Claims 1-3, 8, 11, and 20 are amended. Claim 10 is cancelled. Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are currently under review.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 30, 2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 11-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (Pub. No.: US 2008/0276109 A1) in view of Jo et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0043403 A1) hereinafter referred to as Jo in view of Kim (Pub. No.: US 2021/0134212 A1) in view of Oh (Pub. No.: US 2025/0137962 A1) in view of Cheng et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0294467 A1) hereinafter referred to as Cheng.
With respect to Claim 1, Yoshida teaches a display device (fig. 1, item 1; ¶21) comprising: a power supply (fig. 1, item 8; ¶22); a display (fig. 1, item 3; ¶22); a communication interface (¶23, “The backlight (6) and the power supply unit (8) are connected to a microcomputer… a remote controller light receiving unit (70) for receiving an infrared signal of a remote controller (7) is connected”; ¶33, “The video signal input means (25) is connected to, for example, a reception antenna”, the connection to a reception antenna is part of a communication interface, connections are also thru wiring which is circuitry or receiving signals wirelessly) including circuitry; and at least one processor (fig. 1, item 4 comprises a processor; ¶9-11) configured to: obtain humidity information of ambient air from a sensor (fig. 1, item 5; ¶23; ¶34, “In place of the temperature sensor (5) for sensing temperature data, a humidity sensor for detecting humidity data may be used”), based on identifying that a humidity of the ambient air is greater than a threshold value based on the obtained humidity information, switch the display device from the standby mode to a dehumidification mode (¶26; ¶34, “a shift from the standby mode to the pseudo standby mode is determined based on the data from the temperature sensor (5). In place of the temperature sensor (5) for sensing temperature data, a humidity sensor for detecting humidity data may be used” – pseudo standby mode = dehumidification mode; ¶35-36), and based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, control the power supply to supply power to the display (¶36, the backlight is turned on to increase the temperature in the cabinet).
Yoshida does not teach wherein the display includes a plurality of display modules, a first communication interface and a second communication interface including circuitry; and wherein a first display module among the plurality of display modules includes the first communication interface and a first power supply, wherein a second display module among the plurality of display modules includes the second communication interface and a second power supply, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, control the first power supply to supply power to the first display module by transmitting a first control signal for switching the first display module to the dehumidification mode to the first communication interface, and control the second power supply to supply power to the second display module by transmitting a second control signal for switching the second display module to the dehumidification mode to the second communication interface.
Jo teaches a display device (figs. 1 and 6, item 3; ¶29) comprising: a power supply (figs. 2A and 2B; ¶32, “a power source, and an image signal for the plurality of LED modules, and an LED control signal are input to the control box 44”); a display (fig. 1); a communication interface including circuitry (figs. 2A and 2B, wires going into and out of item 44 = communication interface); and at least one processor (fig. 3, item 2; ¶38) configured to: obtain humidity information of ambient air from a sensor (figs. 6-7, item 1; fig. 7, item 11; ¶42; ¶44), wherein the display includes a plurality of display modules (figs. 1, 3, 6, & 11, item 4: display module), wherein a first display module (fig. 2B, left item 4) among the plurality of display modules includes a first communication interface (fig. 2B, wires entering and exiting left item 44 = communication interface) and a first power supply (¶32, a power source is input via the wire to left item 44), wherein a second display module (fig. 2B, right item 4) among the plurality of display modules includes a second communication interface (fig. 2B, wires entering and exiting right item 44 = communication interface) and a second power supply (¶32, a power source is input via the wire to right item 44), and wherein the at least one processor (fig. 3, item 2) is configured to: based on an output from the sensor (fig. 7, item 11: sensor; ¶38; ¶42), control the first power supply to supply power to the first display module by transmitting a first control signal for switching the first display module to perform an operation to the first communication interface (¶83), and control the second power supply to supply power to the second display module by transmitting a second control signal for switching the second display module to perform an operation to the second communication interface (¶83).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Yoshida, such that the output from the sensor is replaced with the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode as the trigger for the processor to control the first display module and the second display module, resulting in wherein the display device comprises: a display including a plurality of display modules, a first communication interface and a second communication interface including circuitry; and wherein a first display module among the plurality of display modules includes the first communication interface and a first power supply, wherein a second display module among the plurality of display modules includes the second communication interface and a second power supply, and at least one processor is configured to: based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, control the first power supply to supply power to the first display module by transmitting a first control signal for switching the first display module to the dehumidification mode through the first communication interface, and control the second power supply to supply power to the second display module by transmitting a second control signal for switching the second display module to the dehumidification mode thru the second communication interface, as taught by Jo, so as to provide control to the plurality of display modules through one processor to reduce costs.
Yoshida and Jo combined do not teach the at least one processor comprising a main processor and a sub processor, wherein the sub processor is configured to: obtain humidity information of ambient air from a sensor, or receive the humidity information from an external device through the first communication interface or the second communication interface while the display device is in a standby mode, based on identifying that a humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the obtained humidity information, switch the display device from the standby mode to a dehumidification mode.
Kim teaches a display device (figs. 1-3, item 100; ¶55-56) comprising: a power supply (fig. 3, item 107; ¶72); a display including a plurality of display modules (fig. 2, items 104-1, 104-2, … 104-6; ¶73); a first communication interface and a second communication interface including circuitry (figs. 3-4, wiring connecting each of the modules 104-1, 104-2, …. 104-6 to the control assembly); and wherein a first display module (fig. 4, item 104-1) among the plurality of display modules includes the first communication interface and a first power supply, wherein a second display module (fig. 4, item 104-2) among the plurality of display modules includes the second communication interface and a second power supply, at least one processor (fig. 6, item 190; ¶109; ¶166-169; ¶180) comprising a main processor (¶159, “The controller 190 may include one or two or more memories 191 that store programs and data, and one or two or more processors 192 that process data according to the program”; ¶249, “In the ‘hard turn-on’ state, the controller 190 may perform a minimum operation including the water vapor condensation prevention operation 1000 described above” – portion of item 190 that is used is the main processor) and a sub processor (¶159, “The controller 190 may include one or two or more memories 191 that store programs and data, and one or two or more processors 192 that process data according to the program”; ¶249, “the controller 190 operates in the standby mode, and only a part of the controller 190 may be activated or operated in synchronization with a low frequency clock” – portion of item 190 that is used is the sub processor), wherein the sub processor is configured to: obtain humidity information of ambient air from a sensor, or receive the humidity information from an external device through the first communication interface or the second communication interface while the display device is in a standby mode (¶17; claims 1-2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display device of Yoshida and Jo, such that the at least one processor comprises a main processor and a sub processor, resulting in wherein the sub processor is configured to: obtain humidity information of ambient air from a sensor, or receive the humidity information from an external device through the first communication interface or the second communication interface while the display device is in a standby mode, based on identifying that a humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the obtained humidity information, switch the display device from the standby mode to a dehumidification mode, as taught by Kim so as to prevent deterioration due to condensation of water vapor that has penetrated the display apparatus while in standby (¶30).
Yoshida, Jo, and Kim combined do not mention and control the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images.
Oh teaches a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶43) comprising: a power supply (fig. 1, item 190; ¶89); a display (fig. 1, item 150; ¶60); a communication interface (fig. 1, item 170; ¶65-66) including circuitry; and at least one processor (fig. 1, item 180; ¶75) configured to: obtain humidity information of ambient air from a sensor (figs. 7-10, item 125; ¶140), based on identifying that a humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the obtained humidity information (¶53; ¶180), switch the display device from the standby mode to a dehumidification mode (¶172, “When power is connected to the display device, the display device is in a standby mode state. The standby mode refers to a state in which a power source is connected to a TV, but the TV is not operated but only some sensors or some components are operable with minimal power, and an IR sensor is activated to allow power to be turned on by a remote controller, and the condensation sensor 125 may be activated to detect dews in a state in which the user does not use the TV”; ¶173; ¶175; ¶180-181 – the dehumidification mode is when condensation is detected and the display is driven to prevent further condensation or reduce humidity), and based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, control the power supply to supply power to the display (¶181, “Even in this case, the display device 100 may be normally driven (S270). When the display device 100 is driven, heat may be generated to prevent the condensation phenomenon.” – power is supplied to the display to be driven normally) and control the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images (¶80, “the image displayed on the display module 150 may be a still image or video” – a video comprises a plurality of predetermined images displayed sequentially; ¶155, “the display device 100 may be driven to increase the temperature, or a UI that notifies a user of a condensation risk and suggests the user drive the display device 100, move the display device 100 to an environment having a low humidity, or lower an ambient humidity may be output to a screen”; ¶156, “guide the user to take an action for preventing condensation. In this case, not only an alarm is simply provided but may also provide a UI or a description for guiding an action of the user to be taken to remove dew drops as described above”; ¶181, by driving the display normally at a medium humidity level a plurality of predetermined images are sequentially displayed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined display device of Yoshida, Jo, and Kim, such that in the pseudo standby mode/dehumidification mode the display device is normally driven to display a video, resulting in and control the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images, as taught by Oh so as to minimize malfunction and defects caused by condensation (¶8).
Yoshida, Jo, Kim and Oh combined do not teach wherein each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image wherein at least one of a pattern of the image or a color of the image is different.
Cheng teaches a display device (fig. 1A, item 100; ¶20) comprising: a display (fig. 1A, item 102; ¶20); and at least one controller (fig. 1A, item 104) configured to: obtain humidity information (fig. 1A, item 103); based on identifying that a humidity is greater than or equal to a threshold value control the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images (¶31, “the display panel 102 may display the grating pattern GR as a test pattern. The grating pattern GR includes a first column of pixels P1, a second column of pixels P2, a third column of pixels P3, a fourth column of pixels P4, and a fifth column of pixels P5 adjacent to one another. Adjacent columns of pixels in the grating pattern GR may be driven by different driving voltages (i.e., V1, V2, V3, V4, V5)”), wherein each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image wherein at least one of a pattern of the image or a color of the image is different (¶32, “The controller 104 may adjust the voltage difference between the first driving voltage V1 and the second driving voltage V2 to learn to learn a plurality of light intensities” – by driving the test pattern at different voltages a plurality of test images having varying intensity values among the test pattern at varying times are different predetermined images, additionally since the driving voltages change by increasing, it is a form of dehumidification).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display device of Yoshida, Jo, Kim and Oh, wherein each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image wherein at least one of a pattern of the image or a color of the image is different, as taught by Cheng so as to adjust the gamma setting of the display panel according to the humidity information of the display panel to prevent the moisture inside the display panel from affecting the image quality of the display screen (¶24).
With respect to Claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Yoshida teaches based on identifying that the humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to the threshold value, switch the display device to the dehumidification mode (¶26; ¶34-36).
Yoshida, Jo, Oh, and Cheng combined do not explicitly teach wherein the sub processor is configured to: receive power through the power supply in the standby mode, and based on identifying that the humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to the threshold value, switch the display device to the dehumidification mode, and wherein the main processor is configured to: based on the display device being switched from the standby mode or the dehumidification mode to a general mode, receive power through the power supply, and control the display to display a screen corresponding to an image signal received through the first communication interface.
Kim teaches a display device (figs. 1-3, item 100; ¶55-56) comprising: a power supply (fig. 3, item 107; ¶72); a display including a plurality of display modules (fig. 2, items 104-1, 104-2, … 104-6; ¶73); a first communication interface and a second communication interface including circuitry (figs. 3-4, wiring connecting each of the modules 104-1, 104-2, …. 104-6 to the control assembly); and wherein a first display module (fig. 4, item 104-1) among the plurality of display modules includes the first communication interface and a first power supply, wherein a second display module (fig. 4, item 104-2) among the plurality of display modules includes the second communication interface and a second power supply, at least one processor (fig. 6, item 190; ¶109; ¶166-169; ¶180) comprising a main processor (¶159, “The controller 190 may include one or two or more memories 191 that store programs and data, and one or two or more processors 192 that process data according to the program”; ¶249, “In the ‘hard turn-on’ state, the controller 190 may perform a minimum operation including the water vapor condensation prevention operation 1000 described above” – portion of item 190 that is used is the main processor) and a sub processor (¶159, “The controller 190 may include one or two or more memories 191 that store programs and data, and one or two or more processors 192 that process data according to the program”; ¶249, “the controller 190 operates in the standby mode, and only a part of the controller 190 may be activated or operated in synchronization with a low frequency clock” – portion of item 190 that is used is the sub processor), wherein the sub processor is configured to: obtain humidity information of ambient air from a sensor, or receive the humidity information from an external device through the first communication interface or the second communication interface while the display device is in a standby mode (¶17; claims 1-2); wherein the sub processor is configured to: receive power through the power supply in the standby mode (¶249, “the controller 190 operates in the standby mode, and only a part of the controller 190 may be activated or operated in synchronization with a low frequency clock” – portion of item 190 that is activated = sub processor; ¶250, “a state where power is supplied only to a minimum circuit component (not shown) that receives and processes the signal from the remote controller through the signal receiver 112”; ¶248, soft turn-on is also standby mode), and based on identifying that the humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to the threshold value, switch the display device to the dehumidification mode (¶260-262; ¶276), and wherein the main processor is configured to: based on the display device being switched from the standby mode or the dehumidification mode to a general mode, receive power through the power supply, and control the display to display a screen corresponding to an image signal received through the first communication interface (¶248 – hard turn-on: general mode and is connected to power).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display device of Yoshida, Jo, Oh, and Cheng, wherein the sub processor is configured to: receive power through the power supply in the standby mode, and based on identifying that the humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to the threshold value, switch the display device to the dehumidification mode, and wherein the main processor is configured to: based on the display device being switched from the standby mode or the dehumidification mode to a general mode, receive power through the power supply, and control the display to display a screen corresponding to an image signal received through the first communication interface, as taught by Kim so as to prevent deterioration due to condensation of water vapor that has penetrated the display apparatus while in standby (¶30).
With respect to Claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated, Yoshida teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on receiving a control instruction from a remote control device through the communication interface shift the display device to a standby mode (¶5).
Yoshida does not mention wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on receiving a control instruction from a remote control device through the communication interface while the display device is in the standby mode, switch the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode according to the control instruction.
Oh teaches a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶43) comprising: a power supply (fig. 1, item 190; ¶89); a display (fig. 1, item 150; ¶60); a communication interface (fig. 1, item 170; ¶65-66) including circuitry; and at least one processor (fig. 1, item 180; ¶75) configured to: obtain humidity information of ambient air from a sensor (figs. 7-10, item 125; ¶140), based on identifying that a humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the obtained humidity information (¶53; ¶180), switch the display device from the standby mode to a dehumidification mode (¶172, “When power is connected to the display device, the display device is in a standby mode state. The standby mode refers to a state in which a power source is connected to a TV, but the TV is not operated but only some sensors or some components are operable with minimal power, and an IR sensor is activated to allow power to be turned on by a remote controller, and the condensation sensor 125 may be activated to detect dews in a state in which the user does not use the TV”; ¶173; ¶175; ¶180-181 – the dehumidification mode is when condensation is detected and the display is driven to prevent further condensation or reduce humidity), and based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, control the power supply to supply power to the display (¶181, “Even in this case, the display device 100 may be normally driven (S270). When the display device 100 is driven, heat may be generated to prevent the condensation phenomenon.” – power is supplied to the display to be driven normally) and control the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images (¶155, “the display device 100 may be driven to increase the temperature, or a UI that notifies a user of a condensation risk and suggests the user drive the display device 100, move the display device 100 to an environment having a low humidity, or lower an ambient humidity may be output to a screen”; ¶156, “guide the user to take an action for preventing condensation. In this case, not only an alarm is simply provided but may also provide a UI or a description for guiding an action of the user to be taken to remove dew drops as described above”; ¶181, by driving the display normally at a medium humidity level a plurality of predetermined images are sequentially displayed); wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on receiving a control instruction from a remote control device (fig. 1, item 200; ¶70; ¶94) through the communication interface while the display device is in the standby mode, switch the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode according to the control instruction (¶172, by turning on power, the condensation sensor 125 is activated and enters a dehumidification mode when the condensation sensor senses a medium level of condensation).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined display device of Yoshida, Jo, Kim and Cheng, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on receiving a control instruction from a remote control device through the communication interface while the display device is in the standby mode, switch the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode according to the control instruction, as taught by Oh so as to minimize malfunction and defects caused by condensation (¶8).
With respect to Claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated, Yoshida does not mention wherein control instruction is received from the remote control device as at least two buttons among a plurality of buttons provided on the remote control device are pushed.
Oh teaches a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶43) comprising: a power supply (fig. 1, item 190; ¶89); a display (fig. 1, item 150; ¶60); a communication interface (fig. 1, item 170; ¶65-66) including circuitry; and at least one processor (fig. 1, item 180; ¶75) configured to: obtain humidity information of ambient air from a sensor (figs. 7-10, item 125; ¶140), based on identifying that a humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the obtained humidity information (¶53; ¶180), switch the display device from the standby mode to a dehumidification mode (¶172, “When power is connected to the display device, the display device is in a standby mode state. The standby mode refers to a state in which a power source is connected to a TV, but the TV is not operated but only some sensors or some components are operable with minimal power, and an IR sensor is activated to allow power to be turned on by a remote controller, and the condensation sensor 125 may be activated to detect dews in a state in which the user does not use the TV”; ¶173; ¶175; ¶180-181 – the dehumidification mode is when condensation is detected and the display is driven to prevent further condensation or reduce humidity), and based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, control the power supply to supply power to the display (¶181, “Even in this case, the display device 100 may be normally driven (S270). When the display device 100 is driven, heat may be generated to prevent the condensation phenomenon.” – power is supplied to the display to be driven normally) and control the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images (¶155, “the display device 100 may be driven to increase the temperature, or a UI that notifies a user of a condensation risk and suggests the user drive the display device 100, move the display device 100 to an environment having a low humidity, or lower an ambient humidity may be output to a screen”; ¶156, “guide the user to take an action for preventing condensation. In this case, not only an alarm is simply provided but may also provide a UI or a description for guiding an action of the user to be taken to remove dew drops as described above”; ¶181, by driving the display normally at a medium humidity level a plurality of predetermined images are sequentially displayed); wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on receiving a control instruction from a remote control device (fig. 1, item 200; ¶70; ¶94) through the communication interface while the display device is in the standby mode, switch the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode according to the control instruction (¶172, by turning on power, the condensation sensor 125 is activated and enters a dehumidification mode when the condensation sensor senses a medium level of condensation); wherein the control instruction is received from the remote control device as at least two buttons among a plurality of buttons provided on the remote control device are pushed (¶74, user may power on the tv and then increase the volume or change a channel, the two buttons are pushed sequentially).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined display device of Yoshida, Jo, Kim and Cheng, wherein the control instruction is received from the remote control device as at least two buttons among a plurality of buttons provided on the remote control device are pushed, as taught by Oh so as to minimize malfunction and defects caused by condensation (¶8) and provide a remote control that commonly has more than two buttons for use with a display device.
With respect to Claim 5, claim 1 is incorporated, Yoshida teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: obtain the humidity information while the display device is in the dehumidification mode (¶28), and based on identifying that the humidity of the ambient air is less than the threshold value based on the humidity information obtained while the display device is in the dehumidification mode (¶35-¶36), control the power supply to not supply power to the display by switching the display device from the dehumidification mode to the standby mode (¶36).
With respect to Claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated, Yoshida teaches wherein the sensor comprises at least one of a humidity detection sensor provided in the display device (fig. 1; ¶34).
With respect to Claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated, Yoshida teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on receiving a control instruction for switching the display device to a general mode from a remote control device through the communication interface (¶23) in the dehumidification mode (¶25, “After that, in the case where the remote controller light receiving unit (70) receives a power-off signal, that is, the user turns off the remote controller (7) and does not watch an image (S4), if the power supply unit (8) is on, the microcomputer (4) shifts to the standby mode (S2 and S5)”; ¶26, “In the case where the temperature data from the temperature sensor (5) is lower than the first threshold value (S6), there is the possibility that dew condensation occurs in the cabinet (2) or an operation failure in an electronic part in the cabinet (2) occurs. In this case, the microcomputer (4) shifts to the pseudo standby mode (S8)”), switch the display device from the dehumidification mode to the general mode (fig. 2, S8 to S9; ¶29).
Yoshida does not mention while the display displays the plurality of predetermined images in the dehumidification mode.
Oh teaches a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶43) comprising: a power supply (fig. 1, item 190; ¶89); a display (fig. 1, item 150; ¶60); a communication interface (fig. 1, item 170; ¶65-66) including circuitry; and at least one processor (fig. 1, item 180; ¶75) configured to: obtain humidity information of ambient air from a sensor (figs. 7-10, item 125; ¶140), based on identifying that a humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the obtained humidity information (¶53; ¶180), switch the display device from the standby mode to a dehumidification mode (¶172, “When power is connected to the display device, the display device is in a standby mode state. The standby mode refers to a state in which a power source is connected to a TV, but the TV is not operated but only some sensors or some components are operable with minimal power, and an IR sensor is activated to allow power to be turned on by a remote controller, and the condensation sensor 125 may be activated to detect dews in a state in which the user does not use the TV”; ¶173; ¶175; ¶180-181 – the dehumidification mode is when condensation is detected and the display is driven to prevent further condensation or reduce humidity), and based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, control the power supply to supply power to the display (¶181, “Even in this case, the display device 100 may be normally driven (S270). When the display device 100 is driven, heat may be generated to prevent the condensation phenomenon.” – power is supplied to the display to be driven normally) and control the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images (¶155, “the display device 100 may be driven to increase the temperature, or a UI that notifies a user of a condensation risk and suggests the user drive the display device 100, move the display device 100 to an environment having a low humidity, or lower an ambient humidity may be output to a screen”; ¶156, “guide the user to take an action for preventing condensation. In this case, not only an alarm is simply provided but may also provide a UI or a description for guiding an action of the user to be taken to remove dew drops as described above”; ¶181, by driving the display normally at a medium humidity level a plurality of predetermined images are sequentially displayed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined display device of Yoshida, Jo, Kim and Cheng, such that in the pseudo standby mode the display device is driven to display a UI that notifies a user of a condensation risk and suggests the user drive the display device 100, resulting in while the display displays the plurality of predetermined images in the dehumidification mode, as taught by Oh so as to minimize malfunction and defects caused by condensation (¶8).
With respect to Claim 11, Yoshida teaches a control method (fig. 2; ¶25) of a display device (fig. 1, item 1; ¶21) comprising a processor (fig. 1, item 4 comprises a processor; ¶9-11), the control method comprising: obtaining humidity information of ambient air from a sensor (fig. 1, item 5; ¶23; ¶34) while the display device is in a standby mode (fig. 2, item S5 and S6; ¶26); and based on identifying that a humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the obtained humidity information, switching the display device from the standby mode to a dehumidification mode, wherein the switching comprises: based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode (¶26; ¶34, “a shift from the standby mode to the pseudo standby mode is determined based on the data from the temperature sensor (5). In place of the temperature sensor (5) for sensing temperature data, a humidity sensor for detecting humidity data may be used” – pseudo standby mode = dehumidification mode; ¶35-36), supplying power to a display provided in the display device (¶36, the backlight is turned on to increase the temperature in the cabinet).
Yoshida does not teach the display device comprises a plurality of display modules, wherein a first display module among the plurality of display modules includes a first communication interface and a first power supply and a second display module among the plurality of display modules includes a second communication interface and a second power supply; wherein the switching comprises: based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, controlling the first power supply to supply power to the first display module by transmitting a first control signal for switching the first display module to the dehumidification mode through the first communication interface, and controlling the second power supply to supply power to the second display module by transmitting a second control signal for switching the second display module to the dehumidification mode through the second communication interface.
Jo teaches a control method (figs. 8A and 8B) of a display device (figs. 1 and 6, item 3; ¶29) comprising: a controller (fig. 3, item 2) and a plurality of display modules (figs. 1, 3, 6, & 11, item 4: display module), wherein a first display module (fig. 2B, left display module = first display module) among the plurality of display modules includes a first communication interface and a first power supply (figs. 2A and 2B; ¶32, “a power source, and an image signal for the plurality of LED modules, and an LED control signal are input to the control box 44” – the wire into item 44 of fig. 2B comprises a first communication interface and a first power supply) and a second display module (fig. 2B, right display module = second display module) among the plurality of display modules includes a second communication interface and a second power supply (figs. 2A and 2B; ¶32, “a power source, and an image signal for the plurality of LED modules, and an LED control signal are input to the control box 44” – the wire into item 44 of fig. 2B comprises a second communication interface and a second power supply); wherein the switching comprises: based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode (fig. 8B; ¶77), controlling the first power supply to supply power to the first display module by transmitting a first control signal for switching the first display module to the dehumidification mode through the first communication interface (¶82-83), and controlling the second power supply to supply power to the second display module by transmitting a second control signal for switching the second display module to the dehumidification mode through the second communication interface (¶82-83).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Yoshida, such that the display device comprises a plurality of display modules, wherein a first display module among the plurality of display modules includes a first communication interface and a first power supply and a second display module among the plurality of display modules includes a second communication interface and a second power supply; wherein the switching comprises: based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, controlling the first power supply to supply power to the first display module by transmitting a first control signal for switching the first display module to the dehumidification mode through the first communication interface, and controlling the second power supply to supply power to the second display module by transmitting a second control signal for switching the second display module to the dehumidification mode through the second communication interface, as taught by Jo, so as to provide control to the plurality of display modules through one processor to reduce costs.
Yoshida and Jo combined do not mention a display device comprising: a main processor and a sub processor.
Kim teaches a control method (figs. 12 and 14) of a display device (figs. 1-3, item 100; ¶55-56) comprising: a power supply (fig. 3, item 107; ¶72); a display including a plurality of display modules (fig. 2, items 104-1, 104-2, … 104-6; ¶73), wherein a first display module (fig. 4, item 104-1) among the plurality of display modules includes a first communication interface and a first power supply (figs. 3-4, wiring connecting first display modules 104-1 to the control assembly comprises a first communication interface and a first power supply), wherein a second display module (fig. 4, item 104-2) among the plurality of display modules includes the second communication interface and a second power supply (figs. 3-4, wiring connecting first display modules 104-2 to the control assembly comprises a second communication interface and a second power supply), at least one processor (fig. 6, item 190; ¶109; ¶166-169; ¶180) comprising a main processor (¶159, “The controller 190 may include one or two or more memories 191 that store programs and data, and one or two or more processors 192 that process data according to the program”; ¶249, “In the ‘hard turn-on’ state, the controller 190 may perform a minimum operation including the water vapor condensation prevention operation 1000 described above” – portion of item 190 that is used is the main processor) and a sub processor (¶159, “The controller 190 may include one or two or more memories 191 that store programs and data, and one or two or more processors 192 that process data according to the program”; ¶249, “the controller 190 operates in the standby mode, and only a part of the controller 190 may be activated or operated in synchronization with a low frequency clock” – portion of item 190 that is used is the sub processor), wherein the sub processor is configured to: obtain humidity information of ambient air from a sensor, or receive the humidity information from an external device through the first communication interface or the second communication interface while the display device is in a standby mode (¶17; claims 1-2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined method of Yoshida and Jo, such that a processor comprises a main processor and a sub processor, as taught by Kim so as to maintain power saving (¶249-250).
Yoshida, Jo, and Kim combined do not mention and controlling the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images during a specific time.
Oh teaches a control method (fig. 12; ¶177) of a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶43) comprising a processor (fig. 1, item 180; ¶75), the control method comprising: obtaining humidity information of ambient air from a sensor (figs. 7-10, item 125; ¶140) while the display device is in a standby mode (fig. 12, item S210; ¶77; ¶177); and based on identifying that a humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the obtained humidity information (¶53; ¶180-181), switching the display device from the standby mode to a dehumidification mode (¶172, “When power is connected to the display device, the display device is in a standby mode state. The standby mode refers to a state in which a power source is connected to a TV, but the TV is not operated but only some sensors or some components are operable with minimal power, and an IR sensor is activated to allow power to be turned on by a remote controller, and the condensation sensor 125 may be activated to detect dews in a state in which the user does not use the TV”; ¶173; ¶175; ¶180-181 – the dehumidification mode is when condensation is detected and the display is driven to prevent further condensation or reduce humidity), wherein the switching comprises: based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, supplying power to a display provided in the display device (¶181, “Even in this case, the display device 100 may be normally driven (S270). When the display device 100 is driven, heat may be generated to prevent the condensation phenomenon.” – power is supplied to the display to be driven normally) and controlling the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images during a specific time (¶80, “the image displayed on the display module 150 may be a still image or video” – a video comprises a plurality of predetermined images displayed sequentially at a specific time; ¶155, “the display device 100 may be driven to increase the temperature, or a UI that notifies a user of a condensation risk and suggests the user drive the display device 100, move the display device 100 to an environment having a low humidity, or lower an ambient humidity may be output to a screen”; ¶156, “guide the user to take an action for preventing condensation. In this case, not only an alarm is simply provided but may also provide a UI or a description for guiding an action of the user to be taken to remove dew drops as described above”; ¶181, by driving the display normally at a medium humidity level a plurality of predetermined images are sequentially displayed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the control method of Yoshida, Jo, and Kim, such that in the pseudo standby mode/the dehumidification mode, the display device is driven normally to display a video, resulting in and controlling the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images during a specific time, as taught by Oh so as to minimize malfunction and defects caused by condensation (¶8).
Yoshida, Jo, Kim, and Oh combined do not teach wherein each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image wherein at least one of a pattern of the image or a color of the image is different.
Cheng teaches a control method (fig. 2; ¶26) of a display device (fig. 1A, item 100; ¶20), the display device comprising: a display (fig. 1A, item 102; ¶20); and at least one controller (fig. 1A, item 104); the method comprising: obtaining humidity information (fig. 1A, item 103; fig. 2, item S200; ¶26); based on identifying that a humidity is greater than or equal to a threshold value control the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images (fig. 2, item S210; ¶31, “the display panel 102 may display the grating pattern GR as a test pattern. The grating pattern GR includes a first column of pixels P1, a second column of pixels P2, a third column of pixels P3, a fourth column of pixels P4, and a fifth column of pixels P5 adjacent to one another. Adjacent columns of pixels in the grating pattern GR may be driven by different driving voltages (i.e., V1, V2, V3, V4, V5)”); wherein each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image wherein at least one of a pattern of the image or a color of the image is different (¶32, “The controller 104 may adjust the voltage difference between the first driving voltage V1 and the second driving voltage V2 to learn to learn a plurality of light intensities” – by driving the test pattern at different voltages a plurality of test images having varying intensity values among the test pattern at varying times are different predetermined images, additionally since the driving voltages change by increasing, it is a form of dehumidification).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined method of Yoshida, Jo, Kim, and Oh, wherein each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image wherein at least one of a pattern of the image or a color of the image is different, as taught by Cheng so as to adjust the gamma setting of the display panel according to the humidity information of the display panel to prevent the moisture inside the display panel from affecting the image quality of the display screen (¶24).
With respect to Claim 12, claim 11 is incorporated, Yoshida teaches wherein the switching comprises: identifying that the humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to the threshold value, switching the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode (¶26; ¶34-36).
Yoshida, Jo, Oh, and Cheng combined do not teach based on the sub processor supplied with power in the standby mode identifying that the humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to the threshold value, switching the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode and wherein the control method further comprises: based on the display device being switched from the standby mode or the dehumidification mode to a general mode, supplying the main processor with power; and controlling, using the main processor, the display to display a screen corresponding to a received image signal.
Kim teaches a control method (figs. 12 and 14) of a display device (figs. 1-3, item 100; ¶55-56) comprising: a power supply (fig. 3, item 107; ¶72); a display including a plurality of display modules (fig. 2, items 104-1, 104-2, … 104-6; ¶73), wherein a first display module (fig. 4, item 104-1) among the plurality of display modules includes a first communication interface and a first power supply (figs. 3-4, wiring connecting first display modules 104-1 to the control assembly comprises a first communication interface and a first power supply), wherein a second display module (fig. 4, item 104-2) among the plurality of display modules includes the second communication interface and a second power supply (figs. 3-4, wiring connecting first display modules 104-2 to the control assembly comprises a second communication interface and a second power supply), at least one processor (fig. 6, item 190; ¶109; ¶166-169; ¶180) comprising a main processor (¶159, “The controller 190 may include one or two or more memories 191 that store programs and data, and one or two or more processors 192 that process data according to the program”; ¶249, “In the ‘hard turn-on’ state, the controller 190 may perform a minimum operation including the water vapor condensation prevention operation 1000 described above” – portion of item 190 that is used is the main processor) and a sub processor (¶159, “The controller 190 may include one or two or more memories 191 that store programs and data, and one or two or more processors 192 that process data according to the program”; ¶249, “the controller 190 operates in the standby mode, and only a part of the controller 190 may be activated or operated in synchronization with a low frequency clock” – portion of item 190 that is used is the sub processor), wherein the sub processor is configured to: obtain humidity information of ambient air from a sensor, or receive the humidity information from an external device through the first communication interface or the second communication interface while the display device is in a standby mode (¶17; claims 1-2); wherein switching comprises: based on the sub processor supplied with power in the standby mode (¶249, “the controller 190 operates in the standby mode, and only a part of the controller 190 may be activated or operated in synchronization with a low frequency clock” – portion of item 190 that is activated = sub processor; ¶250, “a state where power is supplied only to a minimum circuit component (not shown) that receives and processes the signal from the remote controller through the signal receiver 112”; ¶248, soft turn-on is also standby mode) identifying that the humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to the threshold value, switching the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode (¶260-262; ¶276) and wherein the control method further comprises: based on the display device being switched from the standby mode or the dehumidification mode to a general mode, supplying the main processor with power (¶248 – hard turn-on: general mode and is connected to power); and controlling, using the main processor, the display to display a screen corresponding to a received image signal (¶258; ¶275).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined method of Yoshida, Jo, Oh, and Cheng, wherein the switching comprises: based on the sub processor supplied with power in the standby mode identifying that the humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to the threshold value, switching the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode and wherein the control method further comprises: based on the display device being switched from the standby mode or the dehumidification mode to a general mode, supplying the main processor with power; and controlling, using the main processor, the display to display a screen corresponding to a received image signal, as taught by Kim so as to prevent deterioration due to condensation of water vapor that has penetrated the display apparatus while in standby (¶30).
With respect to Claim 13, claim 11 is incorporated, Yoshida teaches wherein the switching comprises: based on receiving a control instruction from a remote control device shift the display device to a standby mode (¶5).
Yoshida, Jo, Oh, and Cheng combined do not mention wherein the switching comprises: based on receiving a control instruction from a remote control device while the display device is in the standby mode, switching the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode according to the control instruction.
Kim teaches a control method (figs. 12 and 14) of a display device (figs. 1-3, item 100; ¶55-56) comprising: a power supply (fig. 3, item 107; ¶72); a display including a plurality of display modules (fig. 2, items 104-1, 104-2, … 104-6; ¶73), wherein a first display module (fig. 4, item 104-1) among the plurality of display modules includes a first communication interface and a first power supply (figs. 3-4, wiring connecting first display modules 104-1 to the control assembly comprises a first communication interface and a first power supply), wherein a second display module (fig. 4, item 104-2) among the plurality of display modules includes the second communication interface and a second power supply (figs. 3-4, wiring connecting first display modules 104-2 to the control assembly comprises a second communication interface and a second power supply), at least one processor (fig. 6, item 190; ¶109; ¶166-169; ¶180) comprising a main processor (¶159, “The controller 190 may include one or two or more memories 191 that store programs and data, and one or two or more processors 192 that process data according to the program”; ¶249, “In the ‘hard turn-on’ state, the controller 190 may perform a minimum operation including the water vapor condensation prevention operation 1000 described above” – portion of item 190 that is used is the main processor) and a sub processor (¶159, “The controller 190 may include one or two or more memories 191 that store programs and data, and one or two or more processors 192 that process data according to the program”; ¶249, “the controller 190 operates in the standby mode, and only a part of the controller 190 may be activated or operated in synchronization with a low frequency clock” – portion of item 190 that is used is the sub processor), wherein the sub processor is configured to: obtain humidity information of ambient air from a sensor, or receive the humidity information from an external device through the first communication interface or the second communication interface while the display device is in a standby mode (¶17; claims 1-2); wherein the switching comprises: based on receiving a control instruction from a remote control device while the display device is in the standby mode (¶249, “the controller 190 operates in the standby mode, and only a part of the controller 190 may be activated or operated in synchronization with a low frequency clock” – portion of item 190 that is activated = sub processor; ¶250, “a state where power is supplied only to a minimum circuit component (not shown) that receives and processes the signal from the remote controller through the signal receiver 112”; ¶248, soft turn-on is also standby mode), switching the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode according to the control instruction (¶251-252; ¶260-262; ¶276).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined method of Yoshida, Jo, Oh, and Cheng, wherein the switching comprises: based on receiving a control instruction from a remote control device while the display device is in the standby mode, switching the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode according to the control instruction, as taught by Kim so as to prevent deterioration due to condensation of water vapor that has penetrated the display apparatus while in standby (¶30).
With respect to Claim 14, claim 13 is incorporated, Yoshida, Jo, Kim, and Cheng combined do not teach wherein the control instruction is received from the remote control device as at least two buttons among a plurality of buttons provided on the remote control device are pushed.
Oh teaches a control method (fig. 12; ¶177) of a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶43) comprising a processor (fig. 1, item 180; ¶75), the control method comprising: obtaining humidity information of ambient air from a sensor (figs. 7-10, item 125; ¶140) while the display device is in a standby mode (fig. 12, item S210; ¶77; ¶177); and based on identifying that a humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the obtained humidity information (¶53; ¶180-181), switching the display device from the standby mode to a dehumidification mode (¶172, “When power is connected to the display device, the display device is in a standby mode state. The standby mode refers to a state in which a power source is connected to a TV, but the TV is not operated but only some sensors or some components are operable with minimal power, and an IR sensor is activated to allow power to be turned on by a remote controller, and the condensation sensor 125 may be activated to detect dews in a state in which the user does not use the TV”; ¶173; ¶175; ¶180-181 – the dehumidification mode is when condensation is detected and the display is driven to prevent further condensation or reduce humidity), wherein the switching comprises: based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, supplying power to a display provided in the display device (¶181, “Even in this case, the display device 100 may be normally driven (S270). When the display device 100 is driven, heat may be generated to prevent the condensation phenomenon.” – power is supplied to the display to be driven normally) and controlling the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images during a specific time (¶80, “the image displayed on the display module 150 may be a still image or video” – a video comprises a plurality of predetermined images displayed sequentially at a specific time; ¶155, “the display device 100 may be driven to increase the temperature, or a UI that notifies a user of a condensation risk and suggests the user drive the display device 100, move the display device 100 to an environment having a low humidity, or lower an ambient humidity may be output to a screen”; ¶156, “guide the user to take an action for preventing condensation. In this case, not only an alarm is simply provided but may also provide a UI or a description for guiding an action of the user to be taken to remove dew drops as described above”; ¶181, by driving the display normally at a medium humidity level a plurality of predetermined images are sequentially displayed); wherein the switching comprises: based on receiving a control instruction from a remote control device (fig. 1, item 200; ¶70; ¶94) while the display device is in the standby mode, switching the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode according to the control instruction (¶172, by turning on power, the condensation sensor 125 is activated and enters a dehumidification mode when the condensation sensor senses a medium level of condensation); wherein the control instruction is received from the remote control device as at least two buttons among a plurality of buttons provided on the remote control device are pushed (¶74, user may power on the tv and then increase the volume or change a channel, the two buttons are pushed sequentially).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined control method of Yoshida, Jo, Kim, and Cheng, wherein the control instruction is received from the remote control device as at least two buttons among a plurality of buttons provided on the remote control device are pushed, as taught by Oh so as to minimize malfunction and defects caused by condensation (¶8) and provide a remote control that commonly has more than two buttons for use with a display device.
With respect to Claim 15, claim 11 is incorporated, Yoshida teaches wherein the control method further comprises: obtaining humidity information while the display device is in the dehumidification mode (¶28); and based on identifying that the humidity of the ambient air is less than the threshold value based on the humidity information obtained while the display device is in the dehumidification mode (¶35-¶36), controlling to not supply power to the display by switching the display device from the dehumidification mode to the standby mode (¶36).
With respect to Claim 17, claim 11 is incorporated, Yoshida teaches wherein the sensor comprises at least one of a humidity detection sensor provided in the display device (fig. 1; ¶34).
With respect to Claim 18, claim 11 is incorporated, Yoshida teaches wherein the control method further comprises: based on receiving a control instruction for switching the display device to a general mode from a remote control device in the dehumidification mode (¶25, “After that, in the case where the remote controller light receiving unit (70) receives a power-off signal, that is, the user turns off the remote controller (7) and does not watch an image (S4), if the power supply unit (8) is on, the microcomputer (4) shifts to the standby mode (S2 and S5)”; ¶26, “In the case where the temperature data from the temperature sensor (5) is lower than the first threshold value (S6), there is the possibility that dew condensation occurs in the cabinet (2) or an operation failure in an electronic part in the cabinet (2) occurs. In this case, the microcomputer (4) shifts to the pseudo standby mode (S8)”), switching the display device from the dehumidification mode to the general mode (fig. 2, S8 to S9; ¶29).
Yoshida, Jo, Kim, and Cheng combined do not mention while the display displays the plurality of predetermined images in the dehumidification mode.
Oh teaches a control method (fig. 12; ¶177) of a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶43) comprising a processor (fig. 1, item 180; ¶75), the control method comprising: obtaining humidity information of ambient air from a sensor (figs. 7-10, item 125; ¶140) while the display device is in a standby mode (fig. 12, item S210; ¶77; ¶177); and based on identifying that a humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the obtained humidity information (¶53; ¶180-181), switching the display device from the standby mode to a dehumidification mode (¶172, “When power is connected to the display device, the display device is in a standby mode state. The standby mode refers to a state in which a power source is connected to a TV, but the TV is not operated but only some sensors or some components are operable with minimal power, and an IR sensor is activated to allow power to be turned on by a remote controller, and the condensation sensor 125 may be activated to detect dews in a state in which the user does not use the TV”; ¶173; ¶175; ¶180-181 – the dehumidification mode is when condensation is detected and the display is driven to prevent further condensation or reduce humidity), wherein the switching comprises: based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, supplying power to a display provided in the display device (¶181, “Even in this case, the display device 100 may be normally driven (S270). When the display device 100 is driven, heat may be generated to prevent the condensation phenomenon.” – power is supplied to the display to be driven normally) and controlling the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images during a specific time (¶80, “the image displayed on the display module 150 may be a still image or video” – a video comprises a plurality of predetermined images displayed sequentially at a specific time; ¶155, “the display device 100 may be driven to increase the temperature, or a UI that notifies a user of a condensation risk and suggests the user drive the display device 100, move the display device 100 to an environment having a low humidity, or lower an ambient humidity may be output to a screen”; ¶156, “guide the user to take an action for preventing condensation. In this case, not only an alarm is simply provided but may also provide a UI or a description for guiding an action of the user to be taken to remove dew drops as described above”; ¶181, by driving the display normally at a medium humidity level a plurality of predetermined images are sequentially displayed); wherein the switching comprises: based on receiving a control instruction from a remote control device (fig. 1, item 200; ¶70; ¶94) while the display device is in the standby mode, switching the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode according to the control instruction (¶172, by turning on power, the condensation sensor 125 is activated and enters a dehumidification mode when the condensation sensor senses a medium level of condensation).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the control method of Yoshida, Jo, Kim, and Cheng, such that in the pseudo standby mode the display device is driven to display a UI that notifies a user of a condensation risk and suggests the user drive the display device 100 or the display device is driven normally to display a video, resulting in while the display displays the plurality of predetermined images in the dehumidification mode, as taught by Oh so as to minimize malfunction and defects caused by condensation (¶8).
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, Jo, Kim, Oh, and Cheng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsai et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0316992 A1) hereinafter referred to as Tsai.
With respect to Claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated, Yoshida, Jo, Kim, Oh, and Cheng combined do not mention wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on the standby mode of the display device being maintained for greater than or equal to a threshold time, switch the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode.
Tsai teaches a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶17) comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 130 and 110; ¶18-¶19); and at least one processor (fig. 1, item 160; ¶22) configured to: execute a dehumidification process (fig. 2; ¶24-26); wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on an interval of time from a previous dehumidification process being maintained for greater than or equal to a threshold time (¶25), switch the display device to the dehumidification mode (¶26 – upon user selection).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display device of Yoshida, Jo, Kim, Oh, and Cheng, such that an interval of time from a previous dehumidification process may exist during the standby mode of the display device of Yoshida and Oh resulting in wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on the standby mode of the display device being maintained for greater than or equal to a threshold time, switch the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode, as taught by Tsai so as to remove internal moisture (¶5) and prolong the service life of the display (¶9).
With respect to Claim 9, claim 1 is incorporated, Although Cheng teaches a test pattern having columns of pixels each different from each other and each with varying intensities (¶31-33), Cheng does not teach the overall screen is displayed with luminance that increases. Yoshida, Jo, Kim, Oh, and Cheng combined do not mention wherein the at least one processor is configured to control the display to sequentially display each of the plurality of predetermined images such that a luminance of a screen displayed by the display increases.
Tsai teaches a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶17) comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 130 and 110; ¶18-¶19); and at least one processor (fig. 1, item 160; ¶22) configured to: execute a dehumidification process (fig. 2; ¶24-26); wherein each of a plurality of predetermined images is an image wherein at least one of luminance of the image is different (¶27), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to control the display to sequentially display each of the plurality of predetermined images such that the luminance of a screen displayed by the display increases (¶27).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display device of Yoshida, Jo, Kim, Oh, and Cheng, such that in the dehumidification mode each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image and wherein the at least one processor is configured to control the display to sequentially display each of the plurality of predetermined images such that the luminance of a screen displayed by the display increases, as taught by Tsai so as to remove internal moisture (¶5) and prolong the service life of the display (¶9).
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, Jo, Kim, Oh, and Cheng as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Tsai.
With respect to Claim 16, claim 1 is incorporated, Yoshida, Jo, Kim, Oh, and Cheng combined do not mention wherein the control method further comprises: based on the standby mode of the display device being maintained for greater than or equal to a threshold time, switching the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode.
Tsai teaches a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶17) comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 130 and 110; ¶18-¶19); and at least one processor (fig. 1, item 160; ¶22) configured to: execute a dehumidification process (fig. 2; ¶24-26); wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on an interval of time from a previous dehumidification process being maintained for greater than or equal to a threshold time (¶25), switching the display device to the dehumidification mode (¶26 – upon user selection).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined control method of Yoshida, Jo, Kim, Oh, and Cheng, such that an interval of time from a previous dehumidification process may exist during the standby mode of the display device of Yoshida and Oh resulting in wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on the standby mode of the display device being maintained for greater than or equal to a threshold time, switch the display device from the standby mode to the dehumidification mode, as taught by Tsai so as to remove internal moisture (¶5) and prolong the service life of the display (¶9).
With respect to Claim 19, claim 11 is incorporated, Although Cheng teaches a test pattern having columns of pixels each different from each other and each with varying intensities (¶31-33), Cheng does not teach the overall screen is displayed with luminance that increases. Yoshida, Jo, Kim, Oh, and Cheng combined do not mention wherein the switching comprises controlling the display to sequentially display each of the plurality of predetermined images such that the luminance of a screen displayed by the display increases.
Tsai teaches a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶17) comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 130 and 110; ¶18-¶19); and at least one processor (fig. 1, item 160; ¶22) configured to: execute a dehumidification process (fig. 2; ¶24-26); wherein each of a plurality of predetermined images is an image wherein at least one of luminance of the image is different (¶27), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to control the display to sequentially display each of the plurality of predetermined images such that the luminance of a screen displayed by the display increases (¶27).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined control method of Yoshida, Jo, Kim, Oh, and Cheng, such that in the dehumidification mode each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to control the display to sequentially display each of the plurality of predetermined images such that the luminance of a screen displayed by the display increases, as taught by Tsai so as to remove internal moisture (¶5) and prolong the service life of the display (¶9).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, in view of Kim, in view of Jo, and in view of Cheng.
With respect to Claim 20, Oh teaches a non-transitory computer readable recording medium (fig. 1, item 140; ¶57-58), which includes computer-readable code that when executed by a display device (figs. 1-2, item 100; ¶43; ¶98) comprising processor (fig. 1, item 180; ¶75) causes the display device to execute a control method (fig. 12; ¶177), the control method comprising: obtaining humidity information of ambient air from a sensor (figs. 7-10, item 125; ¶140) while the display device is in a standby mode (fig. 12, item S210; ¶77; ¶177); and based on identifying that a humidity of the ambient air is greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the obtained humidity information (¶53; ¶180-181), switching the display device from the standby mode to a dehumidification mode (¶172, “When power is connected to the display device, the display device is in a standby mode state. The standby mode refers to a state in which a power source is connected to a TV, but the TV is not operated but only some sensors or some components are operable with minimal power, and an IR sensor is activated to allow power to be turned on by a remote controller, and the condensation sensor 125 may be activated to detect dews in a state in which the user does not use the TV”; ¶173; ¶175; ¶180-181 – the dehumidification mode is when condensation is detected and the display is driven to prevent further condensation or reduce humidity), wherein the switching comprises: based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, supplying power to a display provided in the display device (¶181, “Even in this case, the display device 100 may be normally driven (S270). When the display device 100 is driven, heat may be generated to prevent the condensation phenomenon.” – power is supplied to the display to be driven normally); and controlling the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images during a specific time (¶80, “the image displayed on the display module 150 may be a still image or video” – a video comprises a plurality of predetermined images displayed sequentially at a specific time; ¶155, “the display device 100 may be driven to increase the temperature, or a UI that notifies a user of a condensation risk and suggests the user drive the display device 100, move the display device 100 to an environment having a low humidity, or lower an ambient humidity may be output to a screen”; ¶156, “guide the user to take an action for preventing condensation. In this case, not only an alarm is simply provided but may also provide a UI or a description for guiding an action of the user to be taken to remove dew drops as described above”; ¶181, by driving the display normally at a medium humidity level a plurality of predetermined images are sequentially displayed).
Oh does not mention the processor comprises a main processor and a sub processor.
Kim teaches a control method (figs. 12 and 14) of a display device (figs. 1-3, item 100; ¶55-56) comprising: a power supply (fig. 3, item 107; ¶72); a display including a plurality of display modules (fig. 2, items 104-1, 104-2, … 104-6; ¶73), wherein a first display module (fig. 4, item 104-1) among the plurality of display modules includes a first communication interface and a first power supply (figs. 3-4, wiring connecting first display modules 104-1 to the control assembly comprises a first communication interface and a first power supply), wherein a second display module (fig. 4, item 104-2) among the plurality of display modules includes the second communication interface and a second power supply (figs. 3-4, wiring connecting first display modules 104-2 to the control assembly comprises a second communication interface and a second power supply), at least one processor (fig. 6, item 190; ¶109; ¶166-169; ¶180) comprising a main processor (¶159, “The controller 190 may include one or two or more memories 191 that store programs and data, and one or two or more processors 192 that process data according to the program”; ¶249, “In the ‘hard turn-on’ state, the controller 190 may perform a minimum operation including the water vapor condensation prevention operation 1000 described above” – portion of item 190 that is used is the main processor) and a sub processor (¶159, “The controller 190 may include one or two or more memories 191 that store programs and data, and one or two or more processors 192 that process data according to the program”; ¶249, “the controller 190 operates in the standby mode, and only a part of the controller 190 may be activated or operated in synchronization with a low frequency clock” – portion of item 190 that is used is the sub processor), wherein the sub processor is configured to: obtain humidity information of ambient air from a sensor, or receive the humidity information from an external device through the first communication interface or the second communication interface while the display device is in a standby mode (¶17; claims 1-2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the non-transitory computer readable recording medium of Oh, such that computer-readable code or a method is executed by a display device comprising a processor which comprises a main processor and a sub processor, as taught by Kim so as to maintain power saving (¶249-250).
Oh and Kim combined do not teach a display device comprising a plurality of display modules, wherein a first display module among the plurality of display modules includes a first communication interface and a first power supply and a second display module among the plurality of display modules includes a second communication interface and a second power supply; wherein the switching comprises: based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, controlling the first power supply to supply power to the first display module by transmitting a first control signal for switching the first display module to the dehumidification mode through the first communication interface, and controlling the second power supply to supply power to the second display module by transmitting a second control signal for switching the second display module to the dehumidification mode through the second communication interface.
Jo teaches a control method (figs. 8A and 8B) of a display device (figs. 1 and 6, item 3; ¶29) comprising: a controller (fig. 3, item 2) and a plurality of display modules (figs. 1, 3, 6, & 11, item 4: display module), wherein a first display module (fig. 2B, left display module = first display module) among the plurality of display modules includes a first communication interface and a first power supply (figs. 2A and 2B; ¶32, “a power source, and an image signal for the plurality of LED modules, and an LED control signal are input to the control box 44” – the wire into item 44 of fig. 2B comprises a first communication interface and a first power supply) and a second display module (fig. 2B, right display module = second display module) among the plurality of display modules includes a second communication interface and a second power supply (figs. 2A and 2B; ¶32, “a power source, and an image signal for the plurality of LED modules, and an LED control signal are input to the control box 44” – the wire into item 44 of fig. 2B comprises a second communication interface and a second power supply); wherein the switching comprises: based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode (fig. 8B; ¶77), controlling the first power supply to supply power to the first display module by transmitting a first control signal for switching the first display module to the dehumidification mode through the first communication interface (¶82-83), and controlling the second power supply to supply power to the second display module by transmitting a second control signal for switching the second display module to the dehumidification mode through the second communication interface (¶82-83).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined non-transitory computer readable recording medium of Oh and Kim, such that display device comprises a plurality of display modules, wherein a first display module among the plurality of display modules includes a first communication interface and a first power supply and a second display module among the plurality of display modules includes a second communication interface and a second power supply; such that the computer-readable code comprises the method wherein the switching comprises: based on the display device being switched to the dehumidification mode, controlling the first power supply to supply power to the first display module by transmitting a first control signal for switching the first display module to the dehumidification mode through the first communication interface, and controlling the second power supply to supply power to the second display module by transmitting a second control signal for switching the second display module to the dehumidification mode through the second communication interface, as taught by Jo, so as to provide control to the plurality of display modules through one processor to reduce costs.
Oh, Kim, and Jo combined do not teach wherein each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image wherein at least one of a pattern of the image or a color of the image is different.
Cheng teaches a control method (fig. 2; ¶26) of a display device (fig. 1A, item 100; ¶20), the display device comprising: a display (fig. 1A, item 102; ¶20); and at least one controller (fig. 1A, item 104); the method comprising: obtaining humidity information (fig. 1A, item 103; fig. 2, item S200; ¶26); based on identifying that a humidity is greater than or equal to a threshold value control the display to sequentially display each of a plurality of predetermined images (fig. 2, item S210; ¶31, “the display panel 102 may display the grating pattern GR as a test pattern. The grating pattern GR includes a first column of pixels P1, a second column of pixels P2, a third column of pixels P3, a fourth column of pixels P4, and a fifth column of pixels P5 adjacent to one another. Adjacent columns of pixels in the grating pattern GR may be driven by different driving voltages (i.e., V1, V2, V3, V4, V5)”); wherein each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image wherein at least one of a pattern of the image or a color of the image is different (¶32, “The controller 104 may adjust the voltage difference between the first driving voltage V1 and the second driving voltage V2 to learn to learn a plurality of light intensities” – by driving the test pattern at different voltages a plurality of test images having varying intensity values among the test pattern at varying times are different predetermined images, additionally since the driving voltages change by increasing, it is a form of dehumidification).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined non-transitory computer readable recording medium of Oh, Kim, and Jo, to incorporate the method of Cheng into the computer-readable code to comprise wherein each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image wherein at least one of a pattern of the image or a color of the image is different, as taught by Cheng so as to adjust the gamma setting of the display panel according to the humidity information of the display panel to prevent the moisture inside the display panel from affecting the image quality of the display screen (¶24).
Conclusion
/DONNA V Bocar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621