Notice to Applicants
This communication is in response to the application filed on 12/12/2024.
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Examiner’s Note
The current application is not supported by provisional application No. 63/145,962. Accordingly, the effective filing date for the current application is determined to be December 10, 2021, which is the filing date of the parent application, U.S. Application, 17/547,269.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
• In claim 1, line 8-9, "are at different sides of" should be “are on different sides of".
• In claim 1, line 11-12, "according to relations between object optical data in the optical data and the first part, the second part, third part" should be “according to relationships between object optical data in the optical data and each of the first part, the second part, and the third part" (“Relations between X and A, B, C” is unclear whether the intended meaning is the relationships between X and each of A, B, and C.)
• In claim 1, line 12, "third part" should be “the third part ". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites recites “object optical data in the optical data,” but does not define what constitutes the object optical data or how the object optical data is identified within the optical data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Almbladh (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0185876) in view of Shikai et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2003/0209391) (hereafter, "Shikai").
Regarding claim 1, Almbladh teaches a movement direction determination system, comprising: a detection region, comprising: ([0051] The image analyzer is arranged to analyze image data captured by the image sensor 602 and may include a detector of motion regions 620. The detector of motion regions 620 is arranged to detect motion regions in the images captured by the image sensor 602 and perform functions related to the detection of motion regions as described below, e.g., detecting and segmenting motion regions, estimating velocity of the detected motion region; [0062] a velocity vector/vectors ν 104 describing the movement of the detected motion regions 102, step 804, are generated) … a processing circuit, configured to ([0049] an image processing unit 604, all arranged for image capturing ...the camera includes a processing unit 606 ... Each of the image analyzer 614 ... they may be implemented by program code that is to be run by the processing unit 606) determine a movement direction of an object ([0062] a velocity vector/vectors ν 104 describing the movement of the detected motion regions 102, step 804, are generated ... Said generated velocity vector/vectors ν 104 include the direction and the speed of the movement relating to each detected motion region 102; [0061] one detected motion region 102 despite the fact that there are two persons 18, 20) according to relations between object optical data in the optical data ([0061] detecting motion regions 802 has resulted in the detection of one motion region 102, indicated by the dashed line ... the detection of motion regions, step 802, resulted in one detected motion region 102 despite the fact that there are two persons 18, 20 in the counting image view 12) and the first part, the second part, third part ([0077] the distance dS is used for setting two parallel contribution lines 108, 110 which are arranged on different sides of the counting boundary 16. Thereby the contribution zone is defined by the two parallel contribution lines 108, 110 and the width of the entire counting image view, i.e., the edges of the counting image view being perpendicular to the contribution lines 108, 110; [0078] this time a contribution line 110 is arranged on the far side, in respect of the travel direction of the motion region 102, of the counting boundary 16 at a distance dS from the counting boundary 16; FIG. 13 shows three distinct cross-sectional slices (108, 110, 16) corresponding to consecutive motion region detections).
Almbladh does not expressly teach a first reflective strip; and at least one optical sensor, configured to sense optical data generated based on reflected light from the first reflective strip, wherein the optical data comprises a first part corresponding to the first reflective strip, a second part and a third part, wherein the second part and the third part are at different sides of the first part; and.
However, Shikai teaches a first reflective strip; and ([0038] the safety installation 74 has a first and second optical devices 78, 80 and a light reflector 89) at least one optical sensor, configured to sense optical data generated based on reflected light from the first reflective strip ([0038] the safety installation 74 has a first and second optical devices 78, 80 and a light reflector 89 ... a light emitter 88 is used for the first optical device 78 and a light receiver 90 is used for the second optical device 80 so that the light emitted from the light emitter 88 is reflected off at the light reflector 89 and received by the light receiver 90), wherein the optical data comprises a first part corresponding to the first reflective strip ([0038] Referring back to FIG. 2, the elevator cage 26 is provided with a safety installation 74 ... the safety installation 74 has a first and second optical devices 78, 80 and a light reflector 89 ... the light reflector 89 is mounted in and flush with the opposing vertical surfaces 82 of the frame defining the left and right ends of the doorway 34 … a light emitter 88 is used for the first optical device 78 and a light receiver 90 is used for the second optical device 80 so that the light emitted from the light emitter 88 is reflected off at the light reflector 89 and received by the light receiver 90), a second part ([0038] the light reflector 89 is mounted in and flush with the opposing vertical surfaces 82 of the frame defining the left and right ends of the doorway 34 … a light emitter 88 is used for the first optical device 78 and a light receiver 90 is used for the second optical device 80 so that the light emitted from the light emitter 88 is reflected off at the light reflector 89 and received by the light receiver 90; FIG. 2 shows another set of a first and second optical devices 78, 80 and a light reflector 89 is on right side of the doorway 34) and a third part ([0013] FIG. 3 is a side view of a hall entrance of the elevator system; [0043] Similar to those for the cage 26, the hall 32 also has two sets of safety installations 114 provided on opposite sides of the doorway 36 to prevent any members such as passenger's clothes and hands ... The safety installation 114 includes a first and second optical devices 118, 120 and a light reflector 89. ... the first and second optical devices 118 and 120 have a light emitter 88 and a light receiver 90, respectively, so that light from the emitter 88 is reflected off at the light reflector 89 and received by the receiver 90), wherein the second part and the third part are at different sides of the first part; and ([0038] the light reflector 89 is mounted in and flush with the opposing vertical surfaces 82 of the frame defining the left and right ends of the doorway 34 … the light emitted from the light emitter 88 is reflected off at the light reflector 89 and received by the light receiver 90; [0043] the hall 32 also has two sets of safety installations 114 provided on opposite sides of the doorway 36 ... The safety installation 114 includes a first and second optical devices 118, 120 and a light reflector 89 … light from the emitter 88 is reflected off at the light reflector 89 and received by the receiver 90; [0014] FIG. 4 is a schematic horizontal cross sectional view of the cage and hall entrances of the elevator system; FIG. 4 shows four distinct sets of safety installations, each including optical devices and a light reflector. A set 74 is positioned on the left side of the doorway 34, a set 74 is positioned on the right side of the doorway 34, a set 114 is positioned on the left side of the doorway 36 and a set 114 is positioned on the right side of the doorway 36) … determine a movement … of an object according to … object optical data in the optical data and the first part, the second part, third part ([0061] interfering the light so that the amount of light received by the light receiver 90 is reduced, then the existence of any members or passenger's hands can be detected; [0039] the first and second optical devices 78, 80 and the light reflector 89 are mounted as close to the gap 72 as possible so as to detect any members adjacent to the gap 72; [0038] the light reflector 89 is mounted in and flush with the opposing vertical surfaces 82 of the frame defining the left and right ends of the doorway 34 … the light emitted from the light emitter 88 is reflected off at the light reflector 89 and received by the light receiver 90; [0043] the hall 32 also has two sets of safety installations 114 provided on opposite sides of the doorway 36 ... The safety installation 114 includes a first and second optical devices 118, 120 and a light reflector 89 … light from the emitter 88 is reflected off at the light reflector 89 and received by the receiver 90).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device and method of Almbladh to incorporate the step/system of using optical devices for sensing distinct optical data from multiple light reflectors to detect object movement taught by Shikai.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve the efficiency and safety of the elevator system by detecting object movement ([0050] the undesired time where the door leaves are prohibited to open is eliminated so that passengers do not have to await the redundant time. This achieves the elevator system that can be operated in an efficient manner; [0061] interfering the light so that the amount of light received by the light receiver 90 is reduced, then the existence of any members or passenger's hands can be detected. Thus, any members or passenger's hands are prevented from being drawn in the gap between the vertical frame and the door and between the opposing doors, which improves the safety of the elevator system). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predicted results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Almbladh with Shikai to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Almbladh and Shikai teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Shikai teaches wherein the optical sensor is located at a frame, wherein the frame forms a gate that the object can pass through ([0035] As shown in FIG. 2, the doorway 34 of the cage 26 is defined within a rectangular frame; [0038] the safety installation 74 has a first and second optical devices 78, 80 and a light reflector 89. The first and second optical devices 78, 80 are mounted in and flush with the-upper horizontal surface 84 of the frame defining the upper end of the doorway 34. Also, the light reflector 89 is mounted in and flush with the opposing vertical surfaces 82 of the frame defining the left and right ends of the doorway 34), wherein the second part corresponds to a first side of the gate ([0038] The first and second optical devices 78, 80 are mounted in and flush with the-upper horizontal surface 84 of the frame defining the upper end of the doorway 34. Also, the light reflector 89 is mounted in and flush with the opposing vertical surfaces 82 of the frame defining the left and right ends of the doorway 34), and the third part corresponds to a second side of the gate ([0043] The safety installation 114 includes a first and second optical devices 118, 120 and a light reflector 89. The first and second optical devices 118, 120 are mounted in the upper horizontal surface 124 of the frame defining the upper end of the entrance 36. Also, the light reflector 89 is mounted in the vertical surfaces 122 of the frame defining the left and right ends of the doorway 36).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Almbladh and Shikai teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Shikai teaches wherein the second part corresponds to a second reflective strip, and ([0038] the light reflector 89 is mounted in and flush with the opposing vertical surfaces 82 of the frame defining the left and right ends of the doorway 34 … a light emitter 88 is used for the first optical device 78 and a light receiver 90 is used for the second optical device 80 so that the light emitted from the light emitter 88 is reflected off at the light reflector 89 and received by the light receiver 90; FIG. 2 shows another set of a first and second optical devices 78, 80 and a light reflector 89 is on right side of the doorway 34) the third part corresponds to a third reflective strip ([0013] FIG. 3 is a side view of a hall entrance of the elevator system; [0043] Similar to those for the cage 26, the hall 32 also has two sets of safety installations 114 provided on opposite sides of the doorway 36 to prevent any members such as passenger's clothes and hands ... The safety installation 114 includes a first and second optical devices 118, 120 and a light reflector 89. ... the first and second optical devices 118 and 120 have a light emitter 88 and a light receiver 90, respectively, so that light from the emitter 88 is reflected off at the light reflector 89 and received by the receiver 90).
Claim 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Almbladh (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0185876) in view of Shikai et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2003/0209391) (hereafter, "Shikai") and further in view of Mirza et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0272296) (hereafter, "Mirza").
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Almbladh and Shikai teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. The combination of Almbladh and Shikai does not teach further comprising: an object identification sensor, configured to identify the object.
However, Mirza teaches further comprising: an object identification sensor, configured to identify the object ([0012] the tracking system uses a sensor to identify markers (e.g. text or symbols) on an item that has been picked up. The tracking system uses the identified markers to then identify which item was picked up; [0068] The entrance area 114 may be adjacent to one or more devices (e.g. sensors 108 or a scanner 115) that identify a person as they enter space 102).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device and method of Almbladh and Shikai to incorporate the step/system of using an object sensor to identify an object taught by Mirza.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve the efficiency of sensing ([0099] the tracking system 100 determines whether the number of identified markers 304 is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value. In some embodiments, the predetermined threshold value is proportional to a level of accuracy for generating a homography 118 for a sensor 108. Increasing the predetermined threshold value may increase the accuracy when generating a homography 118; [0109] The tracking system 100 may employ method 600 to reduce the amount of time it takes to generate a homography 118 for a sensor 108. For example, using a marker grid 702 reduces the amount of setup time required to generate a homography 118 for a sensor 108). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predicted results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Almbladh and Shikai with Mirza to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Almbladh and Shikai teaches all the limitations of claim 4 above. The combination of Almbladh and Shikai does not teach wherein the object identification uses at least one following techniques to acquire identification information of the object: an NFC technique, an optical data identification technique, and a barcode reading technique.
However, Mirza teaches wherein the object identification uses at least one following techniques to acquire identification information of the object ([0012] the tracking system uses a sensor to identify markers (e.g. text or symbols) on an item that has been picked up. The tracking system uses the identified markers to then identify which item was picked up; [0068] The entrance area 114 may be adjacent to one or more devices (e.g. sensors 108 or a scanner 115) that identify a person as they enter space 102): an NFC technique, an optical data identification technique, and a barcode reading technique ([0068] Examples of scanners 115 include, but are not limited to, a QR code scanner, a barcode scanner, a near-field communication (NFC) scanner).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device and method of Almbladh and Shikai to incorporate the step/system of using NFC technique and code scanner to identify an object taught by Mirza.
Motivation for this combination has been stated in claim 4.
Conclusion
/DANIEL C CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2669 /CHAN S PARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2669