DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the shape and size of the inner door panel frame matched with a shape and must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Figure 4 appears to show a similar shape but not a matching shape between the inner and outer door panel frames. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 15, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “at least one first mounting slot”. Is this the same as the first mounting slot defined in claim 11 or a separate first mounting slot?
Claim 15 recites the limitation “at least one second mounting slot”. Is this the same as the second mounting slot defined in claim 13 or a separate first mounting slot?
The term “soft” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “soft” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “wherein two door panels are provided”. It is not clear if the door panel from claim 1, upon which claim 18 depends from is part of the two provided door panels or if these two panels are in addition to the door panel claimed in claim 1.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the observation windows on the two door panels" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as previously in the claim “one observation window is provided in the door panel” with no limitation regarding multiple observation windows or multiple door panels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark (U.S. 11,193,325) in view of Su (U.S. 11,208,835).
Regarding claim 1, Clark teaches a side-hung door, comprising: a door frame device (as seen in fig 2), comprising a door post (186), a connecting member (198), and a door frame (40), wherein the door post (186) is provided with an insertion slot (as seen in fig 3); the connecting member (198) is inserted into the insertion slot (see fig 3); the door frame (40) comprises a door post frame (50) and a door panel frame (58); the door post frame (50) is connected to the door panel frame (58, as seen in fig 2); the door post frame (50) is provided with a positioning slot (see fig 3); the door post (186) is inserted into the positioning slot (see fig 3); the door post (186) is connected to the door panel frame (58, see fig 2); and a door panel (62), wherein the door panel (62) is connected to the door frame (40), and the door panel (62) is covered (see fig 2) at the door frame device (40).
Clark is silent as to the connecting member being a rotating connecting member.
Su teaches a similar side-hung door where the connecting member is rotatable (rotating shaft 12).
Clark and Su are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of side-hung doors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Clark to incorporate the teachings of Su and provide a connecting member in the side-hung door assembly which is rotatable. As Clark teaches a door construction for a side-hung traffic door, it would have been obvious to utilize a rotating connecting member with the assembly of Clark. Doing so would allow for assemblies with a motorized door opener or closer while still maintaining the use in a manual operation as well.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Clark and Su teaches the side-hung door of claim 1. Clark further teaches comprising two angle brackets (76/78), wherein the two angle brackets (76/78) connect the door post (186) to the door panel frame (58).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Clark and Su teaches the side-hung door of claim 2. Clark further teaches wherein an opening (76a/78a) is provided in an outer side of the door post (186); the angle brackets (76/78) are of L-shaped structures (see fig 4); one end of each of the two angle brackets is located at each of a top and a bottom of the outer side of the door post (186, see figs 3 and 4), and the other ends of the two angle brackets are respectively located at an upper end and a lower end of an inner side of the door panel frame (58); and the angle brackets are at least partially located in the opening (76a/78a).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Clark and Su teaches the side-hung door of claim 1. Clark and Su further teach wherein an insertion slot (190 Clark) is provided in the door post (186 Clark); the rotatable connecting member (198 Clark per the combination above) is provided with an insertion part (198 of Clark inserted into 190 as seen in fig 3); the insertion part is inserted into the insertion slot (190 Clark); and the insertion part is oblate (12 of Su is oblate, as seen in fig 2).
Clark is silent as to the insertion slot being oblate. However, as the combination of Clark and Su above teaches a rotatable connecting member with an oblate cross-section. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a matching oblate configuration for the insertion slot (such as seen in 122 of Su to match the cross-section of 12) in order to allow the rotating shaft to rotate when inserted into the assembly.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Clark and Su teaches the side-hung door of claim 4. Clark and Su further teach wherein the insertion part (198 Clark inserted into 190 as seen in fig 3) extends outwards along an upper surface and a lower surface of the door post (Clark 186) to form a rotating part (Su 12), and an end surface of the rotating part (end surface of 194/196 Clark which connects to 198) is matched with a height of the door panel frame (58).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Clark and Su teaches the side-hung door of claim 5. Clark further teaches wherein the door panel frame (58) is provided with a notch (76a/78a), and the rotating part is located in the notch (as seen in fig 3 and 8a).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Clark and Su teaches the side-hung door of claim 1. Clark further teaches wherein at least one rotatable connecting member (194/196) is provided.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Clark and Su teaches the side-hung door of claim 1. Clark further teaches wherein the door panel frame (58) comprises an outer door panel frame (156d on outer side, as seen on the left in fig 7) and an inner door panel frame (156d on inner side, as seen on the right in fig 7); a shape and size of the inner door panel frame are matched with a shape and size of the outer door panel frame (both sides of 156d, see fig 7); and the inner door panel frame is nested into the outer door panel frame (as seen in figs 7 and 5).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Clark and Su teaches the side-hung door of claim 8. Clark further teaches wherein the inner door panel frame (156d on inner side, as seen on the right in fig 7) is approximately of a rectangular plate-like structure (see figs 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Clark and Su teaches the side-hung door of claim 8. Clark further teaches wherein the door panel frame (58) comprises a top frame (90), a bottom frame (92), and a side frame (86/88); and at least two of the top frame, the bottom frame, and the side frame are detachably connected (as seen in fig 7, 90 and 88 for example are detachably connected by bracket 96).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Clark and Su teaches the side-hung door of claim 1. Clark further teaches wherein the door panel (62) is at least partially covered at an outer surface of the door frame (40), and a shape and size of the door panel (62) are matched with a shape and size of the door frame (40, as seen in figs 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Clark and Su teaches the side-hung door of claim 1. Clark further teaches wherein two door panels (62 and 64) are provided; and the two door panels (62 and 64) are correspondingly fixed to a front surface and a rear surface of the door panel frame (58, as seen in fig 5); and an isolation space (areas 160a and b) is formed between the two door panels (62 and 64) and an inner surface of the door panel frame (58, as seen in fig 6).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Clark and Su teaches the side-hung door of claim 1. Clark further teaches wherein the door post frame (5) is provided with several cavities (as seen in fig 3), and the cavities are configured for thermal isolation (cavities are isolated from one another as seen in fig 3).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Clark and Su teaches the side-hung door of claim 1. Clark further teaches wherein at least one observation window is provided in the door panel (62, described in column 14 lines 26-28); the observation windows on the two door panels (62 and 64) correspond to each other (described in column 14 lines 26-28); and a transparent or semi-transparent cover plate (54) is arranged at each observation window (see fig 2).
Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark (U.S. 11,193,325) in view of Su (U.S. 11,208,835) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Johnson (U.S. 5,693,271).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Clark and Su teaches the side-hung door of claim 1. While Clark teaches a sealing element along the top, bottom, and side away from the door post frame, both Clark and Su are silent as to a first sealing element the communicates with a first mounting slot on the door post frame (50).
Johnson teaches a similar side-hung door comprising a first sealing element (90), wherein the door post frame is provided with a first mounting slot (87) and a first slot (86) communicated to the first mounting slot (87); the first sealing element (90) is at least partially inserted into the first mounting slot (87, see fig 4); and the first sealing element (90) is at least partially threaded out along the first slot (as seen in fig 4).
Clark, Su, and Johnson are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of side-hung doors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Clark and Su to incorporate the teachings of Johnson and provide a first sealing element and a first mounting slot on the door post frame of the side-hung door. Doing so would seal the fourth edge of the side-hung door of Clark to ensure a proper fit between the side-hung door and the surrounding wall.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Clark, Su, and Johnson teaches the side-hung door of claim 11. Johnson further teaches wherein at least one first mounting slot (87) is provided; and a number of the first slot (86), a number of the first sealing element (90), and a number of the first mounting slot (87) are the same.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Clark, Su, and Johnson teaches the side-hung door of claim 11. Clark further teaches comprising a second sealing element (146), wherein a second mounting slot (140) and a second slot (142) communicated to the second mounting slot (140) are provided in an outer edge of the outer door panel frame (58); the second sealing element (146) is at least partially inserted into the second mounting slot (140); and the second sealing element (146) is at least partially threaded out along the second slot (140, see fig 5).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Clark, Su, and Johnson teaches the side-hung door of claim 13. Clark further teaches wherein the second mounting slot (140) and the second slot (142) communicated to the second mounting slot (140) are provided on at least part of the outer edge of the outer door panel frame (as seen in figs 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Clark, Su, and Johnson teaches the side-hung door of claim 13. Clark further teaches wherein at least one second mounting slot (140) is provided; and a number of the second slot (142), a number of the second sealing element (146), and a number of the second mounting slot (140) are the same.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Clark, Su, and Johnson teaches the side-hung door of claim 13. Clark and Johnson further teach wherein the first sealing element (90 Johnson) and the second sealing element (146 Clark) are made of soft materials (it is known that seals around the perimeter of an object flex and are therefore made of soft materials).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2022/0162896, US 8,162,414, US 7,152,377, US 5,184,423, US 4,570,384 (all of which teach doors with similar features as the claimed invention).
/SUSAN M. HESCHEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3637
/Muhammad Ijaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631