DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: the period after the term “waitlist” should be changed to a semicolon “;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purves et al. (US 20130290203 A1) in view of Rodriguez et al. (US 20180367483 A1).
For claims 1, 11, and 16, Purves discloses a system comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (2314) storing instructions executable by the one or more processors, wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to perform operations (Figs. 23, 7-16) [0180] comprising:
storing one or more applications in a repository (database, memory 2329) associated with a service provider (102/504) [0051, 0075],
wherein at least a part of an application of the one or more applications is accessible as an instant application, and wherein the instant application comprises a portion of an application that enables a particular, discrete functionality of the application (Figs. 10 and 11B detecting engagement with option 1010 or 1115a; Fig. 12, engagement with option 1210; fig. 18, click buy widget 1805) [0091, 0101, 0109-112];
based at least in part on an indication of an interaction between a user computing device of a user and an interactive element, determining the application from the one or more applications (fig. 18, clicking buy widget 1805 triggers lightbox instant application to be initialized through steps 1810,1815, and 1820) [0071, 0087];
But Purves doesn’t explicitly teach
responsive to determining the application, causing the instant application to be downloaded on the user computing device; and
based at least in part on determining a location of the user computing device, causing display of a user interface associated with the instant application, wherein the user interface enables the user to input data for enabling the particular, discrete functionality associated with the instant application.
But Rodriguez discloses responsive to determining the application, causing the instant application to be downloaded on the user computing device [0036, 0054, 0091]; and
based at least in part on determining a location of the user computing device, causing display of a user interface associated with the instant application (Figs. 9A and 9C) [0163, 210, 0286], wherein the user interface enables the user to input data for enabling the particular, discrete functionality (Steps 412-416 or 510-518, customized functions e.g. status check/make itineraries/paying for events/comment functions) associated with the instant application [0163, 210, 0286, 0429].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing applications use in a mobile device; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Purves, with Rodriguez to ensure needed functionalities can be properly downloaded and installed for data processing, thus, improving system capabilities.
For claim 2, Purves as modified by Rodriguez, Rodriguez further discloses the particular, discrete functionality comprises: clocking in for a shift; clocking out of the shift; inputting gratuity associated with the shift; or adding a customer to a waitlist (restaurant reservation) [0413, 0429]. See motivation to combine the references from the above claim.
For claim 3, Purves as modified by Rodriguez, Rodriguez further discloses the particular, discrete functionality comprises: ordering a stored balance card; associating funds with the stored balance card; redeeming loyalty rewards in association with a transaction to be processed by the service provider; renting a vehicle; accessing a menu; or ordering at least one of a good or a service [0201, 0411, 0418]. See motivation to combine the references from the above claim.
For claims 4, and 17, Purves, as modified by Rodriguez, discloses the interactive element comprises at least one of a Quick Response (QR) code, a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag, a barcode, a near-field communication (NFC) tag, a uniform resource identifier (URI), or an image [0098-99, 0105, 0139].
For claims 5, and 18, Purves as modified by Rodriguez, Rodriguez further discloses the interactive element is affixed or associated with a physical object, and wherein the physical object comprises a table, a designated seating area, a paper receipt, a vehicle, a door, or an item offered for sale [0107, 0316, 0411]. See motivation to combine the references from the above claim.
For claims 6, and 19, Purves, as modified by Rodriguez, discloses the interactive element is presented via an electronic device (1014) [0099].
For claims 7, and 20, Purves, as modified by Rodriguez, discloses the user computing device comprises a first user computing device, and wherein the electronic device comprises a second user computing device, a buyer-facing display of a point-of-sale device, or a kiosk (direct payment via QR code) [0099, 0109].
For claim 8, Purves, as modified by Rodriguez, discloses the instant application is discoverable via one or more of a banner associated with a web page, a link in a message, a map user interface, a library of recently-used instant applications, or a segment of a full application [0070, 0099, 0109].
For claims 9, and 14, Purves as modified by Rodriguez, Rodriguez further discloses operations further comprising: at a time after the user interface is displayed, causing the application to be downloaded on the user computing device [0036, 0054, 0091], wherein downloading the application enables a set of functionalities larger than the particular, discrete functionality associated with the instant application [0036, 0054, 0091]. See motivation to combine the references from the above claim.
For claims 10, and 15, Purves as modified by Rodriguez, Rodriguez further discloses the operations further comprising: prior to causing the application to be downloaded on the user computing device, accessing user data associated with the user [0036, 0054, 0091]; and customizing at least one of the application or data presented via the application based at least in part on the user data [0036, 0054, 0091]. See motivation to combine the references from the above claim.
For claim 12, Purves as modified by Rodriguez, Rodriguez further discloses the particular, discrete functionality comprises:
clocking in for a shift; clocking out of the shift; inputting gratuity associated with the shift; adding a customer to a waitlist [0413, 0429]. ordering a stored balance card; associating funds with the stored balance card; redeeming loyalty rewards in association with a transaction to be processed by the service provider; renting a vehicle; accessing a menu; or ordering at least one of a good or a service [0201, 0411, 0418]. See motivation to combine the references from the above claim.
For claim 13, Purves, as modified by Rodriguez, discloses the interactive element comprises at least one of a Quick Response (QR) code, a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag, a barcode, a near-field communication (NFC) tag, a uniform resource identifier (URI), or an image [0098-99, 0105, 0139],
Rodriguez further discloses wherein the interactive element is affixed or associated with a physical object, and wherein the physical object comprises a table, a designated seating area, a paper receipt, a vehicle, a door, or an item offered for sale [0107, 0316, 0411]. See motivation to combine the references from the above claim.
.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20120190388 A1; US 20120190388 A1; US 10127533 B2
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409