DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Horie et al., (CN115304068).
Horie et al. teaches “a method for producing silicon dioxide particles and use thereof in cosmetic compositions. The present disclosure also relates to a spherical shape of silicon dioxide particles comprising (SiO4/2) repeating units” (Abstract).
Concerning claim 5, the silicon particles are also taught to have “a D90/D10 particles size distribution of about 1.3 or less as measured by laser diffraction and is spherical and has a sphericity of 0.9 or more as defined by a minor axis/major axis” (p. 2, 2nd paragraph of translation). “[T]he silica particles have a median particle size (D50) of about 0.5µm-50µm” and “a BET surface area of about 0.1m2/g to about 100m2/g” (p. 3, 4th and 5th paragraphs)
The cosmetic products comprising the silicon dioxide particles have “excellent spreadability, feeling and good adhesion to the skin, less cosmetic collapse . . . “ (p. 3, 2nd paragraph), which speaks to a degree of aggregation of 60% or more insofar as it is a condition where “an interaction between the silica particles is large and adhesion between the particles is improved, resulting in a soft and moist feel when spread on skin” (Specification p. 5, para. [0016]).
Concerning claim 6, the prior art teaches several cosmetic formulations comprising the spherical silica particles, e.g. “Powdery eye shadow” (see p. 11 of translation).
Concerning claim 7, the cosmetic formulations “further comprises one or more personal care ingredients”, such as, “fumed silica or hydrated silicon dioxide” (silica powders other than the silica powder for a cosmetic material) (p. 8 last paragraph through p. 9).
The prior art teaches a specific embodiment of spherical particles having a D50 of “3.8 µm, the particle since distribution D90/D10 is 1.11 and the BET specific surface area is 1.32m2/g” (p. 9 Example 1), as per claims 4-5.
Since the prior art contains substantially the same components in the same relative proportions as instantly claimed, i.e. silica particles having a sphericity of 0.9 or more, it would be expected to inherently possess the same chemical and physical properties, such as a degree of aggregation of 60% or more, a stress relaxation rate of 18% or less, a shearing cohesion of 2.0 kPa or more.
The prior art is anticipatory insofar as it teaches silica particles having an average circularity of 0.75 or more. Assuming for the sake of argument that the prior art teaches is not specific enough to give rise to anticipation it would have been obvious to provide silica particles having an average circularity of 0.75 or more of cosmetic material, since the prior art teaches silicon particles for cosmetic formulations having a sphericity of 0.9 or more.
Conclusion
Walter E. Webb
/WALTER E WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612