DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 6/5/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-13, 14-23 remain pending in the application. New claims 21-23 has been added to the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding the 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-13, 14-23 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for these reasons:
Regarding Applicant’s assertion regarding the amendment to claim 1 (Page 6-7), the examiner disagrees, pointing out that depending on how the luggage is placed on the ground, if the front of the luggage is against the ground with the legs opposite pointing up, the leg members are positioned above the hinged connection attaching the leg member 3. The examiner recommends tightening the claim to describe the orientation of the luggage to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-12, 15-18 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) and (a) (2) as being anticipated by US Patent 6401888 issued to Kuo (Here forth “Kuo”).
Regarding claim 1, Kuo discloses a bag, comprising: an elongated body configured to receive golf equipment (Fig 5 of Kuo, the bag shown comprises an elongated body that is capable of receiving golf equipment of a certain size);
a protective cover extending along a back side of the elongated body (Fig 3 of Kuo, groove 11 is formed by walls that are the protective cover and extend along the back side of the elongated body 1 of the bag), the protective cover comprising a recessed portion formed along a back side of the protective cover (Fig 3 of Kuo, Protective cover is formed by the walls that the groove 11 is formed within, the groove 11 is the recessed portion and is along the back side if the protective cover);
one or more wheels or rollers integrated with the protective cover (Fig 3 of Kuo, the wheel10 is within the groove 11/recessed portion of the protective cover); and
a leg assembly pivotably coupled to the protective cover (Fig 5 of Kuo, the leg assembly 2 is pivotably coupled to the protective cover as the protective cover is coupled to the elongated body 1),
wherein the leg assembly comprises (i) a leg member configured to move between a plurality of different locked positions (Fig 5 of Kuo, the leg assembly 3 can move between at least two locked positions as the pivot between elements 341 and 340 aid in locking the locked positions between the fully retracted position within the protective cover and fully extended position outside the protective cover), (ii) an additional wheel disposed on a distal end of the leg member (Fig 3 of Kuo, the leg assembly 3 contains an additional wheel 32), and (iii) a foot pedal provided along the leg member (Fig 5 of Kuo, the foot pedal 342 is provided along the leg member 3), wherein the foot pedal is configured to release the leg member from the plurality of different locked positions (Fig 5 of Kuo, the leg assembly 3 can move between at least two locked positions as the pivot between elements 341 and 340 aid in locking the locked positions between the fully retracted position within the protective cover and fully extended position outside the protective cover with the aid of foot pedal 342), wherein the leg member is movable to a fully extended position (Fig 5 of Kuo) in which the distal end of the leg member is positioned above a hinged connection coupling a proximal end of the leg member to the protective cover (Fig 5 of Kuo, depending on how the luggage is placed on the ground, if the front of the luggage is against the ground with the legs opposite pointing up, the leg members are positioned above the hinged connection attaching the leg member 3).
Regarding claim 2, Kuo further discloses wherein the leg assembly further comprises (iv) a foot-activated release mechanism configured to release the leg member from the recessed portion of the protective cover (Fig 5 of Kuo, the foot-activated release mechanism includes elements 341, 340 and the pivot in-between those two elements).
Regarding claim 3, Kuo further discloses wherein the foot-activated release mechanism is provided within the recessed portion of the protective cover (Fig 5-6 of Kuo, the foot-activated release mechanism includes elements 341, 340 and the pivot in-between; in the retracted position, the elements 341, 340 and the pivot in-between is provided within the recessed portion 11 of the protective cover).
Regarding claim 5, Kuo further discloses wherein the hinged connection is disposed within the recessed portion of the protective cover (Fig 5-6 of Kuo, the leg assembly 3 comprises a hinged connection that can be seen between the elongated body 1 and leg assembly 3 and is disposed within the recessed portion 11).
Regarding claim 6, Kuo further discloses, wherein the leg member is movable between (i) a retracted position in which at least a portion of the leg member is positioned within the recessed portion of the protective cover and (ii) an extended position in which at least a portion of the leg member is positioned outside of the recessed portion of the protective cover (Fig 5-6 of Kuo).
Regarding claim 9, Kuo further discloses wherein the additional wheel is configured to swivel between (i) a first configuration in which the additional wheel is deployable to support or transport the bag and (ii) a second configuration in which the additional wheel is positionable within the recessed portion of the protective cover (Fig 5-6 of Kuo, the wheel 32 swivels out via the leg assembly 3 between a first configuration and second configuration outside the recessed portion 11 and inside).
Regarding claim 10, Kuo further discloses wherein the additional wheel is configured to rotate about a first axis when the additional wheel is in the first configuration (Fig 5 of Kuo, the wheel 32 rotates about an axis).
Regarding claim 11, Kuo further disclose wherein the first axis is parallel to a rotational axis of the one or more wheels or rollers integrated with the protective cover (Fig 5 of Kuo, the rotational axis will across the axis of wheel 10 and the first axis will be across the axis of wheel 32 which are parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 12, Kuo further discloses wherein the additional wheel is configured to rotate about a second axis that is different than the first axis when the additional wheel is in the second configuration (Fig 6 of Kuo, the rotational axis will across the axis of wheel 10 and the second axis will be across the axis of wheel 32 which are parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 15, Kuo further discloses wherein the leg member is movable between (i) the fully extended position and (ii) one or more other extended positions in which at least a portion of the leg member is positioned outside of the recessed portion of the protective cover (Fig 5 of Kuo).
Regarding claim 16, Kuo further discloses wherein the protective cover includes a gap or a spacing provided along an upper edge of the protective cover (Fig 3 of Kuo, gap or spacing 11 is within the protective cover into which leg assembly 3 retracts).
Regarding claim 17, Kuo further discloses wherein the leg member is configured to pivot beyond the upper edge of the protective cover by moving through the gap or spacing provided along the upper edge of the protective cover (Fig 5 of Kuo).
Regarding claim 18, The bag of claim 14, further comprising a leg member receiving structure provided along the upper portion of the elongated body (Fig 3 of Kuo, leg member receiving structure 11 is within the protective cover into which leg assembly 3 retracts along a portion of the elongated body if the lower portion is considered everything below the wheel housing of wheels 10 and everything else is considered the upper portion), wherein the leg member is configured to lock into the leg member receiving structure to form a protective spine along the back side of the elongated body (Fig 1 of Kuo, leg member that is part of leg assembly 3 forms a protective spine along backside of the elongated body when received within leg receiving structure 11).
Regarding claim 21, Kuo further discloses wherein a body portion of the leg member is rotatable relative to the proximal end of the leg member (Fig 5-6 of Kuo, the leg member rotates to extend around proximal end of leg).
Regarding claim 22, Kuo further discloses wherein the foot-activated release mechanism is disposed along a back wall of the recessed portion (Fig 5-6 of Kuo, the foot-activated release mechanism includes elements 341, 340 and the pivot in-between; in the retracted position, the elements 341, 340 and the pivot in-between is provided within the recessed portion 11 of the protective cover).
Regarding claim 23, Kuo further discloses wherein the foot-activated release mechanism is disposed within the recessed portion when the leg member is extended (Fig 5-6 of Kuo, portion of the foot-activated release mechanism includes elements 341, 340 when the leg is partially extended, is within the recess partially).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo in view of US Patent 8764030 issued to Murphy (Here forth “Murphy”).
Regarding claim 7, Kuo does not expressly disclose wherein the additional wheel is rotatably coupled to the leg member.
Murphy discloses a similar bag that teaches wherein the additional wheel is rotatably coupled to the leg member (Fig 6 of Murphy, additional wheel 500 is rotatably couples via joint 514; the additional wheel 500 is configured to swivel about the distal end of the leg member 510).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Kuo and Murphy before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the bag of Kuo to have the additional wheel be rotatable, as taught by Murphy, to advantageously adjust the angle of the wheel to aid the intended user.
Regarding claim 19, Kuo as modified does not expressly disclose the limitation further comprising an actuator configured to release the leg member from the leg member receiving structure.
Murphy discloses a similar bag that teaches further comprising an actuator configured to release the leg member from the leg member receiving structure (Fig 2 of Kuo, handle 110 not only can be used to pull the bag after the additional leg 510 is deployed but is an actuator that when pulled in direction 112 deploys the legs).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Kuo and Murphy before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the bag of Kuo to have the legs be deployed via actuator release, as taught by Murphy, to advantageously aid the user in easily deploying the additional leg.
Regarding claim 20, Kuo does not expressly disclose the limitation further comprising a panel or a layer of material configured to cover the recessed portion of the protective cover when the leg assembly is retracted into or positioned within the recessed portion of the protective cover.
Murphy further comprising a panel or a layer of material configured to cover the recessed portion of the protective cover when the leg assembly is retracted into or positioned within the recessed portion of the protective cover (Fig 1 of Murphy, material covers retracted legs when retracting within leg receiving portion).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Kuo and Murphy before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the bag of Kuo to have a layer of material configured to cover the recessed portion of the protective cover when the leg assembly is retracted into or positioned within the recessed portion of the protective cover , as taught by Murphy, to advantageously protect the additional legs when not in use.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo in view of US Patent 8033369 issued to Sherrell (Here forth “Sherrell”).
Regarding claim 13, Kuo does not expressly discloses wherein the second axis is skewed relative to a rotational axis of the one or more wheels or rollers integrated with the protective cover.
Sherrell disclose a similar bag that teaches wherein the second axis is skewed relative to a rotational axis of the one or more wheels or rollers integrated with the protective cover (Fig 5 of Sherrell, the second axis that would follow the axis of the additional wheel 620 is skewed relative to the rotation axis that would follow the axis of the wheels attached to the protective cover seen).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a bag where the second axis is skewed relative to the rotational axis, because Applicant has not disclosed why this position provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with Sherrell’s modified bag (details above) because they both would have the same reconfigurability, and operability. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Sherrell’s modified bag (details above) to obtain the invention as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA KAVINI TAMIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 24 June 2026