DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marini (US 5,652,637) in view of Swab (US 6,231,181).
Regarding claim 1, Marini teaches smart glasses (fig. 1-3;, 10), comprising, a frame assembly (lens frame 12; col. 2, line 40-41); and two temple mechanisms; wherein the two temple mechanisms (a temple at each side; col. 2, lines 53-59, a plurality of hinges 22, 22a may be employed at the sides) are respectively fixed to two opposite ends of the frame assembly (12); the two temple mechanisms comprise two connecting components (30, 32), two female connecting assemblies (32) , and two temple assemblies (30); the two temple assemblies (male member 30 on each side of frame 12) are respectively inserted into the two female connecting assemblies (female member 32 on each side of frame 12) from ends of the two female connecting assemblies away (32) from the frame assembly to form a snap-fit (male member 30 is inserted into female member 32 when the two coaxial members 30, 32 are pushed together (col. 2, lines 60-65; col. 2, line 43,46, arrow 20), the free end 38 of axial finger 34 being biased by elastic forces into a coacting through hole 40 in the inner wall of female member 32 (col. 2, lines 60-68 and col. 3, lines 1-10), thereby forming a snap-fit); and the two temple assemblies (30) are respectively detachably connected to the two female connecting assemblies (32; the temple is readily detachable without threaded fasteners (col. 1, lines 5-10); it is disassembled by depressing detent 38 with a tool 42 and withdrawing the ear stem 16 rearwardly (col. 3, lines 1-10)). Marini does not specifically teach the two connecting components are respectively fixed to the two opposite ends of the frame assembly, the two female connecting assemblies are respectively hinged to ends of the two connecting components away from the frame assembly. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Swab teaches glasses, comprising the two connecting components (insert piece 72 on each side of lens frame 6) are respectively fixed to the two opposite ends of the frame assembly (lens frame 6), the two female connecting assemblies (cavity 76 provided in the forward end 78 of temple 80 on each side of lens frame 6) are respectively hinged (hinge structure 8) to ends of the two connecting components away (insert piece 72 on each side of lens frame 6) from the frame assembly (6, shown in fig. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the glasses of Marini with the two connecting components are respectively fixed to the two opposite ends of the frame assembly, the two female connecting assemblies are respectively hinged to ends of the two connecting components away from the frame assembly of Swab, for the purpose of providing invisible, quick-connect attachment, structured for connecting and removing eyeglass temple pieces (col. 1, lines 1-15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art does not disclose the claimed smart glasses specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations are claimed “wherein each of the two female connecting assemblies comprises a female connector main body, a mounting groove, an elastic piece, a hinge base, and two limiting positions; each female connector main body is rectangular-shaped, each mounting groove is recessed inward from one end of a corresponding female connector main body close to a corresponding one of the two temple assemblies, each elastic piece is U-shaped and is fixed in a corresponding mounting groove, each hinge base protrudes outward from an outer peripheral side of a corresponding female connector main body, and each two limiting positions are recessed inward from two opposite sides of a groove wall of a corresponding mounting groove; each elastic piece comprises a bottom edge, two first side edges, and two second side edges, two protruding portions; each bottom edge is fixed to a groove bottom of a corresponding mounting groove, two ends of each bottom edge are bent and extend to respectively form corresponding two first side edges, each two first side edges respectively extend to form corresponding two second side edges, and each two second side edges extend opposite to each other to form corresponding two protruding portions; each two first side edges respectively abut against the two opposite sides of the groove wall of a corresponding mounting groove, each two second side edges are respectively aligned with corresponding two limiting positions; each of the two connecting components is assembled with a corresponding hinge base to form a hinge; each of the two temple assemblies comprises a temple and a male connector fixed to one end of the temple, each male connector comprises a male connector main body and two concave grooves, each male connector main body is fixed to a corresponding temple and is rectangular-shaped, and each two concave grooves are recessed inward respectively from two opposite sides of a corresponding male connector main body; and each male connector main body is inserted into a corresponding mounting groove, and each two protruding portions are respectively clamped and embedded into corresponding two concave grooves to form a lock.”
Specifically, with respect to claim 3, is objected to for the same reason as claim 1.
Specifically, with respect to claim 4, is objected to for the same reason as claim 3.
Specifically, with respect to claim 5, is objected to for the same reason as claim 4.
Specifically, with respect to claim 6, is objected to for the same reason as claim 5.
Specifically, with respect to claim 7, is objected to for the same reason as claim 6.
Specifically, with respect to claim 8, is objected to for the same reason as claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang (US 20250085566) teaches glasses comprising temple and hinge.
/HENRY DUONG/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872 07/25/26