; and perform the incoming operation based on determining that the available power is sufficient.
However, Zhu et al. teaches command module 207 can then add the power level consumed by executing the identified command to the current power level consumed by the memory device. For example, if the identified command is a write command, the estimated power level consumed by executing the identified can be expressed as P+P.sub.W. The command module 207 can compare the that value (P+P.sub.W) to the power limit, as determined by power limit module 205. If the power level consumed by executing the identified command does not exceed the current power limit for the memory device, the command module 207 can cause the identified command to be executed (i.e., if power is sufficient, the command is executed) (see paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. to include the above mentioned to increase performance of the memory sub-system (see Zhu, paragraph 19).
With respect claim 10, Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. do not teach determining a power deficit associated with performing the incoming operation; and determining that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation based on the power deficit.
However, Zhu et al. teaches command module 207 can then add the power level consumed by executing the identified command to the current power level consumed by the memory device. For example, if the identified command is a write command, the estimated power level consumed by executing the identified can be expressed as P+P.sub.W. The command module 207 can compare the that value (P+P.sub.W) to the power limit, as determined by power limit module 205. If the power level consumed by executing the identified command does not exceed the current power limit for the memory device, the command module 207 can cause the identified command to be executed (i.e., it is determined is power is sufficient) (see paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. to include the above mentioned to increase performance of the memory sub-system (see Zhu, paragraph 19).
With respect claim 13, Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. do not explicitly teach determining that the available power, for the storage device, is sufficient for performing the incoming operation after adjusting the power consumption; and performing the incoming operation based on determining that the available power is sufficient.
However, Zhu et al. teaches command module 207 can then add the power level consumed by executing the identified command to the current power level consumed by the memory device. For example, if the identified command is a write command, the estimated power level consumed by executing the identified can be expressed as P+P.sub.W. The command module 207 can compare the that value (P+P.sub.W) to the power limit, as determined by power limit module 205. If the power level consumed by executing the identified command does not exceed the current power limit for the memory device, the command module 207 can cause the identified command to be executed (i.e., if power is sufficient, the command is executed) (see paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. to include the above mentioned to increase performance of the memory sub-system (see Zhu, paragraph 19).
With respect claim 16, Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. do not teach determine a power deficit associated with performing the incoming operation; and determine that the available power is insufficient for performing the incoming operation based on the power deficit.
However, Zhu et al. teaches command module 207 can then add the power level consumed by executing the identified command to the current power level consumed by the memory device. For example, if the identified command is a write command, the estimated power level consumed by executing the identified can be expressed as P+P.sub.W. The command module 207 can compare the that value (P+P.sub.W) to the power limit, as determined by power limit module 205. If the power level consumed by executing the identified command does not exceed the current power limit for the memory device, the command module 207 can cause the identified command to be executed (i.e., it is determined is power is sufficient) (see paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medium taught by Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. to include the above mentioned to increase performance of the memory sub-system (see Zhu, paragraph 19).
With respect claim 19, Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. do not teach determine that the available power, for the storage device, is sufficient for performing the incoming operation after adjusting the power consumption; and perform the incoming operation based on determining that the available power is sufficient.
However, Zhu et al. teaches command module 207 can then add the power level consumed by executing the identified command to the current power level consumed by the memory device. For example, if the identified command is a write command, the estimated power level consumed by executing the identified can be expressed as P+P.sub.W. The command module 207 can compare the that value (P+P.sub.W) to the power limit, as determined by power limit module 205. If the power level consumed by executing the identified command does not exceed the current power limit for the memory device, the command module 207 can cause the identified command to be executed (i.e., if power is sufficient, the command is executed) (see paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medium taught by Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. to include the above mentioned to increase performance of the memory sub-system (see Zhu, paragraph 19).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 11,307,778) (hereinafter referred as Klein ‘778) in view of Kang et al. (US2014/0325095) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Olarig et al. (US 11,481,016).
With respect claim 4, Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. do not teach wherein, to adjust the power consumption, the controller is to: reduce a speed of an ongoing read operation to reduce a power consumption of the ongoing read operation.
However, Olarig et al. teaches if a storage device 10 changes from operating at normal 61 to operating at greater than 90% of its allocated power budget, as shown at 62, the controller 11 may throttle I/O performance by, for example, introducing additional latency of a small percentage (e.g., 10% or 20% of idle or overhead). However, if the current state is greater than 100% of its allocated power budget, as shown at 63, the controller 11 may introduce a much bigger latency (e.g., 50% or larger) (see column 8, lines 31-40).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Klein ‘778 and Kang et al. to include the above mentioned to provide better policing and tracking of storage devices violating an allocated power budget (see Olarig, column 10, lines 57-59).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARACELIS RUIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139