Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Venkatesan et al. (US 2018/0048742).
As per claim 1, Venkatesan discloses a method for exchanging a device capability of a neighbor awareness networking (NAN) device, applicable to a first NAN device (see figures 1 and 2 paragraph 39 NAN), the method comprising: transmitting capability signaling for exchanging the device capability, wherein the capability signaling comprises indication of whether the first NAN device supports a high efficiency (HE) physical layer (PHY) mode (see paragraphs 101, 102, 106, 157, 212-214, HEW, negotiation is configured by capability awareness).
As per claim 2, Venkatesan discloses wherein the capability signaling comprises an Extended PHY Mode information; wherein in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes a first value, the capability signaling indicates that the first NAN device supports the HE PHY mode (see figure 3, 5, 6, initiator request messages types, that indicates protocol specific capability parameters with values, FTM, NGP, LCI, VHT, HEW, etc.); and/or in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes a second value, the capability signaling indicates that the first NAN device does not support the HE PHY mode (see figure 3, 5, 6, initiator request messages types, that indicates protocol specific capability parameters with values, FTM, NGP, LCI, VHT, HEW, etc. paragraph 170, failure indication).
As per claim 3, Venkatesan discloses wherein the capability signaling further indicates support of a channel bandwidth mode of the first NAN device (see figures 3-6, bandwidth).
As per claim 4, Venkatesan discloses wherein the capability signaling further comprises at least one of first bandwidth indication information or second bandwidth indication information; wherein in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes the first value, and the first bandwidth indication information takes a third value, the capability signaling indicates that the first NAN device supports the HE PHY mode and a first bandwidth (see figures 3-6, bandwidth, see paragraph 171 success indication configured based on compatibility); and/or in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes the first value, and the first bandwidth indication information takes a fourth value, the capability signaling indicates that the first NAN device supports the HE PHY mode but does not support a first bandwidth (paragraph 170, failure indication); and/or in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes the first value, and the second bandwidth indication information takes a fifth value, the capability signaling indicates that the first NAN device supports the HE PHY mode and a second bandwidth; and/or in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes the first value, and the second bandwidth indication information takes a sixth value, the capability signaling indicates that the first NAN device supports the HE PHY mode but does not support a second bandwidth.
As per claim 5, Venkatesan discloses wherein the Extended PHY Mode information is carried in an Operation Mode field in the capability signaling, wherein the Operation Mode field further carries at least one of the first bandwidth indication information or the second bandwidth indication information (see figures 3-6, bandwidth).
As per claim 7, Venkatesan discloses wherein the capability signaling is carried in a NAN beacon frame, a NAN service discovery frame, a ranging request frame, or a ranging response frame (see figure 3-6, initiator request messages types, that indicates protocol specific capability parameters with values, FTM, NGP, LCI, VHT, HEW).
As per claim 8, Venkatesan discloses a method for exchanging a device capability of a neighbor awareness networking (NAN) device, applicable to a second NAN device (see figures 1 and 2 paragraph 39, NAN), the method comprising: receiving capability signaling for exchanging the device capability, wherein the capability signaling comprises indication of whether a first NAN device supports a high efficiency (HE) physical layer (PHY) mode (see paragraphs 101, 102, 106, 157, 212-214, HEW, negotiation is configured by capability awareness).
As per claim 9, Venkatesan discloses wherein the capability signaling comprises Extended PHY Mode information, wherein in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes a first value, the capability signaling indicates that the first NAN device supports the HE PHY mode (see figure 3, 5, 6, initiator request messages types, that indicates protocol specific capability parameters with values, FTM, NGP, LCI, VHT, HEW, etc.); and/or in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes a second value, the capability signaling indicates that the first NAN device does not support the HE PHY mode (see figure 3, 5, 6, initiator request messages types, that indicates protocol specific capability parameters with values, FTM, NGP, LCI, VHT, HEW, etc. paragraph 170, failure indication).
As per claim 10, Venkatesan discloses wherein the capability signaling further indicates support of a channel bandwidth mode of the first NAN device (see figures 3-6, bandwidth).
As per claim 11, Venkatesan discloses wherein the capability signaling further comprises at least one of first bandwidth indication information or second bandwidth indication information, wherein in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes the first value, and the first bandwidth indication information takes a third value, the capability signaling indicates that the first NAN device supports the HE PHY mode and a first bandwidth (see figures 3-6, bandwidth, see paragraph 171 success indication configured based on compatibility); and/or in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes the first value, and the first bandwidth indication information takes a fourth value, the capability signaling indicates that the first NAN device supports the HE PHY mode but does not support a first bandwidth (paragraph 170, failure indication); and/or in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes the first value, and the second bandwidth indication information takes a fifth value, the capability signaling indicates that the first NAN device supports the HE PHY mode and a second bandwidth; and/or in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes the first value, and the second bandwidth indication information takes a sixth value, the capability signaling indicates that the first NAN device supports the HE PHY mode but does not support a second bandwidth.
As per claim 12, Venkatesan discloses wherein the Extended PHY Mode information is carried in an Operation Mode field in the capability signaling, wherein the Operation Mode field further carries at least one of the first bandwidth indication information or the second bandwidth indication information (see figures 3-6, bandwidth).
As per claim 14, Venkatesan discloses wherein the capability signaling is carried in a NAN beacon frame, a NAN service discovery frame, a ranging request frame, or a ranging response frame (see figure 3-6, initiator request messages types, that indicates protocol specific capability parameters with values, FTM, NGP, LCI, VHT, HEW).
As per claim 15, Venkatesan discloses a neighbor awareness networking (NAN) device, comprising: a processor and a memory storing one or more programs, wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more programs, causes the NAN device (see figures 1 and 2 paragraph 39 NAN) to: transmit capability signaling for exchanging the device capability, wherein the capability signaling comprises indication of whether a first NAN device supports a high efficiency (HE) physical layer (PHY) mode (see paragraphs 101, 102, 106, 157, 212-214, HEW, negotiation is configured by capability awareness).
As per claim 16, Venkatesan discloses wherein the capability signaling comprises an Extended PHY Mode information; wherein in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes a first value, the capability signaling indicates that the NAN device supports the HE PHY mode (see figure 3, 5, 6, initiator request messages types, that indicates protocol specific capability parameters with values, FTM, NGP, LCI, VHT, HEW, etc.); and/or in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes a second value, the capability signaling indicates that the NAN device does not support the HE PHY mode (see figure 3, 5, 6, initiator request messages types, that indicates protocol specific capability parameters with values, FTM, NGP, LCI, VHT, HEW, etc. paragraph 170, failure indication).
As per claim 17, Venkatesan discloses wherein the capability signaling further indicates support of a channel bandwidth mode of the NAN device (see figures 3-6, bandwidth).
As per claim 18, Venkatesan discloses wherein the capability signaling further comprises at least one of first bandwidth indication information or second bandwidth indication information; wherein in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes the first value, and the first bandwidth indication information takes a third value, the capability signaling indicates that the NAN device supports the HE PHY mode and a first bandwidth (see figures 3-6, bandwidth, see paragraph 171 success indication configured based on compatibility); and/or in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes the first value, and the first bandwidth indication information takes a fourth value, the capability signaling indicates that the NAN device supports the HE PHY mode but does not support a first bandwidth (paragraph 170, failure indication); and/or in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes the first value, and the second bandwidth indication information takes a fifth value, the capability signaling indicates that the NAN device supports the HE PHY mode and a second bandwidth; and/or in a case that the Extended PHY Mode information takes the first value, and the second bandwidth indication information takes a sixth value, the capability signaling indicates that the NAN device supports the HE PHY mode but does not support a second bandwidth.
As per claim 19, Venkatesan discloses wherein the Extended PHY Mode information is carried in an Operation Mode field in the capability signaling, wherein the Operation Mode field further carries at least one of the first bandwidth indication information or the second bandwidth indication information (see figures 3-6, bandwidth).
As per claim 20, Venkatesan discloses wherein the capability signaling is carried in a NAN beacon frame, a NAN service discovery frame, a ranging request frame, or a ranging response frame (see figure 3-6, initiator request messages types, that indicates protocol specific capability parameters with values, FTM, NGP, LCI, VHT, HEW).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatesan et al. (US 2018/0048742) in view of Yang et al. (US 2017/0126447).
As per claims 6 and 13, Venkatesan discloses wherein the Extended PHY Mode information occupies value(s)/indicator(s) (see figure 3-6, initiator request messages types, that indicates protocol specific capability parameters with values, FTM, NGP, LCI, VHT, HEW).
Venkatesan does not expressly discloses occupies 1 bit.
However, this teaching well known as evidenced by Yang.
Yang discloses the use of one bit (see paragraph 136, 137, 1 bit for support mode indication, paragraph 69-71 HEW stations management frames).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Yang’s teaching as a modification in Venkatesan capabilities exchange technique. The motivation being in order to save on transmission resources and reducing system complexities, thereby overall system is enhanced.
Conclusion
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831