Claims 14-17 are withdrawn from further consideration. Applicant made the election of Group 3, directed to the embodiment in figures 17A, without traverse, in the response dated 02/12/2026 is acknowledged.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claimed features must be shown, without entering any new matter: “a first set of connectors disposed on a first side of the adapter strap; and… a second set of connectors disposed on a second side of the adapter strap” with the three straps and the two attachment interfaces in claim 1, the complementary buckle member configured to engage or interface with a complementary buckle member provided on or attached to the first bag. There is no embodiment showing the second connector connected to the first bag and attached to itself (the first bag) in claim 4. It is unclear whether loops or connection rails are the same type of connector cited in claim 13 (see 112 rejection belove). If loops and connection rails are of different types of connection, applicant is required to provide drawings of these different types of connection.
The specification is objected to: the “first side”, the “second side” have no antecedent basis.
Claims 1-13 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim recites “a first set of connectors disposed on a first side of the adapter strap; and… a second set of connectors disposed on a second side of the adapter strap” and the claim further recites “a first strap, a second strap, and a third strap, wherein the first strap and the second strap are joined together along a first attachment interface that outlines an overlapping portion of the first and second straps, and wherein the third strap is joined to the first strap and the second strap along a second attachment interface extending around the first attachment interface”. There is no disclosure of such embodiment, and this comprises new matter. Similar with claim 7.
Claim 4 recites a buckle member on the second connector, and claim 5 recites a complementary buckle member configured to engage or interface with a complementary buckle member provided on or attached to the first bag. There is no embodiment showing the second connector connected to the first bag and attached to itself (the first bag), and this comprises new matter.
Claims 1-13, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
Regarding claim 1, it unclear where is the embodiment where “a first set of connectors disposed on a first side of the adapter strap; and… a second set of connectors disposed on a second side of the adapter strap” along with the first second interface. To overcome this rejection, applicant is required to identify all elements in claim 1 to the elected embodiment.
Regarding claim 6, it is unclear “a single connector” being the same as one of the claimed connectors in claim 1. If yes, this is a double inclusion.
Regarding claim 7, it is unclear “a plurality of connectors” being the same as one of the claimed connectors in claim 1. If yes, this is a double inclusion.
Regarding claim 8, it is unclear “the plurality of connectors” is referring to: the connectors in claims 1 or the claim in claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, “a plurality of connectors” is a double inclusion of the same connectors recited in claim 1. This is a double inclusion.
Regarding claim 10, “a single connector” is a double inclusion of the same connectors recited in claim 1. This is a double inclusion.
Regarding claim 13, “a plurality of loops or connection rails” is confusing. The disclosure only shows one embodiment of loops forming the connection rail which comprises the same embodiment. Therefore, “connection rails” is a double inclusion of “a plurality of loops”.
Since applicant does not provide antecedent in the specification for “first side”, the “second side” and using “connector” and “buckle” encompassing many different embodiments. Applicant is required to identify all “first side”, the “second side”, “connector” and “connectors”, “buckle” and “buckles” in the drawings to overcome this 112(b) rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
SET I:
Claims 1-13, 17-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (D919962) in view of Castillo-Garrison (20080203127) or Miller (20110204114), and further in view Landis (20230106104) or Gaylord, Jr. (3897776).
Regarding claim 1, Shi teaches a bag assembly, comprising a first bag with a first connector configuration, an adapter strap configured to couple the first bag and the second bag to form a self- stabilizing bag assembly, wherein the adapter strap comprises an asymmetric strap comprising (i) a first set of connectors (clips) disposed on a first side of the adapter strap; and (ii) a second connector disposed on a second side of the adapter strap (buckle). Shi meets all claimed limitations except for the second bag with a second connector.
Castillo-Garrison teaches that it is known in the art to provide a second bag at 13 attached to a first bag at a buckle connection which is different from the clips on the first connection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the second bag 13 attached to the second side of the adapter strap in Shi to carry the desired contents and/or for easy access.
Accessory bases D and E may also be coupled to other single loop slide release buckles (male) having additional accessories such as, but not limited to a bottle bag T. Other exemplary accessories (not shown) that may be coupled to the buckles O or P are an insulated beverage holder; a non-insulated beverage holder; a battery operated heated beverage holder; a covered beverage holder; a change pouch/wallet/purse holder; a book/journal holder; a CD/DVD case; an office supply holder; a decorative pouch/bag; a medication organizer; a fishing pole/fly rod base; a dog waste bag holder; a multipurpose knife/multi-tool sheath; a cordless drill holster; a small tool bag for holding screws, nails, drill bits; a snack holder; a binocular case; a first aid kit; a small make-up case; a dog leash; and an umbrella holder.
Miller also teaches that it is known in the art to provide a second bag at T (cited above) attached to a wearable device matable with the device in Shi (buckle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the second bag attached to the second side of the adapter strap in Shi to carry the desired contents and/or for easy access. Miller teaches a strap
[0041] According to certain embodiments, the two peg strap portions 104 and 106 may be made of a webbing, rope, or other strap material that is sewn into one end of the body portion 102 at the base 108 of the Y.
The elastic band 120 may be secured to the webbing sleeve 118 at the base 108 of the Y using stitching 132.
Landis teaches that it is known in the art to provide first and second attachment interfaces being the sewing or stitching of the individual straps together. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide first and second attachment interfaces being the sewing or stitching of the individual straps together as taught by Landis to provide the desired attachment for the Y strap in Shi. Shi teaches a
The splint comprises a pair of shoulder straps 14 and 14a, and a relatively short back strap 16. When positioned on the wearer, the back strap 16 extends in a generally vertical direction, and the two shoulder straps are attached, as by stitching, at the upper end of the back strap to form a Y-shaped connection at 17.
Gaylord teaches that it is known in the art to provide three straps 14, 14a and 16 attached together by stitching at 17 with a first attachment interface (the X) and the second attachment interface (the rectangular shape) extending around the first attachment interface. Regarding the first and second strap overlapping. Note that stitching, or sewing requires the parts to be overlapped so that the stitching can go through the overlapped material for fastening the parts together. Basically, portion 14 and 14a are inherently overlapped as claimed.
In the alternative it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a first attachment interface (X) that outlines an overlapping portion of the first and second straps, and wherein the third strap is joined to the first strap and the second strap along a second attachment interface (the surrounding rectangular pattern) extending around the first attachment interface to provide the desired attachment pattern for attaching the three straps together.
Regarding claims 6-8, note that the first and second bag are reversed as broadly recited, note the first side of the adapter strap comprises a single connector being the buckle and the first bag being the bag in either Castillo-Garrison or Miller as modified above.
Regarding claims 9-11, note the first side of the adapter strap comprises a plurality of connectors (clip in Shi), and the second side of the adapter strap comprises a single connector (buckle) in claim 10, note the plurality of connectors (clip) comprises a different type of connector than the single connector (buckle) in claim 11.
The second bag is the bag in Shi, and second side of the adapter strap comprises a plurality of connectors connection in Shi (claim 7), and note the plurality of connectors (clip) comprises a different type of connector than the single connector (buckle) (claim 8).
Regarding claim 12, as the first and second bag are reversed as set forth supra in claims 6-8, note first bag with the buckle in either Castillo-Garrison or Miller comprises a luggage bag as claimed since these bags can be used as luggage. Also, the term “luggage” does not impart any structure over the bag in either Castillo-Garrison or Miller.
Regarding claim 13, the second bag in Shi comprises an elongated travel bag with one or more loops (form be the ring of the loops connecting to the rings) configured to engage or receive the second connector or the second set of connectors.
Regarding claim 18, note there is an attachment interface since the bottom strap overlaps the other two straps.
Regarding claim 21, as set forth above in claim 1, the third strap of Shi in view of Landis or Gaylord overlaps the first and second strap for securing the three straps together with the second interface being the rectangular stitching pattern at the end of third strap.
Claims 2, 3, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Shi rejection, as set forth above, and further in view of Baccellieri (10863810) or Brataas(9315298).
It should be understood, however, that although the wall panels 40 are shown attached to the leg sleeves 20 via straps 46a, 46b, 46c and G-hooks 12, wall panels 40 can instead be releasably yet securely attached to leg sleeves 20 by other means, including clasps, buckles, cordage, hook and loop fasteners, or other fasteners known in the art.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Baccellieri or Brataas, each teaches that it is known in the art to provide G-hooks and loop as an equivalent fastener and Brataas teaches that it is known in the art to provide G-hooks and loops for an adapter strap in fig. 7. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide G-hook fastener as taught by Baccellieri or Brataas to provide the desired attachment and allow one to fasten and unfasten easily and/or for added security.
Regarding claim 13, Brataas also teaches a loops/connection rails. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide loops/connection rails to engage or receive the second set of connectors to provide additional adjustment.
SET II:
Claims 1, 4-11,18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehtonen (20020371522) in view of Landis (20230106104) Gaylord, Jr. (3897776).
Each of the attachment straps of the first and second pairs of attachment straps 4, 5 has one or more attachment points (e.g., complementary fasteners). Suitable fasteners can include, without limitation, hook-and-loop material (e.g., Velcro), snaps, hooks, carabiners, buckles, clasps (e.g., lobster claw clasps
In another embodiment, shown in FIG. 8, the extension strap may include connectors 26, such as O-rings or D-rings
Regarding claim 1, Lehtonen teaches a bag assembly, comprising a first bag (20) with a first connector configuration (handle 22); a second bag (21/3) with a second connector (handle where 23/24 attached) configuration that is different than the first connector configuration (note two handles are different), and an adapter strap configured to couple the first bag and the second bag to form a self- stabilizing bag assembly, wherein the adapter strap comprises an asymmetric strap comprising: (i) a first connector or a first set of connectors (16/17) disposed on a first side of the adapter strap; and (ii) a second connector or a second set of connectors (18) disposed on a second side of the adapter strap. Lehtonen meets all claimed limitations except for the first and second attachment interfaces.
Landis teaches that it is known in the art to provide first and second attachment interfaces being the sewing or stitching of the individual straps together. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide first and second attachment interfaces being the sewing or stitching of the individual straps together as taught by Landis to provide the desired attachment for the Y strap in Lehtonen.
Gaylord also teaches that it is known in the art to provide three straps 14, 14a and 16 attached together by stitching at 17 with a first attachment interface (the X) and the second attachment interface (the rectangular shape) extending around the first attachment interface. Regarding the first and second strap overlapping. Note that stitching, or sewing requires the parts to be overlapped so that the stitching can go through the overlapped material for fastening the parts together. Basically, portion 14 and 14a are inherently overlapped as claimed.
In the alternative it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a first attachment interface (X) that outlines an overlapping portion of the first and second straps, and wherein the third strap is joined to the first strap and the second strap along a second attachment interface (the surrounding rectangular pattern) as taught by either Landis or Gaylord extending around the first attachment interface to provide the desired attachment pattern for attaching the three straps together.
Regarding claim 4-5, note the buckle cited above.
Regarding claim 6, note the hook/loop comprise single connector.
Regarding claim 7, note the different type of connectors cited above.
Regarding claim 8, note the different type of connectors cited above.
Regarding claims 9-11, note the first side of the adapter strap (4 and 5) comprises a plurality of connectors in claim 9, and the second side of the adapter strap comprises a single connector (on 6) in claim 10, note the plurality of connectors comprises a different type of connector than the single connector in claim 11.
Regarding claim 18, note the adapter strap comprises a first strap (4), a second strap (5), and a third strap (6), wherein the first connector is attached or coupled to the first strap or the second strap, and wherein the second connector is attached or coupled to the third strap (6) as claimed.
Regarding claim 21, as set forth above in claim 1, the third strap of Lehtonen in view of Landis or Gaylord overlaps the first and second strap for securing the three straps together with the second interface being the rectangular stitching pattern at the end of third strap.
Claims 2-5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehtonen in view of Meggitt et al. (12507773). Lehtonen meets all claimed limitations except for the G-shaped buckles and loop or rails claim 3.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Meggitt teaches that it is known in the art to provide G-shaped buckle in fig. 4a. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide G-shaped buckle to provide an alternative or equilvalent fastener.
Regarding claim 3, note that the term “rail” is broad and the two side portion of the retractable handle in Lehtonen meets this limitation.
Regarding claims 4-5, note the connector in view of Meggitt comprises the claimed buckle.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehtonen ‘522 in view of Brataas (9315298).
Brataas teaches that it is known in the art to provide loops/connection rails on an elongated second bag. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the connection of the G-buckle in Lehtonen and connecting to the rails/loops of Brataas to provide the desired bag during travel.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733