DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS’s) submitted on 11 December 2024 and 23 July 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statements have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by YODA (US 2020/0269608 A1).
As related to independent claim 1, YODA teaches a conveying device comprising: a holding portion configured to hold a rolled sheet (YODA – Page 1, Paragraph 17 and Figure 1, Reference #16, #15, & #101, shown below); a conveying portion configured to convey a sheet drawn out of the rolled sheet held by the holding portion (YODA – Page 1, Paragraph 17 and Figure 1, Reference #16, #15, & #101, shown below); a guide portion configured to guide the sheet conveyed by the conveying portion; and a cutting portion which is disposed in the guide portion to cut the sheet using a movable blade (YODA – Page 1, Paragraph 17 and Figure 1, Reference #16, #15, & #101, shown below), wherein the movable blade moves to a first position approaching the holding portion and to a second position departing from the holding portion (YODA – Page 3, Paragraphs 32-34 and Figure 1, Reference #51, shown below).
As related to dependent claim 4, YODA teaches the guide portion further comprises: a guide member configured to form a conveying surface of the sheet, and a base member which is disposed on an opposite side of a conveying path with respect to the guide member, wherein the cutting portion is disposed integrally with the base member (YODA – Page 1, Paragraph 17; Page 3, Paragraphs 32-34 and Figure 1, Reference #23 & #51, shown above).
As related to dependent claim 18, YODA teaches a recording apparatus comprising the conveying device and a recording portion configured to perform recording on a sheet on a conveying path between the holding portion and the guide portion (YODA – Page 1, Paragraphs 17-18; Page 2, Paragraphs 22-26; Page 3, Paragraphs 32-34 and Figure 1, Reference ##28, #15, & #23, shown above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 & 5-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YODA (US 2020/0269608 A1) in view of YODA ‘593 (US 2022/0410593 A1).
As related to dependent claim 2, YODA teaches the conveying device further comprising a fixing portion configured to perform fixing processing on the sheet passing through a conveying path (YODA – Page 3, Paragraph 29 and Figure 1, Reference #41, shown above), but does not specifically teach the fixing portion is movable. However, YODA ‘593 teaches a conveying device having a fixing portion (YODA ‘593 – Page 1, Paragraphs 5 & 18 and Figure 2, shown below) and specifically teaches the fixing portion is movable to a third position which faces the guide portion to heat the sheet, and to a fourth position departing from the guide portion (YODA ‘593 – Page 1, Paragraphs 5 & 18; Page 2, Paragraphs 22 & 26-28; and Figure 2, Reference #55, shown below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixing portion of YODA with the movable fixing portion of YODA ‘593 in an effort to provide a conveying device in a recording device including a fixing portion which is an optional device and can be moved to set the appropriate spacing to perform its function (YODA ‘593 – Page 1, Paragraphs 4-6).
As related to further dependent claim 3, the combination of YODA and YODA ‘593, remains as applied above and continues to teach the fixing portion includes a heater to heat the sheet passing through the conveying path as the fixing processing (YODA – Page 3, Paragraph 29 and YODA ‘593 – Page 4, Paragraph 44).
As related to further dependent claim 5, the combination of YODA and YODA ‘593 remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach the guide portion further comprises a fixing member configured to connect the guide member and the base member, wherein thermal conductivity of a material constituting the fixing member is lower than thermal conductivity of a material constituting the base member (YODA – Figure 1, Reference #23 and YODA – Figure 2, Reference #25both shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 6, the combination of YODA and YODA ‘593 remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach the guide portion further comprises a heat insulating material which is filled between the guide member and the base member (YODA – Figure 2, Reference #23 & #33, shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 7, the combination of YODA and YODA ‘593 remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach the cutting portion further comprises: a rail which extends in a width direction of the sheet crossing with a conveying direction of the sheet; and a cutting member configured to be movable on the rail in the width direction, wherein the rail is fixed to the base member (YODA – Page 3, Paragraphs 32-34 and Figure 1, Reference #51, shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 8, the combination of YODA and YODA ‘593 remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach the cutting member includes an upper blade and a lower blade, which are disposed in a direction vertical to a surface of the sheet, wherein the upper blade and the lower blade have a contact portion, and move on the rail in the width direction in a state of inserting the sheet in the contact portion, so that the sheet is cut by the contact portion (YODA – Page 3, Paragraphs 32-34 and Figure 1, Reference #51, shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 9, the combination of YODA and YODA ‘593 remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach a downstream guide portion configured to guide the sheet along the conveying path, at the downstream of the cutting portion on the conveying path, wherein the downstream guide portion is disposed integrally with the guide portion and the cutting portion (YODA – Page 3, Paragraphs 32-34 and Figure 1, Reference #51 & #20, shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 10, the combination of YODA and YODA ‘593 remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach a winding portion which is disposed on the conveying path at the downstream of the downstream guide portion, and winds the sheet, wherein the rolled sheet held by the holding portion is exposed between the guide portion at the second position, the cutting portion and the downstream guide portion; and the winding portion (YODA – Page 2, Paragraph 19; Page 3, Paragraphs 32-34; and Figure 1, Reference #51, #18, & #20, shown above and YODA ‘593 – Figure 2, shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 11, the combination of YODA and YODA ‘593 remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach the downstream guide portion guides the sheet on the conveying path between the guide portion and the winding portion, while contacting the sheet so as to apply tensile force on the sheet (YODA – Page 2, Paragraphs 19-22; Page 3, Paragraphs 32-34; and Figure 1, Reference #51, #18, & #20, shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 12, the combination of YODA and YODA ‘593 remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach the downstream guide portion has an R shape in a cross section vertical to a width direction of the sheet crossing a conveying direction of the sheet (YODA – Page 2, Paragraphs 19-22; Page 3, Paragraphs 32-34; and Figure 1, Reference #51, #18, & #20, shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 13, the combination of YODA and YODA ‘593 remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach the guide portion further comprises a reinforcing member which is mounted on the base member on a rear side of a part to which the rail is fixed (YODA – Figure 1, Reference #33 shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 14, the combination of YODA and YODA ‘593 remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach the reinforcing member includes a part which is mounted on the base member on a rear side of a portion to which the fixing member is fixed (YODA – Figure 1, Reference #33 shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 15, the combination of YODA and YODA ‘593 remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach the reinforcing member overlaps with both the rail and the fixing member in a view in a direction vertical to the conveying surface (YODA – Figure 1, Reference #33 shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 16, the combination of YODA and YODA ‘593 remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach the reinforcing member further comprises: a downstream side mounting portion which is mounted on the base member on the conveying path at the downstream side of a fixing portion of the rail and the base member; and an upstream side mounting portion which is mounted on the base member on the conveying path on an upstream side of the fixing member (YODA – Figure 1, Reference #33 shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 17, the combination of YODA and YODA ‘593 remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach a spacer configured to connect the guide member and the rail, wherein thermal conductivity of a material constituting the spacer is lower than thermal conductivity of a material constituting the guide member (YODA – Figure 2, Reference #23 & #33, shown above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kaufman et al. (US 6,151,037 A) teaches a conveying device in a printing apparatus having a cutting portion. Kwasny et al. (US 6,554,511 B2) teaches a conveying device in a printing apparatus having multiple cutting portions. Kaneko et al. (US 7,534,061 B2) teaches a conveying device in a printing apparatus having a fixing unit and cutting portions. YAMASHITA et al. (US 2009/0226236 A1) teaches a conveying device in a printing apparatus having a movable cutting portion. Sato et al. (US 2011/0210500 A1) teaches a conveying device in a printing apparatus having a fixing unit and cutting portions. TSUJI (US 2012/0062678 A1) teaches a conveying device in a printing apparatus having a rolled sheet, a guide portion and cutting portions. Maruyama et al. (US 2016/0067874 A1) teaches a conveying device in a printing apparatus having a rolled sheet, a guide portion and a movable cutting portion. Kikuchi et al. (US 2017/0087889 A1) teaches a conveying device in a printing apparatus having a rolled sheet, a guide portion and cutting portions.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular Figures & Reference Numbers, Columns, Paragraphs and Line Numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at (571) 272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/John P Zimmermann/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853