DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/04/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okaichi (EP 2615384 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Okaichi discloses an electronic controller (#110 & #118) for controlling a heat pump water heater #100, the electronic controller configured to:
receive a first signal from a first sensor #111, the first signal indicative of a first variable ([0018]);
receive a second signal from a second sensor #112, the second signal indicative of a second variable ([0018]);
determine a target flow rate based on the first variable and the second variable; and
control a water flow rate of the heat pump water heater based on the target flow rate ([0020-0041]. See [0041] in particular).
Regarding claim 13:
Okaichi discloses all the limitations.
Note: “the heat pump water heater” has not been claimed as part of the invention. Thus, the limitation “wherein controlling the water flow rate of the heat pump water heater based on the target flow rate comprises: controlling a flow control valve to operate at a fixed valve position; and adjusting an operating speed of a water pump” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); MPEP 2114/Il.)
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawano (US 12498142 B2).
Regarding claim 1:
Kawano discloses an electronic controller #30 for controlling a heat pump water heater #100, the electronic controller configured to:
receive a first signal from a first sensor (any one of the measuring devices discussed in col. 6, L 27 – col. 7, L 27), the first signal indicative of a first variable (col. 6, L 27 – col. 7, L 27);
receive a second signal from a second sensor (another one of any one of the measuring devices discussed in col. 6, L 27 – col. 7, L 27), the second signal indicative of a second variable (col. 6, L 27 – col. 7, L 27);
determine a target flow rate based on the first variable and the second variable (col. 7, L 36-43: “the controller #30 controls the operating frequency of the water pump #22 based on various information from various sensors provided in the heat-pump water heater #100); and
control a water flow rate of the heat pump water heater based on the target flow rate (Note: “the heat pump water heater” has not been claimed as part of the invention. Thus, the limitation “control a water flow rate of the heat pump water heater based on the target flow rate” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); MPEP 2114/Il.)
Regarding claim 4:
Kawano further discloses wherein the first variable is a first refrigerant pressure #51 and the second variable is a second refrigerant pressure #52.
Regarding claim 11:
Kawano further discloses wherein the first sensor is a pressure sensor #51 positioned to measure a pressure of a refrigerant as the refrigerant flows from a compressor to an expansion device (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12:
Kawano further discloses wherein the second sensor is a pressure sensor positioned to measure a pressure of a refrigerant as the refrigerant flows from an expansion device to a compressor (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13:
Kawano discloses all the limitations.
“The heat pump water heater” has not been claimed as part of the invention. Thus, the limitation “wherein controlling the water flow rate of the heat pump water heater based on the target flow rate comprises: controlling a flow control valve to operate at a fixed valve position; and adjusting an operating speed of a water pump” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. MPEP 2114/Il.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okaichi (EP 2615384 A1) in view of Giubilo (US 9995514 B1).
Regarding claim 2:
Okaichi further discloses wherein the first variable is a water inlet temperature ([0018]).
Okaichi does not specifically discloses wherein the second variable is an ambient temperature.
In the same field of endeavor, Giubilo teaches a water-cooled condenser wherein a water pump is controlled based on ambient temperature (see at least abstract, col. 4, L 1-11, & claim 8).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Okaichi with the second variable being an ambient temperature; in a similar manner as taught by Giubilo.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided indication for high system loads so as to optimized operation of the system.
Regarding claims 14-15, 17 and 24-26:
If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. Thus, the method claims above would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus of claims 1-2, 4, and 11-13. See MPEP 2112.02.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-10, 16, and 18-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
There is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the prior art of record to provide (i) determining the target flow rate based on the first variable and the second variable comprising determining a first estimated refrigerant pressure based on the first variable; determining a second estimated refrigerant pressure based on the second variable; determining an available heating rate based on the first estimated refrigerant pressure and the second estimated refrigerant pressure; and determining the target flow rate based on the available heating rate and an adjustment factor as required by claim 3 as its associated method claim 16; and (ii) determining the target flow rate based on the first variable and the second variable comprising determining an available heating rate based on the first refrigerant pressure and the second refrigerant pressure; and determining the target flow rate based on the available heating rate, a water inlet temperature, and an adjustment factor as required by claim 5 as its associated method claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Swofford (US 11125483 B2), Suzuki (US 9897341 B2), Matsuzawa (US 20150338129 A1), Kleman (US 8385729 B2), Chikami (US 20100319378 A1), Sienel (US 20050268625 A1), and Kuroki (US 20020000094 A1).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763