Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,9-10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hong US 20190205607.
Regarding claim 1, Hong provides for, obtaining a plurality of first keypoints of at least one eye in a first image ( Fig.3, see first to-be-processed eye image, see keypoints ,11,12,13, 14) and a plurality of second keypoints of the at least one eye in a second image( Fig.3, see second to-be-processed eye image, see keypoints ,21,22,23, 24) , wherein the first image is a previous image frame prior to the second image ( see “[0045] Step 202, extracting a first to-be-processed eye image and a second to-be-processed eye image respectively from the two frames of face images”);
adjusting the second keypoints based on a position offset between the first keypoints and the second keypoints, to obtain a plurality of adjusted second keypoints ( see “[0060] The fourth step, aligning the first to-be-processed eye image with the second to-be-processed eye image by adjusting a plurality of second coordinates of the plurality of second marking points of the second to-be-processed eye image on the coordinate plane to correspond to the plurality of first coordinates”, note marking points corresponds to keypoint, also see [0045], see “ aligning the first to-be-processed eye image with the second to-be-processed eye image through a set marking point”) ; and detecting a blink based on the first keypoints and the adjusted second keypoints ( Fig.3, [0080], see “sets the positions of the marking points 11, 12, 13 to respectively correspond to the positions of the marking points 21, 22, and 23 to obtain a difference image composed of the first to-be-processed eye image and the second to-be-processed eye image with the marking point 14 corresponding to the marking points 24; finally, imports the difference image into the blink detection model to obtain a blink detection label and a non-blink detection label corresponding to the difference image”).
Regarding claim 2, Hong provides for model training on a preset detection model to obtain a trained detection model; and inputting the first image into the trained detection model and outputting the plurality of first keypoints ( Fig.3, see blink detection model, [0080], see “finally, imports the difference image into the blink detection model to obtain a blink detection label and a non-blink detection label corresponding to the difference image”) .
Regarding claim 9, see the rejection of claim 1, it recites similar limitations as claim 1. Except for a one or more processor, and a memory coupled to the one or more processor , the memory storing programs that, when executed by the one or more processor( see [0017], see “the present disclosure provide a terminal device, including: one or more processors; and a storage apparatus, for storing one or more programs, the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement the method for detecting a blink according to the first aspect”. Hence it is similarly analyzed and rejected.
Regarding claim 10, see the rejection of claim 2, it recites similar limitations as claim 10. Hence it is similarly analyzed and rejected.
Regarding claim 17, see the rejection of claim 1, it recites similar limitations as claim 1. Except for a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions ( claim 13, see “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program”). Hence it is similarly analyzed and rejected.
Regarding claim 18, see the rejection of claim 2, it recites similar limitations as claim 18. Hence it is similarly analyzed and rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claims 3-8,11-16 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
3. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of Hong US 20190205607,while teaches the features/limitations of independent claims, however Hong or any other prior art , either alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest features/limitations of claims 3-8,11-16 and 19-20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DE VILLERS-SIDANI et al. US 20220369923, is cited because the reference teaches “0034] In at least one embodiment, identifying and removing artifacts in eye movements comprises identifying a blink using a sequence of images in the video and removing the blink from consideration when identifying eye movements”.
JULIAN et al. US 20210394775, is cited because the reference teaches “If a mouth is classified as open over a certain number of image frames that coincides with a typical amount of time for a yawn, the driver may be considered to have yawned. Eyes may be monitored to detect blinks, long blinks or other eye closures that may indicate a driver falling asleep, glasses on with eyes open, glasses on with eyes closed (e.g., for detecting blinks or other eye closures), glasses on with eyes not visible, or not sure. If, for example, an eye closure is detected over a predetermined amount of time (e.g., corresponding to a particular number of frames), the system may determine that the driver is falling asleep”, in [0065].
SATAKE et al. US 20150272432 is cited because the reference teaches “[0161] The inspector moves the photography unit 3 in the vertical and lateral directions by adjusting alignment in the vertical and lateral directions, for example, by operating the joystick 74a, in such a manner that the anterior chamber image appears on the display unit 75. As illustrated in FIG. 4, when the alignment is adjusted in order for the anterior chamber image to appear on the display unit 75, eight index images (first alignment index images) Ma to Mh appear. At this time, the imaging range of the imaging element 65 preferably includes the pupil of the anterior chamber, an iris, and an eyelash when the alignment is completed”.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALI BAYAT whose telephone number is (571)272-7444. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00-5:00 M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Andrew Bee can be reached at 571-2705183. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALI BAYAT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677