DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The pending claims are product-by-process claims. Accordingly, they are interpreted using the provisions of MPEP 2113.
MPEP 2113 provides that product-by-process claims are not limited by the recited steps, but are only limited by the structure implied by the recited steps (emphasis added). Therefore, products made by different processes can also meet the claim when they appear to be structurally identical to the claimed product. Also, product claims do not depend upon the process upon which they are produced as the patentability of a product is not determined by how it is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 2-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over Simkins (US Patent No. 7,092,784).
Regarding claim 2, Simkins discloses an orthodontic appliance (“appliance 111” – 4:55-4:58) made by a thermal forming process (1:37-1:45; 8:1-8:19) and disposing the heated material over a mold (“die”) to form an orthodontic appliance (5:61-6:18). Simkins further discloses (4:55-4:58) that the material used is 0.03 inches thick, which falls within the claimed range of “0.01-0.14 inches” as now required in the claim, thus meeting the claim.
The other portions of the claim are not limiting as they are directed to the steps of production, which are not considered limiting, except as to the structure implied by the recited steps. Since there is a thermoforming process conducted in accordance with both the Simkins reference and in the claim with the same type of material having a similar thickness, one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, would have reasoned that the structures of the products produced by the Simkins reference would have been the same as those produced in the claim, based on the current evidence of record.
Regarding claims 3-16 and 21, these limitations are all process limitations that do not impart a different structure to the resulting product than is described in claim 2 above.
The term “thermoforming” implies that the material is heated and this is met in claim 2 above – but since product claims do not depend upon the process upon which they are produced, the particular control/mode of heating would not seem to change the resulting product’s structure. Also, anything limiting the mold being used would not seem to limit the product formed by the mold. Accordingly, these claims would be considered met by the same disclosure, as in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 17, Simkins discloses the subject matter of claim 2, and further discloses that the orthodontic appliance is an aligner (as shown in Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 18, Simkins discloses the subject matter of claim 2, and further discloses that the appliance includes a polymeric shell (4:45) having tooth-receiving cavities (as shown in Fig. 2C) shaped to reposition a patient’s teeth.
Regarding claims 19-20, Simkins discloses the subject matter of claim 2, the final appliance would be “cut” or “trimmed” to size as formed after molding as it would have edges that are of the correct size as to fit in a patient’s mouth. The claim does not positively require trimming or cutting as there would not be an apparent difference in the final structure of an object that is cut or trimmed and one that is not cut or trimmed, when they are the same size.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742