Procedural Summary
This is responsive to the claims filed 12/11/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Signed copies of the IDS’ are attached.
The Drawings filed 12/11/2024 are noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-15 & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tinklenberg et al. (U.S. Pub. No.: 2025/0238985 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 11 & 20: Tinklenberg discloses a computing system, (¶¶ 7, 8), for generating a game application, (Abstract), the computing system comprising: processing circuitry and memory, (¶ 8), storing a game maker model (¶ 6) that, when executed, cause the processing circuitry to: receive a user input, (¶ 6); generate a plurality of game asset prompts and a background image prompt based on the user input, (Figs. 1A, 2A and related descriptions), the plurality of game asset prompts and the background image prompt including a common style description, (¶ 32); input the plurality of game asset prompts and the background image prompt into a diffusion model, (e.g., ¶¶ 40-44), to generate a plurality of game asset images and a background image, (e.g., ¶¶ 27, 40-44) respectively; and generate the game application using the plurality of game asset images and the background image, (Figs. 2/3 and related descriptions).
Regarding Claims 2 & 12: Tinklenberg discloses wherein a layout prompt is generated based on the user input; and the layout prompt is inputted into a language model to generate a layout, (Fig. 2A, related descriptions).
Regarding Claims 3 & 13: Tinklenberg discloses wherein the layout is inputted into a control network to generate features; and the features are inputted into the diffusion model to generate the background image, (Figs. 1B, 2, 3 and related descriptions).
Regarding Claims 4 & 14: Tinklenberg discloses wherein the background image prompt and the layout are inputted into the control network to generate the features, (e.g., ¶¶ 71, 72, 80).
Regarding Claims 8 & 18: Tinklenberg discloses wherein the common style description defines at least a stroke weight, a color palette, lighting, or artistic rendering style for the plurality of game asset images and the background image, (e.g., ¶¶ 32, 36-38).
Regarding Claim 9: Tinklenberg discloses wherein the plurality of game asset images include images of main entities, secondary entities, and environmental assets, (e.g., ¶¶ 32, 36-38).
Regarding Claims 10 & 19: Tinklenberg discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to further generate a natural language response inviting a subsequent user input to modify the game application, (e.g., ¶¶ 23, 31-33).
Regarding Claim 15: Tinklenberg discloses wherein the layout is inputted into an encoder of the control network, (Fig. 2C, ¶ 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tinklenberg et al. (U.S. Pub. No.: 2025/0238985 A1) in view of Walker et al. (U.S. Pub. No.: 2019/0240581 A1)
Tinklenberg discloses the invention substantially but does not make explicit the layout image defining coordinates for structural elements in the game application. However, in a related game design system, Walker shows representing structural game elements using a coordinate system, (Walker, ¶ 29.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Walker’s coordinate system in Tinklenberg’s invention for the purpose of effectively defining structural elements and their relative position and orientation with each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7 & 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art, of record herein, fails to disclose, suggest or render obvious, in combination with the other claimed limitations:
Per Claim 5: an encoder configured to be a trainable copy of an encoder of the diffusion model, zero-initialized convolutional layers placed at an output of the encoder of the control network, and a middle block configured to be a trainable copy of a middle block of the diffusion model.
Per Claims 7 & 17: wherein a seed value of the diffusion model when the game asset prompt is inputted into the diffusion model is the same as a seed value of the diffusion model when the background image prompt is inputted into the diffusion model.
Conclusion
Additional Relevant References: See 892
/OMKAR A DEODHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715