Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isowaki et al. U.S. Patent Number US9275660B1(hereinafter Isowaki ‘660) in view of Carey et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number US20100033881A1(hereinafter Carey).
Regarding claim 1, Isowaki ‘660 discloses a magnetic head, comprising: a reproducing section including a medium facing face (Col. 2 lines 58-67 i.e., viewed from a direction perpendicular to a medium surface of a magnetic recording medium (a later-described magnetic recording medium 91) ), the reproducing section including a first magnetic element (Fig. 1A i.e., "14a", "14b", "15a", "15b" and "12"; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e., …a pinned layer 12, a nonmagnetic layer 15 a (a nonmagnetic layer), a free layer 14 a (a first free layer), a nonmagnetic layer 15 b (a second magnetic layer), a free layer 14 b (a second free layer…), ), the first magnetic element including a first magnetic layer of a free layer (Fig. 1A i.e., 14 a; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e., a free layer 14 a (a first free layer)); a second magnetic layer of another free layer (Fig. 1A i.e., 14 b; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e., a free layer 14 b (a second free layer…)); and a third magnetic layer of a reference layer (Fig. 1A i.e., a pinned layer 12; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e., a pinned layer 12 ), the first magnetic layer being provided between the third magnetic layer and the second magnetic layer in a first direction along the medium facing face (Fig. 1A i.e., a pinned layer 12; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e., a pinned layer 12 ) but fails to explicitly disclose a first magnetic layer magnetization of the first magnetic layer including a first component along a second direction crossing the medium facing face, a second magnetic layer magnetization of the second magnetic layer including a second component along the second direction.
In an analogous art, Carey teaches a first magnetic layer magnetization of the first magnetic layer including a first component along a second direction crossing the medium facing face (Fig. 5, "211" and " 210"; para. [0039] i.e., … in-plane magnetization 211 of the free layer 210 as depicted is substantially perpendicular to the ABS… ), a second magnetic layer magnetization of the second magnetic layer including a second component along the second direction (Fig. 5, "211" and " 210"; para. [0039] i.e., … in-plane magnetization 211 of the free layer 210 as depicted is substantially perpendicular to the ABS… ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the free layer being perpendicular to the ABS as taught by Carey to the magnetic head in order to maximizes the DC output voltage and thereby causing the value of VDC to change in response to the magnitude of the external magnetic field being sensed(Carey, para. 39).
Isowaki ‘660 further teaches a direction of the second component being opposite to a direction of the first component (Fig. 1A i.e., "14 a" and "14 b", anti-parallel coupled free layers; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e., "14 a" and "14 b") but fails to explicitly disclose a third magnetic layer magnetization of the third magnetic layer including a third component along a third direction crossing a plane including the first direction and the second direction.
Carey further teaches a third magnetic layer magnetization of the third magnetic layer including a third component along a third direction crossing a plane including the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 5 i.e., 221; para. [0039] i.e., in-plane magnetization 221).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the reference layer being parallel to the ABS as taught by Carey to the magnetic head in order to maximizes the DC output voltage and thereby causing the value of VDC to change in response to the magnitude of the external magnetic field being sensed(Carey, para. 39).
Regarding claim 2, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. Isowaki ‘660 further teaches the magnetic head wherein the second magnetic layer is antiferromagnetically coupled with the first magnetic layer (Col. 6 lines 64-67 i.e., antiferromagnetically exchange coupled).
Regarding claim 3, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. Isowaki ‘660 further teaches the magnetic head wherein the first magnetic element further includes a first nonmagnetic layer provided between the first magnetic layer and the second magnetic layer (Fig. 1A i.e., 15b; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e., nonmagnetic layer 15b), the first nonmagnetic layer satisfies one of a first condition and a second condition, in the first condition, the first nonmagnetic layer includes Ru, and a first nonmagnetic layer thickness of the first nonmagnetic layer in the first direction is not less than 0.1 nm and not more than 1 nm (Col. 10 lines 30-38 i.e., As materials for …nonmagnetic layers 15 e, 15 f … such as Ru…thicknesses of the nonmagnetic layers 15 e, 15 f …0.2 nm…), and in the second condition, the first nonmagnetic layer includes Ir, and the first nonmagnetic layer thickness is not less than 0.3 nm and not more than 0.8 nm.
Regarding claim 4, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches the magnetic head according to claim 3 as discussed above. Isowaki ‘660 further teaches the magnetic head the first magnetic element further includes a second nonmagnetic layer provided between the third magnetic layer and the first magnetic layer (Fig. 1A i.e., 15a; Col. 6 lines 43-54 i.e., nonmagnetic layer 15 a ).
Regarding claim 5, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches the magnetic head according to claim 4 as discussed above. Isowaki ‘660 further teaches the magnetic head wherein the second nonmagnetic layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of MgO, Al2O3, Cu, and Ag (Fig. 1A i.e., 15a; Col. 6 lines 43-54 i.e., nonmagnetic layer 15 a, there can be used an insulating material (MgO…or a nonmagnetic metal material (Cu, Ag, …).
Regarding claim 6, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches the magnetic head according to claim 4 as discussed above. Isowaki ‘660 further teaches the magnetic head wherein the first nonmagnetic layer thickness is thinner than a second nonmagnetic layer thickness of the second nonmagnetic layer in the first direction (Fig. 1A i.e., 15b; Col. 6 lines 43-54 i.e., nonmagnetic layer 15 a is preferable to be 0.5 nm or more …; Col. 6 lines 54-30 i.e., nonmagnetic layer 15 b is 0.3 nm or more …).
Regarding claim 8, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. Isowaki ‘660 further teaches the magnetic head wherein the reproducing section further includes a first shield and a second shield (Fig. 1A i.e., 11a; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e., magnetic shield 11 a (a first magnetic shield)), the first magnetic element is provided between the first shield and the second shield in the first direction (Fig. 1A i.e., 11b; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e., a magnetic shield 11 b (a second magnetic shield)), a first shield magnetization of the first shield has a direction of the third component (Fig. 1A i.e., 11a; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e., An arrow included with each of the magnetic shield 11 b, … indicates a direction of magnetization of each element), and a second shield magnetization of the second shield has the direction of the third component (Fig. 1A i.e., 11b; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e., An arrow included with each of the magnetic shield 11 b, … indicates a direction of magnetization of each element).
Regarding claim 9, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches the magnetic head according to claim 8 as discussed above. Isowaki ‘660 further teaches the magnetic head wherein the reproducing section further includes a third shield and a fourth shield (Fig. 1A i.e., left side shield SS and right side shield SS; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e. side shield SS), the first magnetic element is provided between the third shield and the fourth shield in the third direction (Fig. 1A i.e., "14a", "14b", "12" and "side shield SS"; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e. "14a", "14b", "12" and "side shield SS"), a third shield magnetization of the third shield has the orientation of the third component, and a fourth shield magnetization of the fourth shield has the direction of the third component (Fig. 1A i.e., side shield SS; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e., (Fig. 1A i.e., 11a; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e., An arrow included with each of … side shield SS indicates a direction of magnetization of each element).
Regarding claim 10, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. However, Isowaki ‘660 fails to explicitly teach at least one of the first magnetic layer or the second magnetic layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Fe, Ni, and Co, and the third magnetic layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Fe, Ni, and Co.
In an analogous art, Carey teaches at least one of the first magnetic layer or the second magnetic layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Fe, Ni, and Co (para. [0028] i.e., … 110 (free layer) are typically formed of an alloy from the group of Co, Fe, and Ni, …), and the third magnetic layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Fe, Ni, and Co (para. [0028] i.e., The ferromagnetic layers 122 (AP1), 120 (AP2), …are typically formed of an alloy from the group of Co, Fe, and Ni…).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate materials of Fe, Ni, and Co as taught by Carey into the magnetic layers in order to obtain a high degree of spin-dependent interface scattering(Carey, para. 0028).
Regarding claim 13, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches the magnetic head according to claim 8 as discussed above. Isowaki ‘660 further teaches the magnetic head wherein the first magnetic element further includes a third nonmagnetic layer (Fig. 5B i.e., 15h; Col. 12 lines 5-22 i.e., nonmagnetic layer 15 h) and a fourth nonmagnetic layer (Fig. 5B i.e., 15g; Col. 12 lines 5-22 i.e., nonmagnetic layer 15g), the third nonmagnetic layer is provided between the first shield and the third magnetic layer in the first direction (Fig. 5B i.e., "15h", "11a", and "19b"; Col. 12 lines 5-22 i.e.,"15h", "11a", and "19b"), and
the fourth nonmagnetic layer is provided between the second magnetic layer and the second shield in the first direction(Fig. 5B, i.e., "15g", "11b", and "14b"; Col. 12 lines 5-22 i.e., "15g", "11b", and "14b").
Regarding claim 18, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches a magnetic recording device (Isowaki ‘660, Col. 2 lines 1-4 i.e., magnetic recording and reproducing apparatus), comprising:
the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. Isowaki ‘660 further teaches the magnetic head a magnetic recording medium facing the medium facing face (Col. 2 lines 58-67 i.e., viewed from a direction perpendicular to a medium surface of a magnetic recording medium (a later-described magnetic recording medium 91) ), the reproducing section being configured to reproduce information recorded on the magnetic recording medium (Col. 15 lines 1-7 i.e., Information is magnetically written in and read out of the magnetic recording medium 91. Any one of the magnetic heads 10 to 10 c is used for the magnetic head 93, and magnetically reads out information from the magnetic recording medium 91.).
Claim(s) 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isowaki ‘660 in view of Carey as applied to claims 1-6, 8-10, and 18 above, and further in view of Mauri et al. U.S. Patent Number US 9472216 B1(hereinafter Mauri).
Regarding claim 7, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. However, Isowaki ‘660 fails to explicitly teach wherein the first magnetic element further includes a first side magnetic layer and a second side magnetic layer,
at least a part of the first magnetic layer is provided between the medium facing face and the first side magnetic layer in the second direction, at least a part of the second magnetic layer is provided between the medium facing face and the second side magnetic layer in the second direction, a first side magnetization of the first side magnetic layer includes a first side component along the second direction, a second side magnetization of the second side magnetic layer includes a second side component along the second direction, a direction of the second side component is opposite to a direction of the first side component, and the second side magnetic layer is antiferromagnetically coupled with the first side magnetic layer.
In an analogous art, Mauri teaches the first magnetic element further includes a first side magnetic layer and a second side magnetic layer (Fig. 3B i.e., 180; Col. 5 lines 44-51 i.e., soft magnetic layers … 180), at least a part of the first magnetic layer is provided between the medium facing face and the first side magnetic layer in the second direction (Fig. 3B i.e., "180", "ABS", and " 116"; Col. 5 lines 33-51 i.e., "ABS", "soft magnetic layers … 180", and " free layers …116" ), at least a part of the second magnetic layer is provided between the medium facing face and the second side magnetic layer in the second direction (Fig. 3B i.e., "170", "ABS", and " 112"; Col. 5 lines 33-51 i.e., "ABS", "soft magnetic layers 170", and " free layers 112" ), a first side magnetization of the first side magnetic layer includes a first side component along the second direction (Col. 5 lines 44-51 i.e., magnetic moments 132 and 134 ), a second side magnetization of the second side magnetic layer includes a second side component along the second direction (Col. 5 lines 44-51 i.e., magnetic moments 132 and 134 ), a direction of the second side component is opposite to a direction of the first side component (Fig. 3B i.e., "132" and "134; Col. 5 lines 44-51 i.e., magnetic moments 132 and 134), and the second side magnetic layer is antiferromagnetically coupled with the first side magnetic layer (Col. 5 lines 44-51 i.e., The soft magnetic layer 170 and 180 may also be antiferromagnetically coupled…).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the soft magnetic layers as taught by Mauri into the magnetic head in order to improve shield stability(Mauri, Col. ines 44-61).
Regarding claim 11, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches the magnetic head according to claim 7 as discussed above. However, Isowaki ‘660 fails to explicitly teach at least one of the first magnetic layer or the second magnetic layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Fe, Ni, and Co,
the third magnetic layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Fe, Ni, and Co, and
at least one of the first side magnetic layer or the second side magnetic layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Fe, Ni, and Co.
In an analogous art, Carey teaches at least one of the first magnetic layer or the second magnetic layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Fe, Ni, and Co (para. [0028] i.e., … 110 (free layer) are typically formed of an alloy from the group of Co, Fe, and Ni, …),
the third magnetic layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Fe, Ni, and Co (para. [0028] i.e., The ferromagnetic layers 122 (AP1), 120 (AP2), …are typically formed of an alloy from the group of Co, Fe, and Ni…), and
at least one of the first side magnetic layer or the second side magnetic layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Fe, Ni, and Co (para. [0028] i.e., … 110 (free layer) are typically formed of an alloy from the group of Co, Fe, and Ni, …).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate materials of Fe, Ni, and Co as taught by Carey into the stacked configuration of magnetic layers in order to obtain a high degree of spin-dependent interface scattering(Carey, para. 0028).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isowaki ‘660 in view of Carey as applied to claims 1-6, 8-10, and 18 above, and further in view of Isowaki et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number US20150269956A1 (hereinafter Isowaki ‘956).
Regarding claim 12, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches the magnetic head according to claim 7 as discussed above. However, Isowaki ‘660 fails to explicitly teach the reproducing section further includes a third shield and a fourth shield, the first magnetic element is provided between the third shield and the fourth shield in the third direction, a third shield magnetization of the third shield has the orientation of the third component, and a fourth shield magnetization of the fourth shield has the direction of the third component.
In an analogous art, Isowaki ‘956 teaches the first magnetic element further includes a first additional magnetic layer (para. [0054] i.e., antiferromagnetic layer 52 …made of an antiferromagnetic material. As this antiferromagnetic material, IrMn… ), the third magnetic layer is provided between the first additional magnetic layer and the first magnetic layer in the first direction (Fig. 2A, i.e., "52", "53", and "62"; para. [0052] i.e., "52", "53", and "62"), and
the first additional magnetic layer includes IrMn (para. [0054] i.e., antiferromagnetic layer 52 …made of an antiferromagnetic material. As this antiferromagnetic material, IrMn… ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include the IrMn disclosed in Isowaki ‘956 in the magnetic head to achieve the claimed invention. As disclosed in Isowaki ‘956, the motivation for the combination would be to form the antiferromagnetic layer(paragraphs 52-54).
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isowaki ‘660 in view of Carey as applied to claims 1-6, 8-10, and 18 above, and further in view of Sapozhnikov et al. U.S. Patent Number US10468055B1 (hereinafter Sapozhnikov).
Regarding claim 14, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. However, Isowaki ‘660 fails to explicitly disclose the reproducing section further includes a second magnetic element, a direction from the first magnetic element to the second magnetic element includes a component of the first direction, the second magnetic element includes:
a fourth magnetic layer; a fifth magnetic layer; and a sixth magnetic layer, the fourth magnetic layer is provided between the sixth magnetic layer and the fifth magnetic layer in the first direction, a fourth magnetic layer magnetization of the fourth magnetic layer includes a fourth component along the third direction, a fifth magnetic layer magnetization of the fifth magnetic layer includes a fifth component along the third direction, a direction of the fifth component is opposite to a direction of the fourth component, and a sixth magnetic layer magnetization of the sixth magnetic layer includes a sixth component along the second direction.
In an analogous art, Sapozhnikov teaches stacked configuration by repeating the magnetic element. Sapozhnikov teaches the reproducing section further includes a second magnetic element (upper biasing component 180), a direction from the first magnetic element to the second magnetic element includes a component of the first direction (Fig. 5; The lower biasing component 180 and the upper biasing component 180 are provided in the first direction),
the second magnetic element (Fig. 5 i.e., “reference layer 240”, “free layer 174”, and “pinned layer 236”) includes: a fourth magnetic layer; a fifth magnetic; and a sixth magnetic layer; the fourth magnetic layer is provided between the sixth magnetic layer and the fifth magnetic layer in the first direction, a fourth magnetic layer magnetization of the fourth magnetic layer includes a fourth component along the third direction, a fifth magnetic layer magnetization of the fifth magnetic layer (Fig. 5 i.e., magnetic moment 176) includes a fifth component along the third direction, a direction of the fifth component is opposite to a direction of the fourth component, and a sixth magnetic layer magnetization of the sixth magnetic layer includes a sixth component along the second direction. Although Sapozhnikov does not disclose all of the claimed elements, it teaches a stacked structure in which the same magnetic element is repeatedly arranged. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the dual sensor in Sapozhnikov in the magnetic head to achieve the claimed invention. As disclosed in Sapozhnikov, the motivation for the combination would be to enhance greater data density requirements and faster data transfer speeds (Sapozhnikov, Col. 3 lines 60-66).
Regarding claim 15, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey and Sapozhnikov teaches the magnetic head according to claim 14 as discussed above. Isowaki ‘660 further teaches the magnetic head wherein the second magnetic element further includes a fifth nonmagnetic layer provided between the fourth magnetic layer and the fifth magnetic layer(Fig. 1A i.e., 15b; Col. 3 lines 1-11 i.e., nonmagnetic layer 15b), the fifth nonmagnetic layer satisfies one of a third condition and a fourth condition, in the third condition, the fifth nonmagnetic layer includes Ru, and a fifth nonmagnetic layer thickness of the fifth nonmagnetic layer in the first direction is not less than 0.1 nm and not more than 1 nm (Col. 10 lines 30-38 i.e., As materials for …nonmagnetic layers 15 e, 15 f … such as Ru…thicknesses of the nonmagnetic layers 15 e, 15 f …0.2 nm…), and in the fourth condition, the fifth nonmagnetic layer includes Ir, and the fifth nonmagnetic layer thickness is not less than 0.3 nm and not more than 0.8 nm.
Regarding claim 16, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey and Sapozhnikov teaches the magnetic head according to claim 15 as discussed above. Isowaki ‘660 further teaches the magnetic head wherein the second magnetic element further includes a sixth nonmagnetic layer provided between the sixth magnetic layer and the fourth magnetic layer(Fig. 1A i.e., 15a; Col. 6 lines 43-54 i.e., nonmagnetic layer 15 a ), and the sixth nonmagnetic layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of MgO, Al2O3, Cu, and Ag (Fig. 1A i.e., 15a; Col. 6 lines 43-54 i.e., nonmagnetic layer 15 a, there can be used an insulating material (MgO…or a nonmagnetic metal material (Cu, Ag, …).
Regarding claim 17, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey and Sapozhnikov teaches the magnetic head according to claim 16 as discussed above. Isowaki ‘660 further teaches the magnetic head wherein the fifth nonmagnetic layer thickness is thinner than a sixth nonmagnetic layer thickness in the first direction of the sixth nonmagnetic layer (Fig. 1A i.e., 15b; Col. 6 lines 43-54 i.e., nonmagnetic layer 15 a is preferable to be 0.5 nm or more …; Col. 6 lines 54-30 i.e., nonmagnetic layer 15 b is 0.3 nm or more …).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isowaki ‘660 in view of Carey as applied to claims 1-6, 8-10, and 18 above, and further in view of Erden et al. U.S. Patent Number US10490219B1 (hereinafter Erden).
Regarding claim 19, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey teaches the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. However, Isowaki ‘660 fails to explicitly disclose the magnetic recording medium includes a first track and a second track, the first track includes a first region and a second region, the second track includes a third region and a fourth region, a direction from the first region to the second region is along the first direction, a direction from the third region to the fourth region is along the first direction, a direction from the first region to the third region is along the third direction, a direction from the second region to the fourth region is along the third direction, and the reproducing section is configured to output a signal according to a state of magnetization of each of the first region, the second region, the third region, and the fourth region.
In an analogous art, Erden teaches the magnetic recording medium (Col. 5 lines 12-15 i.e., read/write head 712) includes a first track and a second track (Fig. 3 i.e., tracks 104, 106; Col. 3 line 57-59, i.e., tracks 104, 106 ), the first track includes a first region and a second region ( Fig. 3 i.e., bit pairs 206, 207; Col. 3 lines 57-62 i.e., bit-pairs 206-209; 206 and 207 in the track 104),
the second track includes a third region and a fourth region ( Fig. 3 i.e., bit pairs 206, 207; Col. 3 lines 57-62 i.e., bit-pairs 206-209; 206 and 207 in the track 106), a direction from the first region to the second region is along the first direction (Col. 3 lines 7-14, i.e., …signals that corresponds to the downtrack separation of the readers 100…;Col. 3 lines 57-61 i.e., …curve 300 represents a simplified example of the signal r1 when the longitudinal reader 102 is aligned over tracks 104, 106… ),
a direction from the third region to the fourth region is along the first direction (Col. 3 lines 7-14, i.e., …signals that corresponds to the downtrack separation of the readers 100…;Col. 3 lines 57-61 i.e., …curve 300 represents a simplified example of the signal r1 when the longitudinal reader 102 is aligned over tracks 104, 106…), a direction from the first region to the third region is along the third direction (Col. 3 lines 57-61 i.e., … curve 302 represents a simplified example of the signal r1 when the longitudinal reader 102 is offset in a crosstrack direction.), a direction from the second region to the fourth region is along the third direction (Col. 3 lines 57-61 i.e., … curve 302 represents a simplified example of the signal r1 when the longitudinal reader 102 is offset in a crosstrack direction.), and
the reproducing section is configured to output a signal according to a state of magnetization of each of the first region, the second region, the third region, and the fourth region (Col. 2 lines 65-68 and Col. 3 lines 1-7 i.e., the bit boundaries of the tracks are indicated by dashed lines in a cross-track direction…. the bits between two adjacent tracks are aligned so that the readers 100, 102 read bits from both tracks at the same time. These bits…corresponding bits. An example pair of aligned/ corresponding bits 110, 112 is shown in tracks 104, 106, respectively. These bits jointly encode data … based on the combined magnetic field of the bits 110, 112.).
The first and second tracks are read simultaneously via a first reader mounted in a head-gimbal assembly and it allows the magnetic recording device to improve timing error(Erden, Abstract). Thus, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the tracks and regions by bits by Erden into the magnetic recording device by Muri in order to adjust a time reference of a detector for predictable result of enabling reading performance(Fig. 8 and Col. 1 lines 8-25).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isowaki ‘660 in view of Carey and Erden as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Li et al. U.S. Patent Number US 9431039 B1 (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 20, Isowaki ‘660 as modified by Carey and Erden teaches the magnetic head according to claim 16 as discussed above. However, Isowaki ‘660 fails to explicitly disclose in one operating state, at least a part of the first magnetic layer faces the first region and the third region, and at least a part of the second magnetic layer faces the second region and the fourth region.
In an analogous art, Li teaches in one operating state, at least a part of the first magnetic layer faces the first region and the third region, and at least a part of the second magnetic layer faces the second region and the fourth region ( Fig. 2, i.e., "112", "122", and "132"; Col. 4 11-16 i.e., Because their widths are larger than the track pitch, a greater portion of the sensors 110 and 130 are aligned with the tracks 102 and 104 at skew. The larger widths of the sensors 110 and 130 thus aid in allowing the sensors 110 and 130 remain sufficiently aligned with the tracks 102 and 104, respectively. The overlap between the sensors 110, 120 and 130 may also assist in compensating for misalignment due to skew. ).
Li teaches that sensors having widths are larger than the track pitch may overlap multiple tracks under skew condition. As a result of such overlap, different portions of the magnetic layer are positioned over different tracks and thus face corresponding regions of the magnetic recording medium. Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the position of the magnetic layers and their corresponding regions in reference Li in the magnetic recording device to achieve the claimed invention. As disclosed in the reference Li (Col. 4 lines 28-33), the motivation for the combination would be to improve performance and thus be capable of use at higher recording densities.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Mauri et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number US20090168256A1 reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE J. KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2688
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688