DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10, 12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (2016/0181940).
Regarding Claim 1: Takahashi teaches a power conversion apparatus, comprising: a housing (50); a first substrate (51) having a first surface (area holding 30 and 40) on which a power conversion circuit (30 and 40) is mounted (figs. 2-3), the first substrate further including a first sidewall (any side edge of 51) and a second sidewall (any other side edge of 51 opposite the first side edge) opposite to the first sidewall (figs. 2-3), and a second surface opposite to the first surface (figs. 2-3), the second surface extending from the first sidewall to the second sidewall (figs. 2-3), the second surface being in thermal contact with the housing (figs. 2-3 and paragraph [0034]): a second substrate (13) being electrically connected with the housing (connected through 10 and 51, paragraphs [0034], [0035], and [0039]) in which the first substrate is placed (figs. 2-3); and a shield plate (10) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (figs. 2-3), wherein the first substrate is a metal substrate (paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 6: Takahashi teaches wherein the shield plate includes: a plurality of first fixing portions (figs. 2, 4, 7, and 9) that are fixed to the second substrate (figs. 2, 4, 7, and 9); and a second fixing portion (figs. 2, 4, 7, and 9) that is provided in a region surrounded by the plurality of first fixing portions and is fixed to the second substrate (figs. 2, 4, 7, and 9).
Regarding Claim 7: Takahashi teaches wherein the shield plate includes: a second substrate side fixing portion (figs. 2-9) that extends in a first direction (figs. 2-9) and is fixed to the second substrate (figs. 2-9); and a first substrate side fixing portion (figs. 2-9) that extends in a direction different from the first direction and is fixed to the first substrate (figs. 2-9).
Regarding Claim 8: Takahashi teaches wherein a rim portion of the shield plate is provided with a rib (figs. 2-9).
Regarding Claim 10: Takahashi teaches wherein driving circuits (11 and 12) are mounted on both surfaces of the second substrate (figs. 2-9).
Regarding Claim 12: Takahashi teaches wherein a semiconductor element of the power conversion circuit is formed as a chip part.
Regarding Claim 14: Takahashi teaches wherein the first substrate is electrically connected with the housing via a connector (paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 16: Takahashi teaches a power conversion apparatus, comprising: a housing (50); a first substrate (51) having a first surface (area holding 30 and 40) on which a power conversion circuit (30 and 40) is mounted , the first substrate further including a first sidewall (any side edge of 51) and a second sidewall (any other side edge of 51 opposite the first side edge) opposite to the first sidewall (figs. 2-3), and a second surface opposite to the first surface (figs. 2-3), the second surface extending from the first sidewall to the second sidewall (figs. 2-3), the second planar surface being in thermal contact with the housing (paragraphs [0034]. [0035], and [0039]); a second substrate (13) being electrically connected with the housing in which the first substrate is placed (paragraphs [0034], [0035], and [0039]); a shield plate (10) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (figs. 2-3); and a plurality of fasteners (figs. 2-3) coupling together the first substrate, the second substrate, the shield plate, and the housing (figs. 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi.
Regarding Claim 2: Takahashi lacks a specific teaching of the shield plate is made of an iron-based material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Takahashi by having the shield plate is made of an iron-based material in order to allow for a strong protective material to decrease the chances of damage to the internal components while still allowing for the features of shielding the electronic components from external noise while this would be accomplished merely by choosing the proper type of material and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 9, 11, 13, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited in the notice of references PTO-892 but not relied upon above are related as they include multiple types of power modules devices and the inter-connections of the apparatus in relation to its housing.
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841