DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This is a response to the applicant’s filing filed on 12/11/2024. In virtue of this filing, claims 1-19 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2025 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 12/11/2024 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
The specification submitted on 12/11/2024 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 15 and 17-19 of U.S. Patent No.: 12,184,019. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-4 in the current application have the same scope of claimed inventions with obvious wording variations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Misener (US Patent No.: 9,083,126).
Regarding claim 1, Misener teaches a device comprising (see figures 1-2, electrical receptacle 100, claim 1):
a housing forming part of the device (see claim 1);
at least a front face comprising a faceplate (see claim 1);
a plurality of first electrical interfaces, each first electrical interface allowing connection to a predetermined electrical signal forming part of an electrical power distribution network (see figures 1-4, it is clearly seen that the cavity and receptacle plugs have a plurality of first electrical interfaces to receive external power 120 VAC, col.5, ln,1-65, claims 1);
an electrical circuit coupled to the plurality of first electrical interfaces for generating at least one of one or more electrical power signals and one or more electrical data signals (see figures 6-8, claims 1, col.5, ln.1-67, col.7, ln.1-20); and
a plurality of first contacts, each first contact coupled to a predetermined one of the at least one of one or more electrical power signals and one or more electrical data signals (see claim 1, col.5, ln.1-67, col.7, ln.1-20);
one or more cavities, each cavity disposed within the front face of the housing allowing the insertion and removal of an insert into and from the housing and comprising a first part of a retention means to retain the insert within the cavity which is accessible through a first opening in the faceplate and comprising the plurality of first contacts (see figures 1-3, cavity 110, insert 200, insert have a plurality of contact 211 to mate with the contacts of cavity to provide power and data, latches 211 mate with cavity when inserting, col.5, ln.1-67, col.7, ln.1-20); and
a plurality of first features upon a surface of the cavity (see plurality of inserts such as charger, and smoke detector, col.5, ln.1-67);
wherein each insert is one of a plurality of inserts each sized for insertion into the cavity within the front face of the housing, the insert comprising a second part of the retention means to retain the insert when inserted into the cavity, a plurality of second contacts to electrically contact a predetermined subset of the plurality of first contacts, and a plurality of second features (see figures 1-3, cavity 110, insert 200, insert have a plurality of contact 211 to mate with the contacts of cavity to provide power and data, latches 211 mate with cavity when inserting, charger, and smoke detector, col.5, ln.1-67, col.7, ln.1-20, claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Misener further teaches each insert is a demountable insert capable of being inserted into and removed from a cavity of the one or more cavities (see claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misener (US Patent No.: 9,083,126) in view of Ebeling et al. (US Pub. No.: 2017/0251289, hereinafter, “Ebeling”).
Regarding claim 3, Misener teaches the device is one of a portable electronic device, a fixed electronic device, a wearable electronic device, a portable electrical device, a fixed electrical device, and a wearable electrical device (see col.7, ln.23). Misener fails to teach the plurality of first features when aligned with the plurality of second features allow full insertion of the insert into the cavity such that the plurality of second contacts electrically contact the predetermined subset of the plurality of first contacts. However, Ebeling teaches the plurality of first features when aligned with the plurality of second features allow full insertion of the insert into the cavity such that the plurality of second contacts electrically contact the predetermined subset of the plurality of first contacts (see figure 7, plurality of USB ports for receiving plurality of USB connectors to insert therein).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ebeling into view of Misener in order to support plurality of devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of the electrical circuit comprises a microprocessor supporting a first plurality of algorithms providing at least one of an aspect of artificial intelligence and machine learning to the device; the electrical circuit receives data relating to the insert which is processed by the plurality of algorithms; and the microprocessor either provides a user of the device with an artificial intelligence assisted living Nano-Hub which executes first decisions established in dependence upon processing the received data by the first plurality of algorithms or communicates with a remote artificial intelligence assisted living hub which establishes second decisions in dependence upon processing data transmitted from the device with a second plurality of algorithms providing at least one of an aspect of artificial intelligence and machine learning to the remote artificial intelligence assisted living hub where the processed data was generated by processing the received data with the first plurality of algorithms.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of the device further comprises a predetermined electrical function; the electrical circuit comprises a microprocessor supporting a plurality of algorithms providing at least one of an aspect of artificial intelligence and machine learning to the device; the electrical circuit receives data relating to the insert which is processed by a first subset of the plurality of algorithms and receives other data relating to the predetermined electrical function which is processed by a second subset of the plurality of algorithms; and the electrical circuit adjusts an aspect of the predetermined electrical function in dependence upon a result of processing the data with the first subset of the plurality of algorithms and another result of processing the other data with the second subset of the plurality of algorithms.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of the electrical circuit establishes a load profile of a load connected to either the device in dependence upon data acquired by the electrical circuit or an insert inserted into a cavity of the set of cavities in dependence upon other data acquired by the electrical circuit from the insert; the established load profile is communicated to a remote device by the electrical circuit via one of the device, the insert, or another insert inserted into another cavity of the set of cavities; and the load profile is established by the electrical circuit using a defined current modulation sequence to applied electrical signals provided to the load.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of a configuration of an insert is established in dependence upon information relating to a product electrically connected to the another device or the insert; the information relating to the product established in dependence upon data retrieved from a cable or plug associated with the product providing the electrical connection between the product and the another device or the insert; and the retrieved data is established via a wireless interface forming part of the insert, another insert, the device or the another device.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of use data relating to usage of a further device electrically connected to an insert is acquired by one of the electrical circuit and the insert and transmitted to a remote server by one of the electrical circuit, the another device, the insert and another insert; the use data relating to the usage of the further device is selected from the group comprising start time of power provisioning to or from the further device, end time of power provisioning, start time of data provisioning to or from the further device, end time of data provisioning, power consumption, data volume transferred and a deviation from nominal behaviour; and dependence upon the RFID circuit interrogating an RFID tag forming part of the electrical cable or the socket.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of one or more wireless transceivers, each wireless transceiver operating according to a wireless standard and forming part of either the device or an insert inserted into a cavity of the one or more cavities; one or more microprocessors, each microprocessor forming part of either the device or an insert inserted into a cavity of the one or more cavities; wherein a user employing another electronic device comprising another wireless transceiver operating according to the wireless standard can establish communications with a microprocessor of the one or more microprocessors via the wireless transceiver of the one or more wireless transceivers associated with the one of the device and the insert in order to associate at least one of the device and the insert with a group forming part of a mesh network comprising one or more other wireless transceivers, each other wireless transceiver operating according to the wireless standard and forming part of another device or an insert inserted into a cavity of the one or more cavities of another device.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of one or more wireless transceivers, each wireless transceiver operating according to a wireless standard and forming part of either the device or an insert inserted into a cavity of the one or more cavities; one or more microprocessors, each microprocessor forming part of either the device or an insert inserted into a cavity of the one or more cavities; wherein another electronic device comprising another wireless transceiver operating according to the wireless standard can establish communications for a microprocessor of the one or more microprocessors via the wireless transceiver of the one or more wireless transceivers associated with the one of the device and the insert in order to automatically associate at least one of the device and the insert with a group forming part of a mesh network comprising one or more other wireless transceivers, each other wireless transceiver operating according to the wireless standard and forming part of another device or an insert inserted into a cavity of the one or more cavities of another device.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of one or more wireless transceivers, each wireless transceiver operating according to a wireless standard and forming part of either the device or an insert inserted into a cavity of the one or more cavities; one or more microprocessors, each microprocessor forming part of either the device or an insert inserted into a cavity of the one or more cavities; wherein a microprocessor of the one or more microprocessors can establish communications with another electronic device comprising another wireless transceiver operating according to the wireless standard in order to automatically associate at least one of the device and the insert with a group forming part of a mesh network comprising one or more other wireless transceivers, each other wireless transceiver operating according to the wireless standard and forming part of another device or an insert inserted into a cavity of the one or more cavities of another device.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of the insert is one of a plurality of inserts where each insert is a demountable insert capable of being inserted into and removed from a cavity of the one or more cavities; the device is one of series of devices where each device is associated with a region of a property and is one of a portable electronic device, a fixed electronic device, a portable electrical device and a fixed electrical device; at a point in time each device of the series of devices comprises an insert of a first set of inserts; at a subsequent point in time each device of the series of device has its insert of the first set of inserts replaced with an insert of a second set of inserts; wherein the first set of inserts are defined by a user associated with the region of the property; and the second set of inserts are defined by a second user associated with the region of the property.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of the insert is one of a plurality of inserts where each insert is a demountable insert capable of being inserted into and removed from a cavity of the one or more cavities; the device is one of series of devices where each device is associated with a region of a property and is one of a light switch and a power socket; at a point in time each device of the series of devices comprises an insert of a first set of inserts; at a subsequent point in time each device of the series of device has its insert of the first set of inserts replaced with an insert of a second set of inserts; wherein the first set of inserts are defined by a user associated with the region of the property; and the second set of inserts are defined by a second user associated with the region of the property.
Conclusion
/TUAN PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649