Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended their application as follows:
Amended: 1, 11 and 20
Cancelled: 10
Added: None
Therefore, claims 1-9 and 11-20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 2022/0139330 A1, hereinafter “Kwon”).
As to claim 1, Kwon (Fig. 8) discloses a driving method for a display panel, wherein a display region of the display panel at least comprises a first display sub-region (DA2) and a second display sub-region (DA1; Para. 0151), and the driving method for the display panel comprises:
in response to a change degree of display-related parameters of at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being greater than a set degree (Fig. 12 step S200; Para. 0152),
refreshing the first display sub-region (step S220; Fig. 3A; Para. 0078-0079, 0155; the first display area and second display area will be refreshed together), or
performing display compensation on the first display sub-region, wherein performing the display compensation on the first display sub-region comprises:
determining the voltage drop on the first power voltage signal line according to a resistor string model of the display panel, a position of the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region in the display panel and a current value on the first power voltage signal line corresponding to the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region, wherein the current value on the first power voltage signal line corresponding to the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region is at least determined according to a grayscale value of a current frame of a sub-pixel in the second display sub-region;
wherein the current value on the first power voltage signal line corresponding to the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region is at least determined according to a grayscale value of a current frame of a sub-pixel in the second display sub-region;
determining a compensated data voltage of the sub-pixel in the first display sub- region according to a grayscale value of a current frame of the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region and the voltage drop on the corresponding first power voltage signal line; and
writing the compensated data voltage into the sub-pixel in the first display sub- region (This limitation is considered optional).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11, 13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 2022/0139330 A1, hereinafter “Kwon”) in view of Inoue et al. (US 2004/0183483 A1, hereinafter “Inoue”).
As to claim 1, Kwon (Fig. 8) discloses a driving method for a display panel, wherein a display region of the display panel at least comprises a first display sub-region (DA2) and a second display sub-region (DA1; Para. 0151), and the driving method for the display panel comprises:
in response to a change degree of display-related parameters of at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being greater than a set degree (Fig. 12 step S200; Para. 0152),
refreshing the first display sub-region (step S220; Fig. 3A; Para. 0078-0079, 0155; the first display area and second display area will be refreshed together), or
performing display compensation on the first display sub-region (Para. 0139),
wherein the current value on the first power voltage signal line corresponding to the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region (Fig. 9 element DA2) is at least determined according to a grayscale value of a current frame of a sub-pixel in the second display sub-region (DA1; Para. 0136, 0156, current value on sub-pixel would depend on compensation value);
Kwon does not disclose wherein performing the display compensation on the first display sub-region comprises:
determining the voltage drop on the first power voltage signal line according to a resistor string model of the display panel, a position of the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region in the display panel and a current value on the first power voltage signal line corresponding to the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region, wherein the current value on the first power voltage signal line corresponding to the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region is at least determined according to a grayscale value of a current frame of a sub-pixel in the second display sub-region;
determining a compensated data voltage of the sub-pixel in the first display sub- region according to a grayscale value of a current frame of the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region and the voltage drop on the corresponding first power voltage signal line; and
writing the compensated data voltage into the sub-pixel in the first display sub- region.
However, Inoue (Fig. 9) teaches wherein performing the display compensation on the first display sub-region (B) comprises: determining the voltage drop on the first power voltage signal line according to a resistor string model of the display panel (Para. 0016, resistance of power line would inherently depend on the resistor/conductor type/model of the power line),
determining a compensated data voltage of the sub-pixel in the first display sub- region according to a grayscale value of a current frame of the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region and the voltage drop on the corresponding first power voltage signal line (Para. 0053); and
writing the compensated data voltage into the sub-pixel in the first display sub- region (Para. 0055; Furthermore, the compensation process can be considered to be optional as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Inoue to perform compensation based on resistance in the device disclosed by Kwon. The motivation would have been to prevent crosstalk due to voltage drop (Inoue; Para. 0029).
As to claim 2, Kwon discloses the driving method for a display panel of claim 1, wherein a display-related parameter of the display-related parameters comprises at least one of a grayscale value, a gamma register value, and a data voltage (Para. 0152).
As to claim 3, Kwon (Fig. 8) discloses the driving method for a display panel of claim 1, wherein a refresh rate of the first display sub-region (DA2) is less than a refresh rate of the second display sub-region (DA1; Para. 0151).
As to claim 4, Kwon (Fig. 9) discloses the driving method for a display panel of claim 1, wherein the driving method for the display panel comprises: in response to the change degree of the display-related parameters of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being greater than the set degree, refreshing the first display sub-region to increase a number of refresh times of the first display sub-region (step s220; Para. 0056, 0151, 0155, the still image of DA2 is displayed at lower frequency than the normal frequency).
As to claim 5, Kwon (Fig. 13) discloses the driving method for a display panel of claim 1, wherein the driving method for the display panel comprises:
in response to the change degree of the display-related parameters of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being less than or equal to the set degree (step s310), refreshing the first display sub-region once within a first time period, wherein the first time period is equal to a refresh cycle of the first display sub-region (Fig. 3B; Para. 0081, 0165, the still image will be displayed after 1 sec); and
in response to the change degree of the display-related parameters of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being greater than the set degree, refreshing the first display sub-region at least twice within the first time period (step S320; Para. 0167).
As to claim 6, Kwon (Fig. 14) discloses the driving method for a display panel of claim 1, wherein the driving method for the display panel comprises:
in response to the change degree of the display-related parameters of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being greater than the set degree (steps S410-s420), adjusting a compensation value of the display compensation performed on the first display sub-region, and refreshing the first display sub-region (step S440; Para. 0186-0187);
in a first display frame, calculating the compensation value of the display compensation performed on the first display sub-region and a compensation value of display compensation performed on the second display sub-region, and refreshing the first display sub-region and the second display sub-region (Para. 0186); and
in a second display frame, refreshing the second display sub-region, and the first display sub-region is in a retention mode (Para. 0055-0057, it would be true if the still images are displayed in both regions);
wherein in the second display frame, the compensation value of the display compensation performed on the second display sub-region is a compensation value of display compensation performed on the second display sub-region in a previous frame (Para. 0186).
As to claim 7, Kwon (Fig. 3A) discloses the driving method for a display panel of claim 1, wherein one or more second display frames (DA2) are set between two adjacent first display frames (DA1);
wherein the driving method for the display panel comprises:
in response to the change degree of the display-related parameters of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being greater than the set degree (Fig. 13 step S310-S320), refreshing the first display sub-region to increase a number of first display frames (step S330; Para. 0167);
in response to the change degree of the display-related parameters of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being less than or equal to the set degree (S310), providing one first display frame within a first time period (Para. 0165), wherein the first time period is equal to a refresh cycle of the first display sub-region (Fig. 3B);
in response to the change degree of the display-related parameters of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being greater than the set degree, providing at least two first display frames within the first time period (Para. 0167, refresh rate increased to 30Hz); and
wherein the at least two refresh frames comprise a current frame and at least one frame previous to and adjacent to the current frame (Fig. 3B), a time interval between the current frame and a previous first display frame is less than the first time period (Fig. 3B; the first time period is greater than 1 sec), and in response to the change degree of the display-related parameters of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being greater than the set degree, the current frame is the first display frame (Fig. 13 step S330);
in response to the change degree of the display-related parameters of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being less than or equal to the set degree, the current frame is the second display frame (step S310-S300; Para. 0165).
As to claim 8, Kwon (Fig. 14) discloses the driving method for a display panel of claim 2, wherein the driving method for the display panel comprises:
in response to the change degree of the display-related parameters of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being greater than the set degree (steps S410-S420), performing the display compensation on the first display sub-region by performing compensation on a data voltage of the first display sub-region (step S440; Para. 0183, 0186-0187);
wherein a compensation value of the data voltage of the first display sub-region is related to a voltage drop on a first power voltage signal line (Para. 0139).
As to claim 11, Kwon in view of Inoue teaches the driving method for a display panel of claim 1. Inoue further teaches wherein the voltage drop E on the first power voltage signal line satisfies that E = I*R (Para. 0046);
wherein I denotes a screen current determined according to a grayscale value of a sub- pixel in the second display sub-region located in the same column as the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region in the current frame, and R denotes a resistor of a first power voltage signal line in a position of the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region and is determined by the resistor string model and the position of the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region (Fig. 5; Para. 0048-0049).
As to claim 13, Kwon discloses the driving method for a display panel of claim 1, further comprising:
storing display-related parameters of a current frame of a sub-pixel in the second display sub-region and one or more frames previous to and adjacent to the current frame (Para. 0022, 0125-0126).
As to claim 15, Kwon (Fig. 1) discloses the driving method for a display panel of claim 1, wherein the second display sub-region (DA1) comprises m sub-pixels, wherein m is a positive integer greater than 1 (pixels in DA1); and
wherein in response to the change degree of the display-related parameters of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being greater than the set degree (Fig. 13 step SS310-S320), refreshing the first display sub-region (step S330), or performing the display compensation on the first display sub-region comprise:
in response to an absolute value of an average value of differences between display-related parameters of a current frame of the m sub-pixels in the second display sub-region and display-related parameters of a previous frame of the m sub-pixels in the second display sub-region being greater than a set difference, refreshing the first display sub-region in the current frame (Para. 0159), or performing the display compensation on the first display sub-region in the current frame.
As to claim 16, Kwon discloses the driving method for a display panel of claim 15, wherein the method further comprises:
in response to the absolute value of the average value of the differences between the display-related parameters of the current frame of the m sub-pixels in the second display sub-region and the display-related parameters of the previous frame of the m sub-pixels in the second display sub-region being less than or equal to the set difference (Fig. 12 step S210), not changing a type of the current frame of the first display sub-region 1, and not changing a number of refresh times of the first display sub-region 1 (step S200; Para. 0152).
As to claim 17, Kwon (Fig. 1) discloses a driving apparatus for a display panel, wherein a display region of the display panel at least comprises a first display sub-region (DA2) and a second display sub-region (DA1), and the driving apparatus for a display panel comprises:
a display driver chip (Fig. 4 element 100) configured to, in a case where a change degree of display-related parameters of at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region is greater than a set degree (Fig. 13 steps S310-S320), refresh the first display sub-region (step S330; Para. 0167) or perform display compensation on the first display sub-region.
As to claim 18, Kwon discloses the driving apparatus for a display panel of claim 17, wherein in the case where the change degree of the display-related parameters of at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region is greater than the set degree (Fig. 13 steps S320), the display driver chip is configured to output corresponding control signals to scan circuits to control the scan circuits to output second scan signals to a first display sub-region and output corresponding data voltages to pixel circuits in the first display sub-region to refresh the first display sub-region (Para. 0086, 0095-0096, 0167, when refreshed the data voltages will be supplies by scanning the selected pow of pixels).
As to claim 19, Kwon discloses the driving apparatus for a display panel of claim 17, wherein the driving apparatus further comprises a power chip;
in the case where the change degree of the display-related parameters of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region is greater than the set degree (Fig. 14 step S420), the display driver chip is configured to output corresponding control signals to scan circuits to control the scan circuits to output third scan signals to the first display sub-region (Para. 0095) and output corresponding control signals (Fig 10 element 10) to the power chip to control the power chip to output compensated second reset signals to pixel circuits in the first display sub-region to perform display compensation on the first display sub-region (step S440; Para. 0139).
As to claim 20, Kwon (Fig. 4) discloses a display device, comprising a display panel (DA) and a driving apparatus (100), wherein a display region of the display panel at least comprises a first display sub-region (Fig. 1 element DA2) and a second display sub-region (DA1), wherein the driving apparatus is configured to perform a driving method for a display panel;
wherein the driving method for a display panel comprises:
in response to a change degree of display-related parameters of at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being greater than a set degree (Fig. 12 step S210), refreshing the first display sub-region (step S220; Para. 0115), or performing display compensation on the first display sub-region.
Claim(s) 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and Inoue as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sung et al. (US 2008/0012811 A1, hereinafter “Sung”).
As to claim 9, Kwon (Fig. 5) discloses the driving method for a display panel of claim 8, wherein a sub-pixel in the first display sub-region comprises a pixel circuit (PXij) and a light-emitting device (ED), and the pixel circuit is connected between the first power voltage signal line (ELVDD) and the light-emitting device (ED).
Kwon does not disclose the compensation value of the data voltage of the first display sub-region is equal to the voltage drop on the first power voltage signal line.
However, Sung teaches the compensation value of the data voltage of the first display sub-region is equal to the voltage drop on the first power voltage signal line (Para. 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Sung to compensate based on voltage drop value in the device disclosed by Kwon/Inoue. The motivation would have been to improve response speed and viewing angle for the display device (Sung; Para. 0005).
As to claim 12, Kwon in view of Inoue disclose teaches the driving method for a display panel of claim 11. Sung further teaches wherein the compensated data voltage is Vdata' = Vdata - E = Vdata - I*R, wherein Vdata denotes a data voltage of the sub- pixel in the first display sub-region before the compensation in the current frame (Para. 0017).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Inoue as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0158755 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
As to claim 14, Kwon discloses the driving method for a display panel of claim 1, wherein
a display-related parameter of the display-related parameters comprises a grayscale value (Para. 0017);
in response to a change degree of grayscale values of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being greater than a set degree (Fig. 14 step ), a drive current of a sub-pixel in the first display sub-region decreases under a compensated data voltage of the first display sub-region, when a change trend decreases (Para. 0143-0144, 0186-0187).
Kwon does not expressly disclose in response to a change degree of grayscale values of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being greater than a set degree, the drive current of the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region increases under the compensated data voltage of the first display sub-region, when the change trend increases.
However, Li teaches in response to a change degree of grayscale values of the at least two refresh frames in the second display sub-region being greater than a set degree, the drive current of the sub-pixel in the first display sub-region increases under the compensated data voltage of the first display sub-region, when the change trend increases (Para. 0114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Li to compensate according to the change trend in th device disclosed by Kwon/Inoue. The motivation would have been to stabilize the pixel circuit (Li; Para. 0114).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant‘s disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2016/0042708 A1) discloses a multiple display regions refreshing at different refresh rates (Fig. 5).
BIPIN GYAWALI
Examiner
Art Unit 2625
/BIPIN GYAWALI/Examiner, Art Unit 2625