DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6, line 2, the phrase, “from about 15 cm to about 20 cm large” is indefinite. The term “large” is not conventionally used to describe a dimension of an object.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9, 11-13, and 15-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,240,302. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3, 5, 7, and 12-14 are generic to all that is recited in claims 9, 11-13, and 15-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,240,302. In other words, claims 9, 11-13, and 15-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,240,302 fully encompass the subject matter of claims 1, 3, 5, 7, and 12-14.
Claims of the Current Invention
Corresponding claims of U.S. 12,240,302
1
9
3
11
5
12
7
13
12
15
13
16
14
17
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Michel (US Patent 4,484,777).
Re claim 1, Michel discloses a vehicle container (14, figure 3) movable by a vehicle, the vehicle container comprising a bottom wall (seen in figure 2) and a peripheral wall (12, figure 2) extending upwardly therefrom, the peripheral wall being terminated opposed the bottom wall by a peripheral wall top edge delimiting a container top aperture, the peripheral wall defining a wall rear end (shown in figure 3) located at a rear of the container when the container is moved by the vehicle, a tarpaulin (100, figure 3) movable between extended and retracted configurations, wherein, in the extended configuration, the tarpaulin is mounted to the container extending across the container top aperture (as shown in figure 3), and in the retracted configuration (as shown in figure 2), the tarpaulin is withdrawn from at least part of the container top aperture to allow access to the container (as in figure 2) , the tarpaulin defining a tarpaulin rear end edge (the rear edge of 100 interacting with 20 in figure 3), and a flutter reducer (21, figure 3) operatively coupled to the tarpaulin so that when the tarpaulin is in the extended configuration and the container is moved by the vehicle, the flutter reducer limits movements of the tarpaulin at the tarpaulin rear end edge to reduce flutter due to relative wind caused by movement through air of the covered vehicle container (this function is inherent to the device), wherein the flutter reducer includes a support member (20) mounted to the container peripheral wall at the wall rear end and reaching above the peripheral wall top edge, the support member defining an apex (the apex of the curved portion of 20 in figure 2), the tarpaulin abutting against the support member at the apex in the tarpaulin extended configuration.
Re claim 2, in the tarpaulin extended configuration, the tarpaulin is stretched taut laterally across the container top aperture (the function of 20 is to laterally stretch the tarpaulin).
Re claim 8, the apex is substantially laterally centered relative to the container (as seen in figure 2).
Re claim 9, in the tarpaulin extended configuration, the tarpaulin is under a higher tension at the apex than at forwardly located portions thereof (at locations just forward of 20 in figure 2, the tarpaulin will naturally be under less tension as there is no support).
Re claim 10, in the extended configuration, the tarpaulin is longitudinally raised at the apex relative to frontwardly located portions thereof (at locations just forward of 20 in figure 2, the tarpaulin will sag to as there is direct support).
Re claim 11, in the extended configuration, the tarpaulin slopes longitudinally downwardly away from the apex in a back to front direction (at locations just forward of 20 in figure 2, the tarpaulin will sag as there is no direct support).
Re claim 12, Michel discloses a method of reducing damage due to flutter in a tarpaulin extended across a top aperture of a vehicle container (14, figure 3) moving through air, the top aperture being delimited by a peripheral wall top edge (the top edge is seen in figure 2), the method comprising: rigidifying the tarpaulin at a rear end (by the use of 21) thereof to reduce amplitude of the flutter due to relative wind between the tarpaulin and the air by abutting the tarpaulin at the tarpaulin rear end edge against a support member (20) protruding above the peripheral wall top edge.
Re claim 13, the tarpaulin is abutted against the support member substantially laterally centered relative to the container (as shown in figure 2).
Re claim 14, the method includes stretching the tarpaulin above the support member with a larger tension than forwardly located portions of the tarpaulin (at locations just forward of 20 in figure 2, the tarpaulin will naturally be under less tension as there is no direct support).
Re claim 15, the tarpaulin is longitudinally raised by the support relative to frontwardly located portions thereof (at locations just forward of 20 in figure 2, the tarpaulin will sag as there is no direct support).
Re claim 16, the tarpaulin slopes longitudinally downwardly away from the support in a back to front direction (at locations just forward of 20 in figure 2, the tarpaulin will sag as there is no direct support).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references all disclose vehicle tarpaulin devices.
US Patent Application Publication 2025/0019013 discloses a tarpaulin frame.
US Patent 9,387,788 discloses a tarpaulin frame.
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
July 30, 2026