Claims 14-17 are withdrawn from further consideration. Applicant made the election of Group 3, directed to the embodiment in figures 17A, without traverse, in the response dated 02/12/2026 is acknowledged.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claimed features must be shown, without entering any new matter: all the fasteners of clip, hooks in claim 2.
The specification is objected to: the “first side”, the “second side” have no antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 12-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
In claim 2, the specification does not define what comprises a “clip” or “hooks”. The elected embodiment shows a first connector to be a buckle. It is unclear whether the buckle as shown in the elected embodiment comprises the claimed “clip” as claimed since the specification merely defines the elected fastener 2152 to be “a connector”. Also, the only embodiment shown is a defined as “G-shaped buckle”, it is unclear whether this “G-shaped buckle” also comprises this clip or hooks in the same recitation. If yes, this is a double inclusion.
In claim 4, the recitation “the second set of connectors comprises a buckle member” is confusing. The plurality of claimed connectors should have a plurality of connecting members.
In claim 12, the “the first bag comprises a luggage bag .. more buckle members” is confusing. The disclosure only shows a bag with only buckle member to be mated with the buckle on the strap (at 1902/ 2051/2152). There is no disclosure with a connection strap with two buckles for mating two buckle on the luggage bag. Note that Applicant defines “G-shaped buckle” at 2151/2052/1901, but these “G-shaped buckle” are not attachable with buckles connector on luggage. Rather, it only connected to loops as disclosed.
In claim 5, it is unclear whether “buckle members provided on or attached to the first bag or the second bag” comprises the first and second connector configurations in claim 1. This is a double inclusion.
In claims 12 and 13, it is unclear whether “one or more buckle members” is the same as “a first connector configuration” in claim 1 and “one or more loops or connection rails” is the same as “a second connector configuration”. This is a double inclusion.
In claim 20, “and/or” renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear whether the limitations following said recitation are included.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
SET I:
Claims 1-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Latshaw (5547052).
The auxiliary carrier means 88 is provided for positioning, connecting, and/or carrying the briefcase 250 or the like exteriorly of either the wheeled luggage 50 or the foldable garment bag 100. The auxiliary carrier means 88 is shown in the form of a rigid U-shaped wire frame connector or carrier secured to a second end portion 86b of the third elongate strap 86 of the luggage connector 80 which overlies upper and upper front portions of the wheeled luggage 50 and/or the foldable garment bag 100.
The second elongate strap 84 has a pair of mating connectors 85a, 85b respectively secured to a pair of extension straps 89a, 89b which, in turn, are secured to first and second end portions 84a, 84b of the second elongate strap 84. The pair of mating connectors 85a, 85b matingly receive the pair of connectors 114a, 114b secured to upper rear portions of the foldable garment bag 100 (FIG. 10).
(12) As best illustrated in FIGS. 2, 7-8, and 13, the luggage connector 80 also preferably includes a third elongate strap 86 having a first end portion 86a arranged to be detachably connected either to the retaining ring member 87 secured to the rear wall 52, 62 of the wheeled luggage 50 or to a retaining ring member 83 secured to medial portions of the first elongate strap 81. The first end portion 86a preferably is detachably secured to the retaining ring member 83 by VELCRO.TM.-type fasteners secured to the first end portion 86a of the third elongate strap 86.
Regarding claim 1, Latshaw teaches a bag assembly, comprising a first bag (55) with a first connector configuration (87), a second bag (100’) with a second connector (114a/b) configuration that is different than the first connector configuration, and an adapter strap (figs. 6-8 at 86) configured to couple the first bag and the second bag to form a self-stabilizing bag assembly, wherein the adapter strap comprises an asymmetric strap comprising: (i) a first connector or a first set of connectors disposed on a first side of the adapter strap (note hooks and loops 82A/B); and (ii) a second connector or a second set of connectors (buckles 85A/B or 88) disposed on a second side of the adapter strap.
Regarding claim 2, note the first connector comprises at least hook (in hook and loop).
Regarding claim 3 note the connection in clips in Latshaw engage or interface with at least a loop (formed by ring 87).
Regarding claims 4-5, note the buckle members 85A/B and 114a/b.
Regarding claim 6, note the first side of the adapter strap comprises a single connector.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, note the second side of the adapter strap comprises a plurality of connectors (buckles) and they are different from the single connector.
Regarding claim 9-12, note that the first and second bag are reversed as broadly recited, note the second side of the adapter strap comprises a single connector (claim 10) being the connector at 87/82A-B, and the first side being the buckles at 85A/B and they are different connector (claims 9 and 11-12).
Regarding claim 13, note the second bag 100 in fig. 20 is an elongated bag. Note that the male buckle connections at 115a/116a comprises the rails as claimed.
Regarding claim 18, note the adapter strap comprises a first strap (89a/b), a second strap (84), and a third strap (81), wherein the first connector is attached or coupled to the first strap, and wherein the second connector (82a/82b) is attached or coupled to the third strap as claimed.
Regarding claims 19-20, note there is an attachment interface between the straps, i.e., secured attached.
SET II:
Claims 1-11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lehtonen (20020371522)
Each of the attachment straps of the first and second pairs of attachment straps 4, 5 has one or more attachment points (e.g., complementary fasteners). Suitable fasteners can include, without limitation, hook-and-loop material (e.g., Velcro), snaps, hooks, carabiners, buckles, clasps (e.g., lobster claw clasps
In another embodiment, shown in FIG. 8, the extension strap may include connectors 26, such as O-rings or D-rings
Regarding claim 1, Lehtonen teaches a bag assembly, comprising a first bag (20) with a first connector configuration (handle 22); a second bag (21/3) with a second connector (handle where 23/24 attached) configuration that is different than the first connector configuration (note two handles are different), and an adapter strap configured to couple the first bag and the second bag to form a self- stabilizing bag assembly, wherein the adapter strap comprises an asymmetric strap comprising: (i) a first connector or a first set of connectors (16/17) disposed on a first side of the adapter strap; and (ii) a second connector or a second set of connectors (18) disposed on a second side of the adapter strap.
Regarding claim 2, note the first connector comprises at least hook or buckle (see citation above).
Regarding claim 3 note the connection in clips in Lehtonen engage or interface with at least a loop (being the entire extensible handle forming a loop) or connection rails (being the two side elongated telescoping handle) as claimed.
Regarding claims 4-8, note that the first and second bag are reversed as broadly recited, note the first side of the adapter strap comprises a single connector being the connector at 8. The second bag being the suitcase 20, and second side of the adapter strap comprises a plurality of connectors connection in (4 and 5) and comprises connectors of buckles (see citation above) in claims 4-5, and 7, and note the plurality of connectors comprises a different type of connector than the single connector (note 4 and 5 can have other connectors) in claim 8.
Regarding claims 9-11, note the first side of the adapter strap (4 and 5) comprises a plurality of connectors in claim 9, and the second side of the adapter strap comprises a single connector (on 6) in claim 10, note the plurality of connectors comprises a different type of connector than the single connector in claim 11.
Regarding claim 18, note the adapter strap comprises a first strap (4), a second strap (5), and a third strap (6), wherein the first connector is attached or coupled to the first strap or the second strap, and wherein the second connector is attached or coupled to the third strap (6) as claimed.
Regarding claims 19-20, note there is an attachment interface at 28A-28C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehtonen ‘522 in view of Lehtonen (9463752).
12) One or more mechanical fastening means 13, such as a snap hook 14, an s-shaped hook, a spiral-shaped hook and so forth
In the alternative, Lehtonen ‘752 teaches that it is known in the art to provide elongated members (similar to the elongated members of the handle in Lehtonen ‘522) to be connected member for a connection strap. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the attachment being the fastening means at 13 attaching to the two elongated members of the handle in Lehtonen ‘522 to provide an alternative connection.
SET III:
Claims 1-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (D919962) in view of Castillo-Garrison (20080203127) or Miller (20110204114). Shi teaches a
Shi teaches a bag assembly, comprising a first bag with a first connector configuration, an adapter strap configured to couple the first bag and the second bag to form a self- stabilizing bag assembly, wherein the adapter strap comprises an asymmetric strap comprising (i) a first set of connectors (clips) disposed on a first side of the adapter strap; and (ii) a second connector disposed on a second side of the adapter strap (buckle). Shi meets all claimed limitations except for the second bag with a second connector.
Castillo-Garrison teaches that it is known in the art to provide a second bag at 13 attached to a first bag at a buckle connection which is different from the clips on the first connection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the second bag 13 attached to the second side of the adapter strap in Shi to carry the desired contents and/or for easy access.
Accessory bases D and E may also be coupled to other single loop slide release buckles (male) having additional accessories such as, but not limited to a bottle bag T. Other exemplary accessories (not shown) that may be coupled to the buckles O or P are an insulated beverage holder; a non-insulated beverage holder; a battery operated heated beverage holder; a covered beverage holder; a change pouch/wallet/purse holder; a book/journal holder; a CD/DVD case; an office supply holder; a decorative pouch/bag; a medication organizer; a fishing pole/fly rod base; a dog waste bag holder; a multipurpose knife/multi-tool sheath; a cordless drill holster; a small tool bag for holding screws, nails, drill bits; a snack holder; a binocular case; a first aid kit; a small make-up case; a dog leash; and an umbrella holder.
Miller also teaches that it is known in the art to provide a second bag at T (cited above) attached to a wearable device matable with the device in Shi (buckle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the second bag attached to the second side of the adapter strap in Shi to carry the desired contents and/or for easy access.
Regarding claim 2, note the first connector comprises clips.
Regarding claim 3 note the connection in clips in Shi engage or interface with loops or connection rails as claimed (note the rings in Shi (on the backpack) comprises the loops and the loops arranged in a single rail as claimed).
Regarding claim 4, note the second connector or the second set of connectors comprises
a buckle member.
Regarding claim 5, note the buckle engage the second bag as claimed.
Regarding claims 9-11, note the first side of the adapter strap comprises a plurality of connectors (clip in Shi), and the second side of the adapter strap comprises a single connector (buckle) in claim 10, note the plurality of connectors (clip) comprises a different type of connector than the single connector (buckle) in claim 11.
Regarding claims 6-8, note that the first and second bag are reversed as broadly recited, note the first side of the adapter strap comprises a single connector being the buckle and the first bag being the bag in either Castillo-Garrison or Miller as modified above. The second bag is the bag in Shi, and second side of the adapter strap comprises a plurality of connectors connection in Shi (claim 7), and note the plurality of connectors (clip) comprises a different type of connector than the single connector (buckle) (claim 8).
Regarding claim 12, as the first and second bag are reversed as set forth supra in claims 6-8, note first bag with the buckle in either Castillo-Garrison or Miller comprises a luggage bag as claimed since these bags can be used as luggage. Also, the term “luggage” does not impart any structure over the bag in either Castillo-Garrison or Miller.
Regarding claim 13, the second bag in Shi comprises an elongated travel bag with one or more loops (form be the ring of the loops connecting to the rings) configured to engage or receive the second connector or the second set of connectors.
Regarding claim 18, note there is an attachment interface since the bottom strap overlaps the other two straps.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi rejection, as set forth above, and further in view of Landis (20230106104) or Lehtonen (20020371522).
[0041] According to certain embodiments, the two peg strap portions 104 and 106 may be made of a webbing, rope, or other strap material that is sewn into one end of the body portion 102 at the base 108 of the Y.
The elastic band 120 may be secured to the webbing sleeve 118 at the base 108 of the Y using stitching 132.
In the alternative, Landis teaches that it is known in the art to provide first and second attachment interfaces being the sewing or stitching of the individual straps together. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide first and second attachment interfaces being the sewing or stitching of the individual straps together as taught by Landis to provide the desired attachment for the Y strap in Shi.
Also, Lehtonen teaches that it is known in the art to provide first and second attachment interfaces being the bag and loops at 28A-28C. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide first and second attachment interfaces as taught by Lehtonen to provide the desired attachment for the Y strap in Shi.
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733